We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Nearby Hotels
$550
$486
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$475
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Finest Playa Mujeres(Playa Mujeres)
$420
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa(Playa Mujeres)(Great Value!)
$182
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Riu Dunamar(Playa Mujeres)
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$488
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
$158
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$36
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,151)
Filter reviews
4,151 results
Traveler rating
3,479
448
144
44
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,479
448
144
44
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslupita loungela amadaplunge poolaroma restaurantlupita restaurantstory casitabeachfront casitanatura barroom serviceaqua vivaocean view terracesushiboutique resortbeach conciergeswim up barseasons toursour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
2,399 - 2,404 of 4,151 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Everything about this resort is special. From the moment we arrived and were met with a drink to kindly helping us sort out transport problems at end, nothing wad too much for the staff. The setting is magical and the rooms and facilities real quality. The quiet, tranquil atmosphere was perfect for recharging. Great food in a range of wonderful restaurants including a beachfront option. Outstanding!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minniemoucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We just returned from a week-long stay at the Beloved. My husband and I traveled with our 2 children ages 6 and 10 months. We went over our spring break week. We read tons of reviews before booking so I wanted to write one to help give others a realistic picture of the experience- I will try to break it down in terms of the different components of our trip.

Resort/ Guests- First off, I want to comment on how NON-crowded it was, especially given that we went during spring break. I have stayed at other resorts (Excellence and several of the Palace Resorts) where you have to get up very early to reserve a good chair by the beach or the pool. This is not the case here. There were always good spots to be had. I would say that really only at the main pool did people reserve spaces but this did not affect us as we had a swim-up suite and spent most of our time either there or by the beach. There were beds across from our pool as well and rarely were they all taken

Our room- We were very pleased with our decision to book the swim-up suite. We read other reviews where people didn't get the type of room they reserved so we were relieved when this wasn't the case for us. This room was excellent- especially considering the baby could nap in the crib (provided and ready when we got there) and the 6-year old could swim while we relaxed on the chairs in the sun or the table or outdoor bed (all private for our room). It really was perfect for our needs. Very spacious. Shower is AMAZING and there is a Jacuzzi in the room and it is in the corner so you can open it to the outside too. Some reviewers commented on the lack of privacy- We are not modest and do all shower together as a family but if you are traveling with friends or older children this might be an an issue as the shower is totally see through and you have to walk past it to get to the toilet. That said. I really had no issue changing in the room- with the distance from other guests and the reflection from the glass in the room- no one from the outside could really see in, and honestly I didn't much care. Just didn't seem like a huge issue. The bathroom is in the back so you can just go back there and/or draw the curtains and its plenty private. I thought the swim-up suite was more private than some of the ground floor casitas that we saw

Housekeeping- excellent! Anything you need you just call and they come right away. You can tell them what time you want your room cleaned in the morning and what time you want turn-down in the evening. They really try to customize this service to your needs.

Beach- We spent time each day at the beach and were pleasantly surprised at the availability of lounge chairs and beds available. The chairs were not nearly as comfortable as the beds but we always found a bed with some shade so that was great. The servers did a good job but overall we feel that the entire place could use more servers. They were all courteous and as prompt as they could be (they had a decent hike back to the bar) often my husband would order 2 drinks at a time so they didn't have to run so much. They would bring pizzas around and just offer them up which was cool and one day the spa staff was walking around the beach giving our scalp massages.

Room Service- We thought it was great- fast and accurate. I will worn you though, if you order sausage (on a pizza on a breakfast dish for instance) you will get hot-dogs! But every time we called they told us it would be 35 min or less and it always was. I ordered coffee and danishes every morning and the coffee was hot and fresh as was the bread. I think they make the bread in-house so it was really good, I thought.

Restaurants/ Food- Unfortunately this was what dropped this place from a 5 to a 4 star for us. There are 4 restaurants at the resort-
Aroma: open for breakfast and dinner. This is the only breakfast buffet and we ate there every morning and really enjoyed it. Had a good variety for breakfast and you could also order pancakes, french toast, etc from the server. We ordered the pancakes with bacon which were very good but there was no bacon on the buffet so if we hadn't seen others ordering it we wouldn't have knows it was available- there is not a breakfast menu but you can just tell them what you want. Smoothies were good at breakfast as well. We only ate dinner there once and it was one of the better meals food and service-wise.
Lupita Lounge- this is the sushi bar. The first night we arrived we went there for an appetizer and it took so long that we never even got to go out to dinner- with a baby we needed to eat early and just sitting around waiting for cocktails and sushi wasn't really relaxing!. My husband ended up going there in the evenings after dinner when I hung in the room with the kiddos (I'm pregnant so can't drink anyway!) and he enjoyed the lounge at this time when he didn't worry about how long it took and could chat with the sushi chefs and other guests and have some drinks. He said the sushi was very good.
Lupita Restaurant- this is the fanciest of all the restaurants- no outdoor seating. Food was good and they offer a full course menu. Good for a "date night". The hibiscus ice-cream was awesome. When we went it was not busy and the service was pretty good but we only went there once. Without a view of the water or anything it just felt kind of dark in there and with 2 kids there is a lot of time to kill waiting for food.
Isla Grill- burritos are good and well-seasoned (we felt overall the food could use some seasoning!) Fish tacos were also good. We had some really slow service here a few times- which was really unexplainable as the place was never full. The staff just always seemed to be rushing.
El Mar- We also had some really slow service here. My husband and I both felt that they should just have some food runners or more servers. The staff really hustle but they have to walk through the sand to the bar and to the kitchen and it just takes a while. Water glasses went empty and it became pretty hard to entertain 2 kids for an hour while waiting for food. Again, the place was never full so it just seemed like an easy fix by adding additional staff. This could have made a big difference in the overall feel of the dining experience. Also, we had 2 experiences with undercooked meat here so beware- there was an asian buffet with stir fry where the chicken was undercooked then my husband ordered the lobster for dinner on our last night and it was raw! On our way out the chef and the manager approached us and apologized profusely and offered to make a special meal for us the next night- we were leaving so couldn't take them up on that but thought it was classy to have offered. I don't eat seafood and of note there were no chicken or vegetarian options available at dinner.

Kids Club/ Babysitting- This is a great all-included service for kids ages 4-14. THe staff are very good with the kids and our son made friends here that he played with all week long at the beach and pool. They will babysit younger children (for additional cost) in your room or take them to the kids club to play. We never did this but talked to other couples that did and they seemed very pleased.

Overall Service/ Management- We were very pleased with the overall service. The management remembered our name and would come up to us at the restaurants or beach and just ask how everything was going- ask what we wanted in our mini-bar, what time we wanted our housekeeping services, etc. The overall service and staff demeanor is excellent. When you ask for anything the answer is "our pleasure"

Spa- I had 2 massages at the spa and thought they were both outstanding.They do give you spa coupons each day at turn-down so I would suggest waiting to book a massage when you get a coupon or booking in advance before you go also gets you 20% off. I thought the price was very reasonable considering you get an hour of hydrotherapy before your treatment. I got an 80 minute massage for $135 (using a 35% off coupon) so basically had 2.5 hours in the spa for this price. Both times they accommodated me very nicely considering I was pregnant.

Overall we thought the resort was great, especially with 2 kids. THe swim-up suite is a must-do with children of those ages, we thought. The room really blew-us away and was very comfortable and accommodating. Beach is beautiful. Pools were also very nice. Food was just so-so and the service in the restaurants slow at times. THe overall service was excellent and the staff really have a desire to please.

Room Tip: families with kids choose a swim-up suite
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PIzzaGirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Beloved Playa Mujeres, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at The Beloved Hotel Playa Mujeres with all Trip Advisor Readers.

Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Beloved Hotel April 5-11. We were looking for a small beach hotel, direct flight from JFK 4 hours or less with excellent service. The Beloved was all of that and more. We stayed in an oceanview junior suite in building 1; the room was lovely (although the swinging door for the toilet could do to be changed to an actual door) and the balcony was large enough for an outdoor bed and a good sized table and 2 chairs without feeling cramped, with a gorgeous view.

We ate most of our meals at Aroma and La Isla Grill and both were great. We did Lupita for one meal and it was good but we didn't feel like we were at a resort indoors like that; we also gave El Mar a few chances, but despite the fabulous location, the food and service were subpar.

The service everywhere else in this hotel was absolutely wonderful - available without being on top of you, prompt without rushing you, and courteous without being sickly sweet.

The grounds were very pretty and immaculately kept. The beach could have used a slightly more thorough clean up each day (there were some times glasses that had rolled off tables on the sand, and the raking - while generally good - could have been more meticulous as well). It was a very windy week during our stay, something which seemed out of the ordinary, so our ocean time was limited but we did plant ourselves on the comfortable loungers under the shady huts every day. The close proximity to the main pool from the beach was great as well.

Highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elinzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

After reviewing a ton of reviews we opted for the The Beloved Hotel for our wedding on April 7th. We were a group of 25 including a few small children under 5. We couldn't have asked for a better location, hotel, service, food, you name it. Everyone was so nice, we were really impressed. The resort is super well kept compared to other hotels we've been to. The adults and the kids thourouhgly enjoyed it.

The food was excellent. Even with lots of weddings going on during our stay that required some of the restaurants to be closed, we never felt like we had to wait or had limited options. Our wedding day went even better than we expected. We had one of the best night of our lives. They forgot to give us our wedding cake but we were having so much fun dancing under the stars that we didn't even notice. We will be coming back for sure.

If you are looking to party hard this place is not for you. They have live entertainment pretty much everyday but it's done tastefully in a relaxing atmosphere. This resort is the place to go for couples wanting to relax and enjoy the spa or for families wanting to get away from it all. You're a short cab ride away from Cancun or for the ferry to Isla Mujeres. We were so sad to leave.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 241 the last night of our trip. It was super spacious with a separate room for the kids. You have a great view of the ocean and the entire resort with your own private outdoor jacuzzi. Room 341 would be the same but a bit closer to the ocean. Definitely worth the splurge.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed the last week of March with our 2 boys (3 years and 9 months) and extended family. It was the height of spring break season and most guests had children. I was surprised at the number of very young children, under 2, that were there as well. If you are looking for a kid-free vacation, stay somewhere else! I'm sure that there may be fewer children during other times of the year but it was definitely kid-friendly!

Overall, we really enjoyed the hotel. Our main issues were really due to having very young children. If we had stayed when they were a few years older, I don't think we would have been bothered. The rooms were very spacious and the pull out bed was great for our 3yo. The open bathroom was a challenge. When the baby was napping or both boys were in bed, the bathroom was unusable. This made showering difficult! Also, there is only the jacuzzi tub in the room for bathing. It worked but wasn't ideal! The crib provided by the hotel was full sized and had high sides to keep our busy boy contained! The balcony was great! Loved the bed out there. My one piece of advice would be to get a swim up suite if you have a napper. We quickly found that one of us was essentially trapped in the room for most of the day! Also consider bringing a monitor as you cannot hear from the balcony when the door is closed. *would be nice if the hotel had some monitors to borrow/rent for families*

Another issue we had was with mealtimes. We only ate dinner twice because meals didn't start until 6 pm (which was essentially 8pm for us with the time difference). Maybe the hotel should consider having one option that begins at 5??? We did order room service which was very good. The xbox was great for getting meals and putting away dirty dishes. Also, lunch options were not offered until noon and we tried to get service by the pools a few times but once the lunch rush hit, there was never a server at the two back pools. Maybe the crepe stand could also offer some quick lunch options?

Service at the restaurants was a bit slow. We knew to expect this but it was still challenging. The breakfast buffet was very good and had so many options! Patricio did find us and offer to organize dinner for our whole group of 12. He suggested having kids meals brought first and having extra servers. I thought this was an example of great service on his part! On that note, everyone at the hotel was very friendly and ready to jump to help if they could.

One other thing to keep in mind- they call to follow up on services a lot! This was very nice in theory but we ended up unplugging our phones because it seemed to always happen during naps!

All in all, it was a great place to vacation and we would not hesitate to return in a few years! I know that most of my review was very specific to families with small children but there seem to be a lot of us traveling to The Beloved so I hope it helps some!

Room Tip: If you have a child who naps, consider a swim up suite.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Beloved Playa Mujeres, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at The Beloved Hotel with all Trip Advisor Readers.

Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews