We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$580
$550
Beloved Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$603
$572
Excellence Resorts
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$414
$315
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Finest Playa Mujeres(Playa Mujeres)
$485
$384
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$397
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Riu Dunamar(Playa Mujeres)
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$206
$158
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$41
$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,439)
Filter reviews
4,439 results
Traveler rating
2,513
1,163
426
195
142
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,513
1,163
426
195
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbite barone bedroom suitevilla groupcar ferrytime sharefast ferryzama restaurantall inclusive packagemurphy bedall inclusive planferry to isla mujeresfull kitchenper devicewasher dryertimeshare presentationhammock on the balconysushi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,714 - 3,719 of 4,439 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Alright. Me and my party of 11 went here. As soon as we walked in we were given drinks. Our three rooms were all resonable distance from each other on the same floor. They do really push for the time share presentation but we skipped. Do make reservations for food a few days in advance as restarants are hard to get into. 5:30 is the best time as you can catch the shows every night at 8:30. The shows were great! Wide variety and all fun and well organized. The activity team really works hard to keep everyone happy, involved and positive. Participation is key. The overall decor and details of the whole hotel were very recent and nice! You do have to sign a bill after every drink, meal, etc. That is a pain. Dont be in a rush to come here its not fast paced service. But youre on vacation so dont rush anyways. The isle majares is highly recomended, an island seen from the resort. A ferry just down the beach will take you there for a reasonable price and it was a fabulous island to visit. Great beaches and tourist opportunities but does require extra cash to go to. Basicaly to go to Cancun shopping or to the island is about a half hour traveling depending where you go. So if you like night life you may want a hotel closer to the city. However, some staff will take you to clubs and such. Speaking of staff they MADE the vacation. A bartender Alberto helped me make great. new drinks I loved! Our room service Guillmero was great too with going out of his way for us! The waiters were friendly and patient. The band Santa Fey was a nice touch as it circled the resort and played good, tropical music. Lastly, the activity staff; Rena ran excellent Bingo! Angello taught everyong how to gagnam style like a pro and was very friendly and welcoming, as were all the staff. And if you go DONT miss a chance to do Zumba with Esteban.Its great for kids and adults alike. The whole trip was made 10x better due to the staff. I dont have one complaint really! Overall, try to visit the island, be patient with food and drinks and participate and all you can. They are hard working employees and the staff made the vacation so fantastic I hope I am fortunate to return again! Thanks Villa Del Paulmar, Cancun for a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elyse V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here March 6 to 13 with our girls aged 15 & 10 in an amazing, roomy, 1 bedroom suite on the 6th floor with a great view of the ocean. The 1 bedroom suite was what sold us on this resort as my wife and I could have some privacy for a change. The dining area came in handy when the kids ordered room service (available 24 hrs at no extra charge). The dryer also came in handy when we had to dry our swim suits before going in excursions. The buildings and grounds are immaculate with lush gardens, particularly around the spa area. There are 5 pools and 4 hot tubs with plenty of lounges, umbrellas and beach beds (we never had a problem finding space for the four of us). The main pool adjacent to Zama restaurant was the warmest pool for adults. A couple of the pools were kind of cool but we got used to them quickly and they were quite refreshinging after being out in the sun. The food was generally excellent but the reservation system could be better and we were stuck with some late reservations on a few nights. When you check in they say you can only book restaurants on a daily basis and have to phone the reservation number (ext 500) from 10:00 a.m to 4:00p.m. After being there for a few days we discovered you could actually book for the current day and the day after which resulted in much earlier reservations. We also noticed that when we arrived for our reservation, the restaurant was frequently half empty so we decided to arrive up to 45 minutes early on subsequent reservations. They will usually let you in early as long as you have a reservation.
The drink service was a little slow at times particularly at the snack bar restaurant as the bar here also services the wait staff for the beach and the pool. Try the nachos at the snack bar but stay away from the pizza. There is a Mexican buffet at Zama every night which is okay but it is better to have the al a carte at lunch there. The breakfast buffet at Davinos is excellent. The steaks are very good at the steak restaurant and the Japanese restaurant has a huge selection of sushi and other dishes.
It was a bit of a pain to wait for a bill to sign after every meal and drink. Perhaps it would be better if you could just swipe your room key or something to speed up the process. The entertainment was very good 50% of the time and lame the rest of the time. If you want to party and dance the night away this isn't the place for you but if you want to spend a nice quiet, relaxing time with your family, this is just the ticket.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canuck_man59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were at villa del palmar March 8-11 for an all inclusive vacation with 2 kids (7and 8). Beautiful resort, we had a beautiful 1 bedroom suite, friendly staff (except concierge when they give you that nasty look after you turn down their vip invitation and i called it a timeshare presentation). We had a 10 min check in as we came in about 11pm and there wasn't anybody else there. Our all inclusive included all the restaurants, and we found Davino's to be the best, we did not eat at the sushi restaurant. We were able to get into Davino's at 9pm and another time at 6pm. Steak place at 7pm. When we were out and about and came back we tried getting into Davino' or steak place only to be told we couldn't as there was no room, but the place was half empty, i guess whoever makes the reservations doesn't know what they are doing, or people don't show up for their reservations and they don't give the tables up. The other nights we ate at the snack bar as the kids were hungry and we couldn't take late night reservations (that's where a buffet would be useful). Pool service was good, but food takes quite a while to come.
We found out next morning of our arrival the reservations were required for dinner at all restaurants except for the snack bar, which after six just serves mediocre pizza and some quick pasta and salads. There is no buffet at this place, so if you plan to go without a schedule do not go to this place or all you'll be going to eat the same thing every night at the snack bar.
Tried getting a plate of fruit in mid afternoon and it was virtually impossible.
The staff is very friendly and will do anything for you (we tipped nicely but was not looked for), but they lack a lot of training in the service industry.
Anyways i don't want to rehash all the negative stuff that's been said about this place as most of them are true, specially the signing for everything, that is just ludicrous. Yes you can run a tab and sign later, but it is specially hard on the bartenders and wait staff, specially when 20 people are waiting for a drink and they have to give them bills to sign. I was told by higher staff member that it was due to having 3 different wrist bands and this way the staff wouldn't have to guess what they were intitled to. Brown=all inclusive , red=almost all inclusive, yellow=kids, no wristband=time share and has to get a bill. what is so hard about that? I been to other all inclusives in the mayan and some of them had about 8 different wristbands and staff had no problem.
One other thing, as mentioned in other reviews, this place for some reason is windy, and i mean WINDY, the gusts of wind will clear your whole table sometimes. Yes it's a welcome breeze when it's hot, but this was not a breeze it was a strong wind, and it never stopped the whole week we were there, day in and day out. We went to isla mujeres and there was no wind there, came back to villa and guess what-- wind, went into cancun and no wind there, came back to villa and guess what --WIND. Try going in beach with sand blowing in your eyes all the time, not fun.
Kids pool is heated, others are ice cold.
This is a low key resort with not much to do, but i been to other low key resorts were they have half decent entertainment for a couple of hours each night and a nice lobby bar to relax and unwind. The lobby bar at the Villa del Palmar was more like the waiting area to get into the sushi restaurant and you couldn't find a seat sometimes due to that.
Anyways like i said it's a beautiful resort, beautiful 1 bedroom suite, friendly staff, but the lack of service training, lame entertainment (even my kids found the entertainment pretty boring and short), plus barely anybody showed up to them, the WIND, etc. will keep me from going back.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom suites are very nice, with fridge washer and dryer.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Angela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just got back from the trip from VDP, stayed there for 7 nights, ( mar 11th - mar 18th )
Over all, it's a beautiful place to stay. We stayed at a 1 bed suite on the 8th floor, it's clean, morden and fully equipped, the oceanview from the balcony is absolute stunning, I would recommend to take the higher floor possible, everyday wake up to see the sunrise over the ocean is far worth the extra dollars paid. The food and beverage services are awesome, not like some reviews mentioned long line waiting, on the converse, it takes no time to be seated, food and drinks usually ordered and servered right away in a very professioal manner.
This resort has beautiful grounds with professioal land scaping design, 4 swimming pools just spread the crowds out easily; 3 hot tubs with the different temparature settings are very considerable; plenty of baili beds and beach chairs, it's no problem to get a baili bed @9am with no charge;
To wrap it up, u have to try the spa, it might be a little pricy, ( I paid us $100 for a 50 mins relax message with 15% service charge as for the tips), but I felt every penny paid is worth it's value after the service. I literally enjoyed the cycle of the hot steam, the cold dip, and and the hot tub, lay in the lounge chair with drinks to fully enjoy the beautiful sky and tropical breeze, what else could I have asked for? u would be treated with a hot horseshoe shape pad on your sholder, a cold towel to cover your eyes with the zen fragrance gradually realeased to soothe and comfort u 10 mins prior to your scheduled message. OMG, I was pampered!
We probably will come back to this resort some time in the future.
sally

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank secter7G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I could not have asked for better service!

Check in took a little while (because we got there really early).
We were asked to provide them with a credit card and a 3000 Pesos deposit (which was given back) for damage and stuff (just like any other hotel i've been to in north america).
The view is fantastic! With a hamac on the balcony! really sweet! especially at night with the warm breeze :)
The food is amazing! A ton of fruits for breakfast!
Dinner at the Snack bar was awesome - ask for their brownies :) My sis and I were there 5/7 nights... the servers knew us by name and would talk to us every time they saw us on the resort.
The activities crew did really well -- look for them around 3:30 for the Zumba session and every night around 8pm for the beach parties, karaoke and other fun stuffs.
The place is huge! There is a fancy gym, a bunch of pools, ocean, beach volleyball... bars, margaritas.... and Miami Vice! :)
Also ask the activities crew about their clubbing packages - we went to Coco Bongo for $85/person (USD) - shuttle to and from the hotel, bottle service all night. We also went to a club-hop: $65 - one night, 3 clubs, VIP booths and a new bottle at each club and a bus to bring us to and from the hotel!
If you go to Cancun, you must see the Pyramids! We went to Chichen Itza! It's pretty awesome! (The hotels has packages, which are not tooo expensive)


All in all it was a great experience and I would love to go back!

Room Tip: 2709B was a good one
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews