We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spectacular vacation”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

This is our second time visiting Cancun and this resort. We are big family and booked the two room suite with garden view.

Rooms are really nice and make you feel like you're at home. When we first got there the check in was a breeze, our baggage was taken to our rooms and we did I the check in right in our rooms via an iPad which was pretty cool we didn't have to wait in the lobby.

Service is top knotch here, staff is always more willing to assist in anything. Rooms are always clean and towels are always replenished with new ones.

The pools are always clean and real nice to swim in. Unfortunately the beach is still murky and dirty with seaweed like it was last year, I guess it takes a VERY long time to make the beach clean like other resorts.

The area in which the resort is located is pretty far away from downtown Cancun, but it could be a good thing if you like feeling isolated from loud hotel zone.

It's pretty awesome that Isla mujere la is sooo close to the resort and they have a ferry that takes you there but takes over 20 mins. I suggest taking ultramar ferry there, but you have to plan a full day to go to Isla.

Overall experience here is definately worth it. Only thing is I'd like to know how Lon it will take to completely make the resort beach nice a crystal clean??......

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evoturbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,172
    1,037
    392
    171
    131
See reviews for
1,447
1,575
34
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,495)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Another Great vacation! First time in Villa del Palmar Cancun. Beautiful structure, beautiful grounds, best water in Mexico it has the pacific coast beat! My family and I have been to Cabo and Puerto Vallarta at the Villa del Palmar's sister Resorts and this newest resort is just as good if not better due to the water and the beach. You can not beat the white sand and warm water.
OK, the resort is north of Cancun a bit but if you want a beach where you do not get bugged by locals trying to sell you stuff it is heaven! The only critic I have of the beach is they should have a tractor rake the sea grass at the waters edge in the early mornings if they want that virgin pristine beach look. As far as being far from the hotel zone...rent a car. We always rent a car when we go to Mexico, it is the best way to see the real country and interact with the Mexican people. Try NU car, we have rented with NU car in PV and now in Cancun, both were good experiences but just get the insurance and be done with it. $250.00 for a week is a pretty good rate and we were able to go where we wanted when we wanted to.
We are members of Villa del Palmar and usually eat out at local restarants so we didn't eat at all the restaruants at the resort. we did eat brunch at Zumas one morning..it was good but expensive ..over 100.00 for 4 people. We have found that the food is way overpriced but what we had was good. All-inclusive was an additional $92/person/day figure 4x that is over $2500. We couldn't make the numbers work, especially when you can go to the Surfin' Burrito (ask for the shrimp taco in tempura batter! AWESOME!) on the Hotel strip( kilometer marker 19) or the Blue Gecko same area and get some great food for way less like a full dinner for 4 for $50.
Definitely visit Isla Mujeres, just a short ride to the Ultramar passenger ferry $14 round trip per person. Rent a golf cart for $43/day ($45 if you use a credit card). go to north beach for the most amazing clear water. Ask about the best snorkel places and explore or just lay out at the North side of the island and have some drinks.
We took our rental car to Xel-Ha, you have to go there. Make sure you get a whole day there because there is so much to do. We went to the ruins at Tulum first so we arrived at Xel-Ha about 1:00. The Ruins were cool but there were a lot of people. Xel-Ha is an awesome natural water park. It is all-inclusive...if all you want to do is take the kids and let them run and you eat and drink all day...go for it! Food is good, not 5 star but it is good for a Mexican buffet. The snorkeling is fun but remember to snorkel where the white and orange fish flags are, these are there to tell you where the fish are (we learned this later much to are dismay when we walked by a flag over a bridge and saw hundreds of brightly colored fish by the flag!). Zip lines into water, cliff jumping, river float, rope swings, bicycle riding, cenotes, grottos, iguanas, coatis. Buy ickets on line about $75.00 per person all day all inclusive.
Back at Villa del Palmar check out the Tiki bar where my friend Carlos. He will fix you up! Ask for "A ticket to Heaven" and try not to fall off the bar swings! Treat him well, he works hard!
Pool side look for Andre...He will take care of you as well.
When you need to work off all the food and drink, Victor in the gym will work you out. He will be your own personal trainer if you want, and you don't have to pay him anything extra.....but a nice tip would be appreciated. His friends call him the rock, let him show you why. We even worked out with Mario Lopez when we were there. A lot of Celebraties like to come here since it is more private and away from town.
Well that's it, I hope it helped.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view due to the layout, as you look at the resort layout the wings going tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
8 Thank Todd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I was in a wedding here and stayed for 5 days of vacation. The wedding was beautiful and the resort was extremely helpful with all wedding details and organization. The resort and staff were awesome for the vacation also. They were friendly, helpful, and pleasant at all times. The food was good, although remember to make dinner reservations because there is no general buffet to eat at. The pool/beach/rooms/facilities all exceeded my expectations. If you want to go to downtown Cancun, it is a bit of a drive and can be costly, but with all the all-inclusive package there is not a lot of need to leave the resort unless you love nightlife. There is really no nightlife at the resort besides a couple bars open until 1 am - no music or dancing. All in all I was very impressed and will be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our party included 4 adults and 2 children (ages 9 & 13). We had a 2 bedroom apt. that was spacious, nicely furnished, comfortable and had a full kitchen. We tried the all inclusive meal plan for 3 days and the food was good, but we will probably not do it again. Activities were fun for everyone. My family participated in the fitness classes, dance lessons, and the evening entertainment. Staff was great - friendly and helpful and made you feel welcome. The pre-arrival concierge was very helpful as this was our first time staying at Villa Del Palmar. We also paid for transportation to and from the airport in advance and we will do that again. The beach was a little disappointing as it is still a work in progress and needs a lot of work. It looks pretty, but bring beach shoes as there are rocks in the water and it hurts your feet. The sand doesn't get hot so it is comfortable to walk on the beach anytime. Suggestions for improvement: 1) Grab bars in the shower are needed; 2) Wi-Fi is terrible. I was never able to connect and do anything like post a picture for friends, most of the time I couldn't connect at all from any location in the complex. This definitely needs to improve.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Easyreader46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our stay: July 5th-July 9th

The resort was beautiful. Everything was clean, regardless of how sticky and humid it was outside. The grounds were decorated nicely and kept very neat. Our room was comfortable, spacious, and the AC kept it from being too "tropical" inside. ;)

Staff was super friendly. EVERYONE we ran into had a smile on their face, said hello, and asked if we needed anything. They were all very helpful. Waiters at all the restaurants were very accommodating. The only people who were slightly annoying (attitude) were the guys at reception. They're a tad snooty, which isn't the best way to represent the hotel ... since they are the first people everyone has to speak to.

Just be careful... The first room we were assigned was actually being occupied already. We had a key that was activated for their room, with their personal belongings out in the open and everything. KEEP YOUR THINGS LOCKED UP! Accidents do happen. Better safe than sorry. However, after that incident, the bellhop actually convinced the receptionist (we didn't even think to ask) to bump us up to a room with a view that was 10x better than our previous would have been. Thumbs up to staff!

Our personal concierge, Diana, was more than helpful during our entire stay. She was so nice, and tons of recommendations for our stay. She even remembered which day out of our stay was our anniversary. Thank you very much for your services! We would've definitely been lost the first two days without you.

Room service/Guest services was a tad on the slow side. I think it took them a good 40 minutes to finally get someone to take out our mini bar, so that we could fill it with our own goods. And another 45 minutes to get a new hair dryer ? The resort isn't big enough for them to be THAT slow...

Food was good. We were able to eat dinner at three of the four restaurants they had, and breakfast at two.
- Breakfast at Davino is a must. It's not your typical 5-option buffet, and they had made-to-order dishes at no additional cost.
- Snack Bar has pretty good food if you didn't have a chance to make dinner reservations!
- I'd say my favorite restaurant was Zama -- everything from food to drinks were wonderful. Even the staff was very welcoming and funny!
- STK was all right. Appetizers were decent. The steak we ordered was very flavorful and cooked perfectly. However, my duck was dry, and my replacement salad was... mediocre.
- Hiroshi sushi was... eh. Overpriced for the amount of fish they actually give you in both rolls and nigiri. It was mostly rice, with lots of herbs... which is a different kind of experience. Oh, and I had asked for a booth because the table we were sitting at (in a corner against the wall), was making me kind of claustrophobic, and was told everything else was booked already. There were TWO booths (out of 4 or 5... I don't quite remember) still empty when we left. Whatever.

The Palmita Market they have is also very convenient!

The only downers were:
1. Making reservations for EVERYTHING 24 hours in advance. If you're trying to relax and enjoy your vacation on a whim, they make it impossible.
2. You have to sign for absolutely everything. Literally, everything.
3. It is a good 20-25 minutes from the Hotel Zone, and 15-20 minutes from any kind of city life (food/markets/ferry...etc.) Therefore, the cab fee is quite hefty if you don't make a reservation for the 12-person shuttle (which has to be booked the day before) on time.
4. How long they kept us for the timeshare tour -- 3.5 hours, when it was supposed to be half that. Thankfully Mark was a pleasant guide & it wasn't a painful 3.5 hours.
5. THIN WALLS. The family of screaming children next door was not so pleasant was 7AM EVERY DAY. Good thing we were up around 7-8am everyday anyway.
6. The beaches aren't as pretty as the Hotel Zone area.

However, because we were so far from the typical tourist-flooded areas, it was a lot quieter and cleaner... with less obnoxious drunks!

Overall, it was a pleasant stay. It was probably ~50% occupied when we were there, so it was not too busy and there was room to breathe. Pretty resort, wonderful staff, and decent food options.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have the better views, and are a lot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mszneyugn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I will agree this is an absolutely beautiful resort very appealing to the eyes. Which is why we decided to make a return trip, our first visit was the same time last year for two weeks all inclusive. To think we were in the exact same room 2506B. This year we did one week (Sat, June 15 - Sat, Jun 22) on our own and the service has gone down, being pool side waiting 30-40 mins just to be services. Housekeeping in cleaning the rooms would not leave replacement towels at times, we would call to have them delivered and they would never show up so we would have to track down the ladies with cleaning carts the next morning. Then if that wasn't bad enough on Thursday I was in the shower and a cockroach appeared which freaked me out, I screamed for my husband to come an kill it. I went down to the front desk and spoke with Manuel who apologized for my experience and assured me he would send up someone to take care of the situation. Since we were heading out to the hotel zone this was fine it would give them the needed time to properly spray and clean the room. When we returned to our room it appeared that action had been taken. Later that evening we received a bottle of wine in our room. Now Friday mid morning the hubby and I relaxing in the room as this is our last full day on the resort and we get a knock on the door, it's the exterminator.....I'm like really he comes in does his job the fumes give me an instant migraine!!! I immediately go and speak to the Manager on duty Victoria who also apologized for the lack of communication on the resorts part as they were not able to get an exterminator out until then....she mentioned that something would be done for our inconvenience. However later that evening we saw another one, the night manager tried to say it was due to the resort being in the jungle .....really how old are you and don't insult my intelligence!!

I couldn't sleep now because I'm freaked out, my last days on the resort was ruined.....it would have been simple just to switch our room out. However they were saying they were at capacity but we we're not seeing a lot a people and we passed by a lot of empty rooms. When it was all said and done we were discounted one of our dinners!! So after two years of visiting this resort this is definitely our last time vacationing here. We will stick with the Villa group in Cabo absolutely love that one!!!!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Chynadoll70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 days. I do not understand why this resort gets bad reviews. It's a beautiful resort with a friendly staff. We booked the All Inclusive package. We had access to all of the restaurants and 24 hour room service. Hiroshi was by far the best restaurant at this resort. The sushi was always fresh. Davino's is excellent for breakfast! Our room was spacious and cleaned daily. It's a great resort for those who seek relaxation :)
Mario Lopez stayed at this resort the same week we did!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kargan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.9 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,007 reviews
0.8 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#2 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
11,572 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.2 mi away
Dreams Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
2.4 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2 | Manzana 9 Lote 3 SM 2, Zona Continental de Isla Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront luxury resort is located in the pristine beaches of Playa Mujeres, about 25 minutes north hotel zone and 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport. The new Villa del Palmar Cancun offers a range of possibilities for fun and relaxation that will make your holiday truly unforgettable. The complex offers amazing 5-star service, extravagant amenities and plenty of activities to keep your adventurous side entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Cancun Hotel Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing