We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Really Excellent and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beloved Playa Mujeres

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Really Excellent and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was my first time ever staying in an all inclusive. I had a certain vision of what all inclusives were like, and those visions generally featured bad food server buffet style, watered down drinks, and ridiculous crowds.

I decided to give the Beloved Hotel a try based on the recommendation of a colleague. This was also my first time in Cancun (and Mexico, more generally) because we'd gotten used to doing our winter break in Aruba.

This was unquestionably the most relaxing winter break I've ever had. Everything was taken care of, and the service was almost always excellent (there was only one small exception which really wasn't that big of a deal, and for which the management repeatedly apologized for over the remainder of our stay). The food was of a very good quality, and the drinks were all top shelf. Our servers (Noe, Paulo) and others (like Pablo and Patricio) really went out of their way to make sure that we were well taken care of and that we were having a good time.

I do think the hotel could benefit by hiring a few extra folks to handle overflow when times get busy. In general, everyone who was there was really working very hard, but there were a few occasions when waits were just a little longer than they should have been - a function only of being perhaps a little understaffed (rather than any issue with the people working there, all of whom were really going the extra mile).

To the earlier reviews, we were a bit concerned about children, but this was really a non-issue. The kids that were there were 99% very well behaved. I also think you have to think about the trade-off. The Excellence Playa Mujeres next door is Adults Only, but also seemed noisier/more of a party atmosphere. Frankly, I'd rather have children in a quiet atmosphere, but that's a matter of personal taste.

We will almost certainly be returning - I think we've found our new winter break spot.

Btw - be sure to get a spa treatment. The "Agua Viva" experience was one of the goofiest things I've ever done, but it was fun and something my partner and I will be talking about for some time. Also, the spa services were very top notch - one of the best spa experiences I've had.

Room Tip: We were in a rooftop terrace suite. We had two different rooms. Both the rooms were lovely, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_in_Mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,319
    356
    111
    40
    27
See reviews for
883
1,492
58
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (937)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

One of the most special vacation experiences I've ever had. The resort is absolutely gorgeous and the service in incredible. Food is excellent, beaches are pristine and the spa is incredible. We will definitely go back and bring our daughter next time. Patricio, Susana, William, and Perfecto were incredible! We were at the resort from 2/22- 3/2.

Room Tip: We loved our Cassita with the pool. Ask for a room that doesn't have children upstairs as they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jendoskow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the resort Feb 26-Mar 2 and had an absolutely wonderful time. Patricio, the General manager, goes out of his way to make you feel welcome and is constantly making sure you are happy with your stay. Claudia made our checkout a very smooth and fast one. Juan Carlos was one of the first hotel workers we met as we arrived and helped us with our luggage. We ran into several times throughout our stay and was always so extremely pleasant and fun to talk to. We stayed in room 225 a junior suite and were very pleased with how big and clean the room was. We ate at Aroma for breakfast and really enjoyed The Beloved omelet which has samon and goat cheese. The breakfasts are great with a nice variety. We ordered room service twice for lunch and really recommend the Mahi Mahi and the grouper. The chicken lime soup was also delicious. The only really nice weather day we ordered the chicken and steak skewers right on the beach and they were both great. Israel took care of us our first night at dinner at the restaurant Aroma and did a great job. The next two nights we ate at Lupita which was a little bit more intimate than Aroma and we had Andres as our server both nights. He was extremely attentive to our requests and was wonderful to talk with. He went above and beyond to make sure our night was a pleasant one. The food wAs the best we have ever had at an all inclusive and has such a nice variety. Our last night here we stopped at the sushi bar and met Hayden who was our bartender and Humberto was the sushi chef. We ordered the sashimi plate and were very impressed how fresh the sashimi was. Hayden was by far, our favorite person at the whole resort. He made us wonderful drinks and was so fun to talk with. He has a lot of energy and was very pleasant to hang out with. We were very sad that the sun came out only one day while we were there, but just being able to relax was so nice. The highlight of our stay was the two couples massages we had while we were there. These are a MUST DO! The spa is amazing. You start out with a one hour hydrotherapy session where you spend time in multiple relaxing and soothing stations that will really get you ready for your couples massage. Juanita took us around the water therapy both times and is so sweet and nice. Our full body massage included a facial and foot scrub and was absolutely heavenly! Adrian was my masseuse both times and he is highly recommended. He is extremely professional and does an incredible job. My boyfriend had Elizeth and Seldene and was so impressed with how wonderful they both were. There are a wide variety of the couples massages and they really are such a romantic time to spend with your significant other- they are highly recommended.
A lot of people mentioned difficulty they had with kids being too loud at times. We did experience a few lunches or dinners where kids did have tantrums and it definitely distracted us, but overall it was not too bad. Most guests new to take their child away from the restaurant and it wasn't a big deal, some seemed to let their kids run all over and that did get annoying at times. Overall this is the perfect resort for couples and families who just clearly want to relax. Thank you everyone who made our stay such a wonderful one. We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Junior suite is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveleningqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

First stay at the Beloved Hotel .Spent a wonderful week in the Casita Suite w/private pool! Every aspect of service was exceptional. Staff works around the clock keeping the grounds and pools clean. Grilled food prepared on the beach 2 nights a week is a must have. Golfed at Playa Mujeres Golf Course 2 days. It's very close, convenient and a fun course if you keep your ball out of the jungle! Would definitely make a repeat trip to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was my second time at this hotel. It is absolutely beautiful, and very secluded. The rooms are luxurious and the pools and restaraunts are great. My only complaint was how strict they were about bringing outside food in. I think when you pay the amount you do per room you should be able to bring snacks or some fast food. The Penthouse Suite I have stayed in before has a kitchen, so what are you supposed to use that for? Just a bit dramatic for an upscale hotel.

Room Tip: A swim up suite is worth it or if you can splurge on the Penthouse Suite you will not be disappointe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

What a wonderful break from the cold and snow. Golden sands ,palm trees and a beautiful blue sea, what else can anyone ask for? The hotel was perfect in every way the rooms, the service and the spa. We were all made to feel very special with all our needs catered for. The staff were welcoming and helpful in every way possible.
The grounds were impeccable and no luxury was spared. Our private trip was organised by the hotel and we had an excellent days excursion to the places of our choice.
Our holiday was all inclusive so we had our fill of excellent cocktails and food. A great choice of cuisines at the various restaurants , my favourite being the beach one in the evening. The sushi bar was fantastic and we started off our evenings with cocktails and sushi.
I fell in love with this place and my family and I will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in an oceanview terrace suite with plunge pool (suite 130), from Feb 21-28 2013 and it was the best vacation ever! This was our 5th trip to Mexico and nothing can even come close!!!! The room was more than we could have ever imagined, the king bed, the liquor, the gigantic shower, the terrace (3 beds and a pool).....I could go on and on! The staff was phenominal right from the time you check in. They call you by name and are always making sure that they are doing everything to make your stay perfect! The swim up bar (Waldo was the bartender) was so much fun, and it was great to be able to have your choice of pools or the beach to relax on! There were always sun beds available (more around the pools than on the beach) and they were very comfortable. The Beloved works very hard to make your vacation as carefree as possible. No wristbands, no lineups/sign out cards to get towels, and they always make sure that you have a drink in your hand. The food was great (ignore those negative Nelly's that complain about the food) We went to the restaurants and used the 24 hour room service and were always happy!! The resort is kid friendly, but they did not seem to be a bother at all!! I just cannot say enough about the Beloved, and next time we are in Cancun, we are not even going to bother looking anywhere else.......this was top of the line! I would recommend taking USD instead of MXN for use in the hotel, they seem to appreciate that more! I have never been treated with such care and class as I have at the Beloved........the General Manager (Gabriel Garcias) even came to say good bye when we were leaving......they made us feel like royalty for a week! So thank you to all of the Beloved staff, I couldn't have asked for a more perfect vacation.......We'll see you next year :-)

Room Tip: We had room 130 in the main building. The front of the suite faced east (the ocean) and the terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank needssunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.2 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 5 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 stars 2,019 reviews
0.1 mi away
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres
#1 of 5 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 stars 9,962 reviews
8.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 stars 5,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#4 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 3,926 reviews
9.7 mi away
Live Aqua Cancun All Inclusive
1.7 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beloved Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beloved Playa Mujeres

Property: Beloved Playa Mujeres
Address: Condominio Playa Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly La Amada Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beloved Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beloved Hotel Playa Mujeres combines luxury and comfort with the convenience of the 'boutique style' all-inclusive, in the perfect family-friendly setting poised for pleasure and relaxation. Here you'll have a comfortable home base of contemporary luxury. Stylish hotel architecture and decor, generous suites, spotless service, deluxe facilities, and of course, our secluded beachfront setting, all enable you to let your days happen naturally. At this intimate beachfront community you'll enjoy personalized spa and wellness programs, fine dining, seaside golf, boating and fishing from our inland marina, and a host of other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Excellence Group, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Beloved Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Amada Resort
La Amada Playa Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing