We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great vacation”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Del Palmar Cancun from Jan 24-31 2013. Overall I loved this hotel and there are not too many flaws to report unless you are a very picky person.

The Rooms- FANTASTIC!! Great beds, beautiful decor and we had a fabulous ocean view, what more could you need. I was a little disappointed in the Maids not doing pretty things with the towels like they do in Cuba, but again EXTREMELY minor and no need to be upset about it.

The Food- Let me start off by saying I am the world’s pickiest eater... and I ALWAYS managed to find something to eat... The club house sandwiches at the snack bar are fantastic!!! If you order the burger ask for it well done. The steak house is AMAZING we went there four times.
My only negative thing about the food is there is no buffet for Lunch or dinner; it's the snack bar for lunch and the restaurants for dinner. But overall good food and I was never hungry.

Beach- Was great! Sure it’s not as nice as the beaches in Cuba but you know that going there so no need to complain. There is a bit of seaweed on the beach but the staff clean it every morning. The water was nice and warm and great for swimming.

The Staff- Well for the most part they were good, a few of the waiters sucked so we just didn’t tip them. You tend to get better service when you tip.

Weather- The weather was fantastic the whole time we were there, even though some days called for 75% chance of rain we didn’t see a drop only on the way to and from the airport.

The lobby- Beautiful just like the pictures show. Once we arrived we were greeted with a drink and did the check it. Just say no to the time share they may push a few times but be firm and they will back off.

Also we loved the market they had on site! you could buy fresh fruit, milk, bread eggs, pretty much anything you need :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bailey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,193
    1,041
    392
    173
    131
See reviews for
1,466
1,581
34
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,503)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
austin, texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I definitely had concerns after reading a lot of these reviews. once I found out that it was a time share place, I almost canceled our reservation. however, this property has only been open 1 1/2 years, and many of the reviews that were unhappy with the service and the time share aspect were a few months ago, so I am hoping that this resort is getting its act together. first, let me say that we come to the mayan riviera 1-2 times a year for 20 years, so I am going to compare this to other resorts I have stayed at in this area. 1. time share aspect: they were very up front with us from the beginning (before we even got there) that this is a time share resort and that we are expected to go through the presentation to be all inclusive, so I was ready for that when i got there. I am almost embarrassed to say that we did buy in, but we have other friends who are members of the same umbrella group and they are very happy with their vacation club. I guess i will have to write in a few months with my thoughts on whether this was worth it. but we were here with a mortgage broker and 2 realtors, and they felt like the numbers worked out at the end. 2. this is not a party resort. everything shuts down by about 10pm. we were with extended family and young children, so it worked well for us. 3. we solved the ferry issue (fast expensive ferry with long cab ride or very slow ferry) to isla mujeres by hiring one of the guys at the watersports stand to take us over there. it was 15 minutes from our beach for $100 round trip. considering there were 8 of us, it was a bargain compared to the cost and hassle of the fast ferry. 4. service was about average for mexico. mexico restaurant service is always on "mexican time," which a lot of us americans are just not ready for. i found that if i got tired of waiting for "the bill," i would just get up and leave, and they would come running with it. you will get better service at the pool if you tip in cash up front. we gave them $20 per day and they were great. 5. beaches: several people have complained about the beach, but all of the mayan riviera beaches are actually very grassy and rocky, and the nice resorts have to ship in all that white sand. i thought the beach was very nice under the circumstances. you can get a beautiful, original white beach at isla mujeres. 6. the main things that would keep me from coming back: the ridiculous wait for checking in, and having to sign for everything---very annoying. they say they are working on it. 7. i won't harp on the property. suffice it to be said that it is pretty darn impressive.

Room Tip: higher up gives you a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank terridvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel property is not bad. but i had an iphone stolen, a set of headphones stolen and a pack of cigarettes stolen. i have stayed in many hotels never in my life did the staff touch anything that didn't belong to them. well not here it ruined the whole trip. the hotel managers were not very helpful everyone just said they were looking for it. There was no compensation. i would not recommend this hotel nor will i ever return. if you cant leave your room without worrying ...well that's not a vacation!!
more about the actual hotel it really is very far from the party areas and the Walmart and stuff so that was annoying, especially because the taxi fares are significantly raised at the hotel, if you go to the street they're less than half price to go to the exact same place . There were two staff members that were very nice Marciela at the concierge and Ricardo the manager of the restaurant Zama, they were very helpful and sweet .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and i went here for m y bday jan 2013 spent 7 days. We stayed at the VDP in Cabo and liked it alot so that is why we choose to stay at this one.. We did not realize that it was about 25 minutes from "downtown" Cancun..Everything shuts down btw the hrs of 11 pm and 12 am. So if you come t party this is not the place for you.. The food was ok in the buffet ( normaly cold ) but the food was great at all the other restaurants. the 2 young gals that are up front ( who set up the timeshare times ) are GREAT VERY SWEET... love them they sent up a small bday cake the morning of my bday... and always stopped what they were doning to say hi hows your day what are you doing today? If you want a quiet relaxing vacation go here. I would like to take my kids back the next time i visit due to it is a "family" kind of place unlike the Cabo resort..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was our first trip to the Cancun area. We selected this resort as we had previously stayed at another Villa Group property in Nuevo Vallarta. Booking on Expedia, we were only offer the all-inclusive rate. Despite preferring to decline all inclusive locations, we opted to give this a try, and were so pleased we did. We stayed for 10 days in early February 2013.

The room accommodations were just as represented. A small step down from the La Estancia in Nuevo, but very new, comfortable, plenty of space and very good quality.

There are 4 restaurants on the property, and each has a great specialty menu. The food far surpassed our expectations for an all inclusive resort. Several meals would compete very favorably with the very best restaurants anywhere. The staff was ultra friendly, and the service for the entire resort was excellent.

A very good property, and we have no reluctance at all in recommending. We separately booked fishing and snorkeling trips, and were perplexed that the resort didn't offer better arrangements. While we liked the relaxation, the fishing and snorkeling are very good, and added to the overall experience. We recommend http://islamujeresboats.com/

All in all a great break at a very nice property. The rates were very reasonable for the quality of the facility and the restaurants.

RAP57783

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAP57783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I spent a week with our friends who own a time share here. It was our first trip to Cancun. The resort is north of the hotel zone in Cancun so it is very isolated. There are plenty of pools, hot tubs, and the beach is right there. If you want a nice place to relax and get away from the rat race, this is the place. There are 4 restaurants on site (Mexican, Mediterranean, Steak, and Sushi) so you never have to leave. They sell an all inclusive pass for all your food and most drinks that seems to be a decent deal ($95/day/person). The breakfast buffet was pretty awesome as was the sushi and steak places. The others were so so. We were able to golf nearby at the Greg Norman course at Playa Mujeres (see separate review). If you're looking for a lot of bar action and other spring break type of activities this isn't for you. If you want to spend a relaxing time with a lot of swimming and sunbathing without having to worry about getting someplace for dinner, this is a good place to go.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank daz1249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Immaculately presented but heartless, soulless and without doubt the most depressing holiday location I could imagine. Everything you need is provided but I didn't see a single smile except for the nauseating false smiles of the enormous sales team trying to push their holiday club (nothing more than overpriced time share) in a resort for the retired. This sales team out numbered guests and probably account for a significant percentage of all local cologne & hair oil sales.

The food was bland, tasteless and dull as was the entire resort. Probably the most beautiful resort I've ever seen yet if I won a free holiday there I would use the free flights but stay elsewhere.

Also disgusted that they removed sea grass, this is an important natural environment and at a couple of inches long doesn't interfere with anyone's swimming!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaTallulah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.9 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,015 reviews
0.8 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#2 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
11,581 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.2 mi away
Dreams Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
16.9 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#22 of 175 in Cancun
21,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2 | Manzana 9 Lote 3 SM 2, Zona Continental de Isla Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront luxury resort is located in the pristine beaches of Playa Mujeres, about 25 minutes north hotel zone and 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport. The new Villa del Palmar Cancun offers a range of possibilities for fun and relaxation that will make your holiday truly unforgettable. The complex offers amazing 5-star service, extravagant amenities and plenty of activities to keep your adventurous side entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Vacatia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Cancun Hotel Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing