We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings, will not return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria,Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings, will not return”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The newer part of this resort had just opened and they did not have enough well trained staff to cope. The rooms are great but we were in section 3 which gets no sun and I think most of section 4 has the same problem. It is a horse-shoe shape with all the rooms facing in.

The pluses: nice but small beach, which is right beside the old cheap ferry to Isla Mujeres; fairly good food though the buffets were ordinary and the reservation system was chaotic; some excellent staff (Andres, in the lobby bar); drinkable house wine; clean; quiet; good stretch/yoga class.
The minuses: Check-in and check-out, the "not included list" and all the signing chits for everything; the front desk staff seemed insincere (smiles but no action); paying for telephone calls whether you make a connection or not; isolated location with nothing to do in the evenings and very few activities during the day (windy weather caused the cancellation of kayaking etc.);faulty Internet connection (maybe a Cancun area problem) and $10 US/day is a ridiculous fee. All our subsequent modest hotels provided the service free of charge.

Room Tip: Section 1 or 2 unless you are very rich and can get a penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank littleella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,067
    1,001
    370
    161
    123
See reviews for
1,364
1,514
32
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Beautiful place away from the crowds of the hotel zone. 5 day all inclusive One bedroom w/ murphy bed. Ammenities of the room were great.King size bed, nice balcony. Beautiful views, quiet place more for families, no entertainment at night. 10-15 Km to hotel zone, night life. Food average, staff very nice. Very demanding on selling time share, offering discounts if you do sales pitch...You get the 'hotel' discount price as the regular price from the locals on the beach just off property. Save yourself the trouble and waste of time don't do the sales tour.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We had such a great time at this gorgeous new resort property in mexico. The food and over all service was amazing and cant wait to return sometime soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dream2travel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glens Falls, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I am a member of the Villa Palmar group and normally stay at Villa Palmar Flamingos in Puerto Vallarta. This year we decided to try Cancun. The resort certainly has some kinks to work out as far as food service goes as many people mentioned as a result I did not purchase the all inclusive for the last few days of the trip as I normally do. However, I must say that the resort was wonderful and Manuel the concierge was incredible. He went above and beyond to help us out. He recommended a fantastic tour guide for a group of seven plus my grand-daughter to Chichen Itza and Tulum. My grand-daughter, who is almost 2 dislocated her elbow, pulling away from her father. I saw the general manager in the lobby and he had a Doctor in our room within 15 minutes who escorted us to the emergency room at AmeriMed my granddaughter was perfectly fine within an hour and we went to Isla Mujeres as planned for the day. I plan on retuning next year and if the food service situation is improved as I anticipate I will be I will purchase all inclusive for the last 3 days.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elmscottages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

This review is based on a family vacation, 12/31/11 to 1/5/12. We have four adult children, and we were on an all-inclusive trip, and stayed in a beautiful and huge two-bedroom suite with a spectacular balcony overlooking the pools and restaurants. Other reviews have noted construction, which is ongoing along the southside of the property, but we never noticed any noise from that.

I'll start with the basics - the property is absolutely gorgeous, the landscaping is to die for, the rooms are spacious, and the staff really do try hard. The beach is better than previous reviewers have noted - they now rake the beach at least twice a day, but there's always a little bit of seaweed and once you get in the water it is just naturally rocky. Plenty of nice pools and hot tubs, activities staff were outgoing and fun, and the place is very safe and inviting.

The check-in process definitely leaves something to be desired, and it really does take an hour. You will not get room keys or towel cards until you talk to a concierge whose main mission is to get you to a sales presentation, so be prepared for that. The enticement for the sales presentation if you're staying there is a VIP card that gives you discounts at the market, spa, etc. We did not find the sales presentation all that bad, but I've been through them before and kind of knew what to expect. Persistent, but not in your face high pressure.

The biggest issue with Villa del Palmar is the food. As other reviewers have noted, it just isn't very good. Breakfast is okay, and then it goes seriously downhill from there. There were three restaurants open during our stay (a fourth, a Japanese sushi bar, was scheduled to open in early January, 2012). La Casona is the "nice" restaurant, and fortunately the buffet there was expansive enough that you could find something tolerable. The menu option of that restaurant was better, but still not anywhere near worth the prices they charge. The Italian restaurant is a buffet with a make-your-own pizza bar, and was disappointing (the lasagna had big chunks of potato in it - seriously). Zama, the other restaurant, was more Mexican/American, and quite frankly you can probably do better at your local Mexican diner. We had a big problem with lunch service there, because that restaurant also has to serve all the pool areas.

Special events were spotty - the New Year's Eve bash was frankly awesome, with a fantastic lobster and steak dinner and a really good band. The "Mexican Fiesta" was just the buffet with a mariachi band - not exactly inspirational.

Room service, housekeeping, concierge, and bell staff were all very prompt and helpful, especially if you tip even a little bit. No complaints in any of those areas at all. We had no trouble getting drinks at any of the bars, even when crowded and late at night, and this is for a family of six. Bartenders were a lot of fun to talk to if you know a little bit of Spanish.

Bottom line - if you're on an all-inclusive and food matters, this is probably a 3 out of 5. If food is just food (which it mostly is for us), then its a 4 out of 5. If you're cooking in one of the units, that might just be the best way to go.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side back up to construction - go for rooms that start with 1 or 2 to avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank melbyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Rooms were great, beautiful, spacious, quiet, marble floor very confortable king bed. Big TV with cable.
Beach is nice, no problem getting chairs. Water is calmer (no big wawes like other hotel on the strip)
Tend to be very quiet at night, no entertainement...(except for 31 Dec)
Need taxi to go on the strip were all the activity is at.
As for construction is was stopped for new year (30 Dec-02 Jan) so not a problem for us.
Food: breakfast need improvement bacon was not always available and long wait at egg station.
Lunch and diner you need to be patient with slow service but hey you are on vacation ;-)
Need faster free wifi internet access (now cost $10. pe day and slow).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaptnFlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

let me start by saying along with everyone else, the property is amazing! very well appointed rooms. we had a 1 bed suite on the 5th floor. the views were awesome! the hammock is nice to swing away the day.food sucked, everywhere, we have stayed at lots of ai. this was by far the worst food ever. and we can live on chips and salsa. we dont expect much. but what we had was poor quality and cold 9 times out of 10. 24 hr room service... always cold when it got there. the minibar was to be refreshed daily, only happened once, and he came at 9pm!
drink service by the pool? hahaha, waved and waved when we did see a waiter, not one time did they take 20 extra steps to take an order.drink quality was low, not measured for sure, and be sure to get a styrofoam cup... i know environmentaly irresponsible, but i did not see hot water or soap, they would take the plastic glass, quick rinse and pour a drink..yuk!take the ferry across to the island... we cabbed it to the fast ferry toured around in a golf cart, ate at brisas right on main.... awesome food..cheep beer. there is nothing to do at this resort, we will not return.

Room Tip: the suites are high end. very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lenardobc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having take the time to write a review on our property. We have implemented a response system where each of the comments will be answered within 48 hours.

We are also providing a special phone number and direct access to our General Manager 24/7 for any guest satisfaction issue. Additionally, we have created a guest relations desk in the lobby of our hotel to attend any issues and transform experiences from negative to positives.

We pledge our commitment to your total satisfaction.

Thank you and warm regards,

Gabriela Uribe
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.9 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
2,812 reviews
0.8 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#2 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
11,254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.4 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
8.0 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 182 in Cancun
5,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2 | Manzana 9 Lote 3 SM 2, Zona Continental de Isla Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront luxury resort is located in the pristine beaches of Playa Mujeres, about 25 minutes north hotel zone and 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport. The new Villa del Palmar Cancun offers a range of possibilities for fun and relaxation that will make your holiday truly unforgettable. The complex offers amazing 5-star service, extravagant amenities and plenty of activities to keep your adventurous side entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Cancun Hotel Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing