We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to Mexico but not our last for sure!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
nova scotia canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“First time to Mexico but not our last for sure!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were at Villa del Palma from March 31-April 7 through Air Transat Vacations (Lynn Colpitts -Travel Counsellors) It was a beautiful resort - we had a junior suite with mini kitchen on first floor (not ground floor). Our friends travelling with us were 2 floors up right above us. The resort was well laid out, clean, and staff was friendly. Isaac at the front desk responded to all requests with a smile, Claudia the concierege was professional and prompt. At Davinos we had Juan, Paulino and jorge all great. This is a family resort - quiet and laid back. Food was excellent at all restaurants, and drinks as well we were able to request favourites (i.e. Captain Morgan spiced rum) no problem. Beach was nice, and many pools were lovely. We did not like having to sign but once we realized we could run a tab daily it was ok, however service around the pool was slow as they do not seem to have enough staff at peak times. You had to wait a long time between service on most days throughout the day. We took the shuttle into Cancun to Mercardo 28 but did not stay long vendors were very agressive and was a real turnoff. We did the Catamaran trip to Isla Mujertes - it was a ball except when you arrived again you were surrounded by vendors. We also did the Excaret Park which I would highly recommend, but we stayed for the night show which made a very long day. We would definitely return to Mexico but probably not to this resort unless we were with family, as it is definitely a family oriented place.We were disappointed there was not more mexican music on the resort, however Cancun is very Americanized and commercialized which is why we would not return there, we will try another part of Mexico.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nstravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,264
    1,071
    404
    179
    136
See reviews for
1,539
1,611
35
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,545)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Where do I begin? Such an amazing setting, everywhere you look lush tropical vegetation and the turquoise sea in the distance. The whole family loved it! My children wanted to live there and wondered why we had to leave. The pools and the hot tubs are sprinkled all throughout the resort and in between the many restaurants to choose from.
About the restaurants, we never had a bad experience, all top shelf! We've traveled a fair amount to other all inclusives and usually they are great for the kids, and not for the parents, or vice versa. This resort served both exceedingly well.
If you want to spend your nights in the hotel zone at all the clubs partying the nights away, this may not be the resort for you. We were not looking for that. This resort is about 10-15 minutes north which was fine by us.
We were on the fourth floor, room 1407 and we had a fantastic view of the pools, and resort grounds and of course, the ocean. Even though a pool was directly below, it was never noisy. I'd love to stay in the same room again in the future, but you really can't go wrong with any room here.
For all those infatuated with celebrities, Lisa Rinna and her daughter were there the same week we stayed. Kind of silly if you ask me watching all those people follow her like that!

If you are thinking of choosing a great place for service, food, kid friendly, clean, spacious, beautiful, then book this resort fast.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, elevators are fast and rarely waited more than a few seconds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Our group was 3 adults and 2 kids, and the location couldn't be better for us. We stayed in a 2 bedroom ocean front suite; it had more than enough space, rooms were very comfortable and just perfect. The view was priceless. We had a minor incident the first morning, but the manager of the restaurant, Susana, did an excellent job to make needed correction, and always made sure that we felt welcomed, and that we had the best service possible. She has a very difficult job, but she is just amazing. It is the people who work here that make this a special place. Everyone was super nice and provided the best service possible. Only suggestion I would make is to have a kids menu, although they make arrangements as needed, it would be much easier for staff and guests to have something to select from.

Room Tip: Ocean front is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nana0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracadie-Sheila, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

the good- Keep in mind we have been to many resorts so this is not our first time at the rodeo. This is a very clean, very new resort and we had a beautiful room on the 8th floor in section 2 with a great view. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The staff were very friendly and always smiling, except for the night supervisor at the front desk ( more on that later). Service overall was great and we were well taken care of ( you can order food and drinks from staff on the beach). The resort also supplied a shuttle service to and from Cancun, which is great since we got hit with 2 days of bad weather so we were able to leave the resort at no extra cost on two occasions. The shuttle service from the airport was also very quick and there wasn't a lot of waiting around. The gym is state of the art...I was very impressed with this gym. In addition the food was very good. They also have a very nice infinity pool not to mention the other pools all very clean. And a few jacuzzis' ...one very large one. Although they had an age limit on the large one it was often full of children.
The bad ...If you are looking for a very quiet very dull vacation this is the place to be. ( ok this may be good depending on your expectations) This is a very family oriented resort. Not that I have anything against this ( we have been to other family oriented resorts and none have been this dull ..for adults). If your planning on a family vacation with a ton of kids and want to be in bed by 9:00 this is the place for you. There was absolutely no ambiance at this resort. The only music were from speakers around the grounds and most of that was some kind of zen type or really slow americanized version of just about anything ( basically elevator music) . Even in the main lobby bar there was no music at all to set some ambiance ( nor in the restaurants) but there was some great music in the lobby bathroom, which is kind of funny. Better music in the bathroom than in the bar. We did have a live band play at our table in one of the restaurants one evening. They were from Cuba and played Cuban music. I love Cuban music...but in Mexico I would of liked to hear Mexican music. The drinks on site ...well ....let's just say if you want to taste ( even a little bit ) of booze you better order doubles because you won't taste much and we're not drunks we just like to TASTE our drinks other than the really sugar filled juice drink. The lobby bar was the only place that made a decent drink without asking for doubles or triples. Also there is NO swim up bar at any of the pools.
The restaurant reservations are very hard to get at a decent hour. Most of our early ones were at 9 pm. With a 3 hr difference from home this meant our bodies were being fed at midnight. The resorts way of handling this little problem is to advise you to order room service! We don't go on vacation to spend a lot of time in our room. Also this may not have been too bad if we had a decent table to eat on in our room ( we had one small knee high table on the balcony) and our room was such that there was plenty of room to add a table. My wife asked for one from the front desk supervisor and was treated fairly rudely. She was refused access to a table for our room she also noticed that he was the same person who checked us in and seem to have a difficult time speaking english but when she asked for the table he had no trouble with his english at all. As mentioned in other reviews you have to make a reservation for the buffet ( which only had 4 choices of meals). You also had to wait in line for breakfast ( I have never ever had this happen in any other resort). I think the restaurants are too small for the resort and this is what is causing the problem...too many people not enough restaurant room. Another bizarre practice is having to sign for everything but the beach towels. We had to sign for every drink ( unless you kept a tab open which I don,t understand since we were all inclusive) I understand that this resort also caters to time sharing but with an all inclusive bracelet around your arm I still don't see the need for the signing. I should add here that we were never bothered by any time share salesperson at any time during our stay.
Unlike any other resort, beach towels were everywhere....you can have 4 if you want or even more. We also had a light that was not working in our bathroom ...this was never fixed although we asked for it to be repaired twice ( the bathroom fan also did not work and was never repaired during our stay). The tub is made of ceramic tile so it's cold and the water is just warm. So if your planning on taking a bath don't expect to stay in it for too long or you'll get the chills.
Our door lock did not work one afternoon and after receiving 4 different electronic key cards they did eventually change the entire lock.
One of the activities we wanted to do was the Coco Bongo club in Cancun. If you ever get the chance to go I would highly recommend that you do if you like to see one great show. Just don't expect good service ( or special service) at the club if you book through the resort. We went with 3 other couples and wanted a good place within the club. We did manage to find one but got booted out of that spot when a group from one of the RIU resorts showed up....they had connections apparently. For the taxi ride back you have to bargain for the price. They started at $75 ( american) for the ride back to the resort ( the shuttle to Coco Bongo was supplied by the resort but we had to get our own ride back). We managed to dicker the price down to $30....be sure you do this before you get into the cab. And if they don't want to bring the price down...well just walk to another cab..there are plenty to choose from.
Overall this was not a bad experience just don't expect much once the sun goes down. Depends on what your looking for in a vacation I guess.We like to go to restaurants while on vacation but this was difficult at this resort. We also like to relax but not to the point where you have to check for a pulse.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a good ocean view be sure to get one from the 4th floor up. If you want a ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JohnnyKaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richibucto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Back from a wonderful 2 week vacation at Villa del Palmar from March 21 to April 4, 2013. This resort is beautiful, grounds very well kept, lots of pools and a nice beach, located away from the busy hotel zone of Cancun (Playa Mujeres) and therefore a quiet area, which we loved. The service was very good, the waiters were happy and helpful, notably Donavan, Sawyer, Paulino, also Hector, the manager at Zama's and others who's names I forget.. The food was very good at all restaurants. The one thing that was missing though was a buffet where you can go for dinner without reservations. Sometimes you just want to go at whatever time you feel like on a certain day without planning days ahead. For us, this is the only thing missing at this resort, otherwise, it's excellent.

We had a 1 bedroom suite which was awesome (same as seen in the pictures) with a huge balcony. The room was kept very clean, the bed was comfortable, excellent accommodations.

Not bothered even once by timeshare people, and the signing bills for meals and drinks was not a big problem for us, we just told the waiter when we were ready to leave and we would sign. Not used to this but can understand since this resort has different kinds of clients, all-inclusive, partly-inclusive and the timeshare people who have no meals included; this is their method of control.

This a more quiet resort with entertainment early in the evening, not for people who want nightlife and party late. It was great for us because we were up early and to the beach and very tired in the evenings. We loved this resort, had a great time, very much enjoyed the company of the people we were with and "a vacation is what you make of it"!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ginette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, NB .Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

we stayed at the Villa del palmar Cancun from March 21 to April 4th... There were 9 of us including 1 child. Our experience there was all favorable as we enjoyed the room, (suite) very comfortable and large, the pool, the beach (although we had high winds and cloudy weather the first week). The service was excellent and the food great. The staff, reception, waiters etc were most accomodating with a very friendly service with a smile. The only thing we all wished, is that there would be a buffet for the noon and evening meals, because sometimes, all a person wants is more choices than a restaurant ie: soup and sandwich.
Some of the waiters we would like to congratulate on their excellent service are and we hope that we do not insult anyone if we forget somebody.
Donovan, Polineau, sawyer,julio, and Hector. The maid, The 2 ladies at the reception at breakfast were very accomodating when everyone it seems came down for breakfast at the same time.. again a larger buffet would have been appreciated.

Thank you to all and hope we have the opportunity to go there in the near future.

Roger, Denise, Vero, Blaine,Audree, Ginette, Gerry, Helene, Gerry W.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerm576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slave Lake, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Location ---poor 25.00 cab ride from Cancun and nothing near by to walk to.
Check in - Very Slow
Rooms were great
Grounds were great
Service was hit and miss we did have some good waiters and some were lacking. Did not like having to sign bill for everything
Food disappointed iSushi restaurant was good others were just ok . No buffet for lunch or Dinner and had to make reservations for dinners and could only do 2 days in advance so this was a pain. Did offer room service but did not use.
Beach water was very weedy beach quite small but did have the beach beds which were nice but did not use
pools were nice and lots of them
no bars for the evening open past 11.00 and the ones they did have very small only about 10 chairs
Would not return

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank compulinetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.9 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,165 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
0.8 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#2 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
11,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,547 reviews
7.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.4 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2 | Manzana 9 Lote 3 SM 2, Zona Continental de Isla Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront luxury resort is located in the pristine beaches of Playa Mujeres, about 25 minutes north hotel zone and 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport. The new Villa del Palmar Cancun offers a range of possibilities for fun and relaxation that will make your holiday truly unforgettable. The complex offers amazing 5-star service, extravagant amenities and plenty of activities to keep your adventurous side entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Cancun Hotel Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing