We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here on a trade through Interval Int. we had a large one bedroom suite, with full living room and kitchen (including stove, full refrig) washer/dryer, two full bathrooms, large balcony, ocean front. We had read many negative reviews, but the resort was, in fact, clean, new, with several pools and clean beach (yes, there was seaweed). there were hundreds of chairs around the pools, and most were empty. We were there Dec 7-14, so maybe an off-season week, but there were no crowds. We were prepared for the sales pitch on arrival, but they backed down quickly, sensing we were not interested as we have a few time shares already, etc. We did not do all-inclusive, and ate a few meals on site. No problem without reservation, and the meals were fine. For us, having our choice of alcohol (choices very limited with AI) and flexibility to eat on our own was better. We stopped at Walmart on our way from airport ($30 extra for USA Transfers car service to stop and wait 1 hour) and filled up on basics, water and alcohol. (the little market on site is very basic, more expensive, don't plan on this for much). We used the gym every day, and it was clean, lots of treadmills, etc. also not crowded. We had massages at the spa, which was excellent.
This resort is very secluded, and walking anywhere beyond the resort isn't realistic. It is about 15 minutes by taxi to Cancun, less than 10 minutes to Ultramar Ferry to Isla Mujeres. taxis are right outside the resort entrance and the doorman always insured that the driver knew where we wanted to go. Isla Mujeres was highlight of our trip--we spent 2 days there and loved it. See reviews on this under that topic, but MUST get MapChicks Maps (order on-line) for Isla Mujeres. Includes several self-tours and golf cart tours, really made our trips to the island fun! Many other travelers admired our Maps!!
The resort does have WiFi but we paid $60/week (and allowed only one device to use the account). The staff were always friendly and helpful. We had no issues with check in, out, or our bill. If you pay/tip in US $, It is helpful to have small bills from home, as they can't change US bills. we used some US $, but used pesos for taxis and in restaurants, bars etc. all over Isla Mujeres. You can exchange US to pesos at front desk.
we were pleasantly surprised with this resort, and are glad we didn't do all inclusive (but if you have a bunch of kids, or a group, this may be the way to go).

Room Tip: Not sure that "choosing a room" will be applicable. Most rooms above 4th floor have oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sonrapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,045
    994
    357
    158
    118
See reviews for
1,331
1,504
30
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,446)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Pros-
-Very Clean room
-Grounds are beautiful
-Pools are great ( some say cold)
-Kids pool great
- wait staff very good
-kids room great
Traveled with a 5 and 7 year old, it was great for them, quite, safe, many families were there with young kids.
Cons-
-It’s a time share and they try and sell you on it from the moment you get in.
- your greeted by a concierge that you believe is there to help you but really they promise you the world and tell you everything is all take care of, (dinner reservations, ect) . they only want you to sign up for a sales pitch tour or an over priced excursion. You can get everything a lot cheaper on your own.
-They have an insane reservation policy that makes eating dinner very hard for no reason. We missed out on the ability to eat at there restaurants twice because we were told our reservations were confirmed but some how when we arrived for dinner they didn’t have them. That would be fine if we could eventually be seated, I completely understand that mistakes happen but No Reservation mean NO FOOD FOR YOU!! Trust me you are not going to get around this crazy policy they have you be the balls, read some other reviews about the issue and please believe them!!! Were not a picky couple and can roll with what ever happens but this was really bad! This problem was a common topic among guest. We would giggle as we would watch the same issues we faced with the reservations happen to couples that just arrived for there “reservation” and found they didn’t have them.
-the front office is to worried about getting you to go on a high pressure sale tour rather than explain to you the system.
-Very difficult to get information on the days events.
-There is definitely a management issue
- food is what I would call “up scale bar food”
- Drinks were very weak, cheapest alcohol is used. most people have to order doubles.
-beach was ok, not really the Caribbean experience you dream of.
-There’s a sulfur smell in the water, if you’ve ever been to Hilltion head, NC that’s what it smells like.
-had to pay for wi fi $5 a day, not what expect from any hotel.
-pool side service was very slow to not happening- way slower than normal Mexican time.
-breakfast buffet was average, same food out every day
- your nickled and dimmer to death, its not realy all enclusive they will find a way to get an extra few hundred out of you, because once your there your short of stuck its far from the rest of cancun shopping night life.

Conclusion—
Not worth it!! Don’t get sucked in to a “good deal” cuz its not!! With all the competition from other resorts don’t waste your time here!! A vacation is expensive that you’ve probably planed for a long time. Spend a few extra dollars and try a different place you be happier in the end.
it got two stars becuase it was very clean and well keep, but thats all it has!!

Room Tip: higher floors, there is construction on one side near building 3,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank colerful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Is it a time share?
Is it an all-inclusive?
Is it a pay per services hotel?

I don't think they can even answer that question. What that all equates to as a traveler is exhaustion instead of relaxation.

Due to reading previous reviews... We knew to avoid the concierge as it was a huge sales push. Luckily we got in late at night and just went to bed. We had a mix up with our reservation, so I had the info printed out.

We did get an upgrade to a one bedroom suite since they were over booked. This also came with a Murphy bed that pulls out of the wall. The room and hotel is insanely gorgeous. We also had a full kitchen and laundry.

As my mixup came with the food portion of our reservation I had to buy the package on site. If the front desk had explained there was a grocery store out front, I wouldn't have gone all inclusive. There was rarely a day that we met our per day cost for all-inclusive. I was impressed that you could order room service and eat out of the mini-bar as part of the package.

The restaurants posed our next problem. We realized that reservations were required. This resort does not do a mass buffet for any meal except breakfast. The concierge said to call the morning of to get on the list for that night. After two nights of eating out of the bar restaurant, we learned from another traveler to call the night before. We finally got in all of the restaurants, which were amazingly delicious. We at sushi, steak, Greek, and a variance of Italian. Be prepared to sign bills with money amounts on them. They freaked me out a little as I had already paid a lot of money for food. To date I haven't been charged for those tickets. There is a gratuity line on them. The signing of checks was annoying.

Service was good at first. If you didn't tip every time they looked at you, by the 5-6 day you got ignored. Tipping is included in our plan, and we did tip a couple of times for people who went out of their way to be helpful like geovany. The second to last day we got ignored on the beach by Pedro who made us cash out our bill so he didn't have to walk so far. We never saw him after that. The next day we must have sat at the bit bar for 30-45 minutes before anyone took our order.

The front desk is a horrible horrible mess. Barely speak enough to help they direct you back to the sales desk (you can't call it concierge desk). Be prepared to check out at least an hour before you need to go. The front desk person has to review your ENTIRE bill to make sure there are no up charges, tips, or other paid charges. As you can imagine there are a lot of lines due to them itemizing everything you do. I waited 30 minutes in line, my bus to the airport waited 30 more minutes for me to finish and I still left without a receipt that was promised to me in an email. Which I never received.

In conclusion, if you give a person an all-inclusive bracelet, then don't over burden them with the process of enjoying a relaxing vacation. If you want to expand and sell time shares, then don't hold people hostage at a concierge desk that is really a sales desk. If you want to be a pay per service, then don't include all-inclusive travelers. What a cluster... And a shame. I'd love to go back to see the two expansions... But if you can't get one right. I shutter to think what it will be like when the hotel is triple the size.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank MM K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We just spent a week at this resort, over New Years. Had a really nice time. Bought a promotional deal from World Wide Vacation really cheap and paid to upgrade to a 1 Bedr. Ocean View Suite. All inclusive except a few exclusions we didn't find out about until long after we bought the package. No matter what, we got a REALLY good deal compared to what the resort really cost. Our suite was huge, very clean and modern, looked brand new, view from 5th floor amazing, balcony alone was around 200 sq. ft.The pools, grounds restaurants and beach area are very well kept and beautiful. Yes, the beach is kind of small, but we like that, not very far from your chair to the water, yes there is seaweed, but it's the ocean, it has seaweed! Brought lots of small dollar bills from home and started tipping right away for drinks and food. Service was excellent and we were greeted by name everywhere. There was alot of families with kids at the resort and noisy at times, but there was alot of grounds so it didn't bother us. Nothing really to do at night other then dinner and drinks, but that's fine for us on this trip. If you want action you have to go to Cancun or stay close to Playa Del Carmen. Would love to go back again!

Room Tip: High floor rooms have nice views. Floor 1 and 2 are almost all behind foliage with no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank laswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wareham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days in November 2013. This resort is only 3 years old so everything is brand new. Our room was a standard room with king bed (nice mattress), small kitchen area with sink, counter and small fridge stocked with waters, sodas, beers and chips and nice bathroom with a cool tiled shower/tub. Every balcony has a hammock which I loved to swing in and read my kindle. I can't say enough about the staff. They catered to your every need. When I would tell them thank you, they always put their hand over their heart and would say my pleasure. We did the all-inclusive package so we never had to leave the resort. The food at the Mexican and Greek/Italian restaurant was very good. The buffet for breakfast had so much food to pick from so you can always find something that you like. Drinks weren't very strong but we just asked for a double next time and it was fine. Pools were lovey and the jacuzzis were even better. Beach was just steps away. The water here is much calmer compared to the water on the hotel zone side. It did downpour for 2 days straight but we just hung out in the jacuzzi and drank. Had such a wonderful vacation here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank alyssa9499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Although this resort usually caters to an all-inclusive package, we chose the non-inclusive at a great rate. We had other things to do in the Cancun/Playa del Carmen/Tulum area, so an all-inclusive package would have been wasted on us, but the room/breakfast option was perfect. The entire place was perfect for us, super-clean, new and inviting. The nightly shows near the pools were great. But my highest praise is for the restaurants. One of the meals I had there was probably one of the best tasting meals of my life (The Pesca Del Dia - fresh fish of the day). I can't stop thinking about that dinner. The room was fantastic, especially for the price we were paying. The only downside I can possibly think of is the location: great for someone who will spend more time on the resort, but a little out of the way for daily activities farther down south near Playa del Carmen. I give Villa del Palmar an A+ rating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We went the week before Christmas and it was great escaping the cold for a little while. located in Playa Mujeres it is a great find. Only 20 min. from Cancun but for those looking for something a little different from the noise and craziness this place is great. Yes they will ask for you to take a time share presentation but you don't have to. We stayed in a one bedroom and had the all-inclusive food package and I have to say both choices were amazing. Two nice big rooms with a great porch with a two-person hammock. The food was great. We loved the bite bar and our favorite of the restaurants was the Mediterranean one. The tenderloin over polenta was to die for. The risottos were great too. Our stay was also great because we avoided all the in-season craziness by going just before the holidays. Place was not crowded which made the whole experience nice. No problems making reservations for dinner which I have read can be a problem. Had a wonderful couples massage and highly recommend the spa. Finding free lounge chairs by the pool or on the beach were no problemo. !00 yard walk to the ferry that takes you to Isla Mujeres which is a must see. Punta Sur, turtle farm, and fun on the golf cars. Some great food there too. I highly recommend all of it.

Room Tip: you pay a slight premium to get both a higher floor and an ocean view but it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jlandau99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.6 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,746 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11,135 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#2 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.8 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
9.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#6 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2 | Manzana 9 Lote 3 SM 2, Zona Continental de Isla Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront luxury resort is located in the pristine beaches of Playa Mujeres, about 25 minutes north hotel zone and 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport. The new Villa del Palmar Cancun offers a range of possibilities for fun and relaxation that will make your holiday truly unforgettable. The complex offers amazing 5-star service, extravagant amenities and plenty of activities to keep your adventurous side entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Cancun Hotel Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing