We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly, there were daily annoyances”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sadly, there were daily annoyances”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

In early March 2014, fourteen of us arrived at Villa del Palmar (VDP) Cancun for a week of family fun, sun and surf. And we found it, lots of it. VDP is a lovely location. It is nicely laid out with a range of pools, from a warm kids pool and activity center that the youngest four of us made theirs for the week, through cool pools of average depth that the two preteens hung out at, and a larger pool of various depths that we all met up at from time to time. A free lunchtime hamburgers beside it was our magnet. We tried and enjoyed at least three hot tubs were tried. The beach is white, fine sand that carries you far into shallow waters.

We didn’t use the restaurants very much. Reservations were always required, even when they weren’t full (?) and most were pricey. The snack bars were our style – casual with large tasty portions at reasonable prices. Mostly we prepared our meals in the almost fully equipped kitchens (no ovens) in our units – one 2 bedroom, and 2 one bedroom.

The rooms are attractive, well laid out, nicely kept (most of the time). The 2 BR unit featured three bathrooms with full showers, which was handy for the six of us in the unit. VDP has a store, Palmita Market, that has a very limited selection of foods at high prices. It’s useful to replenish basics, but there isn’t much in the way of fresh meats and produce. Fortunately, VDP provides a complimentary shuttle every couple of hours to downtown Cancun markets.

We found the service staff of VDP to be friendly, engaging and willing to help when needed. They all came with smiles on their faces and a sincere interest in our enjoyment of the resort.

We all had a very good time at VDP, but……. Every day there was an annoying little something that went wrong and took time away from family, fun, sun and surf. We arrived at 11:30 on Friday evening. The check-in went smoothly. We went to our three rooms, but the keys for two did not work – people and luggage standing in the hall, it was back to the front desk to get new keys. Once into the 2 BR unit we found that the Murphy bed lacked linens – call service and wait a half hour for some to arrive.

I went to the Palmita Market to buy a few things for our first breakfast. At the check out could not charge to the room as I was the only one of six not listed as a guest – leaving my mate to buy the goods I went over to the front desk to get myself listed.

The second and third days of our stay the second bedroom of the 2BR unit was not made up. We let it slide the first time – a mistake apparently – but called to have it made up the second time. We also stopped tipping the maid, which actually seemed to improve service.

On the third day I made a to Palmita for a few things. Again I was not listed as a guest – over to concierge serves who gave assurances that they would rectify the omission immediately. Preparing for bed that evening my mate and I found there to be no pillowcases on our bed – called and received some about one half hour later.

Two days later I was still not listed at Palmita as a guest – raised hell with concierge services demanding that they make the addition and show me at Palmita that I was listed, successfully done after about an hour of wandering around VDP desks and offices. That day the garbage was not taken from the room – wandered the halls until I found a maid’s cart to dump it.

We had been advised in writing that all three rooms would receive free WiFi. The next day we discovered that two rooms were being charged. An hour’s wrangling with concierge services was necessary to get that corrected. Then the keys did not work in our room again.

Somewhere in the stay two of the rooms each decided to make smoothies for their kids. In both cases the blender fell apart spilling their contents. In one case the mom received a painful shock that left her arm partially paralyzed for an hour or so. The blenders were replaced upon request, but with no concern or apology for the injury.

This string of annoyances was just that, but was just enough to take the edge off of a wonderful time for us. We will probably not be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DO5458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2016
Dear DO5458,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,264
    1,071
    404
    179
    136
See reviews for
1,539
1,611
35
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,545)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed March 12th - March 19th. We are owners and had not yet tried the Cancun property.

Everyone was very helpful. We were there during the 'no water' day. It was about 24 hours total. NOT two days like someone said! The staff worked very hard to keep the toilets flushed and everything clean. I feel like they went above and beyond to make us comfortable for something that was NOT their fault. There was a 5 foot break in the water line :(

The food was good. The rooms were beautiful. The bartenders by the beach tiki bar (Angel) were AWESOME!! The waitstaff works their butts off!

We also went to Isla Mujeres. AWESOME!! It rained that day but you can't beat Mother Nature so we made the best of it in our golf carts!! This is a MUST DO / inexpensive side trip!!!

Downfall: it is far from town and taxis are more expensive than what we were used to in Cabo but.....we knew that going in so we made sure to account for that before leaving!

We also bought a spa package and it was WONDERFUL!!!! Wow!!!!!

Room Tip: Try 5th floor or higher for some amazing views! We actually upgraded to the Penthouse and I can onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2016
Dear Kim M,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I always check tripadvisor for reviews, so hopefully this review will help others. I traveled with my husband from March 19th-25th. The weather was perfect everyday!

Location - Yes it is secluded. If you want busy go to the hotel zone. Don't rate the resort down for it's location. It would be like going to a Chinese restaurant and giving it a bad review because it doesn't have veal Parmesan. If you are reading this before you book, then you know where you are going. If you are reading it after.. you can't complain because you didn't do the research.

Check in - Fast and our room was ready 3 hours ahead of schedule. If there are several people in front of you though.. you probably will have a wait. This is normal.

Suites - Perfect. Spacious, clean, comfortable. The air conditioner won't work if your patio doors aren't shut tightly. Genius really. No wasting of electricity. Rooms are humid without a/c but it's Cancun so that is expected. Shower temp was always hot. Only heard people walking above us once. The birds will wake you in the morning though. We thought it was so cool though. Very tropical feeling.

Restaurants - We made reservations a day ahead and had no problems. The meals can take a while, so to speed things up, order all the food at once and ask for the check early. We enjoyed all of the food. Loved the fish tacos at Zama and the creme brulee at La Casona was awesome. The breakfast buffets were great. Tip - They do have bacon, you just have to ask for it :)

Pool Areas - It was very busy at the resort but we always found a spot. The pool temps were perfect. The hot tubs varied in temps from cool to warm. The kids pool was the warmest.

Beach - The beach was great. Always got a spot here too and even a beach bed. The beach isn't long like on the strip but that didn't bother us. There was seaweed. We stepped over it. They do clean it daily. The water was warm and varied from calm to choppy. Lots of people used the water sports equipment, including ourselves. We bought a lot from the vendors walking the beach (hat, sarong, jewelry) They were never intrusive or pushy.

Bars - Plenty of them. Never really a wait. Drinks are weak but ask for a double and they easily give it to you and then some. I liked the margaritas on the rocks despite what other reviews said. We always tipped a buck or two and received good service.

Service - Overall it was great. You may get someone not as friendly here or there but that is life. Most of the staff always smiled and appeared happy to be there. We ordered room service for dessert and it was as fast as I would expect. We also locked ourselves out of the room safe and they came right away to help us get back in. Our room was always clean when we returned with fresh towels.

"Timeshare" - Of course they offer the vip card and discounts to sit through the presentation. We said we weren't interested because we aren't in a position to buy. They said do it anyway, for the discounts and to tell others about the resort. We agreed. It wasn't terrrible. Took about 2 hours. The first 1 is eating breakfast and viewing their penthouse. The last hour is the pitch. 1-2-3 people to get through ranking from pleasant to not so much. We just stuck to our guns, said "sorry but we are not interested" and were on to our discounts.

Activities - We took the slow ferry to the island which was lots of fun. We highly recommend renting a golf cart. So much fun!! The resort shows are ok but also fun and usually were accompanied with a buffet dinner.

Checks- Ask for the checks early to sign so you don't have to wait.

Internet - Paid $45 for 5 days. Worked fine from the room and balcony.

Spa- Incredible!!!! Seriously money well spent!

Loved the place and would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Higher rooms do have a better view but are reserved for members first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2016
Dear Rachel U,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

If you are expecting the usual wide white sand beach and sandy bottom ocean which is typical of the Cancun Hotel Zone area, forget about this place. The beach is narrow and when you enter the sea, better wear your flip flops. The bottom is full of rocky chunks of dead coral and patches of sea grass. Also, learn to ignore the eyesore that is the old rusty ferry boat to Isla Mujeres that docks next door to the hotel some four or five times a day while you are sipping your marguerita. Not at all your beach lover's paradise, although is is fair to mention that the ocean is kids friendly here, as Isla Mujeres protects this stretch of beach from open ocean waves.
Also, opposed to what you find on the Hotel Zone, the location of this hotel is totally isolated from everything. There is nothing walking distance from here, no restaurants, no shopping malls, nowhere to go out at night for a stroll, unless you take a taxi and probably spend $50 roundtrip. On the positive side, the property is new, the rooms are spacious and airy and have a large balcony with a hammock that invites relaxation. You will not find carpet on the floor which is excellent for the beach environment and a blessing for our allergic kids. Everything in clean and well maintained. We stayed on a one bedroom apartment that comes equipped with a full kitchen, super convenient if you want to save on food, and a laundry. Talking about food, we opted for the "European Package" which includes breakfast only. We figured it did not make sense going for the all-inclusive package when you have a kitchen, and we were happy with our decision. Just avoid buying food at the hotel's convenience store, Palmita Market. It offers plenty of variety for the last minute shopper, but will typically charge you twice as much as the local grocery stores. On the flip side, you have to get a taxi or rent a car to shop for food.
The staff is super friendly and if you are the sporty type, don't miss the large well equipped gym. Breakfast at the Devino restaurant delivers high quality food and has plenty of options for every imaginable taste or hunger. Don't miss the local fruits, much sweeter and tastier than you will ever find in US supermarkets.

Room Tip: Go for high floors, 4th or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vidente29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2016
Dear vidente29,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We came back for our 3rd visit to VDP and the service, the ambiance, the tranquility and absolute beautiful property keeps getting better! We went for spring break March 11-15 and again nothing, absolutely no other all inclusive can come even close. Yes, it is quiet, it is away from the hotel strip, it is just exquisite and very private, more intimate and service very personable and top notch. Restaurants are all amazing.....you can make your reservations on line on the website ahead of your vacation. Davinos is incredible. Our favorite waiter, Gregroio Gil Guerrero, was incredible, fine attention to detail, catered to your every wish, excellent customer service and even presented us with a farewell cake!!!!!! We were beyond delighted of all the warmth and personality of Gregroio and some very special people. Thank you, Gregroio!!! Also special thanks to Adrienne, who remembered us from last year and personally came to our table, loved him as well. Breakfast was amazing every morning and Gustavo came to greet us each day with a smile. Customer service was outstanding. Japanese restaurant and Steakhouse were lovely, food incredible, like no other all inclusive. You are eating in first class atmosphere. It will not disappoint! Poolside lunch service is awesome and very friendly and personalized service. Thanks to Benito, Ronaldo, Jacob and Victor for all the fun drinks and amazing lunches! Activities such as water aerobics with Pedro and Victor as well as doing the kayaks are great fun. Victor with Activities is in tip top shape and also does pilates! It is a fun filled vacation, relaxing, tropical, an intimate setting and you are away from the masses of people on the strip. Rooms are gorgeous, have yet to find a resort that can come even close to VDP!

Room Tip: We had a high floor in building 1 and the view was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuvsunMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2016
Dear LuvsunMaria,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa, fl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I came here March 11th-18th for a girls getaway trip, we are all in our younger 30s. We wanted to go somewhere away from the Hotel Zone and have a relaxing vacation... and this place was PERFECT for this!

There were a few activities during the day with Denise and Ruben (who I loved). I did Zumba, Aqua Aerobics, and Pilates/Yoga facing the ocean. There was beach and pool volleyball going on all day but I was not feeling that ambitious. There was a show every evening (Karaoke, Caribbean Night, Cuba Night) that starts around 8:15pm. My favorite was the live band on Tuesday night. The singer was amazing! I also liked Santa Fe the Cuban band that would travel around the pool area and restaurants at night.

Check-in was smooth. I asked for a higher floor and we were upgraded to the 5th floor and had an amazing ocean view (room 509). All the rooms also have a hammock. There is a large king sized bed as well. My only complaint is that we did not know that the queen size bed was in the living room and was actually a Murphy Bed (pulls out of wall). This bed was not NEARLY as comfortable as the king size bed but since there was 3 of us we all traded off. Also there is no wall between the master bathroom and bedroom which is not for the modest. There is a full second bathroom which was a huge bonus. One night we fell asleep with our doors open to violin music coming from the lobby. The resort was very quiet at night and we had no trouble sleeping.

We did meet the "time share" representative when we were grabbing our bags from the bellman. She asked us if we were interested in the "VIP Package" I knew exactly what she was talking about and politely declined as I do not even own my own home currently! I actually straight out told her this. She was persistent and called the next day at 8:30 am waking up my friend who was pissed. I am in real estate and I know that is how they make a living, but I would suggest taking the phone off the hook if you do not want to deal with them and their wake up calls. We took the phone off the hook the next two nights and they never bothered us after that.

As far as excursions we decided to take the Punt Sam ferry (the slower one) to Isla Mujeres since it was right next to the hotel and only 40 pesos (about $3). It is a bit rustic looking (we called it barco rustico) but it only took about 45 minutes. It was a mix of locals and tourists at the top of the boat and they had a liquor and snack bar and a one legged man playing the keyboard. It was a blast!

I am in love with Isla Mujeres.... do not miss going here! We did our own excursion because it is way cheaper and you can explore this 5 mile long island on your own time. We rented a golf cart for $50 for the whole day and started off going south to Punta Sur (south point). The views were amazing and there was an Aztec Ruin here! We then circled around and stopped a cute ocean side Bed and Breakfast and Bar called Villa La Bella. The sign "Beer so cold it makes your teeth hurt" caught our attention and we enjoyed tasty cold Dos Equis oceanside. Then we stopped at Maninos for delicious fish tacos and freshly made grouper ceviche.

After we headed North towards the Playa Norte (north beach). This is one of the nicest beaches I have been to in Mexico. The sand was soft and we all got a 1 hour massage which included a facial for only $30 a piece. They even braided our hair for free. The friend I was with is a masseuse and she was impressed.

We were able to catch a beautiful sunset there before taking the Ferry back. I heard from other people that they paid a large sum of money to do a snorkeling excursion at the Island and the water was too rough for snorkeling. I would suggest waiting to see what the weather will be like before booking. The water was calmer here then the hotel zone, but it was still choppy for most of the time we were there and not ideal for snorkeling.

Now back to the hotel... The food was fantastic. We did the all inclusive. My notable favorites were the Ribs, Aguachile Ceviche, and Fish Tacos at Zama. I also enjoyed the pizza at Davinos, and the filet and tirimisu at La Cosona (ask for Erik to serve you). The servers were very sweet and attentive and all the meals and desserts were fantastic. Davinos has a much larger selection then Zama for breakfast and it even has a bloody mary bar. The pool side quesadillas and ceviche were also good but it did take awhile. The mixed drinks were on the weaker end but they had decent selections such as Sky and 1800. I did ask for an extra shot with my margarita one day and they brought it right away. They also had Tecate, Pacifico,and Corona which made me a happy girl.

We were there when the no water situation happened but I am unsure it was not specific to our hotel. I heard that most of Cancun was without water that day. Room Service brought us about 40 bottles of water and we made the best of it by hanging out in the pool most of the day. Also the staff tirelessly was hauling water and making sure all the toilets were flushed throughout the resort and our rooms.

The only downfall was that both of my friends did get sick the last day (bad stomach problems), I did not get sick thankfully. The only difference we could think of was that they had mudslides and I did not. I am not sure what caused it though because I did not hear complaints from any other travelers there. We were equipped with Imodium and Pepto and have recovered since.

Tips... Make your reservations ahead of time or the day you get there. When we called same day we were only given times of 5:30 or 9:15. The resort was almost full the week we were there though.
I brought about $75 in dollar bills that my bank gave me. The service was excellent and I was very happy I had $1s on hand all the time because it was well deserved and appreciated.
Bring your own sunscreen, it is a lot cheaper then the resort! And keep re-applying the sun is very strong (this is coming from a Floridian).
Research your airport transfers ahead of time because you will be basically attacked by cabs/people at the airport. We pre-booked thourgh Amstar which was provided by CheapCarribean. They were easy to spot and were well organized and I did not have to deal with negotiating with taxi drivers.

I would definitely go back and it was the staff that made it an amazing vacation!

Room Tip: A higher level is the way to go to get an ocean view (3rd level and up)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fel1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2016
Dear Fel1114,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My family of four stayed recently for 9 days. We had a wonderful time for the most part. The only day that was very upsetting, was when the water pipe broke and we had no water the entire day. That almost ruined my trip. But the day after, the pipe was fixed and our beautiful vacation resumed.

Our room was terrific! It was clean, spacious and basically home away from home. Yes, we did get suckered in to buying the timeshare (we got a good deal ;) so they upgraded our room. We went from a gorgeous 1 bedroom suite to a magnificent 2 bedroom suite larger than my house. The deck was the size of my house, lol. (kidding but it was big)

My family enjoyed the breakfast at Davino's. It was wonderful and fresh. They had a variety of fruit and entree options, etc. It was delicious! We also loved the Japanese restaurant. The tuna crackers were very good, as were the sashimi options. The steakhouse was also very good. I had the salmon entre, which I liked very much. My husband had a steak, which though tender, didn't taste like real meat. My kids had the Cornish hen and they enjoyed that very much. As far as the steak, I suggest the T--bone next time.

The pools were large and very nice. They had hot tubs everywhere (poolside, in the rooms, on the deck). I had no qualms with the beach, as others did. I found the beach beautiful and they cleaned the seaweed ever morning.

We ate poolside and enjoyed our choices. We loved the pizza with anchovies and capers. The crust is very cracker like and tasty. My husband raved about the chicken burritos with avocado. So overall, the poolside options were fine.

My husband and I found the whole experience, minus the day without water, to be be relaxing. We loved it really. I could have stayed an entire month or more, being waited on, catered to, etc. But oh well, back to reality as I sit here at my desk.

I hope you have a great time too!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jobab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2016
Dear jobab,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.9 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,165 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
0.8 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#2 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
11,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,547 reviews
7.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.4 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2 | Manzana 9 Lote 3 SM 2, Zona Continental de Isla Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront luxury resort is located in the pristine beaches of Playa Mujeres, about 25 minutes north hotel zone and 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport. The new Villa del Palmar Cancun offers a range of possibilities for fun and relaxation that will make your holiday truly unforgettable. The complex offers amazing 5-star service, extravagant amenities and plenty of activities to keep your adventurous side entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Cancun Hotel Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing