We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week at Villa del Palmar Cancun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful week at Villa del Palmar Cancun”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We just wrapped up a great vacation visiting Cancun and this resort for the first time. We are seniors. We are not all inclusive types as we like to get out of the resort and make our own discoveries. We will not be found sitting by pool every day or hardly ever, in fact. Getting away from this resort was a challenge, however, since it is located so far from almost anything else, at the far north of town. The hotel offers a shuttle service to the shopping spots in Cancun, however,
we took the collectivos to get into town. Stand out by the road and usually in about 2 minutes one will stop for you. It is a bumpy hot and dusty ride, but for a few pesos you can get downtown on your own schedule and quickly! It helps that my husbands Spanish is excellent.

We have never gone with an all inclusive package, but we did eat at the hotel more than usual since there were no options nearby. The prices overall were high. The food was okay. Our best meal was at the most high end restaurant, STK.

We did make a big discovery after a few days that opened up our options considerably.There is a ferry that will take to you Isla Muhares located right next to the hotel. The concierge never mentioned it, referring guests to a fast ferry further away from the hotel. We just walked on the beach to the pier on the north side bought tickets and boarded. It is an old boat and the crossing is slow. The ferry docks about 6 blocks south of North Beach on Isla Muhares, an easy walk to where the actions is. One day we rented a golf cart and drove from one end of the island to the other (about an hour total). In the parking lot for the ferry, there is a little palapa were you can get a burger and fries, margarita and beer, etc. we had a club sandwich a beer while waiting for thr ferry, although you can see the ferry's schedule by watching for it!

We loved swimming in the ocean. The water is the perfect temperature and the sand is fine and white. The hotel has paddle boards and little paddle boats you can check out, too.

The pools were abundant and sparkling clean. We wish the pools had been better lit after dark, when we like a relaxing swim. The fit pit near the hot pool was not lit since the rainy had just ended, we were told.

We did not use any spa services on this trip.

We had excellent help from the concierge desk, especially from Leysi.

Room Tip: We had a room on the eighth floor, north side near the beach end of the wing. We had a view of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jude R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Jude R.

Greetings from Villa del Palmar Cancun.

First of all we would like to thank you for your review, we appreciate your thorough feedback, we are sure it will help many future travelers when picking a property for their next vacation. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay, and we are certainly taking note of your comments.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of seeing you back here in the future.

Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,235
    1,059
    396
    178
    134
See reviews for
1,506
1,602
35
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,521)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hotel and service were wonderful - with the exception of the "all inclusive" being not so inclusive.
Signing a check for every order of drink, snack or meal was a bit tiresome.
The beach also has a great amount of rocks on the water that were a problem. Made getting the water such an ordeal.
Otherwise - food was great, resort was peaceful

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mskcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Mskcm,

Greetings from Villa del Palmar,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to writing a review. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear that some of our procedures inconvenienced you. We asked our guests to sign a bill, even if they are on All Inclusive, but that doesn't mean you need to pay extra for the product you are getting, unless obviously you are getting something is not part of the All Inclusive like Spa, Laundry, etc.
As for the rocks on the beach, it is important to mention that the rocks are not on the actual beach, there are a few rocks in the water, given that this area of Quintana Roo has some rock formations but it is part of nature and unfortunately we are unable to do anything about it, and we would also be damaging the ecosystem if we tried to remove them.
We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed the food, and tranquility of the property. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of hosting your next vacation.

Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Bought into the "all-inclusive" but when we arrived - we found out we were on a "limited" all-inclusive. ?????? Only "allowed" one packet of coffee for our stay - the rest we had to pay for... went to one of the restaurants ... we only had the choice of two items off the menu. We stated our concerns - however, we were never offered the possibility of upgrading. Beach towels were only allowed for the "Elite Club".
The sales people were very pushy - and didn't want to take no for an answer. Naturally, they put you on the spot to commit immediately - if not the offer is void. That is an obvious tactic - it is a total rip off !!!

Definitely went in the "down" season which was great - but ... by 6:30 pm - the resort was quiet. Very nice, new resort - but would never go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee-Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear LeeAnn K,

Greetings from Villa del Palmar Cancun.

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I would like to address a few issues you mention in your review.

The coffee in the rooms is complimentary, one pack per stay, for any extra there is an extra charge.

The hotel is a full All Inclusive property, however, according to what you mention, you probably came with the spacial promotion for the time share, which for a low price you have limited options.

As for the beach towels, they are for everyone, our activities staff hands them out, or you could go directly to the activities area where towels are handed out to all of our guests, we are sorry if you were confused, but towels are too offered to every guest.

We are sorry to hear if we were not up to your standards.

Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice resort. Everything pretty clean. Small ants can be seen on the side table so be careful with food. All pools nice. Food pricey if you don't get the all-inclusive plan. On the last full day, there was a mistake with the free shuttle going to nearby malls/shopping. Reserved a spot the same morning and person on the phone said we were confirmed. Asked an employee when we got downstairs at 9:55am and he said we still need to wait for the shuttle. Waited 30 minutes and finally asked at the concierge desk and they said the shuttle left already and weren't on any list. We ended up getting our own taxi. That was the only negative on the trip. Far from everything so unless you want to just stay within the resort and have the all inclusive plan, the place is not the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antoinette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Antoinette N,

Greetings from the Villa del Palmar Cancun.

First of all we want to thank you for taking the time to share this review with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, but please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you may have encountered. We appreciate your tips to future travelers, we are sure that they will help.

Hopefully we will see you here again.

Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My experience with the villa del palmar cancun was one to remember. The staff were incredible (my two favorite bartenders were Albertico and Ismael) and welcoming and always put a smile on our faces! The food was excellent to add to the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alraymond78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Alraymond78,

Greetings from the Villa del Palmar Cancun.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, we appreciate your feedback. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of hosting your next vacation.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Awesome! My husband and I have traveled extensively over the years. My all time favorite 5 star resort was the Grand Waliea in Maui. However, the Villa Del Palmar rates equally. The resort is just as beautiful except for the amount of flowers. Our accomadations were exquisite. The service of the gracious staff was excellent. Even the young lady "Giselle" who gave our presentation was very professional and one I could make a lifetime friend. My favorite person was Carlos the bartender at the tiki beach "swing bar" on the beach. He was very sweet, kind, and his service and expertise was way above excellent. Check in and Check out was a breeze. The resort was clean and our 1 bedroom suite was awesome. I can not say enough about our wonderful experience other than we will be back.

Room Tip: The upgrade to the one bedroom suite is well worth it. The higher floors allow you to see the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Greetings from the Villa del Palmar Cancun.

We would like to thank you for your review, we really appreciate your feedback, we are sure that it will help many future travelers.
Thank you for your time and hopefully we will have the pleasure of hosting your next vacation.

Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Beautiful Resort- the rooms were clean (putting aside our toilet didn't flush) and the beach was wonderful. Our honeymoon vaca that we decided to spend half at the resort completely and half out doing day excursions.
We preferred to only get all inclusive for 3 out of the 7 day stay. I highly recommend getting all inclusive your whole stay if your friends do becasue they will hawk you like crazy and will be sure you don't even have a sip of anyone's cocktail. The customer service wasn't spectacular and they weren't very accomodating when our friends arrived to stay in our suite that we had that had additional beds. they ended up charging them to stay although this was our room and we had traded it through our timeshare from the US and it accomodates 4 comfortably. This resort has NO night life and pool closes at 10:00 , not close to any of the nightlife area or downtown. It is way away from everything so be ready to cab it for $30/one way. The shrimp burritos from the day snack bar at the pool are to die for - super yummy!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Angela S.

Greetings from the Villa del Palmar Cancun. First of all we would like to congratulate you on your wedding and recent honeymoon, we wish you a long and happy life together.
We would also like to thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to write a feedback of your stay. I would like to address though a couple of issues you mentioned. Please note that as a hotel we need to charge for every single guest staying on property, we understand you had paid for your room but it was intended for your use only and not for your friends's use, that is the reason why they were charged also as extra persons in the room. As for the distance, it is only 5kms from downtown Cancun, a little bit over 3 miles, which is not really that bad, but most of our guests choose our property because of this, they are looking for a quiet and relaxed property.
Thank you again for your review and hopefully we will have the pleasure of hosting your next vacation.

Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.9 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,077 reviews
0.8 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#2 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
11,692 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.2 mi away
Dreams Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
2.4 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2 | Manzana 9 Lote 3 SM 2, Zona Continental de Isla Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront luxury resort is located in the pristine beaches of Playa Mujeres, about 25 minutes north hotel zone and 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport. The new Villa del Palmar Cancun offers a range of possibilities for fun and relaxation that will make your holiday truly unforgettable. The complex offers amazing 5-star service, extravagant amenities and plenty of activities to keep your adventurous side entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Cancun Hotel Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing