We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence is Excellent!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Tiffin, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellence is Excellent!!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Just return from a fabulous week of being pampered at Excellence Playa Mujeres!! Everyone goes out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful vacation! From being spoiled on the white sand beach( cool towels,drinks, snacks and made up lounges) to great service and meals at any one of the great restaurants ...we were spoiled!!! The rooms were so amazing!! I would highly recommend Excellence Playa Mujeres to anyone looking to get away!! A special shout out to two members of the staff...Marco and Angel you two were fantastic!!!! Thanks for making our trip so entertaining!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9,717
    1,410
    362
    139
    77
See reviews for
523
9,578
94
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Carver, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights for our Honeymoon. OMG. I miss it :-(

This resort is simply amazing. Right when you walk in you feel like you're royalty. The staff is friendly and professional, the resort is INCREDIBLE. Gorgeous pools, loved all of the restaurants. The beach was too windy for me, but I didn't care. The pools were just the right temp and we were pretty much always able to find some chairs. Drinks are yummy. We took a nice walk on the beach one evening. Room service was incredible. I could go on and on but you get the idea :-) Everything is PERFECT! I fell in love with the lemon peanuts. I wish I could find them in MA! Make sure to tell them that its your honeymoon for some extra perks.

I seriously cannot wait to go back!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

During our Trip 1/4-1/11 the weather was not great, warm but not sunny, so the staff was extremely busy trying to keep everyone happy and entertained. The bad weather cause the Spa to be fully booked, was unable to use the services. The staff was courteous and friendly, especially Lorena, Tohm Tui, and Oscar, who you could tell went above and beyond and provided wonderful service. Maids/Cleaning staff did a great job keeping the room clean and keeping the bar stocked. All the pools were wonderful, clean and clear. Pool side never seemed crowded. Paid for Excellence Ocean Front Jr. Suite. Disappointed in excellence "upgrade" package. The view for "ocean front" in Jr. Suite was limited. We could see the ocean in distance from our room, but not beach. View to right was neighboring property's children playground, so balcony was not quiet. Movie selection in Excellence Club was limited, the main hotel had a bigger selection. However, overall really good selection of food and restaurant choices, could always find something we were craving and room service was alway accommodating. Would go again, but not do Excellence Club.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DFranceUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres with all Trip Advisor Readers.

Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay.

On the other hand, the Excellence Club is very popular for guests who demand the ultimate in luxury, exclusivity and service, we are very saddened to read it didn’t meet your expectations.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Overall a beautiful facility with very accommodating and pleasant staff. Rooms are beautiful and well maintained. It is Mexico, so it is a challenge to remove the mildew smell from curtains, etc. (Every hotel has this issue in Mexico). They provide incense in the rooms which helped. The enormous shower was a huge perk as was the fully stocked bar and fridge in the room. Day bed and in room hot tub were both lovely, especially depending on if you have an ocean view! The breeze is awesome while you're on/in either!

Food was certainly plentiful and good. The Flavor Market is a MUST! We didn't experience it until our last day and we were mad at ourselves. It is a tapas restaurant with some of the best food on the resort! Ask for Luis as your waiter, you won't be disappointed. Eating at The Grill for breakfast is a true vacation experience... watch and listen to the waves.

If you've paid for Excellence Club, the biggest noticeable difference is the pool service. The pool staff take care of your chairs (towels, pillows, etc), beverages, lunch orders, etc. The other in EC is free wifi, while not overly fast, it always worked when you needed it. I do believe another perk of EC is that our rooms were technically ready much earlier in the day than non-excellence club.

Nightly entertainment was mediocre but there is plenty to do on the resort that you're not limited to the shows.

Beach chairs and service are also wonderful. Although there is seaweed, it doesn't hamper a swim or a walk for those who are there to enjoy the ocean.

If you're a runner or walker, the trail/path that leads out and around the property is wonderful for longer distances. Alongside the golf course, safe, and the best part, as you re-enter the property, the security guard will hand you a much needed and deserved cold bottle of water! Get out early though... it gets HOT!

There are so many wonderful resorts in the Caribbean... we may be back but have others to try. You can't go wrong with this one though!

Room Tip: Exterior facing rooms provide much more quiet/privacy. Those facing the main pool or center of faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank irunforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Everything that you have read on other reviews is true. I will be returning for my FOURTH visit in 15 months this weekend for another week of bliss. However, . . . I am disapointed that this resorts offers no customer loyalty programmes whatsoever - not even a discount of $50.00 off your stay. A complimentary $40 water spa treatment is lovely but not really substantial enough. I can only assume that the Excellence is too small to offer any discounts or does not need to as their booking frequency is really good.

All said, would highly recommend this resort but I might explore other options in the future - apparently Secrets is opening a resort in Playa Mujeres this year too.

Room Tip: Buildings 1 and 2 are the closest to the nightly entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We just completed our 2nd ten day visit to Excellence Playa Mujeres (we have also been to Excellence Riviera Cancun on 6 other occasions). No need to be needlessly repetitive in reviewing EPM, just believe the positive postings and disregard most comments that are negative. Although we have been blessed with a wide range of world travel experiences, this is one of the better run resorts that we have ever visited and the General Manager should be commended. Consequently, we have decided to make EPM our destination of choice when returning to Mexico. This resort offers a well balanced combination of tropical beauty, outstanding hospitality, great restaurants, bars, and well appointed spacious suites. Although all of the suites are very nice, we prefer the Swim-Up suites that offer the added privacy of your own furnished patio with direct access to the pool. If you enjoy being overly pampered with express check in, premium amenities, private VIP lounge, and tons of surprises along the way, upgrade to Excellence Club status.....it's well worth it. The entire office/reception/concierge staff of the Excellence Club are genuinely friendly, always smiling, and extremely accommodating. Surprisingly, they always seem to remember your name whenever they see you. We can't remember all of their names and for fear that we may have missed someone, be assured that without exception they were all the greatest. Actually, everyone at the resort , from the gardeners,maids, pool staff and on up the ladder were very pleasant. Gloria and Ivette never failed to start our day at the door of the breakfast buffet with a cheerful greeting (by name). Although EPM has a number of excellent dining options, our preference was the french restaurant Chez Isabelle which we dined at almost exclusively during our stay. Pedro the Maitre'd/Manager although busy supervising the waiters and welcoming guests always found time to visit our table with a smile to insure that everything was satisfactory. Although all of the restaurant staff appeared very friendly and competent, our steady waiter Raul treated us so well we wanted to take him home with us. Once again, EPM has become our choice for a casual and relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Excellence Club Swim Up Suites - all good locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank brickbaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We arrived at the Excellence Playa Mujeres on January 23rd through January 30th, 2014. I am going to start off with the staff at Playa Mujeres I want to say that Alexander a manager was wonderful. If I had a five star resort in St. Louis, Missouri he would be the General Manager of the resort. Alexander always made sure everything was going ok with us everyday while we were at the Mujeres. He always called us by our name and would stop to talk to us or even say hello when he saw us. I would say that Alexander is a great asset to the Playa Mujeres Alexander is one of the reasons I will be returning next year. Now lets talk about Jesse (but she spells it different) a waitress at the Mujeres she was awesome and she is another reason I would return next year as well and the same with Gloria and Heidie they where all awesome. Also the bartenders at the Martini Bar (and for give us that we forgot your names) they were the best.

Now lets get to the rooms. I think the room was excellent and the rooms were always cleaned and mini bar was stocked everyday.

The pools where great and you had a variety of them to go to other than just the beach. Some where a party atmosphere while others where quite and relaxing.

The beach was ok if you like calm waters. Sea grass did suck but the staff did their job to keep it clean at all times.

My favorite restaurants at the Mujeres was The Lobster House and the Grill. The food was awesome.

The entertainment was excellent. Always some entertainment going on throughout the day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,085 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,469 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
9.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#6 of 175 in Cancun
5,599 reviews
10.8 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Property: Excellence Playa Mujeres
Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Savannahville Tours N.V., Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing