We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best resort by far” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best resort by far”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We have just returned from Cauncun. Villa del Palmar is an amazing resort for families and romantic couples.Best food, best services, multiple heated pools, nice hard working people.We have been there with our 2 and a half old twins and they had a blast. The only downsize: the beach is nice, but ocean is not very accessible to swim into, because of the corals and huge stones.However the 4 good size pools more than make up for it. We also found that they do not have a lot of baby chairs and that made it difficult for us to accommodate our always active toddlers.Will be back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2016
Dear Cristina C,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,038
    994
    357
    158
    118
See reviews for
1,328
1,503
30
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

THIS IS THE BEST RESORT IN CANCUN!! Been to Cancun many times and this by far was the best experience! Every room faces the ocean. All inclusive is the way to go. If you go there on a time share presentation, you will probably buy in. It is that nice!

Room Tip: The higher up, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2016
Dear joe w,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

The resort is beautiful. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Make sure to be in beach clothes already if your flights arrives before check in time. So, while you wait for your room you can be tanning in the beach or the pool zipping a margarita.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maykelin2369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2016
Dear maykelin2369,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed a week at the Villa del Palmar and cannot complain about the resort!! It's new so the rooms are fabulous. We stayed in a 1 bedroom which was 2 rooms, with a large bedroom with a large bed, lots of storage space, safe, double sinks with a large counter to sit and put on your makeup, shower and toilet area with a 2 person jacuzzi. The living room was spacious with a Murphy bed, dining room table and an attached kitchen area fulling stocked for cooking in the room. Full size fridge and a top range no oven. There was an extra bathroom off the living room and also an apartment washer and dryer. The Villa offers full all inclusive, partial all inclusive or no all inclusive (you cook). The beach, pools, spa and restaurants were excellent. The food and drinks were excellent. This place is outside Cancun (approx. 6 miles) and they offer FREE shuttle service to Cancun, but not enough of them, so book them early, or you may be disappointed. There are cabs and bus service available.

The only NEGATIVE thing that happened to us and another couple we met:
If you do all inclusive you must sign a receipt every time you order something and every drink you order. Make sure you ZERO out the tip if you are not leaving one and if you leave a tip place the $ in front of the amount!! We did not put the tip on our receipts EVER. We gave them cash. However, when we did our checkout the night before we left we found a $10.00 tip placed on one of our buffet suppers. The hotel had to find the receipt and check if we had written that amount. They did remove that charge because we had told them they could check all our receipts and they would find we never left tips. Our friends paid the $10.00 because they checked out in the morning and that left no time to check for their receipt!!! What's $10! But what if it was $50 or $100!!! We were told we should have put a line through the tip area. We plan on going back and that is what we will do. Live and Learn!! Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: We believe all rooms face the pools and ocean, but we would recommend going up to at least the 5th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2016
Dear M L,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights. Room, resort, staff and food were AMAZING. The down side to this resort is there is no night life AT ALL. They had something ever night however it ended by 9:30 and having to wait to sign all check even if you are all inclusive.

Room Tip: 5th floor or high to have a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryKay0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2016
Dear MaryKay0515,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa in early March. We booked a "garden view" room, but it had a good view of the whole resort and we could see the sea. The room was huge and immaculate. It had a full kitchen, two bathrooms, a jacuzzi, and separate shower. The balcony was quite nice and every room comes with a hammock. (Ok, the hammock was really hard to get in and out of, so we didn't use it much.)
We booked the all-inclusive for 7 days. The drinks were plentiful and much stronger than we were used to for all-inclusives, they don't water it down much. The food was good, again, better than we've had at prior resorts. The breakfasts were especially good, a wide variety of food was available, it all looked and tasted fresh. My husband especially liked the Mexican specialties for breakfast. Lunches by the pool were good as well. The pool service is slow, they need more waiters, but we had excellent service from Deli. We tried all the restaurants. You have to expect that this is Mexico and that you can't compare it to the US, once you get that, most of the restaurants were quite good. Service is at a nice slow pace, between European and American, some Americans might find it too slow, but we loved that. Jose-Luis at Davino's was our favorite, but the STK was excellent as well. The sushi restaurant was overbooked and we had to walk out once because we were starving. We gave them a second chance and found them to be adequate. The tuna cracker app was especially good.
The best bar was the outside STK bar. It had a great atmosphere and lively crowd. Our bartenders Jorge and Raul were AWESOME!
The facility is just beautiful, there are tons of pools and loungers. We were able to get into whatever spot we were in the mood for in short order. The beach is quiet, no heavy waves, and few motorized water vehicles. I might have liked a bit more wave, but it was very relaxing. The hotel is close to the slow ferry to Isla Mujeres, which was a blast!
Cons:
I hate timeshare sales pitches. We didn't attend and had to duck our concierge for the rest of the trip. We purchased a vacation and spent good money, don't make me go to the presentation.
It is QUIET. There is not another hotel within miles. We loved this, but be warned. It's a long way out from Cancun center and the Zona. If you want to party hardy, this is not the hotel for you. We LOVED that the hotel sponsored entertainment ended at 10 and there was no blasting music at the pool. You may not.
The eternity pool is ONLY for Premium guests. They had nice cabanas and piped in music. It's small, but annoying because it's a nice pool no one was using.
Overall, a great break.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2016
Dear Kim W,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

It had been a number of years since I'd done an all-inclusive. I was so glad I tried this one! Got an amazing deal on CheapCaribbean.com so I was a little leery of "getting what you pay for". The resort is gorgeous; clean, large rooms, clean property, friendly service staff in all capacities. The food was excellent in the restaurants...only hit the buffet my first night - it was a typical buffet - the food wasn't bad (chicken surprisingly good) but tended to be lukewarm and not creative. Like I said, typical buffet. The breakfast buffets were another thing - lots of choices, made to order eggs or omelettes, catered to all cultures, and three different restaurants to eat at so you weren't crowded or rushed. If you are looking for party central this isn't the place for you....it is quite remote from the other hotels...but I wasn't...I wanted a week to enjoy the sun, heat, "umbrella drinks", and being waited on. They do offer excursions and ferry rides to an island, so there are things to do if you want. They have several bars around the resort and my friend and I met some wonderful people from all over the country - and I credit much of that to the bartenders...they would make you a fun drink and next thing you knew your "neighbor" was asking what it was and you struck up a conversation. I celebrated my birthday while there and one of the bartenders surprised me with a small cake! We went to The Bite almost daily for lunch and had the same waiter - great burgers and sandwiches, but the service in almost every restaurant made the difference. Tipping? - absolutely. I don't care if your tip is included in the cost - give a little extra for good service and you are rewarded. And I saw people leave without tipping and they still got the smile and friendliness, but I know I got better. The Spa is incredible - pampered myself with a massage - showed up the hour early they request and enjoyed their steam room and hot tub baths and lovely hibiscus water before the massage! Prices were reasonable for massages, etc. I feel for the time you spend there. It is a resort after all...want a cheap mani/pedi - get it at home at your boring salon. The only "glitch" was the one night they had to turn off the water to replace a water pump - did it between 11pm and 6am to inconvenience as few people as possible. Know what? - it seemed to go as smooth as butter - water was back on in time with just a little noise during the night as our room was near the work area. And the way I look at it is they are making improvements to the resort, not leaving things to fester. There were an abundance of pools and fortunately an adults-only one so you didn't have to deal with kids playing and water splashing. Hey, I was there to relax - I have nothing against kids....just wanted a quiet area for my down time. They do try to get you to attend a time-share meeting when you first arrive with offers of discounted spas and trips to the Isla Mujeres, etc. We weren't interested and were upfront about it and they never bothered us again. But it was the big joke every day when the salesmen paraded the "lambs to slaughter" by our beach chairs to the meeting room! Like I said, if you're not interested just be firm and they don't pressure you. Overall I had a wonderful experience - the weather, food, people and amenities were all great and I am definitely going back. A big thanks to Jairo, Katia, Raul and Miguel for making my stay memorable.

Room Tip: If you are traveling sans children and want the advantage of the adults-only pool ask for Building 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2016
Dear Debbie M,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.6 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11,116 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#2 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.8 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
9.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#6 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2 | Manzana 9 Lote 3 SM 2, Zona Continental de Isla Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront luxury resort is located in the pristine beaches of Playa Mujeres, about 25 minutes north hotel zone and 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport. The new Villa del Palmar Cancun offers a range of possibilities for fun and relaxation that will make your holiday truly unforgettable. The complex offers amazing 5-star service, extravagant amenities and plenty of activities to keep your adventurous side entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Cancun Hotel Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing