We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT RESORT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT RESORT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We visited Villa Del Palmar the week of July 7th - 12th. We arrived well before check in, but were able to use the hospitality suite and begin enjoying the resort upon arrival. Our room, (a 2 bdrm, 3 bth) was located on the 6th floor of bldg. 2 in the middle of the resort overlooking the property and the ocean. Absolutely awesome view. The beach was a little seaweedy, but it was nowhere near as bad as other reviews have made it out to be. It was clean compared to our beaches on the GA/SC Coast.
the room itself was nice and very clean. It did have a musky odor when we arrived and all week we noticed a dampness (papers and sheets always felt damp and limp). Evidently the A/C in that unit cannot accommodate the humidity. Also, bedroom # 2 would never get really cool. The thermostat was stuck on 23 C. I had requested a room with a king and 2 queens in my original reservation, but was given a suite with 2 kings. When I called the front desk to question this, I was told they were full and could not accommodate my request. Based on the # of people at the resort that week, I would say that was probably a little white lie. A Murphy bed and an extra cot solved the bed issues. If we would have moved we probably would have lost the view. Tradeoffs...

We only ate at 2 of the restaurants - the Bite Bar and Zama's. The breakfast was amazing at Zama's and Marlene (sp?) was spot on every visit there. Sweet, sweet lady! We tried to eat there one night and were told we must have reservations. This irritated me since the restaurant was only about 1/2 full, if that. You are a long way from civilization, so if you don't plan ahead and make dinner reservations, you will be eating pizza and pasta at the Bite Bar all week.

Cab rides are expensive- with tip, about $100 round trip to the hotel zone if the hotel summons them for you. for the adventurous, the bus runs about every 10 minutes in front of the resort.

Spend a few $$ extra and pay for a little boat to take you to Isla Mujueres rather than the $3 per person ferry. The guys hang out just on the other side of where the ferry arrives and for $40 per person, they will take you over by boat, let you shop, take you to Point Northe (the most beautiful beach ever) and let you swim, snorkel, etc. Then they will take you to where the water is about 50 feet deep and let you snorkel some more. You will finish off the day at this very strange little place where you are served rice, tortillas, slaw and noodles, and your boat captain will grill fish for you. He will then take you back to the dock and you have gotten more than $40 worth. It helped that my son speaks some Spanish- our captain spoke very little English. This was sooo much better than our original plan of the ferry ride/golf cart adventure. Too hot for golf carts and traffic was bumper to bumper on the island.
Took the tour to the Mayan Ruins ( a must see) with a stop at Cenote, Swimming in the cavern at Cenote was great- the water was cold and about 150 feet deep. There were platforms to jump off of and the kids had a blast. Lunch buffet included. Definitely worth the trip.
If you don't mind the timeshare thing, you can get tours for very cheap. A guy snagged us at the airport and my whole family of 6 went to the ruins for $120 (usually about $100 per person). This was an all day trip. My husband also played golf for free (taxi included) at Riviera Golf Resort!
If you are looking for nightlife, this resort is not for you. it's great for relaxing and enjoying time with family and friends. We would stay here again, but would definitely take extra money for cabs. Even paying for a cab every night is cheaper than the all inclusive deal for 6 ($95 per person per day).
One last thing- get a copy of your bill the night before you check out so than you can look it over. They tried to charge us for breakfast even though it was included in our daily rate.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view. at least 5th floor if possible. As far as I could tell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank TDCannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,072
    1,007
    374
    162
    125
See reviews for
1,378
1,517
32
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,464)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I've stayed in many places over the year in Cancun, and this was the WORSE. The food was mediocre to poor; the beach was trashy, short and rocky (and right next to the public ferry dock); the rooms was so humid (despite the AC) that everything smelled moldy; some (not all) of the staff were terribly rude; everything was outrageously expensive (soooo glad I was on an all-inclusive stay). To top it off, I had to sit through a "90 minute" time-share presentation that ended up to be THREE hours of unending torture--which I was not apprised of before hand.

So, visitor beware. Will NEVER stay at a Villa Group resort again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
9 Thank ShelleyV31350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souris, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was my first stay in Mexico and at an all inclusive. The experience was wonderful and if the opportunity presents itself I will return. The resort is removed from Cancun central so it is quiet, clean and feels very safe and 'homey'. If you want to be in 'centre of the action' I suggest that this is not where you want to be. It is very clean and there is lots to do besides lay by the pool- which is great. The two restaurants we visited had a varied menu and all of the meals were excellent. While i could say this about many other places i have stayed the thing that put Palmar over the top was the service. The staff were always friendly and helpful. They frequently went out of other way to do what we asked. I would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean and have large balconies. if you can afford it, upgrade to the one bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Denny Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel is average at best and for the value you truly get what you pay for. Check in is long and slow.The food is mediocre even at the nice restaurants, drinks are weak and they run out of corona lights every day towards the afternoon. Expect quite a wait to get your dinner at the "nice" restaurants, we waited an average of 40 minutes each night. We ended up eating at the snack restaurant by the pool and got faster service. There is no night life or quality entertainment at night, they try to put small shows but they're not that great. The beach is small and not the best but you can still enjoy the view and nice breeze. The rooms are musty and the shower doors let the water out so watch out for slippery floors.
Overall if you get a good deal, I would go but it's nothing to brag or be impressed about.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epleiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
325 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Overall but a little too long 6 days, the island isla mujeres was nice and worth the trip on the ferry for 17.00 round trip each. The resort grounds were impeccable, and the staff was great but the food was not very good, subpar at best and i developed a stomach virus on my 4th day so i didnt eat much after that. Also they spray every night for flies and mosquitoes but it didnt seem to help much my daughter was covered with 23 mosquito bites including on her face.

Room Tip: Always get higher than 3rd floor, they gave me the 2nd and the view wasnt very good and when i asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikesgbear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed there from July 1-9 this year to celebrate my 38th B-day with my family. Lots of good activity and entertainment for kids... good place to relax if you like to spend some family quality time... way away from the party zone... in that note Taxi going to hotel zone is a bit costly. just a little disappointed that I did not get the Tequila price that was promised during their game event that happen on the night of my b-day 7/7/13 =^(. also just to let you know make sure you check the condition of your room before checking in... we found mold and a yellowish water color coming from the bath tab on the first room we stay-in so we have to move after unpacking. if you are not getting the all inclusive due to other trip plan breakfast is amazing the crew at Davino are great. kudo to Eduardo the "smoothy man" always ask for something strong.

Room Tip: Get a room higher than 4 floor and try to get by the main building so less walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bboy7713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

In all honesty I did not know what to expect but upon arrival I was blown away and then some. The grounds are immaculate and the room even though not an ocean view had view of the interior of the resort which is equally as exquisite. We did the shuttle into the hotel zone and back with no issues. We also did the one day excursion to the Mayan ruins and the water sport park. The overall vacation was just a slam dunk. If I could find a fault since no where is perfect it would be that I wish I stayed longer. Great location, great service and great ambiance. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Smg Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.9 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
0.8 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#2 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11,291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.4 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
8.0 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2 | Manzana 9 Lote 3 SM 2, Zona Continental de Isla Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront luxury resort is located in the pristine beaches of Playa Mujeres, about 25 minutes north hotel zone and 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport. The new Villa del Palmar Cancun offers a range of possibilities for fun and relaxation that will make your holiday truly unforgettable. The complex offers amazing 5-star service, extravagant amenities and plenty of activities to keep your adventurous side entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Cancun Hotel Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing