We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We just got back from Excellence Playa Mujeres. Everything was wonderful and we had a lot of fun. The place was beautiful, the rooms were very nice, and the staff was friendly and helpful. In between lounging by the pool with a great drink we did a bunch of activities like bike rides. My only very minor complaints would be:
1. The bathroom has no door, so there isn't a lot of privacy and it's an issue if you get up in the middle of the night
2. Food was very good, especially for an all inclusive, but not amazing
3. If you want to do any activities off the resort, it's far. I went scuba diving and it took the whole day because you have to drive south to Riviera Maya for everything. If you're planning to leave the resort to do excursions, you may be better of at their other property
4. Only one of the pools was heated
5. Beach is small and not great looking

We used Mark from Tripguy.com and he was very helpful and responsive. I would recommend him and the resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ash_bmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12,252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,348 - 7,354 of 12,252 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here from Dec 7-13th. Let me start by saying that I spend about 75 nights a year in a hotel traveling for business. However this was my first all-inclusive experience. It's really nice but I could not give it 5 stars due to the food and poor internet service.

We choose a swim up, which I wish we wouldn't have paid extra. Don't get me wrong it's nice but definitely less private as anyone walking by can see in your room. Also the pool on the lazy river didn't appear to be heated so we spent most of out time at the main pool. We were in 8004 and it really didn't get any sun. Not all of these room will obviously so if you want sun you can't really sit outside your room anyway.

The Great:

The place is absolutely beautiful. I don't think you can find a more beautiful and clean resort....period. The grounds crew is always cleaning and fixing issues that may come up. Grounds are amazing. We were in the 8000 building which was nice and I really liked the proximity to everything.

Restaurants and bar areas were also very clean and had very new chairs and decor. Nothing aged in the entire facility. staff was also very friendly.

Definitely extremely secure. Multiple guard gates to gain entry and no soliciting on the beach.

The rooms are really nice. Extremely clean. Nice closet area. Large TV (found the 24x7 porn channels a bit odd however). Only complaints are the beds are really hard and uncomfortable and there is definitely a lack of privacy with the bathroom situation. There is a window in the shower and open area between beds and sink area and toilet. You can hear everything if you know what I mean.

The shows were both good and bad. Like Madonna and Michael Jackson impersonators but the comedy/manic show was weak as was the Caribbean show.

The not so good(I don't want to say bad but disappointing):

The internet is horrible! Extremely slow. Didn't matter if it was PC, tablet, or phone. I had to sit outside to get a decent signal. Also had issues accessing one of my email accounts which I think may have been due to their DNS config.

The food was somewhat disappointing after reading other reviews. I'm a foodie so I was really looking forward to some great meals. We had some good meals but nothing spectacular. Actually had to send a few meals back(which I never do). One steak at Agave was rubber and both my wife and I were served undercooked burgers(twice for my wife in one meal) at the Lobster house for lunch one day. Also the menus online do not match what they serve at the resort. It's close but definitely a bit smaller.

Restaurants:

I definitely recommending ordering an extra meal in a lot of cases as portions are small and if you don't like something you are more likely to leave satisfied. My wife and I often split a 3rd entree. Here was my order of preference:

Chez Isabelle-Steak was awesome as was the apple dessert

Lobster house- ordered steak and lobster both very good. Breakfast and lunches were just ok.

agave- you have to try the Tamarind Margarita! The night I sent my steak back Luis brought me one and I kept ordering them the rest of the stay. I also have to say they responded amazingly when I sent my food back and had me a different meal within 5 minutes.

Spice-great appetizers(maki combo and some other share app). Entrees extremely disappointing for both my wife and I. Seafood curry was very fishy. Wife's noodle dish wasn't too good either. I'd go back and just get sushi next time.

tapas place- not good. Went here our first night. Service was poor. Took forever to even have a waiter show up to our table. Even though the place was pretty empty. Ordered 6 each based on server recommendation. Most we're not very good.

Did not try basmati, Mediterranean( menu didn't appeal to us), or toscano(based on other guests we spoke with).

Breakfast I preferred Toscano. Huge selection and made to order eggs fit me well. Lobster house breakfast was beautiful views. but food wasn't as good.

Be sure to try the lunches on the beach. Burgers were great. Tacos were fabulous. pizzas everyone raved about I just found to be OK.

Misc:

Beach had some seaweed but I thought it was nice overall and the staff attempted to clean it up daily. Winds were very strong from off shore so it was pretty rough water. That being said it was pretty warm.

I'm not a huge drinker but enjoyed meeting people sitting at the pool bar. Eduardo took care of us.

Service: had good and bad experiences as one can expect. One thing I found very impressive was that the day before we left we received a call from the Concierge to ask how our stay was. I said "good" and he said "just good". I explained a couple things that could be better but in no way complaining. He asked where we planned to go for dinner that night. When we arrived at the Lobster House they had a special table for us and offered a free bottle of wine. Service by Orlando was amazing. Also 90%+ of the staff were REALLY friendly.

Also, we came back on our last night and the had run a bath and put rose petals around the tub and towel swans on the bed covered on petals. Really nice touch!!!

Excursions: We took the high speed ferry to isla mujeres to shop it was fun. $15 cab ride and around $14 round trip I believe for the boat ride. If you do that don't buy on the main road. Walk up a few blocks to Hidalgo St. Much better pricing. Also pricing was better and people were less aggressive than in downtown Cancun.

I would recommend EPM for a romantic getaway where you wish to spend most of your time at the resort. It's sort of off the beaten path so doing anything outside the resort requires a taxi trip.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Nussy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres with all Trip Advisor Readers.

We are pleased to know that your relaxing vacation with us was highlighted by the courteous attention of our staff, comfort room accommodation & amenities. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay.

On the other hand we are very sad to read we didn’t meet your expectations since one of our main objectives is the satisfaction of our guests with a high quality on the food and the drinks. Our Food & Beverage Manager and our Executive Chef have received your feedback and are working on improvements to guarantee our guest the best quality possible.

We also would like to remind all of our guests that if you want to eat something that is not in our restaurants, please let us know, and our Chef will be more than happy to prepare a special meal for you, if the ingredients are available.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We went Thanksgiving week. We were repeaters. Everything that the resort controlled (weather excluded) was wonderful! (The weather was low 80's for the high and low 70's for the low, which beats the heck out of Washington DC but it rained about four times. From the time that Diego or another doorman great you upon arrival, you are in good hands. All the employees work so hard to keep everything in tip top shape. The martini bar in the main building serves up martinis fast and furious. The wine tasting class was especially good. The French restaurant was our favorite. The buffet for breakfast is high quality. The rooms are spacious and kept in immaculate condition. Room service is far about average. The only small disappointments were the SLOW internet (probably shouldn't be on anyway) and the Mexican restaurant wasn't as great as we remembered from our past visit. Barcelona was great, Spice was great, and the grill served up tasty seafood. We each gained 5 pounds in a week, but they came off fast upon our return to normal eating and drinking. We went to the Spa for a couples massage upon the day of arrival, and it was excellent. We will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: The Garden Room overlooked the pool and had a great view. The time prior we had an ocean view. Both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VirginiaCouple21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We spent 7 nights at the EPM and really enjoyed our stay.

We first stayed 3 nights in a not excellence swim up room located in building 1. We asked for that building prior our arrival and we were happy they filled our request. That building is very quiet facing the spa. The room is nice and well organized, including in-room liquor such as Tequila, Gin, Vodka, Rum and Wine. The mini bar is full of beers, soda, water and some snacks. The access to the lazy river was really nice despite that pool is cold. We were almost the only one swimming in there!

On our fourth night, we moved to an Excellence Rooftop 2 story in building 9a as requested prior to our arrival again (We had the room 9455) which was amazing. It was facing the ocean on the quiet side of the resort. The room is quite like the other one with an improved mini-bar and in-room alcohol selection with a nice balcony. On the top floor, there are a small spa/pool, a bed and a huge coach. We spent a lot of time on that outside area facing the beach and had a great time.

Both rooms were nice and as mentioned by others, the only con may be the loo, which lacks privacy. Not a big deal when in a couple, but can imagine it is with friends.

The resort has 9 restaurants and we tried 6 of them. We enjoyed the Italian, the Mexican, The Grill and the Asian but have been really disappointed by the Indian (no taste at all) and the French (We grew up in France and that was as far as it could be from a French restaurant). There are also a few bars in the resort and all were nice and had a good alcohol and cocktail selection.

For lunch, we ate a couple of times at the Grill, which is well located, over the main pool facing the ocean. The food there was quite good. The other days, we were having our lunch using room service. The room service menu was large enough and the quality ok but they made so many mistakes with our orders. Out of 5 times we ordered room service, we only got 1 time exactly what we asked for. The other day, we would have cheese in the burger when we asked not or we would get Sicilian Pasta when we ordered Excellence Club Pasta (Ricotta and Spinach Pasta)….

When you book an excellence club room, you get a free aqua treatment at the spa which consists in hot and cold pool, Hammam, Sauna, Mexican shower and massage pool. We also got a massage from the forehead to the nape, which was not supposed to be included. This service is really great. We then decided to book a “Couple massage by the ocean” which was also great and not so expensive. They have two massage tables located on the sand facing the ocean. We did that at sunset, when the beach was almost empty and we could hear the sound of waves while being massed; an awesome experience. Another good point is that when you book a massage, you get another free aqua treatment that can be done on a different day.

Entertainment also seems to be a main focus at EPM. We went to see a few shows at night in the theatre and really enjoyed the Michael Jackson show and the 1001 nights one. Madonna was ok and we have been disappointed by the others.


There are a few stores in the resort, a souvenir store, a boutique that sells resort signed products, a sunglasses store and a jewelry. The jewelry is quite big for a store located in a resort and has some really niece pieces - A few diamonds over $4000 – but do not forget to negotiate, at least 30% since asking price seems to be a bit overpriced.

Regarding the service, it is generally good. Check in went smooth and quick as well as check out, despite some issues (see below). Almost everyone smiles and is very nice. Service at restaurants and bars is the same. Concierge are very helpful and dedicated to help out their clients. I proposed my girlfriend at the EPM and went to my building concierge to have some decoration done while we were out for a drink. I did it just like 2 hours before popping the question and when we got back to the room, everything was perfect, rose petals, candles everywhere and Champagne, exactly as I requested.

For information, we tipped in USD and had no issue. There is an ATM located in the reception that gives USD only and charges a lot. 40USD withdrawal ended up being 51USD.

I started with what was good but there are also a few negatives which really bothers me

First, we had some issued with our keys on our last 3 days. Our keys were always disconnected and we had to go to the reception at least 12 times and 5 on our last evening. One guy at the reception was always full of reasons (once it was due to my mobile, once due to my credit card, he always had reasons even if the key was in my swim bath pocket, close to nothing) but never apologies. We were pretty upset since it was our last night and we asked to speak with the resort manager; the guys listened to us but did not really do anything. He seemed pretty useless to us. We were not asking for anything, just some apologies, at least for the way, the reception guy treated us like liars and based on the fact that we spend huge $$$ on Massages, Jewelry….

Also, when we checked in for the first 3 nights, they did not have our reservation for the following 4 nights and we had to send email to the reception despite we were there, at the reception since they needed something in writing!!!! We also had to follow up to make sure we would get a room. That is something that should have been avoided. And then, when we switched room on our fourth day, we had to check out at noon and then check in again at 2:30 (They did not offered us late check out for that room or early check in for the other one). On our last day, we also had to check out at noon despite our transportation were at 4:00; I am aware late checkout is a courtesy but based on the issues we encountered during the week, something should have been done.

That is a real difference between a 5 star hotel and a 5 star resort. Service should always go beyond expectation, which is not the case at EPM.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in building 9a if you want to be on the quiet side if you book an Excellence Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres with all Trip Advisor Readers.

Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable.

We would like to also offer you our most sincere apologies for the situations faced during your stay which caused you uncomfortable moments and for the inadequate follow up provided. We totally understand how you felt about having to deal with these situations, instead of spending time enjoying the Resort facilities and your overall vacation. However please note that late check outs are upon request and subject to availability. However at Excellence Resorts our guest requests are considered priority, and the hotel always do their best to meet guest preferences when possible.

Allow us to assure you that immediate measures have been taken with the responsible managers of each area to avoid future discontents on these matters.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Went to Cancun with my boyfriend Thanksgiving of 2012 and Thanksgiving of 2013. Last year we stayed at the Live Aqua and this year we stayed at the Excellence Playa Mujeres. Both resorts were high quality, adults-only, and all-inclusive, and we would recommend them both to other travelers. (You can check out my review titled “Really enjoyed our "SPAqua" experience!” for more info on the other hotel.)

Re: Excellence Playa Mujeres....

Positives:
- Staff was extremely helpful and professional.
- Grounds are pristine, and there are some interesting nooks and crannies such as swinging beds and floating hammocks in the pools.
- The massage I had at the spa was one of the best I've had among hundreds - very pleasantly surprised!
- There was a very entertaining Michael Jackson impersonation show one evening.
- There were nearly 10 restaurant options to choose from, including hibachi (the only one that requires reservations), Spanish tapas, French, Italian, Mexican, Indian, Asian, etc.

Negatives - Note: these are all pretty minor - we had a really good time - but just including some areas that were not as great for reference...
- Water temperature in the pools and hot tubs was too cold. We asked for the temp to be raised since it was too cold to go in the ocean and we wanted to get in the water somehow, but nothing was done unfortunately. We ended up using our indoor hot tub instead, which was fun but not the same.
- We opted to 'trade up' on becoming Club Excellence guests, which means a more expensive room but either an ocean view or swim up pool room and access to certain private beach and pool areas. This was fine, but the pool that our room was next to was on the side of the property and *never* got any sun. We ended up not really taking advantage of the swim up room unfortunately.
- The first night of our stay, there were about 30 mosquitos had made their home on the ceiling of the hot tub area of our room. We called to have the situation dealt with, and someone came and sprayed... but all of the dead mosquitos were left in the hot tub and no one ever followed up with us afterwards to check if the problem was resolved. My boyfriend actually found the source of the mosquitos (a window that hadn't been locked properly) and fixed it himself.
- The majority of the evening entertainment was pretty lame, including a "fire" show where many people (including us) left after about 10 minutes.
- Like many all-inclusives, there was a ton of food available, but the quality was mediocre.
- Room cleaning service was inconsistent at times. We had to call to have the maid service clean our room twice.
- Though there were many restaurants on the premises, the information about which ones were open / closed was not always accurate.

Would we return?
- Both the Live Aqua and the Excellence were great - but I think we are all Cancun'ed out. We've done all the day trips and neither of us drinks much alcohol, so I think we'll probably find a new (and non-all-inclusive) vacation destination for our next trip!

Room Tip: Make sure if you are getting an Excellence Club room by the pool that it's in the main area that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaTravelsAndEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Absolutely a fantastic place. Phenomenal. Great attentive service. Great food. Great pools. Very good beach, not fantastic, but definitely adequate, with no vendors and great huts to avoid the sun rays while enjoying the view and a good book and fruity tropical drink. Great bars. Great restaurant choices. Great buffets (you have to fight not to keep going back). Great rooms. Great amenities. the entire place exudes fun and relaxation and romance. Met tons of people who were returning guests and I can easily see why. I also can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Consider an ocean view and/or away from the busiest pool area or the theatre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The title of my review says it all. My wife and I have just returned home from our sixth visit to this wonderful resort and we're already looking forward to our next. One would think that after six times, things would begin to get stale, but the wonderful staff at Excellence Playa Mujeres defies the norm and finds ways to make each stay even more special than the last. Virginia Amador just be the finest General Director of any hotel anywhere, She leads a staff that is second to none; providing service which leaves nothing to be desired. That fine service is accompanied by great food, served in nine sit down full service restaurants which require no reservations, for dinner along with multiple choices for breakfast and lunch. This all inclusive resort also serves only top shelf liquor which is available not only with dinner but also at the many bars located throughout the property and in your room as well. Oh and room service is always on time! For those of you who enjoy a good massage and spa service Excellence Playa Mujeres will exceed your expectations in that dep't as well. I would also recommend if you can, booking the Excellence Club which is essentially a hotel within the hotel and kicks the special service up (sounds impossible I know) even a notch or two higher. Finally I would be remiss if I didn't give special attention to Virginia Amador's fine staff, including her assistant director Eric, Chief Concierge Wilburette, Sandra, Dalel, Marianna, Lidia, Jose, Diego, Paul, and of course the head chef and the countless others from housekeeping , maintenance, room service etc whose names escape me but who all contribute to a truly excellent experience!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

First of all, allow us to thank you for giving us the opportunity to welcome you back at Excellence Resorts.

We are glad to know that every time you have stayed with us, you have been able to enjoy of many unique and memorable experiences due to the amazing staff, the high quality food and drinks encountered at our Restaurants and bars, and lastly but no less important, our Resort facilities.

We all look forward to welcome you on your 7th visit, and to provide you with another memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,544 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel del Sol
Hotel del Sol
#117 of 177 in Cancun
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,985 reviews
1.6 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range: $408 - $828 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Savannahville Tours N.V., BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing