We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a very nice time, relaxing and beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We had a very nice time, relaxing and beautiful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

My family of four stayed recently for 9 days. We had a wonderful time for the most part. The only day that was very upsetting, was when the water pipe broke and we had no water the entire day. That almost ruined my trip. But the day after, the pipe was fixed and our beautiful vacation resumed.

Our room was terrific! It was clean, spacious and basically home away from home. Yes, we did get suckered in to buying the timeshare (we got a good deal ;) so they upgraded our room. We went from a gorgeous 1 bedroom suite to a magnificent 2 bedroom suite larger than my house. The deck was the size of my house, lol. (kidding but it was big)

My family enjoyed the breakfast at Davino's. It was wonderful and fresh. They had a variety of fruit and entree options, etc. It was delicious! We also loved the Japanese restaurant. The tuna crackers were very good, as were the sashimi options. The steakhouse was also very good. I had the salmon entre, which I liked very much. My husband had a steak, which though tender, didn't taste like real meat. My kids had the Cornish hen and they enjoyed that very much. As far as the steak, I suggest the T--bone next time.

The pools were large and very nice. They had hot tubs everywhere (poolside, in the rooms, on the deck). I had no qualms with the beach, as others did. I found the beach beautiful and they cleaned the seaweed ever morning.

We ate poolside and enjoyed our choices. We loved the pizza with anchovies and capers. The crust is very cracker like and tasty. My husband raved about the chicken burritos with avocado. So overall, the poolside options were fine.

My husband and I found the whole experience, minus the day without water, to be be relaxing. We loved it really. I could have stayed an entire month or more, being waited on, catered to, etc. But oh well, back to reality as I sit here at my desk.

I hope you have a great time too!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jobab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2016
Dear jobab,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,072
    1,007
    374
    162
    125
See reviews for
1,378
1,517
32
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,464)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Even though we had no water 1st night they seemed to make up for it with free Wi - Fi and 2 day free certificate. The service and cleanliness was GREAT! The food was top notch and the ambiance was friendly and family safe.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Maricruz04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2016
Dear Maricruz04,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just returned from a 5 night stay there with my husband and 19 month old. Here's my run-down:
1. Resort. Built in 2010, it's clean and beautiful. We had a 1 bedroom suite which was spacious, with 2 full baths full kitchen including microwave. Also a washer/dryer which was very handy. (FYI the store at the resort sells laundry detergent for $2. The store has very expensive sun screen but otherwise things were reasonably priced including some sand toys for the beach). There are no ocean front rooms, but ocean view. We had an ocean view which was beautiful; it gets dark around 6pm so after that it really doesn't matter anyway! The pools were very nice, the kids pool is kept warmer. We were there over Spring Break and they were 90+% occupied but we never had trouble finding chairs at the beach or pools.
It is a very family-friendly resort, and everyone we met who were vacationing there were kind and friendly. We were worried about the "spring break crowd" but it was not a problem. There is nightly entertainment from 8:15-9:15 on the beach or by the pool and after that we did not hear A THING! And again, we were there over St Patty's Day and Spring Break and no loud drunk crowds.
There are free kayaks, paddle boards and snorkel gear to check-out. Many activities throughout the day. And a Kids Club for ages 4+ that looked like they did some fun things. You can play in the there with your younger kids as long as your with them. Babysitting service available for a fee for the younger kids or evenings.
It is about 30 minutes from the airport. We took a shared shuttle to the resort and a taxi back to the airport and both were so easy. There really isn't anything around the resort so it is quiet, but the down side is the beach on either side of the resort isn't kept up so you can't walk for miles up and down the beach. But the beach at the resort is beautiful. There are some reviews about sea weed that washes up, but they have a machine they use to pick it up every morning so I didn't think it was bad at all!
The ferry dock to go to Isla de Mujeres is right next to the resort. We took a taxi to the faster ferry on the way there ($8 ferry ticket, $13 to the ferry) which has many more departure times, and the slower ferry on the way back ($4 ticket). Both were great! We rented a golf cart on Isla for 500 pesos (about $40) for the day (b/c hourly rental was 200 pesos), went to the Turtle Farm, the Mayan ruins at the south of the island, did a little shopping and got lunch and headed back to the resort. Great little excursion!

2. Management or how the place is run, not so good. This is why I give it 4 stars. At check-in, we begged for an early check in because we arrived at noon, check in is not until 4pm and my daughter was desperate for a nap. Instead of saying "of course, it's a top priority, we'll do anything we can" they didn't seem interested in helping us at all. Then at 2:45pm our room was ready but it was NOT an ocean view like we paid for! So we headed BACK to the front desk to talk to them again, and then got a proper room. That was really disappointing, as if I wouldn't notice or say anything about the clear lack of ocean view?!? Also, there is a general lack of communication. The handout at check-in said one place opened at 7:30am at breakfast, but it didn't open until 8am (or 8:10am...).

3. Food. No complaints! Really, compared to other all-inclusives we have stayed at the food was excellent. Our favorite was Zama. You do have to make reservations for dinner at the 4 big restaurants, but we just did this on the first day and it wasn't a big deal. Each has some items that you do have to pay for and isn't included in the all-inclusive package, but you certainly don't have to (although the lobster was excellent!). Along the lines of poor communication (see above), there isn't a drink menu so you have to just ask different servers or see what other people are ordering (ie a chocolate shake!). Also it took us days to realize there was a smoothie bar at Davino's for breakfast and an expresso/cappucino/latte option at Zama.
You do have to sign for everything even with the all inclusive plan, which is a drag because you can end up waiting at the end of a meal just for this. Also, even though you do not have to tip, this kind of makes you feel obliged to. But nearly all of the wait staff were kind and hard working so we had no problem doing so.
Water: the restaurants serve purified water and we drank that and the ice and ate the salads/vegetables which they say were washed in the purified water and none of us got sick! You can always ask for bottled water, and your room is stocked with several bottles of water along with pop, beer and some chips and candy.

4. Other negatives. We only had hot water in one of our showers. The tap water looked pretty bad, yellow colored actually! I did not like bathing my daughter in it! Had to call one day to have them restock our fridge with water. The "concierge" at check-in pressured us pretty hard to attend the breakfast the next day where they would try to sell us time shares; she was very nice but I'm glad we said no! No other pressure or approaches during the week.

All in all, we would return, especially now that I feel like we figured out the place. Quiet, kid friendly, friendly people, good food, great pools.

Room Tip: The ocean view is definitely worth it! It means floor 4 or higher, so definitely request closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Heidi55113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2016
Dear Heidi55113,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We visit this beautiful place the first week of March this year. It was absolutely beautiful . We had our three year old son with us, and he loved it. Our room was on 7 th floor, we had basically two rooms - living room and bedroom, which was great with our little one. The unit also had kitchen and laundry room. ( we didn't know about the laundry room , it wasn't on the description ). We had all inclusive , so didn't need the kitchen,but it was nice to have that option.
The stuff people are so wonderful , always with smile !
We found our deal thru different web ( not directly on villapalmar) , and didn't know , that you need to go thru some kind of " time share program" . After you check in , someone will tell you they need to talk to you about welcoming package. Since we had our son with us, we had an excuse to go to room, so we avoided them. However, they will call you to your room and will try to set up time with you. I don't think you have to do that! We didn't . We just simply didn't have time to do that. Plus that's not what we signed for anyway . They will leave you alone after two days ;-)
The only thing to be aware of is , the check in time. It's at 4 pm ,and they will not give you. Room sooner. It was a little challenging for us , since traveling with little child. But we went to the pool area and spent three hours there. So, keep your bathing suits on top in your suitcase ;-)

Food was great, love the breakfast buffets !

They also have a few activities for kids. The kiddos pool was headed . The beach wasn't that great, lots of see weds and little rocky , but still beautiful ;-)

Love that place !

Room Tip: We were at 7th floor, great view! Beautiful sunrise. No sun during the day, but it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2016
Dear Klara S,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Our family just came back yesterday and we had a wonderful time at Villa del Palmar. Our one bedroom suite was AMAZING with tons of space, high end finishes and beautiful ocean views. The hotel grounds are beautiful, the food very high quality and the service, while not always super fast, was decidedly warm and friendly. Our five and six year kids LOVED going in the kids club and kids pool. We also enjoyed the short drive from the airport, a relief after a long day flying. The beach is probably the only downside to this hotel, the sand is nice but there's a lot of seaweeds as you enter the water... Not a deal breaker for us as everything else was beyond expectation. This will be the hotel by which we will judge all others in the future so I'm sure we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2016
Dear Marie L,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

This was the first family vacation for us in Mexico. We were upgraded to a great 3 bedroom suite, with a hot tub on the balcony and lovely décor. The place was extremely clean and the service was very good. The hotel was very remote from the Cancun downtown, but we knew that going in and that's what we wanted. The food was in general very good, but not always excellent; the service however was very good and kid friendly. We also lost water in the hotel for a day, which I found a little alarming. The beach is okay, with beautiful views, but we ended up spending most of our time in the pools, which were excellent. We got the time-share discussion, which was 90 minutes after you had a meal with the rep, so be warned; but all in all not too bad. The reason this ended up as a 4 star review rather than a 5 star review was the lack of water in the hotel for a day; that was a bit alarming. They did extend a discount on later stays to apologize for the failure in the water, and were in general pretty friendly about the experience. My family and I will likely return next year.

Room Tip: Higher is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2016
Dear Jim L,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We spent two weeks at the end of Feb. this year. The location was isolated but they provide shuttle buses to various locations in Cancun. Rooms are very large with great views and all the amenities. There are 4 restaurants on location but reservations are a must. We had 8PM reservations one evening and were still not seated at 9, we left. The margaritas were the worst we have ever had, tried them from 4 of the various bars and they all had the same bitter taste. The staff are all wonderful and very helpful. The entire resort is kept immaculate. We did not attend any of the nightly shows but the comments from others were that they were very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Excellent views throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GPSIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2016
Dear GPSIG,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.9 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
0.8 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#2 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11,291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.4 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
8.0 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2 | Manzana 9 Lote 3 SM 2, Zona Continental de Isla Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront luxury resort is located in the pristine beaches of Playa Mujeres, about 25 minutes north hotel zone and 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport. The new Villa del Palmar Cancun offers a range of possibilities for fun and relaxation that will make your holiday truly unforgettable. The complex offers amazing 5-star service, extravagant amenities and plenty of activities to keep your adventurous side entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Cancun Hotel Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing