We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, luxurious, wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing, luxurious, wonderful!”
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We stayed in one of the rooms with a private pool on the beach. It was absolutely the best place we have ever stayed, and we travel a lot! We were treated like royalty from the minute we arrived. We had a rental car, so we could explore, but the best times we had were just being at our room, relaxing on our private terrace and swimming in our private pool, looking out at the gorgeous view. Every evening we spent on our terrace having a few margaritas. We loved the peace and quiet. I even loved the smell of the soap in the room. I felt rejuvenated by staying there, and the price was unbelievable for a very very upscale resort.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelinpeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,773
    396
    122
    41
    27
See reviews for
927
1,878
73
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anna, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

the hotel is exactly as the name implies-the beloved. The staff is what makes this hotel one of the best experiences we have ever had. Very friendly, trying so hard to please and they strive to remember you...almost a family run operation. The drinks were superb, especially the margaritas (not watered down). The food was excellent but not a lot of variety (small menu) but they always gave a sample of something at each dinner...like scallops on one night (fantastic and i dont even like seafood). The rooms were wonderful at such a great price. You are isolated but if you are looking to get away it was great. Seaweed on the beach was the only problem but they tried to scrape it away each am. Would we go back again? in a heartbeat if we were looking to destress....a true treasure (only 109 rooms).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank db03112014a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We were hesitant to book our trip to La Amada because the low rates made us wonder whether there was something wrong with the place--some sort of catch. Once we got there we realized the low rates are probably simply trying to attract customers because the hotel is so new and hasn't made a name for itself yet. However, it is everything the reviews claim and more! In a year or two the rooms will probably cost ten times as much, and with good reason... But, it you have the time to take a vacation now, enjoy the cheap rates while they last!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citydweller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at La Amada for 4 nights (I regret not staying longer), It was absolutely the best hotel I've ever been too. I already want to go back. Nothing can compare to this place. The staff were polite and never ignored their guests. Location, was a little far from everything. We rented a car, so it made things easier, but it was also nice to be far from the crowds. We ordered room service for breakfast, and the portions were a little small, but dinner at Aroma made up for it. I had the lobster with rice and it was the best I've ever tasted. If you're looking for a hotel in Cancun, go with La Amada, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chanelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

A group of friends went to the La Amada for a vacation with bonding & relaxation. Everything that has been said is true. This a wonderful hotel made even more awesome by the staff...did they take acting classes?!

The quality is far beyond the very low rates for the rooms (go with the swim up suite its like a huge private pool). The grounds are impeccable and I’m picky about even the smallest amount of trash – there was none…anywhere. The room was large with wonderful (glass door)showers. The bathroom was tricky for late night trips, the bathroom doors do not reach the ceiling so sound travels. The beds are hard but they are the only thing that isn’t absolutely perfect! oh, one other small thing - the fridge in the room is not a fridge. It's a cooler so don't expect anything very cold. Also, the ice machine has a built water filter and free bottled water is provided daily in your room.

The pools were perfect and very clean (maintained multiple times a day). Occasionally, the beach had a bit more seaweed that I was prepared to handle, others obviously ignored that quirk. However, when the seaweed was less, the water was great! The buildings were beautiful. There is a full spread at breakfast, which was appreciated since it was not all inclusive. The (included) breakfast was impeccable, only the cheese eggs were not the best (and are extra along with other traditional breakfast like pancakes, bacon, etc). The staff at Aroma restaurant was the best of the whole place from webster and his partner (dinner) to Andrea and Pablo at breakfast (also held in Aroma). Once you’re there for more than a day they know what you want before you walk in the door (now I know why they wanted that picture J) The food at the Isla Grille was just okay and so was the service-- its okay to skip it…You should, however, visit Aroma for dinner, the mushroom butter on the ribeye was divine and my friends enjoyed the grouper and lamb that they ordered. Again service was perfection. Every Wednesday at Lupita Lounge is a chef tasting based on a food - we had coconut. Yum! coconut martini, ceviche, and other snacks. The mini massage was free, awesome and too short (smile).

Cancun Transfers was cool, reliable and cheap. They actually found the last of our party and brought us to her when our flights came into different terminals.

Visit Isla Mujeres but don’t take the snorkeling and other offers before or after you get on the ferry (70 pesos). If you get there and change your mind the offers will still be there. Rent a golf cart to drive yourself around and enjoy the island and the people and the beauty at your own pace– you wont regret it. Had the best dinner at Cafe Mogagua - get the tacos very yummy for 120 pesos.

Lastly, a warning – you are surrounded by…nothing. If you want night life you are stuck with a 250 peso cab (150 return) ride to the hotel zone or paying a fee for the excellence hotel/resort next door. This is fine if you’re focused on the relaxation and doing nothing (the theme).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kebs7845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

My wife and I stayed at La Amada for six nights in the middle of August. The resort is about 40 minutes from the airport and 15-20 minutes north of downtown Cancun. It's located a world away from the hubbub of Cancun's hotel zone, which is exactly what we were looking for.

We were greeted with champagne and provided with wonderful service during our entire stay. Our room was cleaned twice a day, with turn down service at night. The concierge took care of our every need (thank you Marcela, Marcelo and Diego!).

August is the low season for Cancun and it felt like we had the hotel to ourselves at times. We always had our pick of poolside beds or seaside chairs. Restaurant service was prompt. Breakfast was included with our room - and we ate enough for two meals every day. It featured a different fruit and treat from "Grandma's corner" every day.

La Amada also has a beautiful spa. We got a free 90-minute hydrotherapy session for staying at the hotel. We got to experience all of the different jets, sauna and pool. It even included a 10-minute massage - that, frankly, if we had stayed another day, may have led my wife and I to splurge on a 50-minute massage.

All beaches in Mexico are public but La Amada's location makes its beach extremely private. It's not as blue or expansive as the La Playa Norte on Isla Mujeres (well worth the trip) but it comes without the barrage of entrepreneurs too!

The only downside - which was an upside for us - that I could see for folks is its distance from downtown Cancun. A taxi ride costs about $30 round trip (without tip). If you want to go out each night, then I'd recommend the hotel zone. Otherwise, enjoy relaxing at La Amada.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eck2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Beautiful room. Great pools, especially the one under the restaurant. Great beach. Delicious breakfast. Easy daytrip to Isla Mujeres. Remy. The spa was out of this world. The service was superb. We came here for our 10-year anniversary and our first trip w/o our kids and couldn't have had a better experience.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.2 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11,408 reviews
8.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 180 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
9.0 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#5 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beloved Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beloved Playa Mujeres

Property: Beloved Playa Mujeres
Address: Condominio Playa Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly La Amada Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beloved Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beloved Hotel Playa Mujeres combines luxury and comfort with the convenience of the 'boutique style' Adults only all-inclusive Hotel, in the perfect setting poised for pleasure and relaxation. Here you'll have a comfortable home base of contemporary luxury. Stylish hotel architecture and decor, generous suites, spotless service, deluxe facilities, and of course, our secluded beachfront setting, all enable you to let your days happen naturally. At this intimate beachfront community you'll enjoy personalized spa and wellness programs, fine dining, seaside golf, boating and fishing from our inland marina, and a host of other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Savannahville Tours N.V., Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beloved Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Amada Resort
La Amada Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing