We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destination Wedding of Our Dreams!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Destination Wedding of Our Dreams!!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband and I had been planning for our destination wedding for two years. After doing some extensive research on resorts in Cancun, thank God we came across The Beloved Hotel. We originally started working with a wedding planner by the name of Alejandro, who was excellent and responded promptly to our emails until a change came in December, 2013. Alejandro was not as responsive due to some staff changes and we began working with their new wedding coordinator Llenny. Llenny picked up with our wedding details as if she was our original wedding coordinator. She saved all of the emails from Alejandro with our wedding details, which was very helpful, because we did not want to have to communicate a years worth of planning again.

Our wedding date was Saturday May 17th, 2014. We arrived at the Beloved Hotel 5 days prior to the wedding on Monday May 12th. We arranged our stay that way so that we could meet with Llenny to and to get a feel of the resort before our guest had arrived.

Check In: The hotel Lobby looked very luxurious with a refreshing spa aroma! As soon as we walked in, a very friendly young man greeted us by the name of Christian (bellman). Christian gave us a cold towel and two glasses of champagne. He escorted us to the Isla Grill for lunch because we were early for our check in.

Room: Our room was immaculate! We stayed in the ocean view suite. Our room had a king size bed with marble floors throughout the entire room. The balcony had a table and two chairs, and a lounge bed, which we slept outside a few nights during our stay. Days we did not feel like going downstairs to Aroma, we ordered room service for breakfast and ate out on the balcony. The bar had top shelf liquor that is restocked daily if needed. You can call room service any time during the day or night. There are no words to describe the rooms at The Beloved and you cannot go wrong from booking the junior suite to the presidential suite. Each room is gorgeous with a Jacuzzi.

Food/Entertainment/Staff: We enjoyed Isla Grill for lunch with our favorite waiter whose name was also Christian. He was very welcoming and encouraged us to try new things i.e. the electric lemonade and their tasty mudslides. The Isla Grill fish tacos and burritos were great! For dinner, we suggest trying El Mar, and for breakfast Aroma is the place to go. If you enjoy sushi, Lupita Lounge has a sushi bar open from 8pm-10pm. Lupita lounge was our favorite location on the resort. The sushi is absolutely delicious and the exceptional staff, Humberto, Christino, Ricardo, and Carlos, were very kind and went above and beyond to meet our expectations. Lupita Lounge also provides live entertainment every night until 11pm. For light snack/brunch Natura is great for waffles, crepes w/nutella or salmon, and refreshing smoothies. Mario does a great job at Natura.

Bonfire: Friday night, we had a welcome bonfire and Caribbean buffet for our guest. We also had a live Caribbean band that played for an hour. This was the perfect idea to welcome our guest and to start the wedding weekend. Everyone had a wonderful time and enjoyed the festivities. When the Caribbean band left, our DJ who we flew in played his music until it ended at 11pm.

The Wedding: Our wedding Ceremony took place at 5:00pm on the beach. We had to wait 15 minutes, due to another ceremony that was being held at the Excellence. It was not a problem for our guest or us. The Ceremony was simply amazing! For our decorations/flowers, we used an outside vendor that works with The Beloved Hotel called Mayan Hospitality (Raffaele). Everything came together beautifully. Llenny, made sure the wedding party walked out when they were suppose to. She did not rush us during our ceremony/reception and made sure we were enjoying ourselves. After the ceremony, we had a cocktail hour on the beach, followed by the reception at the Isla Grill. Just the ambiance of the hotel set the tone of the wedding. Our excellent waiters during the reception were Eduardo, and Noe.

I could go on about The Beloved Hotel and the excellent service they provide, but I highly recommend the resort for a destination wedding, honeymoon, or a vacation to relax. We plan to stay at The Beloved for our 1 year anniversary May, 2015!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jamese H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,886
    405
    127
    41
    27
See reviews for
932
1,988
73
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was our second trip to the Beloved Hotel. We were there last year June 2013. Both times we have had a swim-up suite. I can honestly say I loved it as much as the first trip. The property is amazingly clean and beautiful. All aspects of our stay from checking in, housekeeping, meals, etc. were excellent.

There are many very fine people working at this property. Noe made us a fabulous shrimp and pesto appetizer, Luis has an amazing sense of humor, Alex the pool bar bartender, Alex who logs miles around the property taking food and drink orders, Heyden at the Lobby Bar makes a great martini, Emberto at El Mar who is superb at his position and Edgar and Christian with the Bell Staff.

The food was very good. We had excellent steaks that were cooked perfectly. Enjoyed the breakfasts at all of the restaurants.

The spa is definitely worth enjoying. Adrian (excellent massage) and Griselda ( excellent facial) are both very good.

We did notice the room cooling issue but we turned the ceiling fan on and combined with the air conditioning it seemed to aid the problem.

My deepest regard for Mr. Garcias, the Beloved's General Manager, as he has a "hands on " approach in respect to his management of his property and it shows results.

This is an excellent hotel for total relaxation. Everything you could possibly need or want is right there. This trip we did not even leave the property.

If God be willing we will be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AuroraTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was our second time at The Beloved and just like before, we were completely pampered. The location is perfect (very private); beach is excellent; food was delicious; and drinks were top shelf and aplenty. But the best part of the resort was the helpful and friendly staff. Thank you, Noe, Paulo, Christian (bell boy), Christian (waiter), Antonio, Giovani, Felix, Romeo and Wendy (kids club) for making this vacation extra relaxing and enjoyable. I highly recommend this hotel without reservation, and I hope to return for a third trip next year.

Thanks again for the great memories.

Los Perez

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ES-714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed at The Beloved 4 nights 5 days.... The staff in the restaurants and room service/housekeeping were great! However, the lobby isn't so warm and welcoming...the bellman who took our bags to the room hustled us when we offered him a tip. We only had $20 American we wanted to give him $5 for helping us up and when we asked for change he said he would give us 100 pesos and a $5 bill. He said 100 pesos is the same as $10 American...little did we know until we went to purchase items in the gift shop that this was untrue. The difference is a few dollars but but still I don't expect this at a 5 star resort...perhaps that's me being naive although I have traveled all over the world. Moving along the rooms are large and stocked with alcohol. There was a problem with humidity in our first room so were accommodated and switched to another room on a higher floor which was great because from the 2nd floor and below an ocean view is not existent. But I was very happy that we switched! The beach servers are great! The food was OK...except on Mexican night I can say it was excellent. Great kiddie pool area. My toddler loved it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MBEtienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My lovely wife and I stayed there for our honeymoon. We travel a bit and have been to Mexico.

Everything was as described. Food was very good-order off the menu if you don't see what you want. The beef was very good.

Drinks, at first I tried one of theirs, no bueno. Then ordered a top shelf margarita with premium tequilla. Very good! Heyden in the lobby bar is the best. Orea Martini rocks, also the French 75 and French Martini.

Room, very good. We were on the 3rd floor. Wish the room would have gotten colder, but oh well. Grounds are very good.

We did not hear any complaints. This is mexico, so their 5 star is not the same as other parts of the world. The kindness and eargerness to please of the staff makes up for any shortcomings. Keep in mind, it is hot and humid so be prepared.

Room Tip: We stayed at a Casita the last night, Hermosa 2, much better than a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

My new husband and I chose The Beloved after hours and hours of research on romantic honeymoon destinations. Based on the overall reviews across multiple sites and on the advice of personal friends our trip was booked. I will preface this review with the fact that we both travel extensively (one for business and the other for pleasure) so we have a lot of combined travel experience. So here is the scoop on The Beloved:

Car Service booked through the hotel: FABULOUS! We were greeted by a very nice driver with a sign who immediately took our luggage from us and escorted us to a new Ford Explorer with the cold air blasting. We were handed cold towels soaked in aromatherapy oils and cold bottled water for the 30 minute drive to the hotel.

Check-in and rooms: We were greeted with cold flutes of champagne upon arrival by a very nice bellman. Since we arrived at 8:00 AM we really were not expecting our room to be ready and as expected, it was not. We were offered a hospitality room to shower and change so that we could be comfortable at the pool or beach while waiting for our room. This was an excellent option for us since we had taken the red eye out and were in need of refreshing. We were also offered the same amenity upon departure since our flight out was in the evening and we wanted to enjoy the resort until time to leave.

We tipped the gentleman at the front desk in hopes of getting into our room more quickly. We were promised by 3:00 PM. When 3:30 rolled around and we still had no room, my husband went back up to the front desk to check on things and after some confusion, we had the key to our room. This would have to be the only thing that did not go perfectly as far as service went. Everything else after this was fabulous!

Rooms: We booked a standard jr. suite for the first part of our stay and were upgraded to a partial ocean view. The room was very well appointed and large with a decent view of the ocean in the distance. These rooms are clearly meant for those who are not shy around each other as the shower has a huge glass window looking out into the living/bedroom area with no chance for cover. This was not a problem for us but for those traveling with friends or multiple groups in the same room it could be problematic. Also the room never really gets all that cool. The thermostat will display 64 degrees but it never got below about 75. We found that the bath amenities (shampoo, shower gel, etc.) were very luxurious and I never even used my own things from home. The minibar contained several full-sized bottles of liquor and some snacks. The fridge was also stocked with several beverage choices including some beer and wine. All in all the room was large and beautiful with a generous balcony with daybed and table and chairs.

Our second room was a beachfront casita suite with private pool (Hermosa 2). This room was also excellent. We were steps from the main pool and beach with our own private pool. This room was a bit smaller in size than the jr. suites but did offer a bit more privacy in the bathroom. There were all of the same amenities as the jr. suites. It also got a lot cooler than our first room; so much that we even had to pull up the covers at night. Only complaint here would be the construction (sounded like jack hammering) going on during the day upstairs. Thankfully we did not sleep in or want to nap. Oh and did I mention that the wait staff come right up to your patio for food and beverage service during the day? FABULOUS!!

The beach and pools: The beach was gorgeous and clean with many daybeds in the shade. We never had a problem finding a spot no matter what time we got out there. The beach had wait service as well as a little grill type of restaurant serving up a variety of food and drink each day. The beach itself was combed throughout the day and we saw very little to no seagrass. In addition there were standup paddle boards, a hobie cat sailing catamaran, snorkeling equipment and paddle boats all at our disposal. We particularly enjoyed the SUP as this is something that we do regularly at home.

The pools were clean and the water was fairly warm. There were plenty of daybeds for lounging. The wait service was fantastic as they would bring you practically anything that you asked for, even if it wasn't normally on the menu. The margaritas were some of the best I have ever had. Luis at the swim-up bar is a fabulous bartender!!

Food: all in all the food was more than we would ever have expected for an all inclusive. There were MANY choices-something for everyone really. Aroma was FANTASTIC for breakfast and we ate there each morning. Isla Grill was our dinner fav with excellent and varied steak choices each night which we couldn't seem to stop ordering since it was so good. We ate at El Mar twice having lobster one night and then the Chinese buffet another. I have to say that I did not expect to come to Mexico to have decent Chinese food but it really was delicious! I tried the ceviche at Lupita lounge and it also was very good.

Bars and Entertainment: Lupita lounge was a beautiful place to end the day listening to a variety of recorded and live music; most of which was fairly mellow. There is no real party atmosphere here. We ended each night in the lobby bar with Hayden as our bartender. This seemed to be the place where everyone gathered at the end of the night and for good reason. This guy makes a mean craft-cocktail and really knows what he is doing. Ask for his own handmade habanero infused tequila or the Oreo martini. You will not be disappointed!

Service: The service overall was really top-notch. Everyone knew us by name within the first day there. Whatever we asked for we got. Everyone we passed in the walkways was smiling and friendly from the gardeners to the housekeeping staff.

In summary, I say just go! You never even need to leave the property. We will definitely be back and will be recommending The Beloved to all of out friends and family. Looking forward to our next visit!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelPrincess1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Beloved Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We thank you for having taken time to post a review about your experience at The Beloved Hotel and for choosing our hotel as your honeymoon destination. We wish you well in this especial step in your lives.

Thank you for letting us know how memorable and special was your stay, due to our resort facilities and atmosphere, the food & drinks quality encountered, and the courteous service provided by our staff members.

We are looking forward to see you again and celebrate maybe one of your wedding anniversaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here as a couple with adult daughters for 2 weeks and had a wonderful time. The manager has clearly got a fantastic team behind him, in the restaurants, front of house and housekeeping. Bright spacious and comfortable ocean front pool rooms had great views over the beach.
The restaurants and choice of food was perfect. Avoiding the typical AI buffets each restaurant was a la carte so you felt like you were individually served.

Contemporay Mexican, Seafood, Steaks and a more international restaurant plus a fantastic Sushi/Ceviche bar made for a great selection.

We had absolutely no issues with the hotel and all the staff were friendly, helpful and great at their jobs, but I would like to specifically recognise Concepcion and Lorena in the restaurants, Yedith for maid service and Luis on the beach bar staff, plus Edgar on bell desk. You made us all feel very welcome thank you.

Only one point I would like to make and that is although generally guests at this sort of 5* luxury hotel are respectful of other guests, there was a group of about 10-12 americans on the first week (Wednesday 11- Friday13th) who were perhaps the most obnoxious and inconsiderate group I have ever seen. They totally took over the pool bar, played their own loud (pretty awful country/western!) music, both at the pool and on the beach, and generally had no respect for others. If you read this you know who you are......thats why people don't like Americans!

I was disappointed that the hotel staff didn't really intervene and ask them to be more considerate, but apart from that, all i can say is 10/10 for everything.

Room Tip: Ground floor beachside casitas or ground floor main rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.2 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
3,096 reviews
0.1 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#2 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
11,721 reviews
8.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
10.7 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
9.0 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#6 of 175 in Cancun
5,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beloved Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beloved Playa Mujeres

Property: Beloved Playa Mujeres
Address: Condominio Playa Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly La Amada Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beloved Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beloved Hotel Playa Mujeres combines luxury and comfort with the convenience of the 'boutique style' Adults only all-inclusive Hotel, in the perfect setting poised for pleasure and relaxation. Here you'll have a comfortable home base of contemporary luxury. Stylish hotel architecture and decor, generous suites, spotless service, deluxe facilities, and of course, our secluded beachfront setting, all enable you to let your days happen naturally. At this intimate beachfront community you'll enjoy personalized spa and wellness programs, fine dining, seaside golf, boating and fishing from our inland marina, and a host of other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Savannahville Tours N.V., Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beloved Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Amada Resort
La Amada Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing