We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,499)
Filter reviews
4,499 results
Traveler rating
3,792
469
151
47
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,792
469
151
47
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lupita lounge la amada plunge pool aroma restaurant lupita restaurant beachfront casita story casita room service ocean view terrace aqua viva natura bar sushi boutique resort beach concierge swim up bar seasons tours swim up suite
Filter
Updating list...
3,992 - 3,997 of 4,499 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2010

What a great place to stay. The staff makes an effort to remember your name, cater to your needs and beyond. We opted for the hotel service to and from the airport. Glad we paid the $138 USD for a Lincoln town car and/or SUV to shuttle us to and from the airport.The airport can be crazy, but the service was great and we were at the hotel and enjoying ourselves at the beach in no time! The grill near the pool and beach serves great food and Andy makes sure you get what you want and in a hurry without even knowing it! Since the hotel is a 15 min cab ride to the hotel zone, we asked the concierge to get us a taxi. Roberto the taxi driver took us to the hotel zone for shopping, lunch and back (about a 4 hour tour). He stayed with us the entire time. He said the hotel wants to make sure we are taken care of-he waited for us to shop, dine and return. Once we entered the hotel (thru the 2 guarded gates) Roberto stopped to show us the parrots and boa! What an opportunity for postcard pictures! All for under $50 USD!!! What great service. We ventured out and took a tour to Chichen Itza with CancunVista tours. I later found out that they are a travel agent and are not directly connected to the tour itself. Anyhow, it was a great trip, the tour guide, Victor and his assistant Eric (who also acted as bartender) were GREAT! Victor was very knowledgeable on the subject and added some humor to the trip. They served endless drinks (Corona, rum, tequila, all types of soda and endless bottled water), muffins, sweets, etc. The lunch at the cenote was a nice buffet (Hacienda Xaybeth) and drinks were included also. I keep mentioning drinks because it is so important to keep hydrated when the heat rises and I recommend keeping to bottled drinks and away from local water, ice cubes, etc.(advice from the state dept and my doctor). We also took the boat ride (a must do-the boat was very clean and you get a great view of the crystal clear turquoise water) to Isla Mujeres. The Island itself doesn't have much to offer and is a little touristy. However, the golf cart (rental for 1 hr is enough at about $30USD) is nice to tour around. My daughter and husband took the parasailing adventure from the beach near the Excellence Hotel (a sister hotel to La Amada), an adult only hotel. The cost was $110 USD/couple. They couldn't stop talking about it-great view from above and the captain will take your picture while you are up in the air. All in all it was a very relaxing vacation at a beautiful hotel (5 star quality-coming from a family who have traveled all over the world, japan, sri lanka, europe, china, etc). There were other families there with their children but they were all well behaved. THe pools were a bit cool (shaded by the buildings) but the beach was fabulous--white powdery sand and crystal clear water. We were told the sand at the La Amada is native sand because that area is directly across from Isla Mujeres which protects it from the hurricanes. A word of caution, there is an undertow in Cancun so take caution (red and yellow flags) when swimming. We walked nearly 2 miles and never encountered a vendor trying to sell us something (unlike the other hotels in the hotel zone)-only hotel guests. OH- they serve Champagne upon arrival ( a classy touch) and for breakfast!! They have wireless internet that works on the patio. The rooms are sooooo clean, very large and have European showers! I Hope this review helps!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AvidTraveler030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

Where to begin? Quality of resort, both indoors and out, is amazing. Staff so genuinely eager to please that it was almost embarrassing. Food excellent; if you don't see what you want on the menu, the chef will make it for you. Beach was a bit windy when we were there, but incredibly wide, clean and well groomed. Yes, La Amada is a bit of a drive from tourist attractions and downtown Cancun, but isn't the seclusion part of its appeal? Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L2T22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

We stayed at the hotel on March 2nd. We split our vacation up and also stayed at Maromo Resort previous to checking into La Amada.

As far as prices go - La Amada is very fair when it comes to food and drinks. The other hotels are much more expensive according to our experience. The food was delicious and the Aroma restaurant made authentic mexican food off the menu, per my husband request - and it was amazing and very fairly priced!

We found the service to be amazing - just like all the other reviews...they went above and beyond to make sure your stay was exceptional.

The rooms are amazing and huge! We stayed in a swim up room and were very happy.

The hotel is so large and being brand new it felt a bit empty. The spa is amazing - and we agree with all the Aqua Vive rave reviews. We highly recommend doing it with the guide at no extra charge. We would have never gotten the full experience without someone telling us what to do and the massage at the end was fantastic. The pool at the spa is indoor/outdoor and is heated.

TIP - we learned that the airport charges 3x as much for a cab leaving FROM the airport. Example - a cab is $75.00 to get to hotel and $35 to get back to airport. I would advise arranging transportation a head of time.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank mswanhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed at La Amada the last week in February - our first vacation in nearly a decade without children. As previous reviewers have described, the setting is lovely, secluded and romantic. It is not an adults-only resort, but has that feeling - only a couple of infants and a few well-behaved children (ages ~3-10) were staying at La Amada during our vacation. Earlier reviews have identified this place as not ideal for older kids and we would agree unless you rent a car and plan day trips.

The accommodations are top notch. We stayed in a Junior Suite Ocean View and couldn't have been more pleased. A few previous posters have commented on the beds. For us, sleeping felt like laying on a cloud - it was THAT comfortable. The room is spacious, but the layout (at the risk of repeating previous posts) is not conducive to a family traveling with children older than, say, toddler age. The shower and jacuzzi are open to the room. For couples, of course, this is VERY cool.

Many resorts are beautifully appointed and have gorgeous settings. For us, what sets La Amada apart from the many places we've visited around the globe is the service. In short, it was phenomenal. There is a strong work ethic and desire to please that you just don't find in, say, Turks & Caicos. Pablo, Eric, Edgar, Rubin and so many others took such excellent care of us - learning our names and eventually even anticipating our needs. In fact, everyone who works at the resort smiles and greets you, from the managers to the crew washing sand off the path. One day at the amazing breakfast buffet, my husband was searching for a particular item when a chef noticed him through the window, inquired about what he needed and personally delivered it to our table. Another example: At the tequila tasting we learned about a drink ingredient that's not readily available in the US. Without any prompting on our part, our bartender offered to buy it for us at Walmart and the next day the item was in our hands. A few other posters have reported a different service experience. My husband and I can only explain it as attitude - as a guest just be open, gracious, respectful, and above all friendly - also be sure to reward the great service by tipping well.

Meals were uniformly tasty with plenty of variety on the both the Isla Grill and Aroma menus, provided your palette is adventurous. Room service was excellent - food always delivered in a timely fashion and hot.

We couldn't stay at La Amada and not experience their spa. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed their Aqua Viva treatment followed by the 80-minute couples massage. World class, for sure.

The beach and sea are beautiful - lots of lounge chairs and beach beds with umbrellas and landscaping for privacy. Bar service at the beach was excellent. Added bonus (at least for us) is that wifi extends to the beach. Kudos to the beach concierge for all the great recreaction info and ice cold washcloths.

La Amada opened in February 2009. Its sister, the Excellence, an adults-only all inclusive is located right next door and is a year or two older. We ventured onto the Excellence property a couple of times while making arrangements for water sports and found it to be quite attractive, but not on the same scale as La Amada. What really stood out for us at Excellence is the social atmosphere. The alcohol, as you might expect, was free flowing - waiters delivering trays after trays chock full of bar drinks to guests - and it felt like a club. And this was around noon. Yes, it's relaxation, but not the scene we craved.

We took to heart the previous posts about the expense of calling a cab to get around, so we rented a car. We used it several times, including a trip to the Mayan ruins in Tulum (a 105 minute drive). We booked the vehicle through Thrifty for $120 and it ended up costing $385 with "full coverage". The Thrifty customer service rep volunteered that we could pay $340 CASH up front and save $45. Hmmmm.... Then on our way out the door to our car rental a friendly Thrifty rep offered us maps, directions, advice but this was quickly followed by a hard, hard Hotel Zone (time share?) sell. Not the best way to begin a vacation, but when we arrived at La Amada and were greeted with champagne and cold wash cloths, all was forgotten.

Having traveled internationally quite a bit, the customs drill on arrival was expected. Two long lines, but they moved quickly. It's always a pain when you land because you're so excited to start your fabulous vacation, but there's just no getting around it. On departure we arrived 2 hrs and 45 minutes before our 9:27 am flight, waited in the unavoidable long line which left us with 30 minutes to grab breakfast before boarding.

Bottom line: We will definitely be returning to La Amada resort and highly, highly recommend it for couples and families with small children. Make sure you try the margaritas, frozen or on ice, with or without salt. It's all good.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vermontsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

This hotel is behind not one but two sets of big iron gates. Your taxi hits the first gate: the guy radios in, then moves an orange cone. You go down a road. Then you hit a roundabout done in stone mosaic. The taxi has to slow down it's so bumpy. Here's another gate, another guy with a radio, another orange cone. Is this a Mexican prison? Am I about to meet Pancho Villa?

You're in Mexico, but you're not really in Mexico. Playa Mujeres is like a little sovereign nation or something. (Sometimes it seems like a ghost town — the residences on the south side of the beach are eerily vacant. At night, hundreds of rooms with only one blue light on in a distant window.) You're about, oh, 45 minutes from Cancun.

Generally, you stay here so you can STAY here. You've distanced yourself from the city and the ruins so you can enjoy a nice, quiet beach (a rarity in Cancun proper.) And the beach is truly extremely lovely — a nice view out to Isla Mujeres, where city lights flicker at night underneath the clean, starry sky. Ay madre mia...

Yes, fortunately, there is Isla Mujeres. On the day when you need some variety, something more than La Amada, you can call La Amada's concierge and have them pull up a taxi. You take a 150 peso ride ($13) to Puerto Juarez, which is about ten minutes away. Then you take a 140 peso ride ($12) by ferry, which takes about twenty minutes. The ferry is round trip. So, for two people, this whole deal costs about $60. But, read up, the island has a wealth of restaraunts and nice spots. For groceries, you can hit the Súper Xpress, which is a few blocks away if you walk straight up the street from the ferry. The Playa Norte seemed to have more waves than La Amada's but Amada's is just less populated.

Souvenir shopping on the island is plentiful but it's a lot of the same-old ceramic bowls, ceramic frogs and sapphire jewelry. Although there was a store which sold tequila bottles with little clay figurines pleasuring each other. And they had these wooden ladies who were giving birth to a little guy who was sticking his face out between the lady's legs with a big smile. So every once in awhile there's a real gem.

If you're staying only at La Amada, you won't need anything but a credit card. But on the island (or elsewhere) you'll need pesos. Best thing is to stop at the ATM at the airport outside of custom. It was only a $1.50 ATM fee and the exchange rate there was better than La Amada's. (Keep in mind the menus are in Spanish and the dollars are Mexican. So when it says it's going to charge you $20 that means 20 pesos and that means about $1.50. And when you take out $1500 from checking, that means 1500 pesos and that means only $120.)

I also used USA Transfers for a private van to get to and from the hotel. I'm so glad I did — the nonsensical driving in Mexico would have had everyone stressed and fighting wherever we went. The cost was $79. You don't pay online. You pay $59 on arrival. And $20 when they pick you up. Our driver was there, on the dot, at 6:30 AM on a Sunday. (Room service also had breakfast for us at 5:30 AM — the candy and drinks may be overpriced, but the meals are very affordable.)

Overall, a fantastic experience. The weather was okay — sunny in the mornings, progressively windy and cloudy till evening, but still warm enough to stretch out on the beach at night. The pools were mostly too cold to use. I saw one guy get in but he was wincing the whole way in. Who cares, though, you have a hot tub in your room.

I just wish housekeeping would have quit turning the TV on. That piano music on the Amada channel is never ending.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patternize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews