We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC HOLIDAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC HOLIDAY”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks and had an amazing time. The staff here are all excellent Cindy & Andy in the Martini Bar, Emilio at the beach grill, Christian at Chez Isabelle, Gerardo in The Flavour Market, Julianna drinks waitress at the pool and Eric Cervantes General Manager Assistant all helped to make our stay extra special. There are too many nice people to mention everyone, it seems unfair to mention only a few.....Domingo the Saxophone player in the Martini Bar when we were there was very entertaining and a great sax player!

The food is excellent here and we never had a problem eating in the restaurant we decided to go that night. It is a great idea not having to book for meals.

Thanks once again for a wonderful stay for our 34th wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morag C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9,609
    1,394
    359
    140
    74
See reviews for
515
9,472
93
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had an excellent time at Excellence Playa Mujeres. The staff was incredible. The food and drink were top notch! Chez Isabelle, Spice and Lobster House (for lunch and dinner) were our favorites. There was so much variety we couldn't do it all in 5 days. The room was huge! The resort was new and clean, too! Can't say enough wonderful things about this place. I can't wait to go to their new property in Jamaica!

Room Tip: The beds are really hard. If you ask for a feather bed they'll put one on your bed. We were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Excellence came highly recommended by friends so we went in with high expectations. They exceeded our expectations and beyond. This property is beautiful, the food is excellent, and the service is second to none. We were greeted at the front door with ice cold wash cloths to wipe our head with. From then on it got better and better. Our room overlooked the lazy river and our bed was vary comfortable. Our favorite meals were the sea bass at the french restaurant and the grilled lobster at the lobster house. We loved that it was a secluded resort. Our excursion came highly recommended by Laura the concierge and we loved it. The drinks were delicious. All of the staff spoke great english so there was no communication problems. It was our first time at EPM, but we met several couples who were on their repeated trips. It was the best vacation i have ever been on and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: we were on the second floor of building 7 overlooking the pool and it was perfect. If your willing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mela44mack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed here back in March for 1 week. The resort itself is a short drive out of downtown Cancun (15mins), however this is just what we were looking for, it was close enough if we wanted a night out but far enough away to escape the noise. It was spring break when we were out there which meant there were a lot of young American students in the area, however thankfully not at this resort.
We upgraded to the Excellence Club package which I thought personally was worth it, especially for the location of the room. Upon arrival we were served with sparkling wine and a fresh cooling towel. We were then shown to the Excellence Club lounge area where we were offered food and drinks.
Our room was on the second floor overlooking the private pool area. The room was a good size with a massive bed. Certain pillow types are available on request which is good! Drinks fridge and snacks refilled daily with a wide range of choice. Massive shower cubicle with multiple shower powerful shower heads.
The food and drink throughout the resort was really good, although some of the restaurants were better than others. We were a little disappointed with both the Mexican (considering we were in Mexico) and the tapas bar where the service was very poor.
As with most resorts these days reserving sunbeds is forbidden but this still does not seem to stop people from getting up early and putting their stuff on the prime location beds around the pool. A few extra sunbeds would have been helpful as there was plenty of room for them without it being over crowded. Saying this as we upgraded we gained access to the private loungers on the beach which were extremely comfortable and of a higher quality.
Finally a word on tipping. Although it is not compulsory it has become some what expected by the staff, unfortunately even if their service is poor. On this basis we only decided to tip the staff that we felt made an effort with us or went out of their way to help.

Room Tip: Block 8 or 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APS_0988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time and sharing your experience with us. At Excellence Playa Mujeres we strive to make every stay, as close to perfection as possible and we will continue working hard in this direction. Comments like yours have always been of great assistance in fulfilling this mission.
Allow us to apologize for the bad impression acquired, due to the gratuities given to our staff members. We certainly appreciate all guests who recognize the hard work done by them, even though these are not mandatory or expected by any staff member.
We will ensure that your amiable comments reach the eyes and ears of all our staff at Resort. We look forward to see you again and provide you with an even better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I went on our honeymoon here. We got the honeymoon ocean front suite. We fell in love with the hotel, the people, the service, everything. Loved the lazy river. The jet skiing and the para sailing. Just totally relaxed. The shows were good as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Apologies for the late review but given that many people may be looking to book now for Xmas 2013 I thought it was still worth writing.

This was our second visit to EPM in 2012 having been in February to celebrate my husband’s 50th Birthday. We have also stayed at ERC and EPC in prior years. Since experiencing the great service, food options and standard of accommodation you get at Excellence we have found it difficult to find other resorts that even come close to being comparable.

We arrived on the Sat 15th December after a long 10+ hour flight from Birmingham with Thomson. We upgraded the flights as we think it is worth the extra for the space and additional comfort.
The flight was uneventful and we arrived in Cancun around 3pm, we were quickly through immigration & collected our bags – we got the green light at customs so it was head down and a fast paced walk through the timeshare touts to outside where our Jumbo Tours transfer was waiting. In no time at all we were on our way – traffic was pretty busy around Cancun but we were at the hotel in around 30mins.
We had a lovely welcome – a champagne punch and cool cloth and then the best bit walking through those huge doors to be greeted by the fantastic smell of Citrus. This was the first time we had been over Christmas and the Lobby looked stunning with the two large Christmas trees and the swathes of garlands and lights down the staircase.
We were quickly checked in and were pleased we had been allocated a room on a high floor in our preferred block. The rooms still look as new and are spotlessly clean and it was so nice to jump in the huge shower with the rain head to refresh after a long day of travel. A new addition for us this time was the spirits and wine in the room. I wasn’t keen on the small bottles of white wine in the mini bar as they were too sweet however the guy who replenished the bar would happily get a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc in an ice bucket if we were in the room when he called.

We ate in all the restaurants during the two weeks with our favourites being Basmati, Flavour Market, Chez Isabel & Agave. Our only disappointing meal was in Spice where we had poor service. To give them the benefit of the doubt it may be because the chairs are so high backed they can’t easily see if your glass is empty but the waiters walked back and forth to the kitchens without even glancing at any of the tables and it was difficult to get more than a thimbleful of wine if they did see you. This was such a contrast to the fantastic service we had from Ivan in Flavour Market he’s such a lovely humble man and he remembered us from our previous visit. Also Luis in Agave who was very knowledgeable about the menu and was making suggestions to the food he thought we would like. My husband had the steak in Agave on Christmas Eve and it was cooked to perfection. In Basmati Jessica the lovely Hostess and Oscar our waiter on many occasions who was great fun.
So many of the staff make our stay re-memorable and I wish I could remember all their names – Jacqueline and Gloria the hostesses in Toscana who were there each morning with a smile, Tonatiuh (sp) our waiter for breakfast and often at lunch in the grill he always remembered our names, Cesar, David and Job in the Martini Bar for the great drinks service (sorry we were always the last to leave). Julian and Jorge at Kafe Kafe, Hugo at the Sol bar & the wonderful Maria serving our drinks around the pool. Fidencio in the Martini Bar during the day- great drinks and service with a smile. We tipped often but not excessively & always felt that it was appreciated but never expected.

We were lucky enough to be there on the 21st Dec for the Mayan Celebrations marking the beginning of a new Era. Unfortunately the weather did not co-operate and it was a wild and windy day. It was impossible to go on the beach that day and such a shame as they had organised a special celebration with Mayan dancers and a beach bonfire. All was not lost though as in true Excellence style they had a back-up plan – they moved everything to Kafe Kafe square and the fire was set-up in a ring of stones. The food was served buffet style in Agave & was very tasty.


Christmas Excellence Style

The festivities started on Christmas Eve with the biggest Piñata you have ever seen set up on the beach near the beach grill. The Mariachi band played whilst the entertainment team blindfolded people, spun them round and let them loose on the Piñata with a big stick. It was fun – it took an hour or so before the sweets were released.
In the evening there were Christmas Carols in the theatre at 8.30pm although there wasn’t a huge turnout we listened for a while but decided to go to Agave for dinner.

Christmas Day the reggae band arrived around lunch time and Santa arrived on a Harley – the band sang reggae songs with a Christmas remix. You could have your photo taken sitting on Santa’s knee and so many people were doing this. Just proves we are all kids when it comes to Christmas !
Early evening in the Martini bar there was a Gospel Choir and even though we didn’t make it because we were still chilling on our balcony we heard they were very good. The menus in the restaurants were all given a Christmas makeover with Christmas flavours but in keeping with the restaurant. We went to Chez Isabel Christmas night and had a fantastic meal – very different and it included apple and cinnamon soup which was delicious. You could still order off the usual menu if you preferred.


We had the pleasure of meeting some great people whilst we were there from Canada, US & UK. They all made the holiday a bit more special & thanks to G&M & B&L we had a very enjoyable meal with a lot of laughs in the Wine Cellar in Chez Isabel. The staff again pulled out all the stops and a special thank you to Elizabeth for organising it. The wine cellar looked stunning with the huge candles and table decorations. Thanks to J&N for the laughs & keeping us company in the Martini Bar after hours & long after the “Out Out” people have gone to bed,

For the first time at an Excellence resort we attended the Managers cocktail party and it was a pleasure to meet Virginia and her team. The management team are very visible at this resort and you constantly see them walking the grounds, talking to guests and are quick to spot anything that needs to be done. We often saw one of the management spot something be it a problem with the gardens needing attention or people waiting at the bar and they were on their radios or talking to the wait staff to get things rectified immediately.


All in all it was a lovely Christmas and I am pleased to say we have already booked again for 2013 and will be meeting up with friends old and new !

Room Tip: Rooms in block 8 & 7 get the afternoon sun in Winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UKJode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review, and for recommending us with your friends and all Trip Advisor readers. Moreover, it will be an honor to host you again.
We are very glad to know that this second stay at Excellence Playa Mujeres didn’t disappointed. Please be sure that Ivan, Luis, Jessica, Jaqueline, Tonatiuh, Cesar, David, Julian, Jorge and Fidencio have been already congratulated for providing you an excellent service during your stay. It will be a pleasure to welcome you on your third visit and provide you another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I did not think I would be a resort person because I thought I would be bored so I never considered this for a vacation option. However, my friend picked EPM to celebrate her birthday here and the website did look amazing so I opted to go for 4 days vs. the entire week. I must say I am a convert to the "right" resort experience. EPM offers numerous restaurants (we didn't even get to eat at them all), pools, cafes, juice bars, actvities, etc. to keep everyone busy (like me) or enable you to relax.

We came in July so it was busy but not peak season which also made it very nice as the resort did not feel very crowded at all during the week and even on the weekend was not too bad. The resort is located at the northern end of Cancun about 30 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from the Hotel Zone. It is remote so if you want to spend time in the Cancun tourist area, you will need to take a taxi back and forth which may be expensive. However, I liked the isolated remote area away from the other hotels. It just takes a little longer to get back and forth if you do any excursions. It was also nice to have everything included so you never had to worry about anything unless you go on an excursion or do one of the fee activities.

Highlights:
Daily fitness classes offered in the mornings including kickboxing, zumba, yoga, aqua aerobics / zumba. I was usually one of three or four people in the classes but the fitness instructor said usually there are 10-12. Show up a few minutes early. The group class room is located next to the fitness center gym.

The other activities that offered were a lot of fun . . .bike tour (you get to see the Macaws and hold one on your arm), bull riding competition, archery, latin dancing, etc. I went to as many activities as I could fit in!

I was impressed with the variety and quality of restaurants at the resort. Unfortunately most are only open for dinner and some of them are small so if you want to get a table even in the offpeak season, you need to show up before 7 p.m.; otherwise, there would be an hour or more wait for couples so if you are a group of 6 like we were, it would be even worse. So if you want French, Indian, Tapas, Barcelona (mediterranean), Lobster House . . plan for an earlier meal vs. later. Toscana and Agave are larger restaurants so they didn't have as long of a wait. It would be nice if they rotated some of the other restaurants for lunch because only the Grill, Toscana and Lobster House are open for breakfast and lunch every day. Toscana has a really nice buffet for both breakfast and lunch. We ordered room service for breakfast the first few days because we had early excursions but if you have time to go down for breakfast, the buffet is better. Most of the food was really good. The fresh juice bar near the spa is excellent. Fresh juices also at breakfast in Toscana.

Concierge:
My luggage didn't make it to Cancun. The concierge called the airline several times for me to check on the status of my bag for me. The night concierge Matthew was especially proactive in following up. Fortunately my bag arrived at midnight on the second day and the front desk immediately called to let me know and have it delivered to my room. The clothing in the gift shop was pretty expensive . . . over US$200 for a bathing suit! So shopping at the resort is definitely limited unless you really like something.

Hotel Transfer:
So the only negative thing for me is the cost of the private hotel transfer. I was traveling back and forth to the airport solo and $145 is a lot of money to go back and forth. However, I found Happy Shuttle Cancun on TripAdvisor, which had 5 star ratings from almost all of the reviewers. I was thrilled to be able to transfer to and from EPM for US$10 each way and the service was excellent and punctual. I was also the only passenge both ways so I had a private transfer. I think it's only $55 for a van of up to 4 people. So if you want to save a lot of $ on airport transfers, I recommend Happy Shuttle Cancun whom you can review on TripAdvisor.

My friend said she picked EPM because it was #1 on TripAdvisor and it lived up to her and all of our expectations. The service and facilities are wonderful and truly an escape.

Room Tip: There are 10 buildings located in a semicircle around the resort. Building 4 and 5 are probably loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank flypenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time of sharing your experience with us. It is a pleasure to know that we were able to exceed your expectations making of this vacation a memorable experience.
It was a delight to see you enjoyed our fitness classes and our entertainment. We are also pleased to know that your vacation with us was highlighted by enjoyable food in our restaurants and an attentive service.
At Excellence Playa Mujeres we strive to make every stay, as close to perfection as possible and we will continue working hard in this direction. Comments like yours have always been of great assistance in fulfilling this mission. We are looking forward to having you as our guests again and make every effort to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,010 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,422 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#6 of 175 in Cancun
5,493 reviews
9.8 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Property: Excellence Playa Mujeres
Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Savannahville Tours N.V., Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing