We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Vacay Ever....1st year anniversary celebration” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Austell, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Vacay Ever....1st year anniversary celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 1st anniversary here (Sept 8-13) and we enjoyed every minute of it! The staff surpasses all customer service expectations, the grounds are gorgeous, and we had the most beautiful view (Rm 2505B)!
The staff here ensures that each guest feels special and that the time you spend there is unforgettable! On our anniversary we walked in to beautiful kissing swans, candles, roses, and rose petals.
The food and drinks were great as well. My signature drink for the week was a Miami Vice and a shot of Tequila!
I was going to name all the staff that we loved but I don’t want to forget anyone, but honestly everyone we encountered from the front staff, the concierges desk, the ground keepers, the waiters, bartenders, sales staff, shuttle driver, everyone was remarkable and made our stay a great one. I cannot wait to visit again, because we definitely will be returning!

Room Tip: The ocean view room definitely enhance the experience.Our room was 2505 and it had the best view eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaTeefha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,038
    994
    357
    158
    118
See reviews for
1,328
1,503
30
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Ok, so finally I found time to write a review for the place. The hotel is very beautiful, nice rooms, grounds, the beach is horrible tons of seaweed, which makes it impossible to swim in the ocean. This has been our 3rd vacation in Cancun, and the other experiences we had were amazing, but not this time. Our package was all inclusive, for what we have paid $3100 for two people. The first day we arrived, it was late and we decided to order room service and relax. When we called to room service around 8:30pm we were on hold for about 10 minutes (while the hotel was only full 35%, as they told us during registry), then when we order our food which was only two dishes and two drinks, and waited for it for an hour, we called back. Again on hold for 5 minutes, then someone picks up who did not speak any English and hang up on us. We called back and they apologized and told us that our food would be ready and in our room in 7 minutes. Well instead of 7 minutes, we waited for another 40 minutes, and guess what? of course than my husband got mad, and went downstairs to the lobby talked to the manager, after explaining the situation the manager said that he will follow up and make sure we get our food asap.
Of course sure enough we did not get any food delivered to our room, and as we were so tired form the flight just gave up waiting and fell asleep.
This was the beginning of our terrible experience in Villa del Palmar Canun.
They had beautiful restaurants, which were never full, and what was suppose to mean that it does not have to take 20-30 minutes to be seated. Usually it would take us minimum of 10 minutes to be seated in an empty restaurant, while the employees were just talking to each other and ignoring guests until there were more than two groups waiting to be seated.
Anyways i have a lot of stories since we stayed there for 10 days, and never received good service, it was very disappointing, as the hotel looked amazing, nice pools. and grounds. But it was missing the most important qualities necessary for a good vacation and hotel,
THERE WAS ABSOLUTELY NO SERVICE AND ENTERTAINMENT.
I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL FOR A VACATION, THERE ARE SO MANY BETTER OPTIONS IN CANCUN...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Hermine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to this resort. It just keeps getting better! Beautiful property and rooms. This by far is one of the best resorts we have stayed at. All of the restaurants were awesome. Best service around. The staff is very pleasant and nice. ELBERT ELBERT ELBERT is the best bartender in Cancun. He is one of the reasons we came back!!! All of the pools are great. Luis at the pool is a great waiter. Don't believe any of the negative reviews!!!! We will be going back here in April!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank yzf1k97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Please do not hesitate staying at the Villa Del Palmar Cancun. Do not listen to the negative reviews as they are FALSE!! I have been to many all Inclusive resorts in Punta Cana, Aruba, Playa Del Carmen, even Sandals- Jamaica. This resort is stunning and is as good or better. The staff especially Carlos and Luis at the pool and Fabiola at Davio's and Zama restaurants went above and beyond. The pictures do not LIE! The pools are gorgeous and have pool service, which means that there's no need to get up to get a drink or lunch for that matter. Carlos and Luis remembered our names and brought drinks to our lounge chairs without us asking.The food at Davio's was excellent especially the "catch of the day" as well as the snack style restaurant by the pool. Zama's was also very good. There were no reservations needed when we went 09/21/12 as the hotel was not full. Check in and check out were a breeze, although we were not allowed to check in untill 4PM however, you are given your all inclusive bracelet so just change into your suits and go have lunch, drinks and swim. Make sure to ask for an upgrade as we were given an ocean view studio on th 6th floor. The room was stunning as well as the view, especially at night when the bridge and fire pits are lit. The beach is not perfect and I've seen better, but it's still nice as there are canopy beds, lounge chairs, and a Tiki bar with swings. The staff really makes a big effort and are constantly clearing the seaweed. Although this resort is aprox. 20 minutes outside the Cancun zone the hotel does offer free shuttles to the zone and market 28. Reservations are needed but I was able to make a few hours before. There is a ferry next door to the hotel that will bring you to Isla Mujeres for less than $5 each way for 2. We went on a snorkeling tour and North Beach for $20 p/p. We booked on cancun5star web. You must attend a 90 minute presentation. You will also be charged $97 for taxes and gratuities so there's no need to tip but we tipped a little. We booked our presentation at 8am and were at the pool before 10. This is not a SCAM! Just be firm and tell them no/can't afford. Don't pay the $50 transfer to hotel when making your reservation as they will throw it in for free if you complain. Use Best Day transportation back to the airport. I booked it on line before my trip for $17.17. We also booked an additional night through the Villa group for $150+ tax. This was much cheaper than through the hotel, expedia, etc. There's some entertainment at night, don't miss the Mayan show and the Mexican show. Bars close early 11pm so grab beers through out the day and put them in you fridge and order a few drinks at last call to bring back to your room, beach etc. Only negative is having to sign at bars and restaurants but many times if you ask they will let you sign before you leave the bar or the next day. Enjoy!! We met some great people and had a lot of fun. You really can't go wrong for the price and you will love this resort!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Silvia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Lucy Ruiz at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Silvia K,

Thank you for comments and for choosing our hotel to enjoy your vacations.
We will more than happy to welcome you again at Villa del Palmar Cancun Resort & Spa.

Sincerely
Lucy Ruiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Food was the best!! All kinds of fabulous choices, including the best sushi I've ever had.
Infinity pool was our favorite hang out. Our poolside waiter, Carlos, couldn't have been more attentive. He was prompt with our drinks and food.
The activity guys were super fun: yoga, water aerobics and Bingo were fun!!
The beach isn't too bad. The infinity pool was hard to get away from though.
Rodrigo at the front desk is a doll.
Absolutely LOVE this resort!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Lucy Ruiz at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Lerly,

Thank you for your nice comments, our staff will be delighted to read your recent review. It was a pleasure to host you and for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

Do not hesitate to think in Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa again when you plan your next trip.

Sincerely
Lucy Ruiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great Place to stay, rooms and pools are amazing. not the best beaches in Cancun though. Greek restaurant is amazing. The staff in this restaurant should be managing this entire complex. Steak house and Mexican restaurant is pretty good as well. Sushi Restaurant, terrible! Service and food needs improvement, heard same thing from other guests. One of the main thing this resort needs to be a true 5 star...... Concierge and Hotel Front Desk staff either need re-trained or fired. The entire week they could care less about any guest and was not there to please. Most of the time its was "no this and no that," a few of the concierge were on the phones and wouldn't notice your there. Other than that, I would come back again!

Room Tip: All rooms have a decent view and are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brent m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Lucy Ruiz at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Brent m,

Thank you for your review. Please be assured that we have taken the proper changes to improve our services.

On the other hand, we are happy to learn that Davino Restaurant was beyond expectations, Villa del Palmar Cancún Beach Resort & Spa proudly has one of the few Greek restaurants within México with our daily fresh fish bar; Davino's menu was designed by our Greek Chef, Konstantinos Katsoulis who delivers the original flavor from his home town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This resort was the best resort I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. The location was gorgeous and the property itself was lavish. The entire staff was pleasent and eager to help you with anything you asked for. My family and I stayed in a one bedroom suite and the room did not disappoint. You had a fully functional kitchen with washer and dryer units neatly tucked away in a closet off the kitchen. The view was amazing. Every room had a spectacular view of the water and the resort. My wife and I went to the spa and to say it was world class is an understatement. Our massage specialists were extremely professional and I was even more relaxed afterwards as before I came in. We traveled there with a five year old daughter and she had more fun than we did. This resort is family friendly and the Kids Club employees were so great with children that my daughter was begging us to go there and hang out, which made our Anniversary very enjoyable. If you are looking for a quiet relaxing vacation this is the place to go, after 10 P.M. the resort is quiet and peaceful. I can not say enough great things about this resort. I highly recommend that everyone should go to this resort. We are owners and the sales staff was very easy work with and we felt no pressure to buy. We will be enjoying this resort for years to come. You will not be dissapointed! Thank you Villa Del Palmar for an experience we will never forget and we will see you again in May 2013.

The Higgins Family

Room Tip: Multi room suites are best for families if the parents want some alone time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Casey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Lucy Ruiz at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Higgins Family,

On behalf of the staff of Villa del Palmar Cancún Beach Resort & Spa we want to thank you for taking the time to post this review. Is great to learn that you had a wonderful experience here in your second home in the Caribbean sea.

We just want you to let you know all reviews are being posted in our employees’ communication panel, so they can read and learn about guests and owners experience by themselves, they will be more than happy to read yours.

We cannot wait to welcome you again!

Sincerely

Lucy Ruiz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.6 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11,116 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#2 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.8 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
9.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#6 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2 | Manzana 9 Lote 3 SM 2, Zona Continental de Isla Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront luxury resort is located in the pristine beaches of Playa Mujeres, about 25 minutes north hotel zone and 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport. The new Villa del Palmar Cancun offers a range of possibilities for fun and relaxation that will make your holiday truly unforgettable. The complex offers amazing 5-star service, extravagant amenities and plenty of activities to keep your adventurous side entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Cancun Hotel Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing