We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge improvement” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Huge improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

this is our second visit in last three years. to be fair, project was still in shakedown phase when we visited in 2012. the place is spectacular, specially at night. food still just ok but service is much better. entertained last night by first rate country singing group from Grand Ole Oprey. Wonderful experence. have much different feeling about place. Only real problem is that there is poor public transportation from downtown where we enjoy several old favorite restaurants. I think this will change as more development is planned along the Playa Mujeres.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psimon846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2016

Dear psimon846,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,045
    994
    357
    158
    118
See reviews for
1,331
1,504
30
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,446)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

The resort had all the amenities we were looking for. Our one-bedroom suite was beautifully appointed and clean. It was so convenient to have a full kitchen, dining room and laundry space. We packed soap and dryer sheets and it was so nice to pack our clean clothes and just have to put them away when we got home. The checking in process was very long - especially after being up since 3:00am. The concierge, Jasthmin, was very pushy to schedule a time share breakfast meeting with my husband and I the very next morning; again after traveling all day we did not want to committ to a plan right away. She then treated us terribly the remainder of our stay (basically lied to us several times). BUT we did not allow that to keep us from enjoying ourselves. The rest of the staff was very attentive to our needs. We stayed all-inclusive through a LivingSocial deal and as we made our selection we thought we were getting a fairly good deal. As we stayed at Villa del Palmar and talked to some of the timeshare "owners" we now understand what an AWESOME deal we had. The grounds are magnificent, with 5 pools and 4 restaurants. Staff always seemed to be doing something: scrubbing sidewalks, ting trees, and other projects to keep it sparkling. The food was great. I highly recommend both Davino and the steakhouse. My husband did not enjoy the breakfast offerings at Davino, but my kids and I really loved it. The made-to-order omelets are well worth the wait. We had some windy, wet and chilly weather while we visited the Cancun area, so finding excursions to keep everyone satisfied was challenging. The staff at the travel agency on site were very supportive and gave us great guidance. Some of the activities we did were deep sea fishing, a trip to Isla Mujeres where we rented a golf cart to cruise the island, swim with dolphins, and check out a turtle farm, a ride into the hotel district for shopping and dinner (our one planned meal away from the resort to go to Lorenzillo's for lobster-amazing!). Cab fare to town was $30 each way, so not something one wants to make a habit out of. We did have one lovely day that we spent pool-and-beach side that was wonderful. The sea kayaking and paddle boards were a ton of fun and the pools were nicely kept and very refreshing. The kids were able to practice snorkeling in the pool to get the hang of it. Of course the staff kept us want-free of drinks and food pool side. Had our weather been more cooperative, we would have loved to spend more time at the resort pool-side because it was lovely. Would I go back again? Yes, overall, it's a little out of the way, but being a new facility and nicely appointed it was worth being a little off the beaten path. The deal we got made it worthwhile. At full price I would not return.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KStaubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Before booking our winter getaway I reviewed the comments posted about this resort and have to say we didn't experience anything negative!
When we arrived we were upgraded to a one bedroom suite at no charge
The room was incredible very clean and very much like a new condo. It had a full kitchen, living room, separate bedroom with a shower and jacuzzi tub with a pool front and ocean view.
The hotel grounds are beautiful and well kept as well as the pools and buildings. The staff was gracious and you could tell they truly enjoyed doing their jobs.
The food was a 4 out of 5 as I did have one "ok" meal. Hirishio the sushi place was amazing-order the salmon surmi you can't go wrong
We also enjoyed the bite bar lunch/ snacks like chips and gac, quesadilla or the cheeses chicken wrap. The Veracruz ceviche was awesome!

We were only solicited once about a timeshare and we said no five times and they moved on.

I would recommend the all inclusive package as our food and drink totals appeared to be $$$ al carte

There is a ferry within a five minute walk on the beach that charges 40 pesos each way and well worth it's destination to isle mujuvers. On the island you can rent a moped or golf cart for the day, shop the flea market or have an ethnic lunch. Very fun and beautiful scenery.

The only caution I would offer..
If your looking for an all day and night party this isn't the place. We are in our mid 30s and the resort had many couples our age, families with young children or couples in retirement (50-60s) The resort closes by 11 and there is one bar open until 1 but for the most part all guests and staff were in by 10.

We hope to return one day!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hillary g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

This place was AMAZING!! The staff was wonderful and we met a bunch of lifetime friends. :) There are 3 bartenders that were our favorite. Mr. Tikko.. He has a long name, so this is what we called him and Carlos. They both worked at the bar outside of the steakhouse and then Philippe, which worked at the snack bar. These 3 remembered our names and what we were drinking, when we weren't switching it up, after the 2nd day. If you run into Philippe, you gotta ask him how to say sex in Spanish. Hopefully he will give you the same answer as us.. WHOOP WHOOP!! The weather was rainy and windy all week, but we had an awesome time. The place is beautiful and it beat 40-50 below back at home. This place was great and we will probably be back!

The only downfall is that every night you have to make dinner reservations if you expect to get into one of the restaurants to eat. I just don't like that because when you are on vacation, you never know what time you are going to be hungry and want to eat. But, that's just a minor downfall in our book.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KimRampier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were clean, spacious and well stocked. The food was very delicious and many staff have superb service. The beach was clean and not crowded with peddlers. Location was a little far on the bus ride, but at least it was inexpensive.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nursemel1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2016

Dear nursmel1968,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Ct
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

I don't get how people could possibly complain about this gorgeous resort, gourmet food offerings, and plush rooms. We had a superior experience.
Yes, you need to make dinner reservations. The week's reservations were made in about three minutes with the concierge upon check-in. Yes, there are empty tables in the large restaurants every evening. They are not staffed to feed a full restaurant, as it is not needed. A moderate staff in five restaurants vs. a full kitchen staff in one? I like the option of different restaurants. We never waited more than 30 seconds to be seated. The staff was very attentive, food and drinks arrived in a timely manner. The food was excellent with one exception: the chicken in beer sauce was dry and not good. My thrifty husband didn't want to complain, but if he had, I have no doubt they would have whisked it away and given him anything he wanted. The octopus appetizer in Davino's is a "must try".....delicious! The pork ribs dish at Zama's is amazing.

Like another traveler, we too, had trouble with a faulty door lock. I reported it, it was fixed within 30 minutes, and there was never another problem.

In response to the complaints of poor beach service: The servers had a LOT of people to take care of and also served lunch on the beach. If the resort added one more waiter on the beach it would have helped considerably.

The entire staff was wonderful, non-intrusive, yet friendly. Noe Tepal, a waiter in ZamaRestaurant really went the extra mile, remembering all of our names, and being playful with our two children.

The only confusion we had was in regards it tipping. The paperwork said that all gratuities were included, but could add something extra if we felt it was warranted. Each time we signed our check, there was a spot to add a tip. Towards the end of the trip we realized that a little extra (perhaps 10%?) on the bill was REALLY appreciated, and very well deserved. In the future, we will add a tip to each bill. I really would like to know what "gratuities included" really means....what percentage does the waiter really receive?

I had a ten minute deep tissue massage with "Freddy" (he offers these teasers for "tip only"- give him $10) The guy has magic fingers. Had I experienced this earlier in the trip, I'd have absolutely booked a full massage.

The "90 minute" presentation was professional, yet ran to about two hours. We did not buy, but if you are people that need incentive to get away and are the type that hates Internet research, then a timeshare is an easy way to go. First Rate resort, top-notch staff, gorgeous beach and well appointed beautifully decorated rooms.

Room Tip: We had our school-aged kids with us, so really enjoyed the first floor room nearest the restaurant a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank legof65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2016

Dear legof65,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is our fourth time in Cancun area, and we stay at different place each time. I must say this resort was the best when it came to the grounds and room aspect. We went on a timeshare package so i was worried. Check in and check out was easy and friendly. Their resort drink Mango Tango was the best. Timeshare meeting wasn't as bad as some reviews said. When we booked here we were fully aware that it was far from hotel zone and were fine with that, but we did miss being able to leave the resort if we were bored. It cost us $20 to walmart, then took a bus to hotel zone. They do have a shuttle but theres only 3 places it drops you off at certain times and picks you up 3 hours later not a lot of time.
The only reason we wouldn't stay again is because we not excited about the menus at the restruants, my husband is very picky and it was hard for him to find something he liked. Don't get me wrong the stuff we ordered was good just not for us. The only other thing we didn't like was any tour you did you had the find separate transportation, because they don't come all the way out to this resort.
All said and done, i would recommend this beautiful resort but it's not for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.6 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,746 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11,135 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#2 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.8 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
9.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#6 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2 | Manzana 9 Lote 3 SM 2, Zona Continental de Isla Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront luxury resort is located in the pristine beaches of Playa Mujeres, about 25 minutes north hotel zone and 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport. The new Villa del Palmar Cancun offers a range of possibilities for fun and relaxation that will make your holiday truly unforgettable. The complex offers amazing 5-star service, extravagant amenities and plenty of activities to keep your adventurous side entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Cancun Hotel Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing