We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time for Anniversary!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the The Beloved on Labor Day Weekend and highly recommend it. Short ride from the airport with Cancun Transfers, $70 (cheaper than the hotel car service $140). No waiting to check in, giving cold towel and champagne upon arrival. We tried to upgrade at the checkin and there was a wedding that weekend so no dice but no problem we got exactly what we booked. Ocean view room with Jacuzzi. Room was immaculate, stocked bar, huge balcony with bed, awesome shower with five shower heads and big enough for 5 people to shower at once. Room was very quiet. Excellent maid service, 2x a day. AC was kept on at 68 all weekend, very nice and cool.

Excellent mojitos at La Isla and all of the bars. Never needed a reservation to eat, no waiting. # big pools and only time it was crowded was when wedding guests all piled into pool with swim up bar. Only downside was swim up bar had one bartender and closed at 530pm, otherwise great. No problem getting drinks from loads of waiters at pool or on beach.

Ate dinner at Amora two nights, both nights had different dinner options, Italian night and Moroccan night in addition to normal menu. Mary was our waitress both nights and she was excellent and very personable.

Great addon was the catarman from the hotel to Isla Mujeres, the boat is docked across the street and leaves at 9am and returns around 4-5pm. $55 includes free beer and water. Boat stops for 45 mins to let you snorkel and then drops you on island and you can book a golf cart thru the captain for $40. Island is perfect for golf cart and we saw whole island in 2 hours, spent an hour at Playa Norte and had cocktails on the beach and did a little shopping.

Spent a day at the spa with the novios ritual, which includes an hour long hydrotherapy program called aqua viva. A series of hot and cold water, steam, sauna and waterfall experiences that total relax you before the massage. After massage, which was great, they give you a hot bath in milk soap, only down side is the tub is too big for short people who are lathered up in oil and you have to fight to keep from sliding below the surface, which definitely takes away from the relaxing.

Had a wonderful time, excellent food and we are picky, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daveboyle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,457 - 2,463 of 3,894 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We found our room and private pool to be clean and well maintained. The resort itself and the beach was beautiful. Service and the food outstanding. Only draw back is no night life or scheduled entertainment. Be sure to ask for the extra mattress topper because the bed was too firm.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

It's been almost two weeks but we still can't get over the little slice of heaven that was The Beloved. We stayed at the the hotel from August 18 to the 22nd. From the minute we arrived till the last moments before the ride to the airport, it was non stop pampering and true customer service from each and every employee.

Every review you read about the hotel is true. Our running anecdote was if you did NOT want to be bothered by the staff for an offer of drink or food, don't ever sit or lay down. Keep moving! The wait staff at the beach will definitely seek you out specially Luis. Even when we were hanging out in our private pool at our casita, the servers made their way to take our order.

The restaurants were fabulous and offered tasty menus. The portions are smaller than American standard but who cares? You can always ask for more although we welcomed the smaller portions and was able to enjoy a soup, salad and dessert along with your main meal. Try that here stateside without busting your gut.

The beach and pools were never crowded even though we were told that the hotel was 90% full. There was a always a place to lay out in the sun or hide in the shade with a good book. The beds near the main pool were always taken and we've seen some guests try to monopolize them throughout the day. No biggie.

The rooms were amazing. The shower was great as well as the hot tub. The bed was a little on the stiff side and a little creaky. The best part of the suite was the private pool were the kids spent most of their time. Even after coming back from the beach or the main pools, they made sure to take a dip in our pool before taking a shower.

Butwhat makes this little hotel so special is the people whose only purpose it seemed was to make sure their guests were happy. From the groundskeepers who swept around you while they were cleaning the seaweed off the beach to the wait staff and hostesses that memorized our names and remembered my daughter's peanut allergy. They even taught me the spanish word for peanut so I could ask the outside restaurants if their dishes contained any cacahuates.

Thank you to Edgar, Antonio, Karla and the rest of the staff. Special thanks to Patricio, who oversaw his staff and his guests with passion. We will definitely be back to see you again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeftyMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Beloved Playa Mujeres, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

It is our pleasure to know that The Beloved Hotel Playa Mujeres exceeded your expectations, making you feel relaxed and pampered all the time. Our commitment is to make of every guest experience, as exceptional and unique as it can be.

Thank you for letting us know how memorable and special was your stay due to our hotel facilities, the food & drinks quality encountered, and the outstanding service provided by our staff members who always attended to your needs. Please be sure that Luis, Edgar, Antonio, Karla and Patricio will be congratulated for the excellent service provided.

We are looking forward to welcome you back and have another opportunity to pamper you with our service creating another experience to remember.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Beloved two weeks ago and we could have not asked for a better vacation. It was a great place to relax and be pampered. We were greeted at the hotel with a glass of champagne and a cool towel which could not have been a better greeting. The staff goes above and beyond to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The food was fantastic and provided a great variety. The lounge chairs on the beach were perfect and we were also provided with waiter service of the beach to order drinks and food all day long. There are multiple pools and although there is no adult only pool the kids did not seem to be a bother since there were so many pools. The hotel offered free activities like a morning stretch activity on the beach, yoga on the beach, kayaking tour, bicycling tour. Clara was the event person when we were there and she was great!!!

Some things we will plan for better next time: more tip money for meals and variety of services
The dress code for men at a couple of the restaurants requires men to wear slacks with closed toe shoes. We did not realize this but it ended up not being a problem because we ate at the other options.

We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We had the junior suite in building 2 and it was a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Following the recommendation of friends, we decided to make The Beloved our vacation destination. It was absolutely perfect! The service was excellent. The rooms were gorgeous. The personnel were friendly and fantastic. The food was absolutely delicious. The beach and pools couldn't be more spectacular. Finally, the spa services were the best we've ever experienced. It made our vacation the best!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our tenth wedding anniversary at the Beloved Hotel. We had a fantastic time. We found the Beloved Hotel to be a perfect location for a romantic get away without the kids.
This was our first time staying at an all-inclusive resort and we were pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious especially the meat/main courses. I expected the drinks to somewhat watered down. However, the mixed drinks (i.e. Mojitos, Sangrias) were some of the best drinks I have had in a while. The room comes fully stocked with bottles of liquor and they brought us a new bottle of sparkling wine every night. The sparkling wine was of questionable quality; however, it was a very romantic gesture.
The restaurants were never crowded and we never had a bad meal. We found the wait staff to be extremely friendly. We especially enjoyed a barbeque they had on the beach one night. The meat was incredible and we ate our food less than 10 feet from the water. It was perfect. We ordered room service for breakfast most days. It took about 30 minutes from the time ordered it (which I did not think was as bad as other reviewers indicated). We had the breakfast buffet at Aroma one day. They had a little bit of everything. I do not understand other reviewers criticisms. I only have two nit picky critiques of the food at the beloved. First, I am a chocoholic. The chocolate desserts were few and far between. Second, the side dishes that came with the entrees were very small. For example, my husband's entrée came with asparagus one night. I believe he only had 3 small half spears of asparagus. However, there was so much food to eat in general its not like we went hungry.
We stayed in the junior jacuzzi suite. It was perfect for couples. The shower was huge and very nice. The balcony was one of our favorite aspects of the room. It was very large with an outdoor type bed on it. The one big criticism I would have of the room is the lack of privacy in actually using the toilet. It is in a separate room from the bathroom. However, it is only separated by a slightly opaque half door which does not block out any sounds, etc. For any couples who still try keep up a veil of mystery regarding bathroom activities, this could be a total romantic mood killer.
The beach was very small but very clean and beautiful. There were plenty of chairs and thatch umbrellas to sit under. Also, the wait staff was constantly coming by and getting us refills on the drinks.
My husband and I got a couples massage package at the Beloved Spa. It came with the aqua vida, a signature spa, followed by a couples bath. Neither of had ever experienced anything like the aqua vida but we both enjoyed it. The signature spa was great as well. However, I did not enjoy the couples bath at all. The bath tub is not made for short girls. I am only 5'1 and I could not reach the end of the tub. Having been just all oiled up during the massage, I spent the entire time gripping the side of tub trying not to go under water. Also, to give you privacy, they give you these paper bikinis to wear. (They are made of the same material as those disposable ob/gyn gowns). They were comical at best. So, we loved the massage, enjoyed the aqua vida but we cut the bath short.
The facility was extremely clean and every staff member we ran into was super friendly. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone especially couples looking for some alone time. The criticisms I had of the hotel are small ones. If my husband and I go back to this area alone, we would happily stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Beloved Playa Mujeres, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review, and for recommending us with all Trip Advisor readers.

We are pleased to know that your relaxing vacation with us was highlighted by the courteous attention of our staff, comfort room accommodation & amenities. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon for another family vacation or romantic getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Enjoyed our vacation. Beach was beautiful, the water very clear and warm. Quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Not too crowded, always found a lounge chair in the shade. The food was great. The service was top notch. Romeo and Noe at the Isla Grill were wonderful. They provided excellent service and were very kind and funny. Would return for another vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.3 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,741 reviews
0.1 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#2 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
12,506 reviews
8.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
6,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
0.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
9.7 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beloved Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beloved Playa Mujeres

Address: Condominio Playa Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly La Amada Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range: $370 - $696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beloved Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beloved Hotel Playa Mujeres combines luxury and comfort with the convenience of the 'boutique style' Adults only all-inclusive Hotel, in the perfect setting poised for pleasure and relaxation. Here you'll have a comfortable home base of contemporary luxury. Stylish hotel architecture and decor, generous suites, spotless service, deluxe facilities, and of course, our secluded beachfront setting, all enable you to let your days happen naturally. At this intimate beachfront community you'll enjoy personalized spa and wellness programs, fine dining, seaside golf, boating and fishing from our inland marina, and a host of other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Savannahville Tours N.V., Expedia, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beloved Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Amada Resort
La Amada Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing