We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't pay extra for Excellence Club!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't pay extra for Excellence Club!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

After going to a Sandals Resort in Montego Bay, Jamaica last yr. & getting the shaft; we researched Excellance, Playa Mujures, Mexico for months on Trip Advisor. We went Feb.16-20th of 2014.
Overall we enjoyed our trip. The property & rooms are very very nice...it's one of the NICEST we've ever been to. We've been to several in Mexico, Costa Rica, Guatemala and Sandals in Jamaica, & it's the best of all of them.
One of our biggest negative was the Excellance Club that we paid extra for. We had Conciege on our floor & all over the property. Ours was nice but we'd ask her to make a reservation or something..she'd tell us we had to do it. So really having to do the tasks ourselves made us wonder WHY we paid extra for this service!
The beach does have seaweed, but we knew that from Trip Advisors Reviews, that wasn't a big deal. The pools are very nice.
Another negative was hardly ever getting waited on poolside or the beach, if you wanted something to drink. Usually you have to go get it yourself. Other resorts do a better job at this.
Restaurants: Breakfast & lunches at the Toscana are good. I was disappointed in the Lobster House. This was main reason we went. Granted, Carribbean Lobster is different from Maine Lobster...but mine was mushy & fishy tasting.
Room service food not very good. Had about THE worst Tortilla Soup I've ever tasted... & I'm in Mexico!!! Another night we ordered a burger & fries from room service, the bun on burger was stale & French Fries were cold & hard.
Ate at Mexican restaurant one night. Our waiter hardly said a word & I had to ask if they had dessert. I had fajitas & were awful, my husband had a fish dish, he said it was good. I have a Mexican Sister-in-law since I was 9 yrs old & she cooks Mexican Great!! So I know good Mexican food.. This was the WORST Mexican food I've had..outside of Taco Bell! And I was in Mexico!!!
The Japanese restaurant was O.K...I could eat it, but not the quality we have here in States.
Our favorite restaurant was The Barcelona. The entire staff was great! Our waiter was Alli (his nickname), very friendly & took great care of us!!!
The entertainment & theatre it was held in is THE best we've ever seen in any resort!!!! Las Vegas Style costumes. Some of the shows were so good..you'd sit there with your mouth open in disbelief...so good!
Armando, the Manager at Toscana does a great job with his staff & he's very friendly & smiling. Our two favorite servers who took good care of us there were Efrain & Lizeth. Both very friendly & sweet!
Also, Marlene at the front desk was very helpful & friendly, helping us call our Transfers to pick us up to leave. Again...our Concierge wouldn't do this for us!

Room Tip: We were in Rm 8165. You need to be up on at least 3rd floor to have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Breadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9,491
    1,386
    351
    135
    74
See reviews for
504
9,369
92
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,098)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billings,mt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife and I chose this resort after doing months of research and with the recommendation from Mitch on Tripguy.com we were not disappointed at all. Everything was perfect when we arrived from the transportation from the airport to the greeting at the door with the cool towels and champagne. All the staff was extremely friendly and more than willing to take the time to take you where you were going. Ceaser, Hugo, and Job at the martini bar and Cecelia at the pool were a few of the great many that really stood out. The resort was beautiful and very clean The food was good, and the drinks were even better. There was always plenty to do on the resort. The only thing wrong with this vacation was it was not long enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 301Deeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this property for two weeks at the end of October 2013 and upgraded to Excellence Club. We had an absolutely wonderful time and highly recommend it. We are going back April of this year for a week and I wish it was for two!

Excellence Club is definitely worth it. There is a private Excellence Club pool and Excellence Club beach area and they are strict. If you are not part of Excellence Club you are not permitted which I appreciate as I'm paying good money for the extra benefits.

This property is highly customer-service focused which was one of the reasons we had a wonderful stay. Staff are friendly and go out of their way to accommodate your requests. We are not high-maintenance people but just that feeling of being taken care of was such a huge bonus. The property is about 30 minutes or so outside of Cancun - there is nothing around, it's perfect for a quiet time away and you can do as much or as little as you like. There are always activities you can participate in onsite. We took a taxi into Cancun to go shopping and kept the driver for 5 hours. He charged us 700 pesos which was nothing considering he waited for us everywhere (his name was George and it was great fun trying to communicate to him in Spanish and him to us in English!). We tipped him of course so gave him 900 pesos - he was shocked but it was well deserved!

Arrival: we used USA transfers as we wanted a private car to get to the hotel. It's not the first time we used them and they have always been great. We were greeted warmly by staff at the hotel with sparkling wine and a cold towel upon arrival and escorted to the lounge area of the lobby until we could check-in. Our concierge, Vilma was absolutely wonderful. My husband was in conversation with her a few weeks prior to our arriving and she was able to accommodate all of his requests - she really went above and beyond. When she found out we were coming back, she called my husband and said how excited she is - the feeling is mutual and we can't wait to see her!

Room: our room was beautiful, overlooking the Excellence Club poor and the beach. We couldn't have asked for a better room. Maid service wasn't "time" consistent however our room did get cleaned every day. We had to call a few times to get our fridge restocked but these things are minor and nothing to get bent out of shape over.

The only caveat is that the bathroom is not very private - if your partner is going to the bathroom you can hear it. The bathroom door is just frosted glass but it has a clear frame around it so if you're standing at the right angle you can see your partner in the bathroom. We thought it was kind of funny and it didn't bother us as we've been together a long time but for those newly married or just dating and on their first trip away it may be a bit uncomfortable.

The shower in the room is amazing - rainfall plus handheld AND you can have them on at the same time so we kept showering with the handheld pointed towards us as we stood in the rainfall shower - it was like a million streams of water at once - so great!

Note: don't confuse 'ocean front' with 'ocean view'! Ocean front means that your building is closest to the ocean/beach - it does not guarantee you a ocean view. I'm noting this as some people complained about this - read carefully.

Room service: we ordered it once and were not disappointed. It hit the spot when we needed it!

Restaurants: we went to almost all of them. Chez Isabelle is definitely romantic, Basmati was full of flavourful food, Agave had fantastic Mexican (the mango shrimp are so good!), Spice had great curries and sushi (although I'm still confused why there is cream cheese included with sushi in Mexico!). Flavour Market is definitely worth going to. Small plates that will fill you up! Don't forget you can always order more! You may encounter wait times for restaurants after 7 pm. For buffet - the seafood was fresh and tasty, there was really something for everyone.

Dress code: There needs to be an equal treatment policy on this. On Halloween my husband and I were in costume and he was wearing shorts (not permitted in the restaurants) and was not allowed in however, more than once we saw women being permitted with shorts (granted they were sort of dressy shorts but still shorts!) - not right. Also there were people under dressed for dinner, this overall is a pet peeve of mine with resorts in general. If there is a dress code then it needs to be enforced period.

Beach: you call walk and walk and walk and you can go in the water. Excellence Club lounge chairs and beds are available for those in the club. The beds get taken quickly however I never had a problem getting chairs under a palapa. If you want to go to eat, staff will reserve your chairs for an hour or so - just let them know. Staff are attentive and ask regularly if you would like a beverage.

Excellence Club pool: Usually got a couple of lounge chairs - if there are none available here there will be at the beach as there is enough for all club members. Staff are very attentive. You can order drinks and food at this location. Again staff will reserve your chairs for an hour or so, just let them know.

Excellence Club lounge: you'll get your top-shelf liquor here e.g. Hennessey as well as have access to computers, light meals and Excellence concierge service. Daniella at Excellence Club lounge was amazing - can't wait to see you again!

Tips: if you can afford to go here you can afford to tip. Bring a few hundred dollars worth of pesos and make sure you tip the maid service, wait staff, bar staff etc.

Attractions: Xplore was amazing - you won't regret spending the money - ziplining was phenominal!

Room Tip: Excellence Club building 8!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ImogenDharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres with all Trip Advisor Readers.

Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Usually we go to the Riviera Maya when in Mexico and mistakenly thought this was there as well. It is not, rather, it is on Playa Mujeres. The beach is not quite as nice as on the Riviera Maya and although my husband thought the views were better, I did not. Isla Mujeres is visible from the property as are some man made jetties and a strangely populated hotel next door.

We reserved a two story rooftop oceanfront suite. Upon arrival we were given a different room, but it seemed even better than the room we reserved so we did not complain. It had an enormous patio. Seriously, it was huge; we could have hosted a party on this patio. There was an additional smaller balcony facing the ocean equipped with a table and two chairs and a double lounger bed. The giant side patio had two double lounger beds, an outdoor shower and a jetted plunge pool. With all of this, the patio was still totally empty. I was not kidding about the party! This area also provided sweeping views of the ocean, the property and neighboring properties.

This room, as well as the one we actually booked, was part of the Excellence Club. This club entitled us to a special check in, a 24 hour club in which you can get food and drinks, 24 hour room service, etc. It was a nice perk, but not imperitive to having a good time at this property. There is wonderful service throughout the resort and there is plenty of food and drinks to be had by all.

Our room was nicely sized and well appointed. The rooms all look the same, but seem to vary a bit in size. It is odd and awkward that the bathroom is not separated from the bedroom/living area by a wall. Hence, if one person is in bed and one is on the toilet, there is only a glass door between the two of you. Hopefully, Montezuma will not have sought his revenge!! The walk in shower is great; we loved it. There is plenty of storage for clothing and other belongings in the room. One very cool feature in the room is a two way closet area for used room service trays. Unlike other hotels in which one either has to call for tray removal or just leaves it in the hallway and hopes it is bussed away, you put the tray in this small closet area and staff removes it at their convenience. The room isn't a mess or smelly and the hallways stay clear.

If you have an oceanfront room and are up at the right time, you will see spectacular sunrises. We left the blinds open and were awakened by brilliant sunshine at around 6:15AM each day.

As advertised there are many restaurants and bars. We never had breakfast, so I won't comment. For buffet lovers, and especially for salad lovers who are woefully ignored throughout the rest of the day, Toscana for lunch is the place to be. The salad bar is excellent and there is a wide selection of other foods as well. There is sushi, pizza, grilled to order meats, fish and freshly prepared custom created pastas, hot entrees, a dessert bar, etc. etc. Everyone will be happy here. The only unfortunate drawback is that it is not available at dinner. There is no buffet for dinner anywhere. Vegetarians are somewhat shortchanged at this property. More deprived though are healthy, salad eating types. The few salads offered at dinner are small and fairly basic. Men are not permitted to wear tank tops at Toscana at lunch. In fact, men must wear long pants and at least short sleeves with closed shoes at all but two dinner spots. The two spots are not the most desirable dining options. We were not happy at either. They are the Lobster House and The Grill. Foodies will not be thrilled with any of the dinner options on this property. The closest we had to true contentment was Spice. Some well kept secrets are a pizza oven at the Sol bar and Las Olas on the beach which serves something different each mid day.

One warning to wine enthusiasts; you will not be pleased. I love a good glass of red wine and could not find one included variety that was truly pleasing. The house sparkling wine was surprisingly appealing however. Even the pink variety was pleasant. If you want to spend additional money on a bottle of wine, there is a menu with what seemed to be many selections. I did not look as I believe I spend enough money at a resort and don't need to buy wine as well.

There are ten bars in total, we visited fewer than a handful. The Martini bar, the bar in the main lobby, has an amazing bartender. He has to be, as he is generally working alone. This does not make sense as it seems to be a very popular bar in the evenings. It is the only place at which one must wait a bit for a drink.

The gym is dark, and a bit undersized compared to the rest of the property. It is well equipped and gets somewhat crowded for a brief period in the early morning. Extra cardio machines would alleviate the backup. There are no views and one stares at a wall when on cardio based equipment. There are tons of towels and bottles of water, fruit waters and fruit are also available.

There are daily activities, drink specials, spa specials and entertainment each day. Check 'em out.

One notable observation was that this resort appeared to be welcoming to same sex couples. We generally do not come across such couples at other all inclusive, couple only resorts. There were not very many, but it was nice to experience a resort that seemed a bit more inclusive in the true sense of the word.

As the title of this review states, this resort has a good balance of fun and elegance. Some resorts we've visited are heavy on one or the other. Excellence Playa Mujeres does both well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank adiosandviacondios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
It is our pleasure to know that Excellence Playa Mujeres exceeded your expectations, making you feel relaxed and pampered all the time. Our commitment is to make of every guest experience, as exceptional and unique as it can be.

Thank you for letting us know how memorable and special was your stay, due to our resort facilities and atmosphere, the food & drinks quality encountered, evening entertainment, and the outstanding service provided by our staff members, who always attended to your needs.

We are looking forward to welcome you back and have another opportunity to pamper you with our service creating another experience to remember.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORVAL QUEBEC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Spent 11 nights(12 days) Starting January 29th.Our trip was booked with Air Transat and we took "OPTION PLUS" which was more than worth it.Four years ago we went to Excellence in Punta Cana and it was absolutely great.This year we chose Playa Mujeres and it was even better.
The grounds are immaculate,secure and well located.The beach had some sea weed for the first 2 days ,after that it was very nice with white sand and blue/green clear water.The hotel and the rooms are just gorgeous and big.The food and drinks were fantastic.Lots of choice.The personnel is top notch,starting with general manager VIRGINIA who does an amazing job, ALBERTO at the front desk,nice personalityand very helpful,YAZMIN our concierge was super in answering all our needs,GLORIA,our breakfast hostess brightened our mornings with her beautiful smile,CARLOS and RAUL our breakfast waiters at the TOSCANA were very helpful pleasant and efficient(always had my soya milk ready for me),LOBSTER HOUSE,smiling and courteous ORLANDO and ALBERTO.Cesar at the GRILL charming and well-mannered.Thank you all for an amazing vacation and hopefully we will see you next year,

Room Tip: Building 7 ,a great location.Close to main building and all the restaurants.Room 7119
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxDorvalQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We booked the all inclusive package on the back of a recommendation from friends who have previously enjoyed similar holidays as us.

After a nightmare 12 hour delay on the outward flight we were welcomed and pampered by the Hotel staff from the very first moment we set foot on the property.

The experience is best described as Asian efficiency delivered with Caribbean warmth and friendliness. The patrons clearly benefit from a well structured staff training programme ..... and the staff themselves are highly motivated to deliver a truly top notch service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The resort is beautiful. The staff, so kind and hard working. The fun, no where to be found. The resort, room, food and drinks were so great. The place its self is very quiet. There are several (more than not) quiet areas of this resort if you prefer that. The pool bar has music and people drinking, just like any other place we have been to. On that note, we met some fun people and were having a good time, yes being a bit noisy laughing and talking. However, no one was out of hand, being rude or obnoxious or dangerous and we were asked to leave. Which is not great, but what happened after is what upset me. After we were asked to leave, we went to one of the many hot tubs and were followed and watched by security. We were uncomfortable so we went back to our room, where they sent a security person to stand outside. NOT ACCEPTABLE. We are not in our 20's, we are all 46-60 and certainly not criminals. Out of the 8 days we were there, this one day is the only one we were not the quiet laying in the sun and reading group. Its not like we were "problem children" all week long. If you are the people who love to lay in the sun, read and have very quiet time, thats great and there were so many places to go and find that in this resort. But if you like to spend a few of your vacation days whooping it up a bit, this place is not for you. My friend got engaged on this vacation, and was thinking of going back next year for her wedding, Needless to say, our group of 6 all agree we would never return.

Room Tip: Try and request not to be in the 9 block of buildings, your view is a noisy construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmySchenectady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,939 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,711 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#5 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,400 reviews
9.8 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Property: Excellence Playa Mujeres
Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing