We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views, Friendly Staff, Lovely Food”
Review of Crinan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crinan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Crinan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2014

My wife & I stayed at the delightful Crinan Hotel in Mid March this year. The hotel itself is brilliantly situated just yards from the sea and the views are spectacular. Our peaceful room had a beautiful view over the bay, although it was a bit damp & misty, the views across the bay were stunning. We went out for a walk up the path alongside the Crinan Canal which is just outside the hotel. We were ready for our dinner when we got back - the menu in the restaurant is fantastic and the locally landed seafood is delicious! The staff were attentive & friendly. A lovely little quiet corner of Scotland. We will be back!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your Crinan experience and realise what we all work really hard at to make our guests feel welcome - we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
There are newer reviews for Crinan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 523 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

Crinan is a lovely scenic place to stay but the hotel does not keep up with the area it is surrounded by. The choice and prices of food were terrible and although the views are lovely the inside needs to be seriously updated. The staff were not helpful or courteous with our luggage and the service was rushed and sloppy. Wont be staying agian.

Room Tip: Try elsewhere
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ron w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit, it is exceptional for people to find fault with the food and staff also with our competitive prices -
We would love to welcome you back and would ensure that you had a wonderful meal, upgraded room and a complimentary drink from the bar.

Nick and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We popped in here for coffee and found it to be almost 'Poirot' like in the large lounge. We were very kindly allowed to go up to the art gallery on the top floor. What a view, absolutely beautiful. Although we did not see in the bedrooms, judging by the halls, we could imagine that they were immaculate. It certainly looked like a very nice hotel to spend some time in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments we do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Crinan.

Nick and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is well long overdo and rather late than never. I stayed at the Crinan Hotel over 20 years ago. And I must say, I've travelled all over Europe/USA and The Crinan Hotel is the only hotel that still stick out in my mind. The location was amazing. The rooms were large and inviting. Now, I'm not a big seafood eater as strange as that might seem coming from an island location by birth (Bermuda), but the Pinapple Sea food Tree dish (only way I can describe it) was out of this world. I plan to travelling to the UK later this year and without a doubt the Crinan Hotel will be seeing me again; no questions asked.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Armon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write and we are so glad you enjoyed your Crinan experience. We take great pride in making it a special place and we look forward to welcoming you back

Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I first stayed at the Crinan Hotel when I was 7 weeks old (can't say I remember much!) and returned aged 24.

After a warm welcome from the owner, I was escorted to my room. The first thing that hit me was the view - the picturesque Sound of Dura. Arguably one of the best hotel room views I have had (and that's got Sydney Harbour to compete with).

The Crinan Hotel is cosy and homely, with sofas you literally sink into. The restaurant is top class with fresh fish served daily and an impressive list of fine wines.

My favourite part of the hotel is the top floor bar complete with a balcony overlooking the beautiful view and Crinan canal, a white piano (once played by Andrew Lloyd Webber) and impressive art work painted by the owner's family.

The staff are welcoming and helpful, the décor is homely, the rooms are spotless and the setting is ideal.

You MUST stay here!

LR, Jedburgh, Scotland

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseAnnabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Please accept our apologies for not replying sooner. Thank you from us all at Crinan for taking the time to write about the Crinan Hotel through your eyes. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Crinan.

Kind Regards,
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The Crinan Hotel is located in, arguably, one of the most stunning coastal spots in Scotland. Overlooking Crinan Harbour, with its fishing boats, working sea lock, red and white striped lighthouse and unspoilt view over Loch Crinan it has the potential to be a destination hotel for travellers from across the world. Yet, it just doesn't quite hit the mark.
The rooms are large, comfortable and well appointed, the food is tasty and the staff are friendly. However, it all feels a bit shabby and despite being perfect situated for outdoor enthusiasts , it does not feel the place you could walk into with a fleece and walking boots and get a warm welcome - which is a shame as that is exactly what you should expect at an upmarket hotel.
That said, if you are looking for somewhere special to stay, the Crinan Hotel undoubtedly has charm and nothing can beat that view!

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a balcony room so you can enjoy one of the best views in Scotland!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

We are sorry you did not enjoy some aspects of your stay at Crinan. A lot of our guests arrive in fleeces and wellingtons and we make them most welcome, we do not ask or expect them to leave their boots at the door and we are renowned for our hospitality and warm welcome.

We have been fortunate this winter to have the opportunity to upgrade some aspects of the decor and we continue to try to provide the best service we are renowned for.

Kind Regards
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We arrived after 10pm and Catherine at reception was very welcoming and arranged for us to have coffee in the very comfortable sitting room. This room has a coal fire and it was the perfect cosy end to a day of driving in the rain from the Isle of Skye. We upgraded to a lovely room with magnificent panoramic coastal view. The breakfast is not the usual buffet style but good old fashioned table service and it was delicious. I would recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments we are so glad you enjoyed your Crinan experience. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,
Nick and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crinan
3.5 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
283 reviews
14.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
20.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
450 reviews
9.9 mi away
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
5.3 mi away
Kirnan House B&B
Kirnan House B&B
#1 of 7 in Lochgilphead
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crinan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crinan Hotel

Address: Loch Crinan, Crinan PA31 8SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Crinan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Crinan
Price Range: $174 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crinan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Crinan Hotel the langoustines are landed daily 20 metres from the hotel kitchen in time for lunch and dinner,watch your lobsters coming in and choose your special one .The Famous Seafood Bar is open for Lunches and dinners,al la carte menu booking not essential. Westward Restaurant with amazing views and set menu ,lots of good Scottish beef and lamb ,and exciting veggie options.This is family owned and run and the gallery on the rooftop has fine art by some of Scotlands best artists and the rooms are dedicated to different artists showing their work,boat trips to the Islands can be arranged.Original art by Frances macdonald can be purchased and Ross Ryan[the owner and son] Artistic,ambient and authentic ,a unique place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crinan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crinan Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing