We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Soaking Wet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
“Soaking Wet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

It rained 90% of the time we were there. The wind was always blowing very hard no matter what side of the building that you were on. It was very cold. We were there from 1/3/14 to 1/9/14. The weather way miserable. Now I have got all the negativity out of the way. The staff was wonderful. The food was outstanding. Never had a bad meal and I at everything because of the weather. I usually lose weight on vacation because I'm so active. Going to the restaurants was our favorite activity. The waiters were extremely polite and courtliest. The resort was beautiful and ground and pools our well keep. We stayed in a one bedroom deluxe. I would highly recommend that upgrade. It was our 23 anniversary We really want to go back again when the weather is great.

Room Tip: Most ground floor rooms you can exit in to the courtyards were the pools,resturants,bars and ocean i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JohnMWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2016
Dear JohnMWard,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,038
    994
    357
    158
    118
See reviews for
1,328
1,503
30
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our stay at Villa del Palmer was more than expected. The Staff is exceptional and cannot seem to do enough for you from check in to check out. Jesus and Angel went out of their way to meet your every need. Food was fantastic. The buffets were different every night with a different show later in the evening. Beautiful resort , Four pools 2 family ,one adult and one for children. You can do all inclusive or not . Best all inclusive because you are not near town. You are directly across from the Isle of Murres. not correct spelling.
We did not go there but everyone we talked to said it was a nice side trip ferry just outside of resort

Room Tip: Better view from higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank handsome200067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2016
Dear handsome200067,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Went to Villa del Palmar in Cancun for a our anniversary trip! It was better than I was hoping for and more. Truly a piece of paradise. The food was outstanding, beach was lovely, service was friendly and helpful. Our room was amazing! I highly recommend going

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clizzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2016
Dear Clizzio,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

From arrival to departure every aspect of our stay was a joyful experience. We chose to not opt for the all inclusive and found our 1 bedroom suite very accommodating and comfortable for our week long stay. Beautiful views across the courtyard and out over the ocean from our dole balcony we ate many meals. Customer service in the restaurants and pool area's were fantastic. Excellent WI-FI throughout including our room (Extra charge).

Room Tip: Best views from upper rooms. Upgrade to one bedroom is well worth it and very accommodating if you p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2016
Dear Timothy M,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I visited this hotel the week of February 4th. Let me first say the hotel and landscaping is beautiful. Extremely pleasing to the eye. It even smelled wonderful...it will put you in the mood to relax and enjoy the atmosphere. Now, the down part....we had the "all inclusive" package which was wierd because they bring you a check after each meal with the cost of your food that MUST and I repeat MUST sign prior to leaving that venue and if you don't sign they will chase you to get your signature. Next upon our arrival after we thought had a smooth check in...we get to our room and there was only one bed. Granted we are all friends, but sleeping in one bed was not the idea and not what we paid for. Also, ALL THE ROOMS WERE WRONG AND WE HAD TO GO BACK TO THE LOBBY TO RECTIFY THE PROBLEM. It was the most taxing and horrific experience I've ever been through. Next, they make you go through the 90 minute time share presentation just to get the "hidden" specials the hotel has. If don't go through the presentation you will not get the discount card, spa discount and a host of other VIP information. It almost feels like the hotel was separated by a class system...red band, orange band, yellow band, red string, elite member, and the difference in stars a person has. There are too many rules with this hotel. My friend broke down and brought into the membership but could not use the elite side of the resort....YES I SAID THE ELITE SIDE OF THE RESORT... she can't use that side until she has been a member for 45 weeks. Really???!!! Any way, if you are the type of person that loves division, class systems and such then this resort is for you....but if you want to stay somewhere where everyone is treated the same and all inclusive is really all inclusive then find another resort. I hope the owners and management see's this because I will be also sending a letter to the management and owner.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
17 Thank Tamyra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2016

Dear Tamyra T,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I have owned timeshares for almost 15 years. Last year I purchased at Villa Del Arco in Cabo and it was great. Food, service and atmosphere were excellent. We traded our week to Villar Del Palmer and were not so lucky. First, the unit and complex itself were beautiful. Well designed and comfortable except for the location of the spa which is next to a bar. So when u are having a relaxing massage, you are listening to people talk loud and scream. The food and service were poor at best. When we first arrived, our concierge said hello and stated we were booked for an 8:00am tour the next morning. When I said i was not interested in a tour or further purchase of additional weeks, her attitude changed and fior the rest of the week she was little to no help and a little rude. It was like i was being punished for nao taking the tour or getting my 15% savings
card. As far as the food went, the portions were small and the menu limited. I have never had a porterhouse steak that was less than 1/4 inch thick. The French Onion soup was a joke. The bowl came with a pice of bread with unmelted cheese on it. Then they poured the purported onion soup on it which was brown tasteless water with onions. It was atrocious. The service was third class. My wife asked for a menu at the pool on the first day for lunch and after 15 minutes had to get it herself. The waiter seemed disturbed when he arrived 10 minutes after acting as if we were too impatient to wait 25 minutes for the menu. At breakfast I had to ask the waiter 4 times for a bottle of water. Not one server was able to multi task. And the pool and beach service was limited to lack of help, The beach was horrible. This was due too the poor location of the resort itself. Its a $35.00 cab ride to get to any place of significance. The Timeshare is located 35 minutes from the Hotel Zone, nice beach and Restaurants. So u were really forced to eat at the Timeshare and since the food was terrible and limited, it did not make for a pleasant stay. The beach was small, loaded with sea weed and any attempts to clean it with a tractor resulted in less than 50% being picked up. The rest was mixed in the sand. Also every hour you were treated to the smell of diesel fuel from the ferry which is located next to the resort. I would never stay there again, never recommend it to anyone and anyone foolish enough to buy in the next two phases being built is a glutten for punishment!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank rtwlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2016

Dear rtwlaw,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I have been to Cancun several times- usually to 'hotel ally'- Villa was away from all the chaos from the other hotels- it was secluded and peaceful- the grounds are beautiful and there is daily activity... I will be coming back for sure!! Especially now that I have purchased a time share ;)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clee20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2016

Dear Clee20,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.6 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11,116 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#2 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.8 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
9.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#6 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2 | Manzana 9 Lote 3 SM 2, Zona Continental de Isla Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront luxury resort is located in the pristine beaches of Playa Mujeres, about 25 minutes north hotel zone and 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport. The new Villa del Palmar Cancun offers a range of possibilities for fun and relaxation that will make your holiday truly unforgettable. The complex offers amazing 5-star service, extravagant amenities and plenty of activities to keep your adventurous side entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Cancun Hotel Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing