We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Zone vs Villa Del Palmar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Zone vs Villa Del Palmar”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

- only stay here if you want to avoid shopping/malls/restaurants. Commute to hotel zone is easy during day time with minivan from hotel to buses and buses to hotel zone (R1) - 12 pesos
- avoid ordering room service for food..our veg food was terrible
- we didnt get all inclusive and it was still worth it
- at night you will have to take cab to get around to coco bongo or something (35 one way)
- if you loose something ask front desk and security both because there's communication issue between those two

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,238
    1,060
    397
    178
    134
See reviews for
1,507
1,604
35
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,522)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, Usa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I had an amazing time. We went all inclusive and we were blown away. Awesome staff beautiful hotel. Food was delish. 4 restaurants best drinks . Activities every night. Free shuttle for markets and the malls. Just don't take the time share tour unless you actually have the money to.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecilia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We took a tour of VP last year and decided to go there this year. The resort is beautiful, food is really good but the service is only average and on a couple of occasions poor. There were 10 of us including 4 young kids. Other than the breakfast buffet, meals were a big production because the resturants are small. We requested light bulbs be replaced and our hammock be fixed. After three requests and a complaint to the manger the bulbs were replaced but the hammock was never fixed. The staff was friendly but a few times servers at the pool were overloaded causing a long delay in getting drinks and food. The room service menu is lacking. On the bright side, we all enjoyed the entertainment and the views are beautiful. I don't think we will be back but overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank De S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Back in May we went to the Villa Del Palmar for 4 nights/5days for the all inclusive package. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite, which was absolutely beautiful! We were on the 2nd floor with a gorgeous view of palm trees (my favorite) right outside our balcony. There were numerous pools to choose from. For an all inclusive resort, the food was delicious!! Perfect portions, excellent taste!! The service everywhere was outstanding! Our daily pool waiter, Andre, was on top of our needs every 15-20 minutes. At the Mexican restaurant, Gloria and Edwin were quite memorable and very accomodating. This resort has it all... spectacular service, beautiful location, outstanding rooms and excellent food. The only thing that could have made this a 5 star place to me was if it was adults only. Children were the only drawback, as many of the parents were not keeping watch over them in the pools.

Room Tip: Any floor from about the 4th and up would give you a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MicheleAndrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I moved from the Gran Bahia Principce Sian Kaan on the Mayan Riveria which was just ok and very far off the beaten path. The Villa del Parmar is a beautiful resort and sits on a white sandy beach. It's approximately 30 minutes from the airport. It's an all inclusive vacation club so you don't need to go anywhere else if you choose the all inclusive option, which I would recommend for at least part of your stay. The restaurants are gourmet quality. I highly recommend Davino's Mediterranean and Hiroshi Japanese, both have excellent fresh seafood choices. The one bedroom has a full kitchen and you can purchase groceries from the market located onsite or take the complimentary shuttle to the shopping center in Cancun and shop at Walmart. The unit also has a washer and dryer, so pack light you can do your laundry! The rooms are clean and very nicely appointed with modern applicances and furniture including flat screen tv's. The beds are pillow top mattress. The one bedroom has a jacuzzi tub and all the rooms have a hammock on the balcony, so relaxation is optimum when you stay at this resort hotel. The resort has a travel agency where you can purchase tours for half the price of other tour operators and it next to the pier where you take the ferry or a catamaran ride to Isla Mujeres, a quaint island town with local arts and crafts and food fun to visit for a day trip. The catamaran (Catmania) ride over to the island is spectacular. You will experience the turquoise blue waters, snorkel and see many fish and coral, something that you can't experience from the shoreline. There are several pools at the resort but why sit at the pool when you can have your own private beachfront cabana at no cost just get to the beach early. Towels and pillows are provided for your comfort, and if your forget your floatties don't worry they have them available for guest use. The Tiki bar on the beach is a great place to have a beverage of your choice, and the bartender extrodinaire is Carlos. You won't be disappointed by the service or the the ceviche! I can't say enough about this resort, it's a great place for families, couples or singles.

Room Tip: One bedroom has a washer dryer, and a higher floor (6-9) will give you an ocean view almost anywhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darcy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, clean, and a great paradise escape!! The pools were awesome, especially the infinity pool under the moonlight which overlooks the ocean. The rooms were beautiful and spacious with the big balcony and hammock which I slept in one night. Best of all was the staff. The service was fantastic at the desk (thank you Eduardo and Jorge), pool and beach bars (thank you Carlos, Martin, Hugo, Rafael and Xavier), and restaurants (thank you Aline - the best hostess).

Room Tip: pool/ocean view preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickP227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a time share property using the point system. In January 2013 we were vacationing on Isla Mujeres (IM) and signed up to attend a time share presentation at Villa del Palmar (VP) on the Cancun side of the bay separating Isla Mujeres from the mainland. VP is located a few hundred yards from the Puerto Sam ferry dock connecting the mainland to IM. Puerto Sam is a car and passenger ferry that takes about an hour to get to IM. The cost for a passenger is 35P. The Puerto Juarez ferry dock--about 10k south of Puerto Sam toward Cancun-- has the Ultramar ferry which is high speed and connects to IM in about 20 minutes for 70p.
VP is a very nice property, we had a nice breakfast with a strange time share salesman who is thankfully no longer with the property. If you ever run into a pompous jerk who calls himself Zorro, run. We had a tour of the property and the typical hard sell. The Villa Group that owns this property has other nice properties around Mexico. If you vacation this way--a week or two at a resort--this one is probably as good as any. They really push the fact that once you purchase you can become a member of Interval International. This is a time share trading company that lets you trade your week with VP for a week somewhere else.

After a few hours of saying no--well past the 90 minute advertised presentation--we were let loose by the time share guy and turned over to the "representative of the developer" to receive our gift for showing up for the presentation. We had opted for a boat ride for 2 to visit Contoy Island worth about $200.

As I remember the pitch for the time share was one week a year for 30 years for around 20 to $24,000. These 30 weeks could be used as quickly as one wanted. The representative of the developer (liar) basically said those timeshare sales people are slime but since you are now talking directly to the developer we can give you a much better deal than they could. The better deal was a Trial Membership for around $2900.00. This included one week at VP and 6 Dream Weeks which consisted of 2 Dream Weeks a year for the next 3 years. We were led to believe that these weeks could be used at VP and its sister properties in Mexico. We wanted to visit the sister properties so we signed up. The conditions of this deal was that we had to return to VP within 18 months, take another tour and then we would get the certificates for the Dream Weeks.
We did return last week, the last week of July 2013 because we wanted to see the Whale Sharks--should not be missed. We enjoyed VP for a week. We did not purchase the all inclusive for $95.00 a day per person. The location is remote. A bus, cab or their limited free shuttle must be used to get to a restaurant other than the ones on site. Again, the rooms are well done. We upgraded to a 2 bedroom. All units have marble floors, granite countertop large covered porches with adequate views of the water.
Here is the Lie. We were told the Dream Weeks could be used for the other locations that the Villa Group has around Mexico. They really can't. These Dream Weeks are really left over weeks that Interval International has not yet sold. You can't just pick a week from the Interval website. One must pick from dreamvacationweek.com. The chances of getting the resort you want at the week you want are slim to none. The chance of getting a Villa property is slim to none. If the properties were any good or were available for the time of year you would want to go, they are already gone. It was made very clear when I received the certificates last week that this was not part of Interval International (II). On II website its says these are inventory weeks available to developers to show a high perceived value when selling trial memberships. Interval International does not release all of its inventory to Dream Weeks. Those that actually have purchased time shares and have joined II get first crack at anything any good. So I paid $2900 for 7 weeks of condo time or about $415 a week. In addition each week of the 6 weeks will cost $279 for a studio, $359 for a one bed and $399 for a 2 bed when you book. So this still may be for you but do your homework first. Go to Condodirect. com and you an get a limited selection of condos around the world without joining anything or paying up front.
Hope this helps a little in getting ready for a time share presentation. If you have 1/2 a day to kill while on vacation and can say no to something that does not work for you, then go as long as the inducement is a good enough trade off for your time. Remember the more you say no the better the deal will get. If you like a particular property make an offer. If the sales person tells you something that is really important to you in making your decision, make sure it is added as an addendum.

Room Tip: Try and get a room toward the center of the U shaped complex so that the view is directly to the wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Tampaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.9 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,085 reviews
0.8 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#2 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
11,705 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.2 mi away
Dreams Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
2.4 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2 | Manzana 9 Lote 3 SM 2, Zona Continental de Isla Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront luxury resort is located in the pristine beaches of Playa Mujeres, about 25 minutes north hotel zone and 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport. The new Villa del Palmar Cancun offers a range of possibilities for fun and relaxation that will make your holiday truly unforgettable. The complex offers amazing 5-star service, extravagant amenities and plenty of activities to keep your adventurous side entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Cancun Hotel Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing