We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All-Inclusive for sure!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We went all inclusive, and really enjoyed all the services available through this option. Shuttles, restaurants, activities etc. Its a fair distance from the city, 40-50$ taxi ride. Hotel shuttles (free) work well if you don't mind spending an hour or two in the city. This place is all about the money, from tips to activities, its not the place to go if you A) want to party all night (place is quiet at 10pm) or B) want to be near the action, or c) travel on a budget. You do have to sign for meals and drinks all the time, if you get friendly with a bartender he'll leave your tab open for the afternoon. You can't help but feel pressured to Tip. They really do go above and beyond to remember what your name is and what you drink. We are about 30yrs old, and traveled for the week of Christmas to New years. Lots of families there and it seemed great for them. Mexico can be hectic, so this truly is away from all the madness of vendors and traffic. Super Nice & New, well-maintained property. Hard-working staff and only improving from what I read. I'd book again without hesitation.
PS:Restaurants really were great. good variety and quality of food.

Room Tip: Go all-inclusive, Everythings much easier, shuttles, meals, access to all restaurants!! No Time Shar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BobbyK47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,887 - 2,893 of 4,261 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

You can usually tell from the check in process what your holidays going to be like. We stood in line for almost an hour to get checked in and there were only 3 other couples in front of us.
ROOMS: We had a suite it had a great view comfy pillows and a soft bed. The jacuzzi was full of rust and requied several fillings to clean it out. The A/C never worked in the bedroom but did work well in the living room. Maid service was inconsistent. One day it was excellent the next poor.
FOOD/BEVERAGE SERVICE:
Average to poor at best. Because EVERYTHING needs to be signed for service is a long drawn out affair. Forget about getting a drink at the two bars they are too busy making bills for glasses of water. Pool side service was great one day and literally non existent the next. Hats off to Victor great pool side service when management bothered to assign someone to work the pool. Food in the restaurants was all over. We sent back at least half our main courses because they came put cold. The Devino was the worst. Two hours for a mediocore three course meal. What killed the entire trip for us was the $50 plate charge of New Years Eve. I've NEVER been charged at an all inclusive for meals. We were told that if we didn't want to pay we could go into town and have supper. We did. Will NEVER visit this resort again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Glockster2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Gerente at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Greetings from Villa del Palmar Cancun.

First of all we would like to thank you for your review and comments. We appreciate the time you took to let us know about your stay. We are sorry to hear that we were not up to your standards, and that you were not informed properly about new year´s party costs, please note though that customer service is very important to us and our staff is always trying their best to please our guests.

Hopefully you will come back to try our property again
.
Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our family of 4, parents with two young adult children in their 20's, just returned from a 6 day stay at this resort. The resort was beyond our expectations. Don't let the lobby sway your impression of this resort.(It really is nothing to look at). Go beyond the back doors and enter a tropical paradise. Multiple pools and jacuzzi's to choose from so you never feel crowded. We had (2) 1 bedroom suites and they are beautiful. All marble flooring, high ceilings, beautiful glass and granite furnishings. Fully equipped kitchen, stocked full size refrigerator with drinks and snacks daily. Two bathrooms per suite. Bed linens are just like their pictures. Beds so comfortable. Huge terrace with glass table, lounge chair and rope hammock. Sit side ways or you'll never get out of it. We overlooked the pools and had a small view of the ocean. We were on the 3rd floor. I would ask for a higher floor for a better view. The meal plan was phenomenal. 4 restaurants to choose from and loved them all. All inclusive had very few limitations. We ate and drank our way through the vacation as it rained everyday except for 1. Staff went out of their way to make sure you were pleased. Davino's had alot of variety and Francisco was outstanding server. La Casona was good but not great.Tenderlon not American standard. Hiroshi restaurant had great appetizer foods as we ate our apps there and then went to dinner elsewhere. DInners looked awesome.. Zama restaurant we all loved the fish tacos, pork tacos and everything else. Fresh guacamole on every dish. Alll of the outdoor bars are open till 11pm and then inside lobby bar till 1pm. Great drinks and they do not skimp on the alcohol. They keep them flowing.Try the two outdoor bars with swings. Feel totally safe walking around here at night alone. Outdoor lighting around the pools really highlights the grounds. Immaculate everywhere. Even the bathrooms are immaculate and everything is high end. All stone and granite. The shuttle is first come first serve and only runs a few places at certain times. 10-4, etc: We had reserved spots one day and still did not get on the shuttle, as one broke down or stuck in traffic.Two different reasons given. If you want to come back when you want, the taxis are expensive. $25.00 usd one way. given. Alot of pros and very few cons.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th-9th floors and facing the pools are great. Then you will get a view of the ocean beyond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ackchef13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

A month left after i visited this amaizing hotel .... but still have alot of great memories . Hope to come back at this place. A hotel is big and still building .... it looks like an oasis of nature, a great work of landscape designers . There are lots of restaurans inside - so every taste can be satisfied. Japan ( for me was the greatest one ) , also greek-italian , mexican, steakhouse ....
The rooms are big and spacious with the own kitchen and hammock at the balcony . everything is clean and great style . The staff are nice and friendly, polite ,always help u and they do their work just awesome . love the place ,people and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank _summerneverstop_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Definitely off the beaten path in that this resort is a good 30 minute drive to the "hotel zone" and where all the craziness of Cancun happens. Which may not be such a bad thing for you just be aware of this if you're thinking about being in town every night. $30 cab ride ONE WAY! Be prepared! Overall the resort is great. My family had a 1 bedroom suite. EXCELLENT for a small family. There were 3 of us. My daughter had her own bathroom as did my husband and I. Very clean rooms and they are fantastic - the beds are the best my husband and I have ever slept on. NEVER have we slept better ANYWHERE! Including our own home. My goal is to find out what kind of mattress was used in our room and buy the same for us @ home. Pools are wonderful - plenty of chairs and towels. Beach is OK..it's a Cancun beach. Lots of seaweed and some small debris (plastic wrappers, etc.) floating around but hey nothing is perfect. Water is very clear. Food was excellent. We ate in every restaurant and were not disappointed. HOWEVER.....we did notice that at the Bite Bar the food preparers/handlers WERE NOT wearing plastic gloves. Their hands touched nachos, lettuce, tortillas, pizza crusts, pizza toppings--basically anything that couldn't be spooned out was grabbed by bare hands and put on your plate. Management needs to address this right away. My husband became very ill the last night of our vacation. In fact, the guy next door to us was also ill all night long (not from drinking). My daughter and I also had irritable tummy troubles but not as severe as our neighbor and my husband. In fact, we had to extend our stay 1 day because my hubby couldn't travel. I have no doubt that all of us suffered from Montezuma's Revenge TIMES 10 as a result of contaminated food and/or water. We diligently tried to stick with bottled water but over and over we were told..."we have no bottled water right now"....WHAAAAAT? Again, this is a minor fix -- it's called PREPARATION. Also, why would a resort only give a bar 12 Corona Lights for the DAY?? Come on....again, PREPARATION. I would like to recognize 2 outstanding members of the resort's wait staff....Donovan @ the Bite Bar and Antonio (I think..) at Davino's. Donovan was always pleasant, accommodating, had a smile on his face and very responsive to our needs. Excellent member of your team! Antonio - very pleasant, accommodating and enjoyable to have help us through our meal. Another great member of your team that deserves to be recognized. We saw Antonio also working @ Bite Bar but we always requested Donovan..."Mr. Perfecto"! One area we feel could be improved is the level of service around the pool and on the beach. Could take 15 minutes to get a drink and it seemed like there wasn't enough wait staff to handle the guests around the pool/beach. In other experiences at other resorts, the staff is all over you....@ other places never have I gone more than 15-20 minutes without being asked if I needed anything but this wasn't the case @ VDP. Usually we had to diligently search for someone to help us. Beware of the 90 minute sales presentation upon check-in. Don't waste your time..or do waste your time --your choice -- but no way is it only 90 minutes. My family got hooked. We showed up for the 90 minute appointment only to get the feeling it was going to be several HOURS. We bailed. Overall we'd give this resort an 8 out of 10.

Room Tip: Small family get the 1 bedroom suite. Couples - standard room. 4 or more you might consider the 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I understand that when I went it was a time where they must of had a lot of people Dec. 23-29. But every hotel should be prepared with extra employees. We dont pay all this money for us to not be treated like you are just there for free and not feel welcomed. That is how the waiters would make us feel everytime. With a few exceptions

Check-In, There is no organization, they take a long time but that can be forgotten by being greeted with a smile and politely. This was not the case, the person was serious didn´t mention anything about us waiting. We had to wait for our room since we arrived early, mean while I forgot if they had added the internet so I stood again to wait for the person that checked us in, she was with another customer and I waited like 20 minutes she never looked at me and said that she will be right with me. Until she told someone else to take me, after waiting for that long. I always said if you don´t like your job leave!

Another thing I did not like is that the internet is not in the whole building only in your room.

Again going back to the service. When you are on the pool if you rely on the waiters to bring you food and drinks, be prepare to wait from 45 minutes to an hour. We were going to leave since we didnt know if they had forgotten about us. So that was the one and only time we did that. Which is not cool.

I read somewhere before on trip advisor that the drinks are not strong, that was true we would always ask for double of whatever the alcohol it was. Bartenders wouldn't recommend drinks either.

Now the wait for restaurants - that is just another different horrible story. Breakfast, we had to wait everytime at least 10-20 minutes. We would always go to Davino. One of tthe times at Davino's they told us there was a wait and we had a tour we had to be ready for, so we couldn´t wait much so the one time we decided to go to Zama they old us they were full and sent us back to Davino. So there we go again then Davino mention again about the wait and sent us to Zama, we said sorry we just came from there so we´ll just wait. Who has time to walk back and forth like we are a joke.

Now dinner, wow..... well YOU MUST MAKE RESERVATIONS! please be this the first thing you do when you wake up!! if not you´ll end up eating till 10pm or later if they make you wait EVEN with the reservation. I dont even want to know what happens if you don´t make reservations, perhaps you´ll just have to order from the crappy room service.

The only people that were nice and polite, that made us feel like they wanted us there, welcomed were the people from the SPA and the Casona Steak House and one Bartender with color eyes from the Tiki Bar (the bar near the beach) he even got compliments from other people as well. They were both great service.

One thing that might not have nothing to do with the hotel is the tours service that they sell at the hotel. TIP: make sure you do not go in a bus or you look for a private tour or else you'll be end up dropping all the other people that go to the tour that are from the hotel zone first, and you'll be the last ones. You'll do more travel time than site seeing.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
6  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

we just got back from 1 week of pure heaven! this resort was everything that was promised and much more! I would highly recommend it to anyone! the food was to die for, the staff was simply wonderful, and the resort was spotless! there was always someone cleaning something some where! I was very impressed and for those that give this place a bad review I don't know where you were staying because that was certainly not our experience! and as far as the time share we simply said no that we did not wish to go on a tour and we were never bothered about it again! no big deal :) the only thing that I would have to say that was that I wish you didn't need to make dinner reservation because it can hold you back a bit from going to town and needing to be back in time? but there was always room service, which was fast and always great!
I would love to go back some day :)

Room Tip: all the rooms are awesome but the higher you are the better view you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelleb1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.9 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,737 reviews
0.8 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#2 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
12,494 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
2.2 mi away
Dreams Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
7.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2 | Manzana 9 Lote 3 SM 2, Zona Continental de Isla Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range: $177 - $679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront luxury resort is located in the pristine beaches of Playa Mujeres, about 25 minutes north hotel zone and 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport. The new Villa del Palmar Cancun offers a range of possibilities for fun and relaxation that will make your holiday truly unforgettable. The complex offers amazing 5-star service, extravagant amenities and plenty of activities to keep your adventurous side entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Cancun Hotel Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing