We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, as Always!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beloved Playa Mujeres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful, as Always!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was our 2nd time to The Beloved this year. After finding this amazing hotel we will not stay anywhere else in Mexico. The service is outstanding. This is a hotel to relax and enjoy the san and sun. This is not a party hotel, my husband and I love that about it. They did have a lot of children under 5 there this visit, but that did not bother us. The food is great and the 24 hour room service menu is wonderful too. This is an all inclusive, but please remember to tip the staff. Some people think just because the website says you do not have to tip that they shouldn't. You definitely SHOULD! We love this hotel so much that we are going back in 5 months again for 2 weeks. :) Also, you can ask to have a mattress toper put on your bed & feather pillows for an extra soft sleep.

Room Tip: The swim up suit can be very loud at night. (the hallways outside the swim up suit eco)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,681
    383
    120
    41
    27
See reviews for
923
1,791
73
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,073)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were there in February 2013 for our second visit. Everything was as wonderful as the first time with a few exceptions...the breakfast was wonderful and interesting with the themed fruits every day. The staff was fantastic and friendly. The only thing that changed was that the dinners were not as high quality as the first time we were there in 2012. They were very good, but they were fantastic the first trip. I will still return...did I mention the spa?

Room Tip: I liked the rooms by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginny19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife & I stayed in TBH from 11/4 until 20/4 to celebrate my birthday. Check in was easy and quick and we were shown to our room. Unbeknown to me, my wife had arranged an upgrade to a 2 storey casita (Tierna 3) as a surprise present for me and I was knocked out by how good the room was. It was spacious and very clean, and the terrace upstairs was terrific.

The first night was a little disappointing, however, because after a 10+ hour flight all we wanted to do was unpack, have a shower, drink and a meal and sleep. Unpacked and showered, we got a drink from the minibar (really well stocked with top shelf liquors, beer and soft drinks) and called room service. The 20 minute delivery time we were asked to wait turned into 1 hour and another phone call. When the food arrived (pork tenderloin) it was cold and so overcooked as to be almost inedible. Too jaded after the journey to make an issue of it, we went to bed having eaten the crisps from the minibar.

Not a great start.

I have to say that subsequent room service meals (breakfast and lunch) were delivered promptly and were delicious, so perhaps our experience that first night was a one-off.

The room had a great view, despite being across a walkway from La Isla grill. We could see the ocean and gardens, and the restaurant didn't detract from the view. Upstairs on the terrace the view was great, and we used our private pool most afternoons; the water cascading into the pool was wonderful.

We spent mornings on the beach and retreated to our terrace after lunch. The beach was beautiful with plenty of loungers and the sea was gorgeous, with no seaweed. The ever attentive Luis was constantly checking that we had all we needed. Lunch was usually at El Mar beach restaurant, but we did get burgers/hot dogs a couple of times from the Beach Menu without leaving the loungers (Luis again!).


We noticed a group of four Germans getting extra special attention and service from the staff and thought that this was a little unfair on everyone else since having 3 or 4 waiters clustered around them meant that service for the rest of the customers was somewhat lacking. We mentioned this to Georgina the Housekeeping Manager when we met her in the Lupita lounge - not as a complaint, but we were just curious as to who the Germans were, and why they got special treatment wherever they went. She was profusely apologetic and said she was grateful to us for bringing the subject up and would deal with it. Next day, a really beautiful bouquet of flowers was delivered to our room by way of recompense - and we hadn't made a complaint! Georgina thought it was more of a problem than we did. And we never got to find out who the Germans were...........

We had dinner on my birthday in La Isla grill, and to make up for pretty poor service the previous evening, our waiter that night (Moe) promised us a special meal. He delivered! We ate the tastiest lobster we have ever had, followed by birthday cake. Terrific! When we got back to our room, another birthday cake was waiting. This was was arranged by Carena Martinez the Guest services Manager in conjunction with my wife; emails had obviously been exchanged!

We have read in previous reviews that some people didn't think much of the front desk staff. This was not our experience; we found them to be, without exception, friendly, polite and efficient. This is especially the case with Carena. She is a real diamond and a credit to the hotel.

We usually spent some time each evening in the lobby bar and got to know Guillermo the barman - not just a barman, but a Master Mixologist! His bloody mary cocktails (with a secret ingredient) are wonderful - easily the best we have had. Watch him make Mayan coffee - it's a real show. He, like Carena is a credit to the hotel.

We disagree with those who say that the food here is wonderful. For the most part, it's good, occasionally fair, sometimes very good. It seems to be an area that the hotel could look to improve. On a couple of occasions, mashed potato in the menu turned out to be rice on the plate. I had a couple of steaks cooked to perfection, but my wife had a steak that was overdone (and she hadn't been asked how she wanted it cooked).

Service, too, could be hit and miss.

However, all in all, this was a really good holiday. As the title of this review says, it was the most relaxing we have ever had, and we didn't let a couple of niggles spoil it for us.

The gardens have been well landscaped and the decor in all the restaurants, bars etc is colour co-ordinated to give a laid back feel to the place. The staff here really try to keep the customers happy; Patricio, the Public Relations manager is everywhere, checking that the guests are happy; he is really friendly and will sort out any problem or answer any question you have.

Would we go back again? Yes, gladly, but only for a few nights as part of a two centre trip. The lack of dining options is a bit of a drawback for a long stay - but, of course it is a small hotel and it wouldn't be fair to expect six or seven restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigrog106th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Beloved Hotel was an excellent choice! I was there at the end of April with my pre teen son. The weather was perfect. 86 degrees everyday! The first room we had was a casita suite overlooking the restaurant Isla Grill. I made a request to change rooms, as I wanted an ocean view, not a view, and smell of a restaurant. My request was accepted, and we moved the next day to the Hermosa suites. This was much better. We relaxed till mid day, and then would go to the pool, or beach. It was easy to find a lounge chair on the beach.

There were a lot of parents with children under the age of 4, which is something to consider when traveling to this hotel. I would say over half of the guests had small children. Although it was mostly bearable with small children around, it was sometimes overwhelming when dining at night, with screaming crying toddlers.

The food was very acceptable. We enjoyed the special themed dinner evenings at the beach restaurant. We had room service daily, and enjoyed that menu as well. The Isla grill was my personal favorite. The lobster was succulent, and delicious.

The spa was excellent! We did the Agua Viva, and had a massage. I highly recommend a trip to the spa!

We also enjoyed the Lupita lounge for an evening drink. The atmosphere was relaxing. The music was nice.

The service overall was excellent. A private transfer was also arranged through the hotel.

I would give this hotel a 5 star rating for the entirety of the experience.

Room Tip: We had a beachfront casita. I would highly recommend those. We used our private pool daily. If you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is our 10th time travelling to Cancun, so "been there done it, it is about us".
From the time we arrived until we departured we were treated like royalty. Everyone knew our names, and we never heard the word "no" for the entire 7 days we were there.

Property/rooms: outstanding manicured property, huge rooms with top shelf liquor and everyday small pillow touch.

Restaurants: we never had a bad meal, all meals were excellent, we did not order room service but heard it was very good. If you have any special requests there was no problem to get whatever is you requested, and it was done in a timely manner. We enjoyed fresh juices, smoothies throught the day. Just ask, and you will be taken care by great staff who works at the Beloved.

We travelled as a newely engaged couple, and usually go to adults only, but kids at this hotel were well behaved and did not bother us at all. The layout of the hotel offeres a lot of space. We went next door to the Excellence resort, sister hotel of the Beloved, for one night dinner, and could not wait to be back to our "small paradise". The Beloved is a truly boutique hotel that offeres a private vacation.

Beach: we did not have any seaweed and water was crystal clear. We took advantage and used hotels free of charge water equipment. The service on the beach was outstanding: remember these 2 names: Luis and Alex! Thank you guys you really made our stay outstanding. We are the beach "bums" and spent all our time on the beach.

Special thanks to Yareli the restaurants /room service manager who really took care of us! Also special thanks to Yaesenia. If you want a great drink made be sure to stop by at the lobby bar and see Gio(Guiliermo). In any bar you can always get a fresh coffee/cappucino and freshly baked pastry. We also found that the game room has a free of charge to use computers/printer, gaming and fully stocked coffe/juice bar with pastry there.

We are looking forward to going back in October, 2013. We can't wait to see everyone there...
Palina & Ethan

Room Tip: We got a regular basic room on a higher floor and it was excellent. Try to get the rooms closer to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beatdog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just completed our 2nd stay at this unbelievable resort to celebrate our second wedding anniversary. From the moment of arrival, the pampering begins. From Edgar or Juan Carlos who greet you at your car with a cool wet wash cloth and champagne, to Kai at the front desk, to Guillermo the Bartender in the new lobby bar or Concepcion and Noe the breakfast and lunch server, your every need is catered to in high style and with a smile. I have not once seen anyone ask for something or asked for something myself that has not been graciously granted by any member of the staff. This year we booked the 2 story Casita and being it was our anniversary, when we entered the room there was a bowl of fresh fruit for us and the bed was outlined in the shape of a heart with red rose petals. Very, very classy and very representative of the service and care that is given to the guests at this hotel.
There really isn't enough I can say about the incredible experience it is to stay at The Beloved. The staff fabulous, the food great, the rooms and views outstanding. What else is there?
I must mention the outside Lupita Lounge. For an extremely laid back vibe with great drinks,music and sushi this is a must.
Also the swim up pool bar makes killer specialty drinks which you can also have brought to you while you are on the beach along with food.
So if you're just thinking about booking here, do not hesitate. You will not be disappointed.
We can't wait until next year to go back.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We really liked the hotel, especially the casita with its own pool. It was our first beach trip with our 3-year old son and it was fantastic that we had our own pool by the room for the entire family to enjoy. The service by all staff was great, they kept bringing us whatever we requested and were really concerned about us. The only thing we didn't like was that there was one night were it was too noisy by the casitas area, it was past 11 pm and the music was really loud outside our room. One suggestion as well is to have other type of music at the main pool restaurant and not only cumbias.

Room Tip: The casitas with their own pool are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariana U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.2 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#1 of 6 in Playa Mujeres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11,113 reviews
8.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
9.0 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#3 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,073 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beloved Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beloved Playa Mujeres

Property: Beloved Playa Mujeres
Address: Condominio Playa Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly La Amada Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beloved Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beloved Hotel Playa Mujeres combines luxury and comfort with the convenience of the 'boutique style' Adults only all-inclusive Hotel, in the perfect setting poised for pleasure and relaxation. Here you'll have a comfortable home base of contemporary luxury. Stylish hotel architecture and decor, generous suites, spotless service, deluxe facilities, and of course, our secluded beachfront setting, all enable you to let your days happen naturally. At this intimate beachfront community you'll enjoy personalized spa and wellness programs, fine dining, seaside golf, boating and fishing from our inland marina, and a host of other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Savannahville Tours N.V., Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Beloved Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Amada Resort
La Amada Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing