We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Honeymoon Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon Destination”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Wanted something special for our honeymoon and could have not asked for more. We often stay at all inclusive resorts, but this is nothing like anywhere we have stayed before. Dont know of any other all inclusive resorts where you can have a bottle of quality wine while waiting for your fillet steak to arrive. All the restaurants had very friendly staff serving excellent food - we did not one poor meal in our two weeks there. All the drinks were top shelf and top quality, throughout the resort and pool bars - even the mini bar in the room! We always managed to find a sun lounger by any of the pools. The only extra we paid for was a meal on the beach which i would recommed for all visitors.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9,484
    1,385
    350
    135
    73
See reviews for
503
9,361
92
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,096)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We just returned from another wonderful trip to the Excellence Playa Mujeres. Virginia is running a great staff there and you will NOT get better service anywhere. From the wonderful food to the laid back atmosphere, everything is topnotch. Alexander supervises the bars with exhuberance, the Conceirage department is well represented by Vilma, the pool area has a wonderful sparkplug named Jesus who looks after your every wish. If you want to be pampered, eat and drink to your satisfaction, see WONDERFUL bands and meet great new people from around the world then this is your place.
If I had to mention one thing that was below the excellent standards of the rest of the resort it would be the beach. The beach is nice but the high winds tend to bring in seaweed. We have been to this resort twice and have used the beach when the seaweed is not around. It changes daily so we just adapt. The pool area more than makes up for the problems on some days at the water's edge.
I will be back. The people at this resort are ALL wonderful and Virginia and Eric are to be congratulated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank johnbalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I just returned from Excellence Playa Mujeres and cannot say enough positive things about the entire experience. My husband I honeymooned here and were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived, through check-in and our entire stay.
The pictures on this site (their site) do not do the resort justice, it is exquisite, clean and more than accommodating. This is truly a place for couples, there were a number of honeymooning couples as well as those looking for a get-away - we intend to visit this property again and will again partake in the Excellence Club features. There was one Excellence Club Concierge (Dalel) who was truly superb, offering suggestions, answering questions and providing advice on services in the resort and in Cancun.
The drinks, service and food were phenomenal - we only had one bad meal during our six days, likely due to our ordering.

Room Tip: We selected the two-story room with private pool in building #7 - amazing views and super-plush room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTL39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Albert, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My review of this resort is based on the fact that I am normally a 4 star person who splurged. Also we traveled with friends who have been to several 5 star and this had the best of all the places they stayed at before.

1. The food was so great with a lot of variety that I was able to eat a very healthy delicious diet while there. I didn't have to opt to eating all bread and fries like I normally do. Breakfast had so much fruit and fresh cheese, oats, honey, cereal, plus so much more but I love those options because I can't eat eggs. There were too many restaurants for dinner, I think they should probably combine a couple but that isn't a complaint. We really enjoyed the Asian and Indian restaurant.

2. The rooms were amazing. Only thing is the toilet is not private enough, they should consider changing the doors to something more private.

3. Service was beyond expectation. We never felt like we had to tip constantly to get good service and they don't know the word no. We enjoyed many of the staff members, very friendly. When we did it was very gracious.

4. Drinks were very good and we enjoyed the martini bar in the evenings before dinner. It was nice not having to set a reservation for dinner. If you didn't like something you could always just go some place else for dinner but we didn't experience this.

I've read a bit about slow service, we didn't experience this but then again we were on vacation and weren't in a rush to get anywhere. We like to enjoy our dinners and not feel like we are being rushed in and out. We got great service during this time though.

4. The entertainment was very good. The theatre was very comfortable as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

To have to write a 200 character minmum here will be no problem. This place is exquisite to say the least. The up-price for Excellence Club while staying here is worth every penny.

The concierge service in the club room and on the beach is unparalleled in all my years of Caribbean beach vacations - I'm afraid the Excellence Resorts leave "Couples and Sandals" resorts way behind. Of course the price is a bit higher too.

Food is plentiful, but more importantly of a very high quality, from the Spice Asian restaurant to Chez Isabelle (French haute cuisine) to the Toscana, Barcelona and Taste Market (tapas), you will never run out of food options. VERY important to pop out while people are getting ready for dinner and put your name on the waiting list (were there during high season) and you will be sure of a table. Toughest one to get in is without the Indian restaurant Basmati, but WELL worth the wait. Am not a big dal or nan fan, but the ones they made with good use of coriander and garlic (turmeric too, I think) made these hard to resist.

More swimming pools than you can shake a stick at and the day we spent at the Spa - Millè - was memorable. If you get an Excellence Club room one "water treatment" at the spa is fully included - per person. Don't lose it!

If total relaxation, great attentive service and a great selection of fine dining is what you are looking for, the Exclllence Resort in Playa Mujeres is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swissfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindenhurst long island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just got back from Excell Playa Mujeres. I don't see what all the hype about this place was. We stayed at the One in punta Cana last year and it though it was older. It was so much more beautiful. The food was better and the ambiance was filled with love and romance. This place was clean but it lacked all the tropical beauty that an excellenec club should have.The ambiance was stone cold. Nothing but building all over blocking any beauty of the sea unless you paid to upgrade. Hardly any flowers. Alot of nice grass with metal statues. No flamingos, no wild life except these three big ugly birds that flew around up in the sky hovering every day. And a few black birds. The other excellence had a natural reserve with all types of wildlife and they had beautiful birds every where and flowers and lush gardens every where. Their lobby was so more enchanting and welcoming. We upgraded to the club to get a better ocean view and all though my view showed the ocean, the roof of the grill was right in the way; which was really dirty that ruined the view. The club pools were nice but very cold ; the ambiance again..no scenery just alot of bushes and some palm trees. the beach water was cold. We could not get in because it was a windy week and the waters were not inviting. Being a club member we had good booze. But once we left those bars the liquor in the other bars were just rut gut.The food was good in most places but they could do alot better with the food in the buffet. Most times the potatoes were not fully cooked. the sausages were just really bad. Fruit was good. And the variety was just OK. The best restaurant is the french very good meat there. The hamburgers well I don't know what kind of meat they make their hamburgers with but they were not good at all. The beach grill made these sausages they were really salty and not tasty at all.
Now about the entertainment. The madonna show was nice and the MJackson show was very good. all lip singing. the rest of the shows were just really boreing. We enjoyed the Jamaican band that only comes once a week by the pool..And the mariachis on Friday. But the mexican food.. not good. The staff were all very gracious. But the staff at most good hotels are suppose to be nice anyway. we enjoyed the breakfast room service that was really good. I would never go back to this excellence. It was just too cold an ambiance. For the most part we had a nice time. But I don't believe I got my money's worth. I urge all of you shop around and get your money worth before you choose this place. there are so many more beautiful and spacious resorts in mexico. We have traveled all over been to sandals as well. This place just needs something more.

Room Tip: Building 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Longislandlady55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b oston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My son and I recently returned from a 12 day stay in feb. we stayed in the imperial suite in building 8. All I can say is WOW! My late husband and I have stayed in many "5 star" resorts in Mexico, none of which can compare to EPM, on many levels... The staff, especially Mariana Lojero, (guest service manager) treated us like royalty from the moment we arrived! Pretty much anything we needed she would provide and always a smile. We miss her:)!

The food was always delicious. We especially liked the Mexican restaurant where Juan made all our visits so enjoyable! On our last nite we had a special tasting menu provided by the chef just for us.. How nice! We liked Toscana for breakfasts and lunch and also the grille and lobster house. We also had room service a couple of times which we found to be great! Always on time and ALWAYS hot. (Which is not usually the case with room service). Try the pasta bolognase..

Our suite had a fabulous rooftop area with hydrotherapy pool which we used every day. Sometimes we just hung up there with cocktails, which they were more than happy to deliver to you. It also had a huge 1st floor balcony which overlooked the excellence club beach. A couple of times we did have a hard time getting chairs at the ex club pool, but we tended to be lazy in the a.m. So heading to the pool @ 10-11 they were usually full. That's where the roof top pool or beach came in handy!! The beach also was lovely, didn't see any seaweed that people were talking about!

To sum it up excellence playa mujeres was hands down THE nicest resort we've stayed in Mexico.. If anyone needs to know more, please feel free to email me... Adios!!!

Room Tip: Imperial suite for total luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 180 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#5 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,393 reviews
9.8 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Property: Excellence Playa Mujeres
Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Savannahville Tours N.V., Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing