We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence at Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2012

5 year anniversary stay…March 22 – 29, 2012

THE STAFF – They were awesome. So so so friendly, even the maintenance staff say hello when you walk by. Everyone had an ‘hola’ or ‘buenas dias’. They couldn’t have been more polite!

THE ENTERTAINMENT – This isn’t Vegas. It is pretty lame and probably could use some work. I mean you would never see one of the acts DROP their baton during a fire show in Vegas where it happened more than once at EPM. There was usually a bad at CafeKafe before the actual show at the theater and that was good. People would get up and dance. Having the background music while enjoying a few drinks was nice. Overall, it did give you something to do after dinner.

THE BEACH – Can’t give you a review as someone who sat there all day since my husband and I prefer the pool. We did take a few walks along the beach and yes, there is seaweed, but it’s the ocean!! They do clear it and it was never a nuisance.

THE POOL – We had Excellence Club so we spent our days at one of the Excellence pools behind building 8. The staff there is AMAZING! (hello to Carolina, Rubi, Andrea, Alexander, Enrique and our bartender Adan!) They provided cool washcloths to cool us off and the drinks were flowing! Yes, they state that you can’t save seats, but they do help you out if you are leaving temporarily. I was “warned” that they cannot guarantee that my chair will be available if I leave for lunch, but there was never an issue. We did come across a day that there were no seats available, but it was well after 12 by the time we got to the pool so we didn’t expect much. It would have been nice if they had a few extra chairs in storage for instances like this, but it wasn’t that big of a deal as we used that day to utilize our rooftop terrace.

THE FOOD – We didn’t have a bad meal. Ches Izabelle was by far the best restaurant. We went there twice. We did Toscana (buffet) for lunch only. We were planning on doing Basmati for our last night, but there was a 1 hour wait & unfortunately couldn’t wait as we had to go pack our bags. We did room service every morning for breakfast, it was DELICIOUS! I called the night before to set it up and they were prompt and the food was hot and fresh. Previous reviews had not so nice things to say about the food, but we didn’t see a thing wrong with it. It was great! One night we didn’t even order an appetizer and ordered 3 entrees. Yes, some portions could be small, but get something else if you want. I never left a meal hungry. Other than that we tried every restaurant at least once and like it all.

UPGRADING TO EXCELLENCE LEVEL- We loved this! We were always welcome with a smile when we went into the Excellence Club lounge. The food was out during meal times and I’m sure it didn’t last well throughout the day, but if you went in to enjoy the tastings early enough when it was fresh you won’t be disappointed.

THE ROOMS – We were impressed from the moment we walked into ours. The view!!! We had a great room with a 180* view of the ocean. Is it ocean FRONT? No, the resort itself is setback from the actual ocean, but there are rooms that offer you a pretty good ocean view. Thankfully we didn’t have a mold or mildew smell. The bathroom is a bit weird with the lack of privacy, but you make it work. The window in the shower looking out into the bedroom was also a bit weird, but it was the first to get fogged up by the steam. The water pressure and the 2 shower heads are great. Like everyone else, we miss that!

NOTES –

We felt that there was of a lack of dessert. Maybe adding a dessert/coffee/bakery type restaurant would be a good addition so you can get your sweet tooth satisfied. While everyone spoke English VERY well, there still was a bit of a barrier. I asked for Peanut M&M’s and got the regular peanuts sent twice.

Our package included a spa treatment and that was pretty good. HIGHLY recommend the hydro circuit, that was awesome!!!

Our package also included dinner on the beach. We chose the later seating (6:15 or 8:15 pm) and the food and ambience was great, but the lack of lighting was bad. We couldn’t even see our meals. Maybe working on that by adding a candle on the table or soft lighting with a lantern would be a nice touch.

We upgraded ourselves in our initial reservation to a rooftop terrace room. I’m glad we did so we can experience that room, but we didn’t find it worth the extra money. We found upgrading to the Excellence Club worth it and would do that again, but not the rooftop terrace. Why? There are 2 lounge beds, but no table so having room service up there was difficult, you ended up eating on your lap. The little pool was nice to cool off in, but there is no shade up there so it was hot. I think we got lucky with the weather as there was always a nice breeze and the evenings made for some nice naps out on the balcony lounger.

There are a ton of places left for my husband and I to visit, but we would not pass up an opportunity to return to EPM!

Hello to Katherine & Phil from DC and Sue & John from Long Island!

Room Tip: try to email the resort before you go so they can do the what they can to get you the best room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoBo24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9,628 - 9,634 of 12,352 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

First of all, the resort is beautiful, the service staff was nice and the food was decent.

However, who ever heard of an adults-only, all-inclusive resort that has an entire building filled with rooms that have only two twin-sized beds in them? Better yet....As the propertly wedding coordinator, why would you block off these rooms for an entire wedding party of 40+ people? Well that's what the smart people at Paya Mujeres did. And when I spoke with the front desk manager to inquire after the king-sized room we booked...which was confirmed on my travel voucher...I was told you can only reserve the "room type" and not the bed size.
I later met another group who ran into the exact same issue so I imagine this is a recurring problem at this properly...hence the feedback!

Furthermore, the customer service attitude does not exist there. I was told we had to spend the night....in seperate beds for the first night and then they could move us to anther room. This was in August when they resort was probably below 1/2 capacity however, they refused to accomodate an upgraded room for even just one night. Heck, I would have been happy if they just apologized...once even...and then perhaps offered us either a bottle of champagne in our room for the trouble. I mean it is an all-inclusive resort so it's not like the champagne would be an added expense even. But no.

In sum, this place is beautiful...but they don't have the market on beautiful. I've stayed at other similar properties that provided far better service and was just as beautiful for the same price.

Room Tip: Lower-level rooms right on the lazy river will be noisy from people floating by all the time. We en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank bp8430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We traveled to EPM from March 17-24, 2012. This was our 5th trip to this resort and we would return in a heart beat. We have visited other resorts in Riviera Maya and Cancun and EPM is the best of all, which is why we return. The resort and grounds are lovely. They care very much about maintaining the quality of the grounds and property and are constantly improving the property. We love the ambience of the resort. The rooms are so comfortable. We recommend paying a bit more for the Club level. We recommend getting a room with a roof top pool. So lovely it will take your breath away. The factor that makes this resort amazing is the staff. They are all so lovely and bend over backwards to meet your every need. They make the resort the superior property that it is. I hope the management knows how wonderful their staff are. This includes Adan at the Club pool; Chutima at Basmati; Edwin in activities who will take you on a really fun bike ride;Carolina at the Club pool; Erica at the club; and of course Cesar at the Club who always makes us want to come back. Cesar you are wonderful! Paola on the beach really made our trip so lovely.
Just book your trip to this resort and go and enjoy! You will not regret it!!

Room Tip: Book a room with a private roof top pool. It is wonderful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VacationNow2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The excellence Playa Mujeres ("EPM") is a wonderful place to stay for a vacation of three days, or two weeks. This resort facility is adults only, but there is a sister resort located right next door which is family-friendly, with some children's activities.

We visited EPM this past August 4 a friends 40th birthday celebration. We found our friends at the swim up bar enjoying a couple premium adult cocktails. They had been there for about an hour and a half, and were starting to just feel, in a good way, well-lubricated.

A note on traveling to Mexico in August, at least this past August. Coming out of Houston’s month-straight string of 100F days, it was surprising to have Cancun at about 88F with a nice landward breeze keeping everything fresh. Nice change from the armpit-sweltering Houston weather we’d been … ah … un-joying.

Our trip and to Cancun was the usual, smooth arrival. The EPM uses a private, charter service, for its transportation from Cancun international Airport to the resort. Our vehicle was either a Cadillac Escalade or a Ford Excursion, we didn’t think to stop and check, with wood grain interior flare and a leather upholstery -- in other words, posh and fancy-schmancy. Lots of fancy-schmancy at EPM, it’s how they do things, apparently, for the E-Club members, read on. As such, it was very plush, and quite comfortable. The transport services company name was tropical Incentives, who apparently is the prime contractor for the EPM.

When we arrived at EPM, the bell service smoothly and almost invisibly took our luggage from the transport driver, took them inside, and escort us to the front desk. We had booked using a telephone reservation, and as I had requested "Club" service when it was offered by the very nice lady taking my phone reservation (with my having no idea what the upgrade would entail), we were again further escorted directly to the Clubs private bar area. There, we met Dennys and Gema, our private concierge staff. Dennys booked us into our room, and asked if we had any special requests for placement in our room before we ever even saw it, which is/was a nice touch.

I’ll pause here to compliment Dennys & Gema (pronounced Dennis and Jimma, btw). There were the soul of respectful, courteous hosts, and full of a calm enjoyment of what they did, taking pleasure in being able to be certain that my wife and I had a fantastic time at EPM. Yes, it’s their job, but it was very obvious that they took it seriously and personally. Excellent people at Excellence …. Um … sorry about that.

Our room was beautiful, and very clean. The shower was large and spacious, with an overhead rainfall showerhead, and a handheld shower nozzle for the shaving of ladies’ legs (and I suppose guys too if they wanted) should they like to do it that way – no tub there. It was big enough for eight people, much less the two of us, even when we enjoyed it for some romantic athleticism.

The one draw-down about the room – My wife has a sensitive nose, while I do not. She felt that there was a scent of mold near to the headboard of the bed, it would make sense, as the headboard seem to be attached to the wall which abutted the bathroom, and it shower facilities. If water were to find it’s way from the shower into the wall it would immediately go into the wood of the headboard, where it would remain trapped, thus leading to the growth of mold, possibly. I don't know, because I could not smell it, she couldn’t see it, but there you go. It’s reaching a long, long way to find something at fault with the room.

A cool thing about EPM is that, if you are, I think, an "Excellence Club" member, which you can upgrade to when you reserve, it's not a permanent thing, your room is in a building with its own private pool area. There's no music out there, or activities, or other things, but I do think that they have some servers that patrol through there on a semi-regular basis. We never went down there, so I don't know for certain.

I have read reviews of EPM where people have said that the staff, front desk or bar staff, were not attentive. Our experience was diametrically opposed to this. Every member of the staff we would pass in the hall, or meet in a bar, down at the beach, or in the restaurants, or even out on the grounds working on the lushly manicured greenery, would always speak and greet us in a very friendly, honest fashion. If we requested something, it would be brought to us almost immediately, or if more appropriate, placed in our room.

An example of this, was immediately after checking in and going to visit our room, we went back to the Club for a drink. While in the room I noticed that, while the in room liquor was all premium they did not happen to have Crown Royal in the bottles present. The whiskey that was there was a premium, but it's not my brand. In a sort of experiment, I asked Dennys (see the mention of this statement above about his inquiry if we needed anything) if I might have a bottle of Crown Royal delivered to the room. He said it would be no problem and that he would get right on it. My wife and I sat and had two drinks in the Club bar, and then went back to the room to put swimsuits on. In that space of time, which was about 15 to 20 minutes, the liter bottle of Crown Royal had already arrived. Nice!

Back to our friends at the swim up bar…

My friend Grant, for whom it was his 40th birthday party, wish to go to the lobster Grille that night for dinner. I don't eat seafood, but my wife loves it. We compromised by first visiting the tappas restaurant, then going to the lobster Grille, and finishing at Basmati, the Indian restaurant. No reservations were needed at any of these restaurants, service was quick, prompt, extremely courteous, and the food was outstanding. We followed this pattern each of the other nights as well, starting at one restaurant for a drink and an appetizer/quick bite, then to the next restaurant where some of our group would have an entrée while the others had appetizers, and then to Basmati so I could have my Chicken Vindaloo, extra super spicy by request. It was, too. Fantastic meals, each night.

Because of the time of our trip, we arrived the day after the Michael Jackson show. We hope to catch that, but ahh well. There was entertainment outside each evening, with varying levels of skill. One musical group was very good, a couple others better than average, and one… Just not. That night we fled into the disco, where unfortunately, the karaoke machine was on and people were performing, or attempting to. That night started out as just NOT being my night. Let me just say this… There's a reason why professional singers get paid, and the vast majority of us do not.

The karaoke ended just prior to 11:00 p.m., and the disco turned into, well, the disco. Some good 90s and 2000s dance music came on via DJ. It was good enough that, in spite of spending about 10 hours in the sun that day drinking in or by the pool, my wife & I ended up shaking our rear-ends for almost an hour straight! When we got to the room and turned on the TV, we discovered that there is a hard-core porn channel I think it was on channel 49. That, and the events that inspired, rather capped The day very well.

I enjoy a firm, but not hard bed. I thought the bed was about perfect, while my wife thought it was too firm for her. There was a mattress topper on our bed, when we arrived. I read the review about they being available by request unless supplies ran out. As we were in a Club room, and it was there already, I think you might see the same connection I did. The comforter was one of a duvet type, and I ended up being overheated at night after drinking during the day. She, being coldhearted,… hmm … I mean cold natured, was fine with it.

Our bathroom was spacious, laid out very well, and well appointed. It did seem to have sharp edges where none were necessary however. Maybe the marble was brand-new? The toilet room had one of those glazed glass doors, almost like a translucent shower door, rather than the opaque type we are used to in the states. That might be a concern for some couples… Or guys like me… Who don't like to think about what their lady does in the bathroom. Shower yes, toilet no.

Oh, forgot to mention that the door to the shower is transparent glass, floor to ceiling, which is great if you enjoy watching your partner. Another nifty and mildly erotic tidbit is the floor to ceiling window set in the showers wall that faces the bedroom area of the room, again so you can see in there. Probably not a good thing for stuffy and/or prudish people. Great if you are like us, and want to enjoy each other when you go on vacation, like being dating or honeymooning again.

As you can see in the pictures, the entry of the room passes the the sitting area and passed the sitting area is the sliding glass door that opens onto the balcony. On the right as you go out onto the balcony is another set of steps that goes into the hot tub which is both inside and partially outside of the room. You can close the outer windows and be inside the hot tub, inside your room or you can throw them open and feel as if you are actually “out” on the balcony, but still in the hot tub. It's a very nice design

The bar service at every single bar is prompt, efficient, and knowledgeable. Their premium beverages are varied, and you will not be disappointed with the selection. The bartenders down at the pool bar new every variation of frozen drink which my wife, or the other ladies present, asked for. If I had a complaint about the pool area, I would have to reach a long way for one. That one would be that the food service actually at the pool was slow. But the thing is, your lady can put her cover up on and you can walk into the restaurant, be immediately seated, and eating a fine meal in less than 5 minutes. Try the barbecue chicken wrap, enough for a big guy’s light lunch, and fantastic taste, excellent quality ingredients.

One thing to note, we didn’t go to the usual all-inclusive buffet one time at our stay at EPM. Not that they didn’t have one, just that there was no need as the other restaurants were open, and seating was immediate and service prompt. At the poolside restaurant, the staff knew our names and used them by the time our first meal was concluded, and greeted us by name each day thereafter. Nice touch.

For comparison ~ We enjoy going to Playa del Carmen and staying at The Royal there. Excellence PlayaMujeres is a resort of extremely similar quality. While larger than The Royal, EPM suffers in comparison only as it is located so far North of Cancun itself. It is quite a cab ride back into town for shopping or nightlife, when compared to Playa’s Royal, which you can take a 2 block stroll and be on 5th Street and get all the shopping, eating, drinking and partying you might want. That being said, you can probably get all the drinking and partying you might “need” right there on-site at EPM.

To sum up, will be back!

Room Tip: Spend a little more to get the "Excellence Club," it'll make your stay, trust me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AttorneyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We chose Excellence Playa Mujeres for our annual family vacation (3 couples) because we had such a positive experience at the Excellence Riviera Maya the year before. The grounds and rooms are absolutely perfect. Several pool locations offer something for everyone: if you want lively people watching, music and activities, then the swim up pool area is the place to hang out; if you prefer a more quiet surrounding, perhaps even a bit of shade, then there are plenty of hang-out spots along the lazy river. The large, colorful beds on the balcony provide an excellent place to curl up with a book after a sun-filled day at the pool.

I agree with previous reviewers that the "no reserve policy" around the pool or beach area is not really enforced. However, we never had a problem finding a good spot. The service was great, but the staff at Playa Mujeres appeared not quite as accommodating as the staff at Excellence Riviera Maya had been the year before. There were a couple of occasions--at the Toscana Restaurant for breakfast and the Basmati Restaurant--when we requested a table for all 6 of us, and although there were plenty of tables available that could have been easily pushed together, we were told that we had to sit apart.

While our dietary preference may be not be what one would commonly see at all-inclusives--we were a group of 5 vegans and 1 vegetarian--the Excellence Riviera Maya had no issues accommodating by presenting a separate Vegetarian Menu to us. This menu appeared to be non-existant at Playa Mujeres. There were indeed some waiters/chefs that were most obliged to assist us in staying true to our diets--our meals at Spice, the Grill, the Flavor Market, and, of course, the breakfast and lunch buffet at the Toscana, were absolutely delicious--but there were also several occasions when we were served dishes with meat or dairy products after explaining what we do not eat. Strangely enough, the Agave Mexican restaurant, where we had an enjoyable dinner the first night of our stay, had changed its menu which no longer included chips with salsa or guacamole, and the fajitas served to us at our last night's dinner were filled with some oriental flavor stir-fry that appeared to come straight out of a can.

Room Tip: Our club level rooms had little benefit unless you prefer a separate check-in or pool area. We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elle747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Hotel was spectacular and one of the best things was no kids!!! We usually like to stay at a Ritz but for our honeymoon we did not want kids around and it was great. Food was good but hit or miss. We didnt enjoy the lobster house but the mexican, italian, and french was very good. The pool bar was good except they kept having to go get corona light everytime we ordered instead of just stocking it and one bar tender told a guy he could not order food at the pool bar and I was sitting there eating a sandwhich I had ordered ten minutes before from another bartender! Room service was excellent and the food was very good! We had a rooftop spa room, building nine, fourth floor....very private! We usually went out for dinner and had breakfast and lunch on the rooftop. The beach was great, went jet skiing and parasailing. Bring ones if you plan on tipping like we did. Once we ran out it was kind of a chore to get change anywhere. Oh....the dirty dish box that room service can access from the hallway is cool!! Overall yhe resort was very very good!! Most relaxing vacation we have ever been on. Not much night life but we are big day drinkers!! We are early 40's, no kids. Probably going back in November, definately for our anniversary.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cruzinallday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 10 days at the Excellence Playa Mujeres while on our honeymoon last July and absolutely loved it. We stayed in a junior suite and upgraded to one with a rooftop pool when we got there and it was SOOO worth it. We never left the resort in those 10 days because there is so much to do, definitely the place to go if you want to get pampered and enjoy a reasonably-price luxury getaway. With so many restaurants, we never got bored with the food. We took advantage of one of the spa deals they offered and it was worth every cent! I really can't say enough about Playa Mujeres, the service was great, the food was great, and the overall experience was perfect.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a rooftop terrace/swimming pool. Definitely worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,647 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel del Sol
Hotel del Sol
#110 of 176 in Cancun
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 176 in Cancun
6,030 reviews
1.6 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range: $430 - $881 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing