We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great All Inclusive!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great All Inclusive!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at this resort for our annivesary. This is the 3rd all inclusive resort we have been to and this one was our favorite so far! The room size was perfect, the bed was incredibly comfortable and the entire resort was very clean. We never had a problem finding a chair by the pool and they had more than enough towels available for use. The food was not only plentiful but tasted great! The service was also exceptional. On our last night at the resort we mentioned in passing to a staff member where we planned to go for our last dinner and when we arrived there to eat they had a table set aside with rose petals and a special dessert tray made just for us. It's also worth mentioning that the drinks were great!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a mattress topper...it was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fun2travelMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9,484
    1,385
    350
    135
    73
See reviews for
503
9,361
92
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,096)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I loved this resort. Room was great with spa tub and large shower, double sinks, nice terrace with sun bed also and seating area. The food was really good especially Basmati restaurant and lobster house. There was a show of Michael Jackson, it was interesting. The resort has about 9 restaurants. The beach was amazing. The service was really good. The hotel is clean, no dirt anywhere u could find. Housekeeping and turndown service were good. There is only one little complain about room service, food not delicious and took a long time. I hope to go there again. By the way I booked this resort because of tripadvisor and it is really excellent and worth visiting for 5 nights. There is another complain the room is not soundproofed, u can not sleep properly after 7:00 am although we had the club room.

Room Tip: Higher floors , keep away from swim up room. And there is special thing in the club room. They are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is incredible! Anyone that moans must seriously not know what luxury is! My partner and I arrived on the 21st for 2 weeks and it has been pure paradise from start to finish. The staff cannot do enough for you. Javier the food and drinks manager has made our stay so wonderful. We have had special dinners prepared, drinks brought to our room on request and special cakes left in our room! He really is fantastic. The food here is awesome. We like nice food and have to say that this place matches top restaurants that we eat in back in the UK. To mention a few others, Oscar from basmati is a credit to the hotel, Cesar from the martini bar who makes incredible cocktails without you even asking, Juan from basmati who again can't do enough for you and decorated our table with rose petals. We are staying in 1203 which is perfect! It's quiet and relaxing and the maids have been excellent! We are already talking about our next trip! We have 3 days left so I will carry on enjoying! Do not think about this place.... Book it!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abi1988-2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I am sitting on my sunbed enjoying my last day at the resort to the full. Where do I start. We have just spent an amazing 10 days at this beautiful resort and are already talking about when we will be coming back!

Some of the reviews I have read I am sure I must be in a different place as we have had such great service. We have had a few niggly problems but if you let them know they do everything to put it right and more. I would like to say a big thank you to all the staff who are so friendly, polite and helpful especially Vilma who we cannot thank enough for made our stay here extra special.

Our room was lovely kept clean always fresh towels etc. the food on the whole was excellent some better then others but all edible. The hotels excursion the best service 10/10. No problems getting sunbeds and able to get drinks none stop with no wait.

My husband loves to sail and was so pleased to see hobbiecats in good working order and usually no wait to use.

Will definitely be recommending this hotel to all our friends a real gem. Thank you
.

Room Tip: We stayed in block 3 which is far away but lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie Dyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I am going to honestly say, I would never return. Let me explain.

We have gone to Excellence Riviera Cancun about 8 times now, this place was booked on a whim because Riviera Cancun had no availabilities for our room preference during those dates.

1. This place is MORE expensive, I have NO idea why. I kept asking myself through out the stay, why.

2. What you think of "ocean view" or "ocean front", it's not. We rented, or thought, what we rented was going to be an ocean front building with a full view of the beach, no such thing at this resort. The beach, itself, is VERY small, for the size of the resort. The buildings are built at an angle to give what seems like, most, a GLIMPSE of the ocean. We arrived late on Wednesday, and were placed in "excellence club - ocean front room" -- building 7 --- right next to the late night shows and band playing into the hours of the night, I immediately asked to move, they had no rooms available. Keep in mind, we arrived LATE, now we have a band outside our building with drunk people, trying to get rest. They said it we could move the following day. Well, while we are on the beach, the concierge comes to tell us our new room is ready and if we can vacate our current because they have to get it ready for someone else. We move our stuff out, only to find out, our room, in actuality is NOT ready, and was NOT ready until 3 PM! While the staff was pleasant and nice, it did not make the difference of the fact that our ENTIRE second day, we basically had no room to go to shower and change for lunch after being in the sand.

3. Do NOT waste your money on Excellence Club. While I consider it worth it at Riviera Cancun, as it has it's own section of buildings far away from the "crowd", this place just considers certain rooms Excellence Club. The bar is far from the ocean, building 9, where we ended up staying, was on the other side of the resort from Excellence Club AND the beach at which we were suppose to have reserved for us. Also, you are NOT allowed to reserve chairs on your way to breakfast. There are maybe 30 chairs available for 100's of rooms, so you end up on a waiting list if you don't show up early enough. Why did I pay for Excellence Club?! It's a place to go if you love pools because that's what most of the property is, and we are not pool people, we came for the beach and relaxation, the first two days out of FOUR were down the drain.

Also, we have always rented the roof top terrace at the Riviera Cancun, as we enjoy being able to sit on the patio, watch the waves, have some privacy. Don't expect it here. Usually, you can see everything that goes on up there. They are not necessarily on the top level, the front is see through glass. I was beyond glad I didn't book this room here.

The food, the service is great. The resort itself was a huge disappointment in comparison to Riviera Cancun. I would think twice before forking over extra cash to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your experience with us.

We would like to highlight that all our Excellence Resorts are designed with a different personality, but always with the same high standards. We regret that we were not able to meet your expectations since one of our main objectives is the satisfaction of our guests with the quality on the food, service and our resort facilities.

Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We arrived on Monday and have had nothing but EXCELLENT service. Everyone is so friendly and the resort is very well kept by the staff. We absolutely will recommend this resort to anyone and have nothing negative to say. We are so happy we chose the Excellence Playa Mujeres as our honeymoon spot.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Went there in the beginning of September. We got lucky with the weather because it only rained for 1 day.
Excellence is a very nice and clean place resort. Rooftop room section if awesome!
Great service and good food. Many restaurants to choose from.
Got lucky when we checked in, because we got upgraded to VIP section. More choice of food in the room service menu. Private section at the beach with comfortable lounge chairs.
Nothing to complain about.
Took the Taxi 15$ USD and the ferry 20$ USD (roundtrip) to Isla Mujeres Island instead of paying 80$ for catamaran excursion.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TonyTPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 180 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#5 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,393 reviews
9.8 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Property: Excellence Playa Mujeres
Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., Hotwire, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing