We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, irregular cleaning times”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, irregular cleaning times”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Would like to say that at most issues for a five star resort, the hotel meets no problem.
It's the cleaning and servicing of the rooms by both the cleaning staff and the mini bar staff that were a issue to myself and my wife. Most days on returning from the pool area the room still had not been made up despite having the card inserted at breakfast. This causes inconvenience when you want to shower and relax before going out for the evening. Quite impossible here.
The food and drink at most restaurants was ok without being outstanding but there is always going to be that issue with the quick turnaround. It's nice not to have you book and plan dinner days in advance. The service in the bars and around the public areas is always quick, friendly and efficient and the staff always greet you cheerily at all hours of day and night. It is a resort that I would quite happily return to and highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9,608
    1,394
    357
    139
    74
See reviews for
515
9,468
93
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks with my girlfriend and blew my expectations sky high!! We stayed in an all-inclusive hotel before so my expectations remained reasonably low heading into the trip. We had a choice of 9 different restaurants, all served fantastic food. I have seen a number of reviews who say the portions are on the small side but you are given a huge buffet breakfast, 3 course meal (if you want) for lunch and dinner. You can also help yourself to pizza by the pool side from 11:00 or the different themed buffet on the beach most days. I can assure you, you will not go hungry.

We stayed at the hotel for the first two weeks of March. Unfortunately it did rain for about 5 days of our trip. Normally I would be completely gutted but the hotel did a great job with providing entertainment. They had a number of pool tables, bikes, tennis, table tennis, poolside activities and a different themed show every night (for a week). So even on rainy days, you will find something to do.

The staff were incredibly helpful and polite and happy to give you as much food/drink as possible. Both the food and drink was fantastic, very well presented. The alcohol they serve was a mixture of local and high end brands – they will pretty much make whatever drink you want. They even have a bar called revive which serves you fruit smoothies only, ideal for after the gym.

The only complaint that we did have was that we requested a double room however, they gave us a twin. Not sure if this was Thomas Cooks fault or the hotels. We did speak with reception and as the hotel was fully booked, they were unable to replace the room. They did end up pushing the beds together but to be honest, the single beds where massive anyway so wasn’t a massive problem. Least it gave me a few weeks without the girlfriend takeover my side of the bed!!

In terms of location, the hotel is quite far away from the town centre (about 30 minutes’ drive). So if you are looking at going out every night, the hotel may be a little far away. However, it’s been built for pure luxury and relaxation which is exactly what it offers.

For those interested in scuba diving, we booked 6 dives through the company based at the hotel, AquaWorld. They seem descent and one of the biggest companies in the area. I would recommend going down to Cozumel for a few dives and the C-58 wreck dive.

All in all, a fantastic experience and highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

EPM was excellent.
Went in March. Weather was a little cool at night and warm, not hot, during the day.
Food was excellent in all the restaurants, especially the Indian and French.
Property is beautifully maintained and immaculate.

Rooms are a nice size. The bathroom without a door and just a frosted, swing glass door for the toilet was a little strange. You can see/hear everything. If you or your partner flush the toilet or run the faucet in the middle of the night...you will hear it.

I have read where there was some confusion about the pools being heated. The large main pool (with swim-up bar) IS heated, the smaller pools are not heated. However, the large pool is only a few degrees warmer than the other pools. It was cool in March and even though the large pool was "heated" it was still too cold to go into.

We went to Valentin Imperial Maya (VIM) last year. In comparing them both, they both have pros and cons, but they are both 5 star resorts. We felt EPM had nicer grounds, better pools, larger gym. But, we felt VIM staff was more attentive and friendlier and the beach was nicer.

Overall both resorts had excellent food and excellent food choices

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent an amazing week in March 2013 and already looking forward to returning to EPM. If you are checking out this Resort - just go! Some of the" not so great reviews" are very subjective - you must simply go and decide for yourselves. The Service, facilities and amenities are all excellent. You can do as much or as little as you like. Dine and drink as often as you like. WIFI was excellent - We had our ipads and were able to get access emails/internet throughout the resort including the beach. The Staff are well trained, professional, genuine and they all go out of their way to accommodate all your requests -the response was always "Why not!".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaPinotgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We just came back form Cancun and all I have to say is thank you Mexico. We had a wonderful time at the hotel and outside as well.
Service, environment, food, drinks... everything was excellent at his hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josefina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here at the end of February on a company trip. Let me begin by stating that we don't usually stay at all inclusive resorts. The resort itself is truly beautiful. The grounds are just like you see in the pictures. There were a variety of really great pools. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. The ocean was not nearly as bad as some reviewers claim. Yes there was some sea grass but it was still beautiful. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful with every request. The downside for us was the food. We joked with one another that we were there for 4 days and didn't have a good meal the entire trip until we left the resort. We aren't so called foodies but do enjoy a decent meal. The food was just average with not a single meal ever standing out. I stated earlier that we do not usually go to all inclusive resorts. Actually we travel quite extensively and this was only the 2nd so maybe this is the type of food one expects when served at an all inclusive. Besides the food everything else was very good.

I did play golf on the course adjacent to the resort and was the only one out there. The greens were in amazing shape and the course itself was challenging yet fun. Only complaint was the high green fee but its kind of what I've come to expect with resort golf.

If you are looking for a truly remarkable and memorable experience, take a taxi to the local ferry dock and take the 30 min ride over to Isla Mujeres. We have traveled to dozens of islands in the Caribbean and this little jewel really made an impression on us. Once you get over you can rent a golf cart for the day that seats 4 to get around the island. The cost was less than $50 and so much fun to drive around. We never once felt unsafe - actually quite opposite. We felt more safe on this small island than we did back on the mainland. Traveling around the island you will get to see some amazing beaches and scenery. If you head just north on the island there are some great beaches with an amazing sand bar that stretches for hundreds of yards. They have great beach bars and a really great Caribbean vibe. Check out the dive resort Avalon at the tip of the island. It is surrounded by a beautiful lagoon with amazing snorkeling. The beach is really beautiful.

Overall our experience was great. We don't usually travel to Mexico but if you're reading this you probably do and I imagine you cant go wrong with this resort. Just be prepared that although you have an seemingly endless supply of restaurant choices the food is not whats going to bring you back.

Room Tip: We thought about paying for an upgrade but honestly the standard rooms were really amazing just minu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmangum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The property itself: well laid out, even though it was 80% occuppied, it never seemed crowded. There were areas you could be where the action was, or a quite spot to 2.
The staff: always friendly (they probably have to be) and almost all genuinely seemed happy to be working there. Very personable, and they have a gift for remembering your name (and what you like to drink). Very hard working.
The restaurants: all fantastic, gourmet food. Just the right sized portions.
The entertainment: plently of scheduled things to do besides hang out poolside and drink.
The nightlife: fun, relaxing, carefree. You could sit and watch events (shows/performances) or parttake and be a bit silly (karaoke).
It was our 25th anniversary trip. And well worth the relaxing, carefree, do anything time spent there. The staff made everyday feel special.
NOT within walking distance to town. But if you're staying here, you really aren't going into town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 78tootall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,007 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,420 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#6 of 175 in Cancun
5,491 reviews
9.8 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Property: Excellence Playa Mujeres
Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Savannahville Tours N.V., BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing