We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service, under par room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I am an owner of a studio and have stayed at most of the Villa Groups facilities, which I have loved. The Cancun facilities studio is sub par, lacking most of the amenities in the other resorts. My friends rented a 1 bedroom and were invited to take a tour (timeshare presentation) on their arival and they declined. I met them in the lobby just as they finnished check-in and I witnessed the staff cold and discontent attitude toward my friends (the cutest and sweetest little family I know) because they did not want to attend a time share presentation. We had a good time, but none of us brought sandals just flip flops and if you want to be served in most of the restaruants you need to bring sandals or shoes.
It is a beautiful resort, with great views, very clean and great service. I would rather stay in Cabo or PV as a studio owner.

Room Tip: Bring Shoes, the child care is for 4years and older and if you are going to do the timeshare present...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,780 - 2,786 of 4,118 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013

Over all okay.

Their check in And check out desk IS SLOW! so al los plenty of time especially for check out.

Their food is prettybgood. The swimming pool nice. The locación is far from the hotel zona.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wwtravelerAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The resort is beautiful with immaculate grounds. The rooms are nice but need a little maintenance. The food is very expensive and they require reservations at the restaurants. Drinks are weak. loved the beds on the beach. there were plenty and free of charge. Concierge were very helpful!

Room Tip: all rooms face gardens and some ocean. studios are adequate and nice. but suites are much nicer. st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank frugalbutnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The resort is very attractive & the grounds are very well kept. We had a studio room on the 6th level & the view was terrific. However, upon arrival, the concierge's English was a little hard to understand at times, but she made up for that with her helpfulness and pleasant attitude during our stay. Also, they were unable to unlock the room which was finally accomplished with the involvement of several people and us standing & waiting by the door in excess of 1/2 hour. Upon entry into the room, it was obvious the previous cleaning was rushed and not done properly. Also there was a strong sewage smell (this occurred again from time to time during our 2 week stay). The location is too isolated. Book exchange was available to "Elite Guests" only (how ridicules!). All inclusive far too pricey for 2 persons. Food was not too bad & service was good (although English was a problem at times). Our visit was 1st use of our time share; attended a presentation (to obtain discounts) & heard what a "poor deal" we had & we should upgrade! Will not go to this location again. Have stayed at Flamingoes location in PV-much better overall. Going to Cabo San Lucas (not VDP) this coming March.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views-best to have above 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The resort was beautiful! Everything from the spa, to the fitness center, to the pools, to the food was excellent EXCEPT for our encounters with Martin. After we (my 60 year old mother and I) checked in, we were directed to the concierge desk to receive additional information on the amenities available. I had read the other reviews about avoiding the tour and the sale of the timeshares. Our vacation was over the Thanksgiving holiday and short anyway and we only planned to stay on the resort or maybe take the ferry to Isla Mujeres. Martin was very pleasant at first as he explained the map of the resort and Cancun and various excursion options. However, his demeanor shifted drastically when we politely declined the tour and the subsequent discount card. He stated, "That's fine if you want to waste your money and spend $200 at the spa when you could get the massages for $34 each." And then he stood up, pushed in his chair and walked away from us (even though we still had unanswered questions such as how to make the dinner reservations for that night). It was the most ridiculous interaction!!! I'm not sure if it was because we were two American women, but his behavior was completely unnecessary and unwarranted. However, everyone else we interacted with was amazing with customer service, but stay away from Martin!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room on the 4th floor or higher to best enjoy the views and the hammock on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Being a Villa group owner we were excited to see the difference between the Pacific and Gulf coasts. The sand and beautiful blue ocean waters definitely provide a prettier view in Cancun compared too Puerto Vallarta. However the distances from local civilization is not even close, Cancun to the resort is easily a $40+ taxi ride whereas Flamingos in Puerto Vallarta is merely mins away from local shopping and restaurants. That being said, Pal Mar Cancun leaves you no reason to dine elsewhere as they offer 5 amazing restaurants including; Japanese, American, Mexican cuisines and a top shelf Steakhouse to rival any big city 5 star eatery! Our favorite spot was Zama, situated dead center of the resort. Since we travel regularly we like to eat foods of the country/state/province that we are visiting (although it was nice to have many choices once we got our fill of Mexicana).
The service was beyond compare and I could not even imagine being treated any better than the way we were treated! (Maybe in one's dream could you receive faster, competent, and friendly service....perhaps). The only resort downside to PalMar Cancun is the vastness and overwhelming size of the resort. We enjoyed Flamingos in Puerto Vallarta a smidge more because it was somewhat cosier and more compact. The problem we had is based on the fact both my wife and I have physical impairments that make walking even what some might consider a short distance quite tasking.
Overall a wonderful resort, amazing service, and great restaurants!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank masterjodapromotions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary and my birthday at the resort. The staff was wonderful, the food delicious, the spa heavenly. I was even given a birthday gift from the resort. We loved it so much we bought a membership and can't wait to go back.
Our room was on the side of the hotel where the construction was and I honestly did not hear any noise.
We took two bus trips to Xcaret and Xchen and yes they were long but also the service during the trips were excellent.
There were many people at the resort but it was never crowded or noisy at all, if want a great relaxing vacation in a beautiful setting this is the place.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom on the 8th floor and had a beautiful view of the ocean and the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank GMaGiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.9 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,423 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
11.0 mi away
Omni Cancun Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#2 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
12,097 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,683 reviews
7.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2 | Manzana 9 Lote 3 SM 2, Zona Continental de Isla Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range: $41 - $684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront luxury resort is located in the pristine beaches of Playa Mujeres, about 25 minutes north hotel zone and 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport. The new Villa del Palmar Cancun offers a range of possibilities for fun and relaxation that will make your holiday truly unforgettable. The complex offers amazing 5-star service, extravagant amenities and plenty of activities to keep your adventurous side entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Cancun Hotel Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing