We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,991)
Filter reviews
1,991 results
Traveler rating
1,250
362
186
103
90
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,250
362
186
103
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviews travel club isla blanca loft suite sports bar main pool family section fizz bar la adelita electric boat growing pains a la carte restaurants snow room pop team golf cart room service kids club splash pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 1,991 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have traveled to several Grand Palladium since 2008:
4 times in Punta Cana (Punta Cana, Bavaro, TRS Turquesa) and 5 times in Mexico (Royal Suites Vallarta, Colonial RM, Kantenah, TRS Yucatan). Each trip is unique but we always had the same quality with Grand Palladium standards: incredible staff service, exceptional food, spacious sites, ...

Costa Mujeres was our 10th trip (9 as Travel Club guests) and our expectations were high for this new complex of the Grand Palladium chain!

The resort is about 30 minutes from the airport.

This time we experimented the Family selection with a Loft Suite.  There's was a mistake at our arrival with the bed size we asked but the staff from the Travel Club took care of us quickly to make the change up.

Everything in the Family Selection Complex was amazing: the private pool, the restaurant The Nest in our building, the restaurant Es Niu at the pool, the kids club entertainment in building lobby + at the pool. 

In the resort they have created a village were you have all the restaurants, the theatre, a coffee shop (a kind of Starbuck!) it's pretty cool and different than other resorts.

We enjoyed an evening at Chic Cabaret (without our girls!) because it was included with our Family Selection privileges. What a fabulous experience, either for the show and the culinar experience. WOW! 

We also had the chance with our privileges as a Family Selection guest to spend time at the Zentropia Spa which is a beautiful setup with several spas.

The sea is beautiful with different tones of blue. The sand is as fine as in the Dominican Republic (generally in Mexico it is more granular/volcanic sand).

The best part of our travel, without a doubt, is our vows renewal.  We decided 2 weeks before our departure to renew our vows to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary with our 2 daughters. We contacted first Hector Bruno Calderon Villaseñor - Chef Family Selection who took care of us quickly by making contact between the Smile Services Departement and us. 

The Smile Services Department took care of us for this special project. Iris Chantal Carrillo López, René Noguera and Rodrigo Chávez made this important moment very special for our daughters and us. Chantal kept the secret until THE day of the renewal. It was over our expectations. We were so blessed to get all this attention from Travel Club, The Family Selection team, The Smile Services Department and The Grand Palladium hotel. Thanks to all of you! This unforgettable moment is engraved in our hearts!

Boutin Family

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ClaudineHumbert9941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AriadnaCA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Costa Mujeres Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mrs. Claudine,

Thank you for sharing such a beautiful and detailed review regarding your recent stay in our Grand Palladium Costa Mujeres Resort & Spa.

It has an honor to be part of your 15th wedding anniversary and contribute to make this trip an unforgettable one thanks to attention to details of our staff. Bruno, Chantal, Rodrigo and the rest of the team will be recognized for such an incredible job.

It is always a pleasure to host members of our PTC and pamper them with the excellency in the service that characterize to Palladium Group.

We hope to welcome you once again in your next visit to Costa Mujeres.

Sincerely,

Ariadna Camarena
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'd say our overall stay was 9/10 and that's being picky.

We had an amazing time when we went. We ended up staying in the loft style apartments in the premium side of the resort which were incredible. I've never been in anything quite like them. Probably the best rooms we've ever stayed in (and we stay in a lot of luxury resorts).
Each floor had their own concierge which was great if you needed anything. I found I actually needed to contact mine more than most as our fridge was missed to be re-stocked with water 3 out of 7 days. (hence the 9/10 rating).

Being on the premium side we had access to the Spa which was 11/10. They had fresh sandwiches & paninis, fresh salads, cold water, fresh blended juices on the rooftop pool as long as it was open, and the spa was heaven. We were there most of the day, everyday.

The food was amazing. We attended the buffet quite a few days as we were burnt and didn't feel like dressing up. When in the buffet though, Roberto took care of us. He was great. Every time we came in, we looked for his section as he remembered our drinks, was very swift, and was a great server. He always made sure we were topped up on wine and coffee haha. His team mates Leonardo and Edwin would get us when he wasn't around and they were wonderful as well.

One thing I will say (and this is of course being picky) but there wasn't many vegetarian and vegan options for my fiancé and I, and the ones that were were not properly labeled.
The buffet has a 2x6 hot plates and telling you what it what, but its just sort of placed there, not even in front of the proper dishes sometimes. Even if they had a pasta out, we would be asking every time if it had meat in in. Most of the cooks didn't have the greatest English so they didn't understand us most of the time. Just a simple sign change like *vegetarian* would have been a lot less stress.

The Cafe was 10/10 and the sports bar above it were spot on. The servers there actually had the best English on the resort we found and were very professional and very good at their jobs. Carlos & Raul were their names, awesome guys.
I felt like I was at a normal restaurant in Canada/US when they were looking after us.

All in all, it was an amazing trip and so was the resort. Will definitely return.

Date of stay: May 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayinMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AriadnaCA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Costa Mujeres Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you selecting Grand Palladium Costa Mujeres Resort & Spa to spend your holidays.

It brings us joy to know that that our spacious and modern suites and the culinary excellence at our restaurants have contributed to making your visit an unforgettable one. Likewise, we are pleased that our gorgeous Zentropia Spa and its amenities have greatly impressed you.

As we believe that personalized service and attention to the smallest details are important, it is most heartening to know that our collaborators, particularly Roberto, Leonardo and Edwin went the extra mile in ensuring you were well taken care of. Your recognition of their efforts is very encouraging and will certainly empower our colleagues to strive for the best every day.

Moreover, we would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your feedback about the vegan and vegetarian variety of food, we will certainly address them at the time of working on strategies to improve our services.

Looking forward to serving you once again in a near future.

Best regards,

Ariadna Camarena
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are currently here at the moment and as most people say this is a lovely hotel with great food. Some say this hotel needs work which it does. We had a problem with our door which was sorted by maintenance with no help from reception, after taking 2 and a half hours to get into room no one from customer service or reception came near us, eventually a new door was fitted but after further problems guest relations got us a new room.

Bar staff and waiters I must mention Jesus, Gerardo never forget our drinks and if you need a cocktail see Sergio in the lobby bar.

Even with the problems we have had we would come back to this hotel.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AriadnaCA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Costa Mujeres Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to assess your travel experience at our Grand Palladium Resort & Spa.

We are very happy to know that you are enjoying our beautiful hotel and the delicious gastronomic variety, as well as the excellent service of our coworkers: Jesús, Gerardo and Sergio, whom we will congratulate.

In the other hand, the points of improvement that you kindly shared will be transmitted to the corresponding departments as we always seek to meet the expectations of our customers.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon at any of our Grand Palladium Resorts.

Best regards,

Heidi Jiménez
Hospitality Manager Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Where does one start!

Family selection loft suite booked for a family of 3, little boy is 23 months.

Flights with TUI (dreamliner always a must)
Hotel direct with hotel (long story why!)

Let's go from check-in onwards.

Little strange, we arrived after a long flight and a nice private transfer to the main lobby, we left our main suitcases and were sort of whisked off in a cart to the family selection check-in. Makes sense and had a little tour of the grounds on the cart which is actually not a bad thing.

We noticed later that people were maybe offered a drink upon arrival although they must start offering cold towels. Quite a simple thing but making a massive difference. No drink was offered but check in was super super quick. Felt a tad rushed by I'm not actually sure if it was because a bus load of maybe other guests were arriving soon behind. We were the first people there really from the airport from what we could see, quick luggage and private transfer probably helped!

Off to our room. Cases were awaiting. The room was a loft as mentioned and would highly recommend for a family staying, offers privacy and can have a later night if you wish upstairs/downstairs and some of the best views in the hotel.

We asked if it was possible to change our room the view was actually nice but not beachfront (no extra costs just luck) just on the off chance and to our surprise they found us a room along the corridor, one of only 5 ocean front loft suits in the hotel. As you can see from a couple of images, it actually transformed our holiday really. The relaxation during the day whilst baby naps and at night was taken to another level by the view. The most incredible we've had in any hotel. Again luck played a part but try if you can!

Special family boss welcome Bag for baby given to use, hat sunglasses, arm bands, bucket, spade even long sleeve pool t shirts. We used everything really. Especially the hat which he loved!

We requested a cot, and a baby gate for those crazy marble stairs. Be aware if you have kids. It's not badly designed, cleanliness etc is super important but not sure if there might be a compromise for the lofts for safety? Baby gate top and bottom? This was no issue. The only issue seemed to occur when we requested a second cot. Sleeping downstairs he loves the quiet but the lower balcony suited us more duirng the day due the lovely bed idea and of course the amazing view couldn't be wasted for a second. Moving it upstairs downstairs would be impossible twice a day or similar. The kind a boss family host lady sorted it after a few times of asking. I don't think they have lots of extras. Maybe one per room. Again made a massive difference to our holiday and our sons.

Next... The carts, since most moan/praise. We walked a lot of the time, morning noon and night. It's a big place but it's nice to walk to breakfast/dinner and then walk back to the room, walking off breakfast lunch and dinner. Now bear in mind, the family selection is the furthest building from the main village and main buffet (Isla Blanca) however closest to Poseidon lunch buffet. We also get the nest downstairs exclusively, only had breakfast once and es nuit for lunch at the exclusive family pool (at at our beds one day.

Back to the carts! They are a tad inconsistent as they aren't like buses, they don't always follow a route, as they get full they just head to the destinations. Sometimes you won't see any for 15/20 mins. Then 3 will arrive. Not really sure what else they can do, there are a lot of them. The weird TRS carts don't really make sense. I don't think it's a good idea to drive past in blistering heat, families waiting ages on a cart. Just pick up everyone. It maybe works.

Next up! Entertainment/kids club. During the day the team do a good job of organising. Nomberto particularly funny with his señorita ways! Kids club always make a lot of effort. Especially with slightly older kids. 4 upwards that can interact and do more stuff.

We weren't sure about baby club but it helped us for a few hours during the hot part of the day and you can chill at the main pool next to it. If you're planning on using the baby club. Try it on first and second day and take the baby passport for I'd. Fee forms to fill in and you can sit with them for an hour to let them settle in. Then use as you wish.

They don't feed them at all so note that. Note sure about drinks. They don't really do soothing for hours either so if distressed they will text/call you.

Pools. All brilliant. Family selection use everything except TRS pool. Family pool is perfect for smaller kids. Also think it's was slightly heated but not sure. Also quite small and enclosed more. Nice shallow part. Splash park pool also great and all kids love it.

Main pool is good and nice and busy during the day, people to meet, has balls at the side to play in the pool and even a basketball hoop near the end which is a nice little touch. Not even too busy for September except independence weekend which is always mad (more on that). Plenty of beds and Brolleys. Few cabanas and not full of Brits putting towels down at 5am. Walk past at 8/9 even 10am and you can have you pick of where to lay your hat.

Oh and the "beach pool" sort of. Open to everybody. It's utterly beautiful. Small in proportion to some but a lovely place and pool and bar. We didn't spend much time here due to having the little un with us. Great for couples who fancy a change from the main pool bustle or even families who's kids are slightly bigger.

Now food.
Sports bar. Great for lunch if you don't fancy a buffet. Very cool during the day out the sun and even has a nice terrace.

Poseidon: great smaller buffet. Smaller size wise but beach front essentially and can get busy at 1ish. Sushi etc all there to choose from.

Isla Blanca. Main breakfast and lunch buffet (quiet ISH at dinner. Great selection. Super fresh! Laughing at the bacon review below, so true! Loved the bacon. Not really anything you can't get. The bread/baguette was amazing. Not sure if it's baked on site but it was fantastic everyday. Omlettes super popular made fresh and a choice of ingredients!

Ala carte:

El Dorado. Steak restaurant really although my wife doesn't eat read meat she indulged me twice! They have 3 or 4 main Options outside steak and not including a massive salad menu selection. She had the salmon, it was Restaurant quality (more on this) My son (23 months) is a great eater so had smaller versions of a lot of mains whilst here. He loves salmon and on our second visit almost finished the entire fillet.

Great sides, good sauces to a point.

The steak. A T-bone the first try, all steaks are 12 Oz. It was fantastic! Maybe not $100 wagyu standard but very fresh and super tasty, cooked properly over flame/coals etc.
Rib eye Angus second try, again brilliant probably better than the t bone. Someone moaned on here that it was fatty... A rib eye? Never!!! 5 out of 5 quality.

Portofino: Italian cuisine. Now I will throw a major spanner in here. Why can't they make pizzas properly? It's hard to make bad pizza but no matter where you tried some they were terrible. I wouldn't stomach the cheese. It was the only dish on any menu in the place that was the opposite of the cuisine it was representing. It wasn't Italian pizza. It was a really poor looking mexican pizza. Not for me as a pizza love.

However. The spag bol and the carbonara, brilliant. This wasn't hotel standard pasta and sauce. This is Edinburgh (where we eat a lot) restaurant standard of food. You could tell this Ragu wasn't made by a mexican chef trying to do italian. It was a mexican chef trained or studied in Italian cooking. The herbs, spices etc were all there, rich and the meat perfect which I'm super fussy with "mince".

Deserts were also fantastic. I think the caneloni it was, again restaurant quality. Wish I could attach more pics.

Bhogali Indian cuisine: It's my favourite type of food and was blown away by the standard of this restaurant. Again this is Indian food cooked Indian way, everyone knows how good real Indian food tastes and can be.
Lamb starter. Amazing, especially the ball.
Samosa starter. Best samosa I've ever tasted.
Butter chicken, super tasty super rich. Rice and bread perfect.

Rogan Josh, blown away again. The best lamb Rogan Josh I can remember having. Seriously that good!

Now on to the Chang Thai, Thai cuisine.

By far our favourite. Visited 3 times during our stay. Where do I start?

It's not just some of the best Thai food I've tasted, it's some of the best food I've ever had in a restaurant, anywhere. I told the boss this with the Blue shirt, he was beaming with pride.

People have super different tastes but all the little mistakes that hotels subconsciously hit, slightly cold, lacking flavour, small things but big things all the same. None of these were apparent in any place of food (ignore room service) I won't go through each dish we had, it wont matter, but we visited 3 times having 3 courses twice (not something we ever do!)

So at this juncture I will mention some service (more later) Juan in Chang Thai was out of this world. He served us 3 times out of 3 and made such an effort with my son as everyone did. My glasses were never empty, we must have drank a few bottles of champagne in our time there!

So the other reason I mention Juan, upon entering the second time he asked to serve us, he wasn't left an obscene tip if anything shorter than some North America. Dinners but he made that effort, remembered us and my son.

He then told us after we sat down that he wanted to offer something special for us as it was our second time (we won't be the only people to receive this privilege but it won't be common). He was to bring a sharing dish for me and my wife as well as the other dishes we were ordering. We felt very special. He brought the chef out to meet us and I reiterated how special his food was. He had studied food etc in Indonesia and it shows. He was privileged and said he was making us something different to share. Not on the menu.

Out came with our main course a beautiful shrimp platter board, not too big, marinaded in one of the most incredible sauces I've tasted. I ate some not even as a shrimp fan but it simply that good.

Phenomenal second visit and spoiled. We told Juan we would try and come back before our flight home if we could.

The day before we left we went back for our final dinner, asked for Juan to serve us if we could and they couldn't be more obliging. He was overwhelmed to see us and thanked us so much for coming back again. He insisted he must do something special again!!!! Something different! We were quite happy with the great menu but he wanted a show stopper.

Again the chef came out to see us and thank us (I don't know how he gets his work done) this time telling us what he was going to make. He had beautiful duck he was going to use if we were happy (not that fussed on duck but knowing the cooking I couldn't wait!)

After out smaller main course out came this dish, served by Juan and the chef. A marinaded half deep fried duck with a beautiful special fried riced and egg on top (common Thai addition) see the picture, this thing looked and smelled unreal. We are the entire thing, the rice just as tasty as the duck. Another super spoilng treat and what a way to finish.

We didn't try mexican or Japanese. Just due to time and other things on.

This wasn't hotel food in anyway shape of form. I imagine some will offer a difference of opinion but I can only go off me and my wife's consistent empty plates everywhere we ate.

A few special mentions.

Russell the bar tender. Amazing man just happy to chat and get along making any drink on request with no confusion! Apart from his strength of them! Boozy!

Jose Francisco and Javier at the main pool bar. Both brilliant. Javier is a great cocktail maker.

Alejandro in the nest. Every night I would go down to get milk for baby or a few drinks for the room. What a lovely man. The whole team, is brilliant down there. It's very quiet sadly so most people use the main restaurants sadly. He made me laugh as did the brilliant Oscar who cannot make a mojito to save his life but great people. Demetrio, floro and the lady Laura who was always so helpful.

Every lady at every desk at you enter. Doing that a hundred times a day can be tiring but they do it with a massive smile and made a fuss everytime they seen my son, he's has recognisable curly hair, especially with humidity.

Raymundo in Isla Blanca. Enrique I think in Isla Blanca who spent 5 minutes making a special flaming coffee at our table!!!

And hopefully not forgetting too many...

Brenda, working in Isla Blanca in the morning mostly, this seating girl went out her way towards my son it touched us. A few days before leaving she bought him a few things as a gift. A lady paid a few pesos a day and not on tips really (we had to force some on her bought my son on a trip worth thousands, gifts. And my wife a necklace. These were not hotel gifts, they weren't freebies lying around. The car was bought from a shop! Blown away and no reason she had to do that. She found us every morning more than once to say hi to Luca and talk to him.

That about it?

Nice place, nice rooms, nice showers/jacuzzi baths. Clean everywhere constantly! Never got on a boat. Seemed harder to get. The bridge to the village needs finishing quickly. That's a long walk from building 15!

Spa was out of this world. Free of charge for facilities to use. Sauna, steam, salt, snow room (OMG!), Warm bath, cold bath. Massaging jets everywhere. We were in 3 times!

Thanks GP. It's getting more expensive the longer it's open but it will continue to improve. Sorry for the long boring review.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
7  Thank kgvertu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AriadnaCA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Costa Mujeres Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to receive such a beautiful and detailed review about your recent stay in our Family Selection.

Our aim is to provide you with a wonderful vacation experience in every sense and we are very happy that we achieve it thanks to the outstanding attention received for each member of our team, in addition of the beauty and comfort of your Loft Suite, the exquisite gastronomy of our à la carte restaurants, the tranquility of Zentropia Spa, the relaxing pools and all the details which resulted in a luxury holidays.

We assure you that all the collaborators mentioned will be congratulated and recognized by our Management for their professionalism, attention to details and warm service.
We will be more than happy to serve you once again on your next visit to Costa Mujeres.

Sincerely,

Ariadna Camarena
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this resort during the first week of September. We also chose to stay in the Family Select section due to its proximity to the beach. Family Select was a great fit for us because it offers a small restaurant/buffet in the actual building so going to breakfast was a breeze. I was able to eat while the boys (ages 9&11) slept in and then I could head straight to the beach. Our family hosts were Luis and Aliria. Both were gracious and accommodating although due to scheduling, we saw more of Luis. He introduced us to our room, made our dinner reservations and was always available with a smile and quick response. We were very pleased with all of his help. On our last evening, Aliria set up a bath for the kids, balloons and cookies. Actually, every evening the boys received cookies and a milk at turndown if our room was available. Housekeeping did a great job and restocking of the mini fridge was never and issue. There are many very good restaurants on property. We were very pleased with the main buffet. Staff was always pleasant and attentive. We all loved the sports bar as it had screens to watch the games, pool table and fusball tables. The boys were able to shoot pool during the day when it wasn’t too crowded with grownups. Our favorite dinners were at the French restaurant, Mexican and Thai restaurants. The evening shows for adults were entertaining. This is a large resort! There are golf carts and boats to take you from your rooms to the restaurant areas, beach, pool, etc. Sometimes it was quicker to walk than to wait for a ride. The beach here is clear of seaweed that plagues much of the Cancún and Playa del Carmen areas. It is also a gentle beach with very little waves. There is sea grass in areas that make for great snorkeling for the kids. This will not be the kind of beach for everyone but we found it fun and relaxing. Beach service was usually very good all day. Main pool has activities throughout the day that my husband and boys participated in. We never had a problem finding chairs either at the beach nor at of the pools. The kids program is geared towards younger children. My boys were not very interested in the activities or the kids club so that was a little disappointing for them. We have stayed at other resorts were activities for tweens were specific to their age group and plentiful. It could just be that this is a newer hotel and so this area has not been fully developed yet but it would be something for the resort to consider.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank garciaswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AriadnaCA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Costa Mujeres Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

The entire team at Grand Palladium Costa Mujeres Resort & Spa is delighted to learn that your stay in our Family Selection was a marvelous experience for you and your family.

We thank you for highlighting the attentive service received by your Family Hosts Luis and Aliria, both will be congratulated by our Management for their outstanding performance.

Moreover, knowing your satisfaction with our facilities, pool and beach areas, restaurants and shows fill us with satisfaction.

In addition, we thank you as well for your kind feedback regarding the activities for teens, we will transmit it to our Entertainment Manager for its consideration.

At Costa Mujeres we look forward to serving you for another family getaway in the Mexican Caribbean.

Best regards,

Ariadna Camarena
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews