We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Finest Playa Mujeres(Playa Mujeres)
$326
Finest Resorts
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beloved Playa Mujeres(Playa Mujeres)
$432
Beloved Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$440
Excellence Resorts
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$332
$320
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$353
$342
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$204
$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$47
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$41
$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,640)
Filter reviews
4,640 results
Traveler rating
2,650
1,204
436
199
151
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,650
1,204
436
199
151
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbite barone bedroom suitevilla groupcar ferrytime sharefast ferryzama restaurantall inclusive packagemurphy bedall inclusive planferry to isla mujeresfull kitchenwasher dryerper devicetimeshare presentationsushihammock on the balcony
Filter
Updating list...
587 - 592 of 4,640 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2017

We stay only one night it was a short get away from work.

We arrive early on tuesday morning and even though our room was not ready, the front desk provide us a locker to leave some of our important belongings; and right away we star enjoying the facilities and our all inclusive that we purchase extra when we check in.

Our kid loved the swimming pools and we had a fantastic day, I deeply recommend to try the Zama restaurant for lunch, the ceviche and the Tuna Tostadas are fantastic the sea food is super fresh.

The room was really nice, cosy and quite big it resembles a medium size apartment, and the hammock on the balcony was so fun and relaxing.

That evening we went to the Oriental Restaurant for dinner and as I expected they didn't let me down the food was amazing beside my wife is a sushi fan so if she approves it means it was great. Juan Carlos, the Chef gave us a few sushi recommendations, it was delicious!

The next day we leave the room just before noon but we had time to enjoy breakfast and we were allowed to remain in the primacies until our transportation arrived, that gave us a few more hours of pool and drinks fun.

Over all its a fantastic experience and we are definitely coming back for a longer vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diego V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Dear Diego V

On behalf of all of us at Villa del Palmar Cancún Resort & Spa, we want to thank you for the wonderful comments you posted. We are honored and thrilled that we were able to contribute to your well-being and enjoyment of your well-earned vacation.

Your kind words inspire and energize us to strive for better every day. We truly appreciate your recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back to “su casa” Villa del Palmar Cancún Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely,


Gabriela U. Galicia
Communication Manager
Villa del Palmar Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017

This was our second visit to this family of properties; our family of four spent a week last summer at Garza Blanca in Puerto Vallarta and decided to try Villa del Palmar in Cancun since it's a little closer to home. The biggest factor for us was the value for money when comparing the space that the 2 bedroom suite gives our family (daughters age 8 and 3) compared to any other high end all inclusive. The accommodations are truly first rate.

The food was very good- although maybe not as good as we had at Garza Blanca. The only disappointments we had with meals were when we ordered steak; everything else was excellent. Everyone complains about having to sign the checks, but it's really not a big deal and for us, it serves as a good reminder of why we do the all inclusive. If you don't, the food and drinks can add up quickly. While all of the service was fantastic, our favorite server (and restaurant) was Alex at Davino. After dinner one night at Davino, Julio made the whole trip for our two kids by making them balloon animals!

Pools are plentiful and it's not hard to get chairs and umbrellas. Poolside service is easy and frequent. Othiko the porter and Enrique, the pool side server were our favorites and always made us feel welcome. We preferred the "bridge pool" as it was fun for the kids and had the coolest temperature water. The other pools were almost too hot to be in.

As others have said, if you are looking for a quiet trip to Cancun or a family friendly vacation, this is a great spot. We went to Isla Mujeres to get off the property for one day. You can take a really inexpensive bus ride from right outside the property to the "fast ferry", UltraMar. The ferry is $15 per person, round trip and leaves every half hour. We went to sit at the bus stop and ended up negotiating with a taxi driver who pulled up to take us to the ferry for $6. The trip back was supposed to be $20 but again, we were able to negotiate it down to $10. Bring a couple of towels and cash to Isla Mujeres. Plan to rent a golf cart for the day for $42. The beaches at Isla Mujeres are what you expect to see when you are in Cancun. The one at the hotel isn't as bad as people have reviewed but it's not great.

I recommend using the tiki hut near the beach to book excursions and the spa. The travel agent at the front of the hotel wasn't nearly as helpful. I booked a beachside massage with Luis that was heavenly. And my daughter and I went parasailing and we were happy to find that not only could we book it right there, we didn't even have to leave the hotel for the excursion. Parasail Cancun sent a boat to pick us up right on the beach and they took us to the bigger parasailing boat which gave us a wonderful 15-minute ride in the air, right back to Villa del Palmar. My only complaint was that I paid an extra $50 for some very average and blurry pictures.

Finally, we booked an appointment for some family photos to be taken by Jose Can (also at the tiki hut on the beach). He was really nice, very flexible and patient with my kids and the photos turned out great!

We didn't use the kids club, so I can't comment on that and once we politely declined the timeshare tour, we weren't bothered about it again. Wifi here is a racket ($10 per day per device)- we ended up using our AT&T plan and got decent but not great coverage throughout the resort. Cancun as a whole we found to be much more touristy with aggressive "peddlers" than Puerto Vallarta but that's not related to the resort.

Overall, I highly recommend Villa del Palmar, the resort is very nice and the employees were friendly and polite. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Building two was quiet but further from the beach, with more pool views than anything.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kb1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Dear kb1601

On behalf of all of us at Villa del Palmar Cancún Resort & Spa, we want to thank you for the wonderful comments you posted. We are honored and thrilled that we were able to contribute to your well-being and enjoyment of your well-earned vacation.

Your kind words inspire and energize us to strive for better every day. We truly appreciate your recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back to “su casa” Villa del Palmar Cancún Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely,


Gabriela U. Galicia
Communication Manager
Villa del Palmar Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

food was fabulous, room was wonderful, staff was great. beach and water disappointing. was looking forward to relaxing on a beautiful beach and enjoying clear blue water not at this resort. water had tons of seaweed and was not clear, tried snorkeling but nothing to really see other than a few fish and vegetation. beach seemed like it was man made, lots of concrete like rocks to step on instead of sand. enjoyed SUP and kayaking. they need to be consistent with the dress code at restaurants. one day at lunch they would not let my son in because he had on a tank top, ok no big deal he went and changed. next day same restaurant tons of men eating there with tank tops on. either have a policy and enforce it or don't have it at all.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
2  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan G, Gerente at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

Dear Angela B,

Thank you for staying at Villa del Palmar Cancun, we are very happy to read our staff did a great job on honoring our promise of service.

We are in zone that the looking appearance and condition of the beach depend on the weather and the sea current, some days we have great conditions, some others not, our promise is to provide a clean beach, however the company is working very hard with the experts on beach conditioning to evaluate the possibility to do an smart investment on it.

Sincerely,
Juan Carlos Gonzalez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017

We just returned from a week long family trip to VDP, and overall it was a very good trip. As almost every other review states, the food is fantastic and the grounds and staff are also wonderful. This was our fourth trip to VDP Cancun and we have also stayed at the VDP Flamingos in Riviera Nayarit. There are certainly a few things that could easily be improved like signing all the checks for drinks and food that every other person complains about. Although it was better this time at least they would hold open some tabs at the pool and at some of the bars if you asked them to. The pools were extremely warm this time and really needed some better circulation and control, and when we've been here in the winter they are pretty cold. We were disappointed this time that in all the restaurants they wouldn't make mexican coffee's or banana's foster, which they did in every restaurant we went to in past visits (with pleasure). We have been owners at VDP for 4 years and were disappointed when we requested a quick tour of a penthouse because we would like to book one of those for our next trip, but unfortunately everyone was too busy to take 15 minutes and show us one of those units. I suppose had we taken the 2-3 hours to do the timeshare presentation that request would have been granted.

We traveled with our children and two grandchildren (ages 11 and 8), and everyone still enjoyed the experience. The grandchildren really liked the kids club and as the week went on they spend much of their days there because of the activities and the great staff in the kids club. They also really liked walking up to any bar and ordering their own virgin margaritas and pina coladas. We had fantastic service at the pools by Emilio, Pedro, Otikio, Candelario, Pedro and Benito. They were awesome meeting us every morning and helping us set up for the day, cleaning sunglasses, swapping out wet towels, moving umbrellas, and keeping drinks filled and lunch coming. We also had some amazing bartenders that took great care of us (Manual, Miguel, Abraham, there were also two girls who's names I didn't get at the lobby bar). Aldrin and the bell staff were also amazingly helpful with our arrival, departure and questions about taxis and travel. Because of all of these staff members we enjoyed our stay. We are hoping some improvements might be in the works.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views, the higher rooms (level 5 and up) have the best views.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2323wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017

Dear 2323wl
On behalf of all of us at Villa del Palmar Cancún Resort & Spa, we want to thank you for the wonderful comments you posted. We are honored and thrilled that we were able to contribute to your well-being and enjoyment of your well-earned vacation.

Your kind words inspire and energize us to strive for better every day. We truly appreciate your recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back to “su casa” Villa del Palmar Cancún Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely,

Gabriela U. Galicia
Communication Manager
Villa del Palmar Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017

First let me get this out of the way. If you are looking for a swim up bar, lively music, and an activity team that gets the crowd moving and grooving this is not the hotel you want to stay at. If you want a family oriented resort, with lots of kid friendly areas and a quiet setting this is a great place. There is a sign near the elevators that say "silence at 9:30" so that tells it all.
This was a mother/daughter trip 55 years old and 23 years old - we have been to Cancun six times and have stayed at 5 resorts.
I give 5*** to the front desk service. When we arrived we quickly realized that our travel agent had erroneously not booked the all inclusive package and Antonio and his crew assisted us in calling the US to our agent to get things cleared up. Our first night was spent right at the construction area but we were quickly moved the next morning with zero hassle. Thank you Antonio - he knows what customer service is all about. We avoided the "personal concierge" by telling her we were tired form our flight and would possibly see her in the morning. Since many of the reviews mention them calling your room we just unplugged our room phone and had no further contact with her during our stay.
****1 - Wi-Fi - we paid so we would have one phone with service but it was terrible. One minute you had service and the next nothing and that was right at the pool. We seemed to get better service down at the beach which didn't make sense. You can take 20 steps outside the front door and walk to Starbucks and get it for free but that was irritating but it is all in the same building and you can even charge things you get at Starbucks and the market to your room so it seemed they were all the same company. Seems like a money making deal of some kind.
5****Food was just as described by everyone - this is our sixth time in Cancun and by far the best food right from breakfast to dinner including the buffet. I will mention that breakfast does have an expresso bar where you can get various coffees but it was not offered so you do need to ask. Bottled water was in plenty no matter where you went they were happy to provide it. I can tell you this is not the case on other resorts so this was a plus from us. One observations was that they do not enforce the dress code other than no bathing suits in the restaurants. Many of the men had t-shirts and shorts which would not have been permitted at dinner at other resorts. In fact my son was turned away at another resort restaurant because he did not have a shirt with a collar. I would recommend the resort enforce this policy because we saw ,many people who really were not appropriately dressed for a nice dinner out. These restaurants go out of their way to make the experience upscale and special so everyone should respect that.
5**** Rooms were fabulous and have hair dryers, appliances, and plenty of stocked bottled water in the refrigerator along with beer and some snacks. There is no liquor in the rooms like we have had in other resorts. The rooms and the entire hotel including the grounds were kept so clean and beautiful.
3*** For the pool service situation. This has a lot to do with the whole receipt issue which truly was annoying. Once you did get someone to wait on you at the pool they were happy to keep coming back because they need that darn slip signed. We saw many people chased by the staff because they left without signing a slip. Here is how it is a pain with this whole thing. We started our morning 11:00AM at the adult pool with Mary. Around 1:00 decided to move around to the other side so we could see the beautiful water. Had to check our slip out with Mary because that other area isn't hers. Around 3:00 decided to move down to the beach - yes you guessed it had to check out with that waiter because he can't come onto the beach. Then we move to the beach from 3:00 to 6:00 and not once did a waiter check on us so we had to keep going to the beach bar to get drinks. ***Swim up bar for us is the way to go - swim up get a drink and swim away! We found this all very annoying. As far as tipping - we have been to five other resorts and while tipping was an option at this resort it was clearly expected. Keep in mind - breakfast is about $65 for two people, dinner was around $125 so if you are planning on tipping average 15% you will need some cash or charge it to your room so you pay when you check out of the hotel. Yes, they do work hard but this was way over the top from what we have experienced at other resorts.
***2 - Activities around the pool and beach area. There is soft music playing around the pool - we saw many people with their own speakers playing music. There is not your usual activity crews coming around and greeting everyone and reminding them of all the things happening on the resort. Not once during our five days were we approached to participate in anything. There is a blackboard easel at various locations that has a list but other than beach volleyball at 4:00 we did not see any activities.
***3 - Water is full of seaweed but we didn't let that bother us, however, it is not the beautiful waters we are used to seeing. I will tell you that we have had seaweed at other locations also. I was told by the staff that because this resort is so far north and the water pushes everything up towards them.
5*** The workout facility exceeded our expectation by far. They have several treadmills and various other machines along with a full weight area from free weights to barbell weights.
5****Gabby and girls at the Hiroshi bar were fabulous. Get the Geisha Smile drink it is delicious.
5***Juan was our waiter on the beach one evening and he was simply delightful and made our time on the beach relaxing with getting us everything we needed. In fact during our five days there he was the only waiter that came to us during our beach time. Thank you Juan!!!
***We did go to the island one day using the Ferry for $3pp to go over. Keep in mind it takes them about 35 minutes to board the Ferry but the actual water time was about 40 minutes. This is a great way to see the beautiful water and get lots of pictures. We enjoyed this ride. However, the Ferry drops you off a bit up the road from the main downtown and beach area so you either need to walk or take a taxi. We took a taxi for $5 but some did walk. The taxi dropped us off at a golf cart rental and we grabbed a cart. After driving around for 35 minutes and seeing the sites we really didn't see the point in the cart since you could walk to many of the things. I know some have said they drove all over the island but we didn't feel safe doing that since it was my daughter and I and wasn't sure what we would do if we got lost or the cart broke down so we took it back. The beach is just beautiful here and the marina is something you could just watch all day long with everyone coming and going. Lobster was in abundance here on the menus so eat up! My daughter had lobster tacos and said they were the best she's had. I would highly recommend going to the island if you want to experience true Mexican lifestyle. It is something to see for sure. We took the "fast" Ferry back which dropped us off in downtown Cancun but the taxis are right outside and they will take you right back to the resort. $20 fast Ferry and $20 Tax for two people so much more expensive than taking the $3pp Ferry back gut we didn't want to walk all the way back up to the Ferry and we wanted to get back quickly to enjoy the rest of our day on the resort.
**Overall I gave this a 4*** but we would not return due to the lack of a swim up bar, some lively music, and the activity crew getting everyone involved. Part of what we always enjoyed was meeting new people from all over the world and making new friends. Some of which we to this day keep in touch with on Facebook. Since there is not gathering place like the swim up bar it was difficult to really meet people since everyone keeps to their chairs and their quiet time in the pool. Just wasn't for us.
But was I mentioned if you are taking children and want something quiet and relaxing this is definitely the place to consider.

Room Tip: Ask to stay away from the construction but be prepared to at least stay one night near it and they will move you the next day.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MOTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Dear MOTwins
On behalf of all of us at Villa del Palmar Cancún Resort & Spa, we want to thank you for the wonderful comments you posted. We are honored and thrilled that we were able to contribute to your well-being and enjoyment of your well-earned vacation.

Your kind words inspire and energize us to strive for better every day. We truly appreciate your recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back to “su casa” Villa del Palmar Cancún Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely,


Gabriela U. Galicia
Communication Manager
Villa del Palmar Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews