We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful resort, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“beautiful resort, great stay”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I agree wholeheartedly with crochic's review below. Our family of 3 (2 adults, one pre-teen) were there around the same time. As she stated there was a small select group of grown adults trying to relive their college party days and they stood out like a sore thumb, as did anyone wearing obscene t-shirts like you'd see in the hotel zone. Grow up people. This hotel is for mature adults (young and old), couples, families, who want a relaxing vacation. There were mostly Americans, Canadians, Mexican, British, and Japanese guests during our stay. You can participate in the activities with the lively and friendly activities staff or just hang out and relax. The hotel was very full when we were there since it was president's weekend and winter break for some of the schools. There were a lot of families but no out of control kids. There are plenty of pools and loungers. Some did 'save' their chairs early in the morning, but it was unnecessary. You could still always find loungers with umbrellas or under a palm tree for shade. The beach beds were all 'saved' early in the morning, but you can usually find them abandoned by mid-afternoon. The first few days we couldn't find good service by the pool sitting closest to the steak house, but by the end of our stay they seemed to have worked it out better. I think they hadn't planned well for the increased number of guests. Oscar was our pool server at the end of our stay and once we found him we stayed every day in his area. He was awesome, as was Linda. They worked so hard and were so incredibly busy. This is the one thing that the hotel needs to improve upon, when it gets busy they need more servers to keep up with the demand, I don't blame the servers at all.

When we were there they had changed Zama to a buffet breakfast and buffet dinner, and the steak house had a buffet lunch with grilled burgers, hot dogs, flank steak, hot wings, fries, corn on the cob, fresh fruit and dessert. Breakfast at Davino had more variety, opened at 6:30am, and was more crowded by 8am. Breakfast at Zama opened at 8am with less variety and less people, but the basics were there (eggs in buffet and also omelets made to order, french toast and/or pancakes, sausage, black beans, chilaquiles, potatoes, usually some chicken or pork dish, veggies, mexican pastries, toast, yogurt, fresh fruit, fresh juices, etc). We tried both and preferred the food at Davino but the open air atmosphere and service at Zama if we could wait till 8am. For lunch we really enjoyed the food from the Bite bar around the pool. Incredible ceviche veracruz!! We thought the Cuban themed buffet on Thursday (or was it Friday? lol) was excellent. I thought the room service menu was lacking, but the cheesecake was good :). There were a couple days where we didn't get water stocked in our room, but room service could bring it no problem.

It was nice to have the dinner buffet option since the restaurants often had very long waits, and the food was usually very good if you went early. If you were not at Hiroshi at 5:30pm to wait for it to open at 6pm, you were in for an hour or 2 hour wait since there's only like 12 tables and it takes them a while to clear them once people leave. But if you have the all inclusive, you could eat a small early dinner at the buffet and go for sushi for a late snack! (I gained 4 lbs in a week). By 10pm there was usually no wait. We went to Davino's one night and the wait was too long for us, so we ended up going next door to the open air Bite Bar for pizza instead. You have to go with the flow and not get your panties in a wad or expect instant gratification. In Mexico there is a different idea of time and no one is in a hurry.

As far as the water smell that some reviewers complained about, we were in tower 1, and when you first turn on the tap there is a very very slight sulfur smell (like a match), but it wasn't strong at all and not an issue. I used the tap water to brush my teeth, didn't worry about ingesting water from the shower or pools, and didn't get sick once. The room was gorgeous and all the beds comfortable (even the Murphy). It was great to have the washer and dryer in the room so we could pack light (brought some of those travel detergent packs with us). The grounds were beautiful and well kept. The main pool while unheated was warmer than the others, and there were a surprising number of hot tubs. There were also plenty of clean and well maintained bathrooms around the pools and in the restaurants. The great gym had a trainer to help you which was a very nice touch. The place was full but didn't feel crowded and we met a lot of friendly people.

We decided to create our own excursion and rented a car through the hotel travel agency for $48 for 24 hours. This was very convenient, but in hindsight it would have been a better idea to rent one for the week since it would have been only around $100 for the week from the airport car rental places, and then we could have ventured out more often. We really wanted to visit Holbox. It's easy to find the ruins and other towns south of Cancun - it's a straight shot on the toll road to chichenitza and ek balam, and roads are very well marked and driving is the same as in the states, people don't drive crazy especially since there's so many speed bumps. Visiting the colonial town of Valladolid and swimming in the cenotes was a treat. Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful, even with the language barrier.

I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We were in the first tower, 2nd floor (which is actually the 3rd floor), and had a great view of bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank pemaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,122
    1,019
    384
    168
    128
See reviews for
1,410
1,547
34
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,481)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

So, I'm finally writing this review after staying the week after last Thanksgiving. Even though time has passed, I still want to submit this, mainly because of a wonderful experience at the end of our stay that could've gone terribly wrong.

I'll get to the point. During our vacation we had accumulated no less than a couple hundred pictures and several videos on our new SLR camera. Most were shots of our 8mo old baby girl. On our last night, we took a few more pictures, had dinner, then called it an evening. The next morning while packing for our flight, we realized that our camera was missing. Panic set in as we had a flight to catch, our camera was a rather pricey SLR, but most importantly, all our memories of our baby girl could be gone forever.

I rushed to check the grounds where we frequented the previous night, but nothing turned up. Spoke to the staff where we ate dinner as well as the front desk, and still nothing. Then finally, checked with the front desk one more time as we were getting ready to catch the shuttle, and Lizet our conciere was smiling holding our camera.

Wow! Complete shock! Tears to cheers!
We couldn't be more grateful to the staff at VDP for making this happen. Especially the night crews that located our camera and were responsible enough to pass it along. My wife and I we're both so distraught when we thought our camera was gone and all the pictures of our daughter.

Also, a special thanks to Andres and his co-worker (sorry forgot name) who were confident our camera would turn up, and were so kind and supportive during this difficult time.

Side note:
We really enjoyed the restaurants, food was great, especially Davino and Sushi.
There was a bit of a mix up with our room, and the subsequent room change, but all in all just a great stay, beautful resort, much improved beach and cleaner ocean than our first stay a year earlier.
Thanks VDP!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank boned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here Feb 12-17 and we loved it! It’s such a neat place with a very romantic vibe to it. Made the perfect Valentine’s Day escape! But like many have written this is not a party resort. We did see a few guests who befriended other ones and turned it into a drinking thing, but it wasn’t anything crazy or loud. And from what we saw a lot of them couldn’t handle their liquor. Tequila does tend to have that effect. For us- it was humorous to watch, we didn’t mind the free entertainment. We are 28 & 29 and we came to relax. That said, there weren't too many kids running around. There were a few families there, but it was mostly a couples thing. When I was reading the reviews before we left I was a little worried, but once we got there and saw how beautiful it was and how nice the people were we felt so relieved. Our stay was honestly perfect. We booked an all-inclusive package through bookit.com with an ocean view room & roundtrip airport transfers. Once you fly into Cancun there are numerous taxis that you can take to the hotel if you don’t have pre-arranged transportation. Make sure that you agree with the cab driver on a certain price before you get inside of the cab. They do not have meters and a lot of them make up their prices as they go. You can usually talk them down to a decent price. A cab ride from Cancun to the hotel should run you about $20-$25 one way, anything more than that and you are overpaying. Best Day is the company we went thru for transportation. As far as the time share posts – omg, you pay for what you get. You can’t pay $1 for a burger and seriously expect to get a $5 one?! You wanted the cheap way in and you got the cheap way out. Time share presentation deals are tricky and usually the ones that bite on it don’t read all of the fine print or care to research it more. I don’t understand why so many of you are shocked to only get so little in return when you paid only so little for it. Taking the cheap way is not always the smartest. Now for the details.

Hotel:
Beautiful inside, all the palm trees outside make it feel like you are in the middle of a jungle. Lots of wild life that you can hear at night time. The hotel is barely 2 years old so it’s new and you can tell. I would put the entire resort size at medium. The hotel is planning on expanding which will make the resort even bigger. The grounds are immaculate and kept well groomed and clean. Our check in was quick and smooth. They do place a hold on your credit card for a certain amount in case you run up some charges while you are there. That amount varies on how many people are in your party and how many days you are staying. Manuel checked us in and he was polite and nice. He gave us a list of what was included and what wasn’t. Basically if you have the all-inclusive package all the 4 restaurants are included, alcoholic drinks, soft drinks, juices, bottled water, room service, mini bar inside the room, all of the cabana beds except the ones by the infinity pool, non-motorized sports and then some. What wasn’t included were international phone calls, lobster, some premium cuts of meat at the steak house and some higher end liquor (scotch, whiskey), and wines other than the house wines. Once we were done with the check-in we stopped by the concierge desk to inquire about excursions. The guy was were helpful and he did ask us if we wanted to do a time share presentation. We declined politely and that was that. We weren’t bugged again about it. There is a shop onsite that has an ATM, gifts, beach items, food, snacks, fruit, etc. in case you need something. The ATM there disperses money in dollars, not pesos! There is a currency exchange desk on the side of the front desk that you can exchange dollars for pesos, if needed. We found that pesos or dollars, they will take it all. We brought lots of $20, $10, $5 and $1 for tipping. If you need to take a cab anywhere the hotel can fetch one for you very quickly. And it’s not overpriced. Don’t listen to the other reviews – everything can be negotiated. There is a free shuttle that is offered by the hotel that will take you to the hotel zone. We didn’t take it so I can’t comment on that.
Wifi:
There is a free computer that guests are allowed to use to check email, facebook, etc. If you want wifi on your personal pc or phone it’s $10 per day. It’s spotty at some spots, but overall works good.
Room:
We were in building 2, 5th floor and had an amazing view of the entire resort and ocean. It was in the middle of everything and very peaceful. The room was clean, nice big bathroom with marble tiles, comfortable bed and pillows, a nice wet bar. Balcony with a large hammock, which we used every night to winde down the day, and a small coffee table with 2 chairs. Our A/C worked fine, plenty of hot water and our water didn’t smell weird. Our mini fridge was filled and re-filled when needed. Water bottles, coke, sprite, canned beer, chips, snickers, cookies, etc. We saw the refill guy our 1st day there and gave him $5 and that was that. Our maid cleaned the room every day and we tipped her every day. Towel art was left and we had no complains. We used the safe to store our valuables and even when I forgot to put something in there it didn’t go missing. We didn’t use room service, so no comment there. We literally only used the room to either sleep in or shower, the rest was spent outside.
Bill Signing:
You do sign a bill for everything. But it’s really like going to a restaurant ordering a drink and them keeping a tab open for you and then when you are done you sign a check. Same goes when you order food by the pools or food inside of the restaurant or the bar. They don’t make you sign every time. And once you do say you want your check they are quick to bring it. We never waited more than 5 mins for it. And most of them just kept it open until we were ready to sign it. If you find yourself ordering something than is not included in your package staff WILL tell you that you will be charged for it and you will also get 2 bills to sign, so there is no way that you won’t know that they are charging you unless you are a complete clueless human being. There different colors of bracelets. Orange, yellow, white, and red from what I saw guests wearing. And some guests didn’t have a bracelet at all and they had to whip out the credit card when they ordered something. So bill signing is literally how the hotel keeps track. Plus, common sense here, but tipping does get you better service. Sorry, but that’s all around the world. If you are a complete cheapo maybe you should save a little more and then travel. We didn’t feel that we had to tip or that the service wouldn’t be as good, but we saw how they run around like crazy and how they try so hard to please you that it’s honestly hard not to tip them. We tipped $20-$30 a day. Most of them work 15 hr shift and always have a smile on their face and greet you. And trust me, they do remember who you are. Treat others like you want to be treated, don’t be a snob and tip every once in a while and you will have a nice vacation. We had dinner one night at Davino’s and there was a lady that was giving a wrong plate on accident and her attitude towards the waiter was disgusting. She was talking to him like he was 4 yrs old and deaf.
Pools:
Plenty of them around and never too crowded. Seems like people split between pools and the beach, and then around 2-3 pm everyone ends up around the pools. No kiddie pool although the one closest to the lobby is only like 4 ft deep. The children that were there were usually playing at that one. It’s not heated. There are a couple pools that are heated. Plenty of lounging chairs with umbrellas. There is an infinity pool by the snack bar and it has a great view of the ocean. The cabana beds by it are for Elite Members only. Next to the infinity pool is a huge star shaped hut tub with a fire pit inside of it. Very relaxing. Also lots of other hot tubs and Jacuzzis around. There is no life guard post on the beach or pool, but I did see a person what resembled a life guard (going off of the shirt he wore) that walked around the pools and kept an eye out on the beach. Pool waiters are ready to take your drink and food orders. Towel stand is by the pool closes to the beach. There are plenty of towels.
Beach:
White soft sand. Beach has some seaweed, but that really depends on how strong the winds are blowing and how strong the current is. One day it was not windy at all, the water was still and there was no seaweed on the shore. Besides they clean it every morning. It’s not something they can control. It’s called nature. For February the temperature outside was in the 85 and the water roughly in the 72. There are non-motorized activities that you can do. Lots of loungers around, palapas, cabana beds. I loved the cabana beds. There are beach waiters that will get you drinks and food too.
Bars:
Plenty of them around. The tiki bar was fun. It had swing chairs and was the hang out of many guests. As was the Steak House bar that had the TV’s. It is Mexico and soccer is popular so the TV channels inside of your room and bars will have soccer games. My boyfriend loved it since he’s a soccer fanatic. The wait is never long, drinks are not watered down and to me they had lots of liquor inside of it. They can whip up about any drink you can think of as well as shots. I stuck to Mojitos, Corona, fruity drinks and my occasional Chocolate Martinis. They have something for everyone’s taste buds.
Activities:
There is plenty to do or nothing at all. Yoga on the beach in the morning. Aqua aerobics in the pool around 11 or 12. And then more dance exercise in around 3-4pm. Evening entertainment varies daily. There is a ferry you can take to Isla Mujeres right next to our hotel. It’s $35 pesos for one person. It’s slow though and has set times. It takes about an hour to get to the island, but it’s convenience since it’s right there. I highly suggest Isla Mujeres! It’s such a fun island with lots to do. We rented a golf cart for $50 from 9am-5 pm, insurance and gas included. And we didn’t have to bring it back with gas which was great! If you decide to rent a golf cart agree on all the terms before you sign and pay. To tour the entire island it took about 3 hrs. We actually returned our golf cart early since there was nowhere to park it near the beach (Playa Note) and we wanted to relax. If we had more time we would have done Garrafon Natural Reef Park. It’s about $70 per person includes food, drinks, usage of hammocks, cabana beds, beach, zip lining over ocean, snorkeling & kayaking. It is mesmerizing there. The views are breath taking. If you decide to go there plan to spend the entire day. It’s open 9 am – 5 pm. We shopped, dinned, and played around at Isla Mujeres. The beaches there are picture worthy. Try the food there it tastes amazing! We got beach front massages for $50 for 2 ppl for an hour! They start of with a high price but can be talked down. And it's the most relaxing thing I've ever done. If you don't want to pay the resort spa prices then getting one on Isla Mujeres may be the way to go. Also, if the slow ferry doesn’t fancy you then there 2 other ones you can take. We tried all 3 of them. We found the one going out of Gran Puerto to be the fastest. It’s yellow, you can sit outside and take only 30 mins to get to the island. It departs every hour & half. The cost is $65 pesos per person. And the taxi ride to it from the hotel is $13 one way.
Restaurants:
We tried Zuma (Mexican), Davinos (Medditerean), and Hiroshi (Sushi). We skipped the Steak House for we found it weird to go to Mexico and eat at a Steak House. The snack bar during lunch had great food too. The breakfast buffet at Davino’s had lots of choices. We found that if you get to a restaurant around 6 or 6:30pm the wait is not that long since it's 1st come 1st serve. Around 7:30 or 8 pm wait time gets to be about an hour. Quality of food was good and very fresh. Presentation was lovely too. Our food was never served cold and we never waited longer than a half hour for it.

Overall, we liked our stay. It was nice and relaxing and the perfect Valentine’s Day week getaway. We also felt completely safe there. Every time we left the resort by taxi they take the cab number and name down, ask for our room number and where the cab was taking us. Same goes upon returning to the hotel. Before they lift the gates they ask for the same info. Plus, one day I lost my coach clutch wallet on the beach that had some money, our room key, & confirmation tickets of our round trip transportation (since I had just met with the guy earlier that day) in it. I couldn’t find it anywhere and panicked a little. I didn’t care for the money as much as I cared for the hassle of having lost that ticket and the room key, but my boyfriend asked a beach worker to check over the beach and he said that the guy ran all over, recruited other workers to check everywhere and an hour later returned it to my boyfriend with everything inside of it. Turned out, another worker had found it earlier and turned it into the Lost & Found. I was so thankful for all of their help. We found our little helper the next day and tipped him nicely. Things like that make a difference to me, not whether they bring my drink 5 minutes later than when I wanted it. I would recommend the resort to friends and family.

Room Tip: Oceanfront, 2 building 5th floor or higher (floors go up to 8) also if you want to splurge the penth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank CroChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

A friend and I just returned from Villa Del Palmar as a get away trip.. We booked the hotel through BookIt.com and got a great deal. We paid for the shuttle to pick us up from the airport, which in our opinion was worth it. ($45 each) We got right to our van and was checking in at the hotel in 30 min.

Check in was quick, easy, and had absolutely no problems. When we got into our room we were blown away! The room was beautiful; full size kitchen, living room, two bathrooms, large tub, and huge patio with a table and a hammock. We were on the first floor and the view was beautiful even from there. Our one complaint about being on the first floor was it was very loud. Lots of hussle and bussle outside of our room from the people who worked there.

The hotel grounds were gorgeous! February was a great time to go; not very busy so there was always space at the pool or beach. The pools were beautiful and very peaceful. They have waiters that will serve you at the pool as well which is a plus. The ocean isn't as pretty as I would have hoped. The seaweed is all over the beach in the early hours (before 10 am) before they get it all cleaned up, which made us prefer laying out at the pools instead.

We experienced all of the restaurants and they were all great! The all inclusive deal is the way to go.. We wanted to try a little bit of everything so we ordered it all and we had no complaints except that on our last night we ate sushi at the japanese restaurant and neither of us felt well the next morning. The bars were great too... by great I mean the drinks were great, not much of a nightlife here though. Our bartender at the pool bar; Albertico, was our favorite!

The one thing that would make me not want to return to this hotel is that after we ordered anything; from towels to one corona at the bar, we had to wait to sign the hotel slip. The service was not always 100% so sometimes this would take FOREVER.. so if you want things to be real quick then I would definitely consider this before booking this hotel. It is very annoying to have to wait 5-10 min for the pool server (for example) to bring the check over when all you wanted was one beer.

We did have a great time at this resort though. We were never hassled to do the time share tours which was something I was worried about. This would be a great hotel for anyone in their late 20's to their 80's! I don't think this was the best place for families.. didn't seem like there was much to do for children.

Hope this was helpful, Safe travels!

Room Tip: First floor was loud.. Get anything higher up. Should be quieter with a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lexi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Believe ALL of the positive reviews...they're absolutely true! From the rooms, to the food, drinks staff...GREAT!!! The restaurants are all yummy, the cocktails plentiful, the staff very very efficient and friendly. The time share thing is your choice. If you do go to the presentation remember they are trying to SELL. We were asked when we got there and told them we were not really interested. No Problem. My only suggestion for the resort is, if they truely want to encourage or market themselves as an all inclusive, they should have "full-time" buffet and definitely take reservations at the restaurants. Really that is the only improvement that I think they need. If my opinion means anything, I would make them the #1 resort in the area, not #3. They are so great, I am recommending them to all of my family and friends. There are far too many great employees here that I really can't single anyone out. Again we will return again and again...

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very nice. They all face to the pool, ocean activities. The only difference i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank davis-erick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennedy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

AAAAA ++++++ Went here on the time share deal, 6 days 5 nights for around 400.00 dollars or so. its for real. resort excellent, food excellent, staff excellent. wife and i alway gave 5.00 dollars tips after all meals and at least 2.00 dollar tips to the bartenders for each round of drinks. Only problem that we had was they tryed to bill us for stuff out of the minibar that we did not use, upon check out they corrected the mistake all all was well. no hidden charges or fees. the time share was about 2 hours long and was not high pressure at all. we told them no and they never bothered us again the rest of the trip. over all we would give it a 9 out of 10. we loved the whole trip and will come back to this resort in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank greggKennedyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a beautiful resort, new and very clean; we had a huge one bedroom apartment with two baths, a full kitchen, washer and dryer and a huge deck. The livinb room had a Murphy bed so this room could easily have accomodated a family of four. The food and restaurants were excellent, of course we had our favorites, Davino's have great food and excelent service for example and the Japanese restaurant is pretty authentic. The beach is average but even when the hotel was fully booked there never was an issue getting a chair either on the beach or at the many pools. The staff are wonderful and work very hard at providing good service. It is a bit out of the way but they do have a free shuttle service or the bus stops accross the street. Being out of the way ensures a more restful vacation. We loved watching the ferry, the aquasize that was a real workout and the yoga on the Pier in the morning. We will definelty return and would definetly recommend it to friends. You do need to sign for everything which is a bit of a hassle for the staff who have to run after people who forget or simply walk away. I expect they'll need to do something about this, either scan your bracelet that has a bar code on it or find a way to make this simpler. We signed each time and nothing appeared on our account that shouldn't have.

Room Tip: Building number one, I think have the best views, especially the highest floors and those who have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GPB158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.9 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
0.8 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#2 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11,427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.4 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
8.0 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 180 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2 | Manzana 9 Lote 3 SM 2, Zona Continental de Isla Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront luxury resort is located in the pristine beaches of Playa Mujeres, about 25 minutes north hotel zone and 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport. The new Villa del Palmar Cancun offers a range of possibilities for fun and relaxation that will make your holiday truly unforgettable. The complex offers amazing 5-star service, extravagant amenities and plenty of activities to keep your adventurous side entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Cancun Hotel Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing