We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing Location”
Review of Crinan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crinan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Crinan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I spent two nights at the Crinan, which is set in a beautiful location, I found all the staff very helpful and friendly, and kindly came in early to make me breakfast, my room was clean and spacious. The hotel in General might be classed as a bit dated, but I thought it added to the charm of the place, I had one meal which was very tasty, but I will say I only got two sausages with my mash for£13.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write, and we are so glad you appreciated what we are trying to achieve at Crinan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 536 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

To give this poor review is really sad, because the potential here for the 'harbour side' coffee shop should be superb. To explain, the coffee shop operated by the hotel is about 50 yards from the hotel main building, right on the side of the very attractive picturesque canal basin at the Crinan Sea Lock.

Outside the coffee shop there is an 'A' board advertising "hot bacon rolls". We went in and asked the lone female member of staff for hot bacon rolls.

We were told very curtly (in an east european accent) "no bacon". No smile or apology etc, just very curt. We ordered a Ham Salad roll and an Egg Mayo roll, with a pot of tea for two. After quite a wait, the Ham salad and Egg mayo rolls were produced, with the tea (one cup was significantly tea statined). She didn't have to go to the hotel for these as the coffee shop does have a full kitchen behind the counter.

Rolls were fresh enough but the ham was clearly that cheap processed slimy sort, and had been excessively seasoned with salt and pepper - edible but only just. The Egg Mayo roll was served with the two halves of the roll left separate and each half covered with an egg mayo mix of finely chopped egg soaked in some form of mayo sauce. This 'filling' was so wet that it would have been impossible to 'close' the two halves of the 'filled roll' and it was also excessively seasoned with salt and pepper. I tried a few mouthfuls but it was unpleasant (could not taste any of the egg as it was disguised by the upleasant salty mayo mix). I left the most of it, taking it back to the serving counter. I complained to the staff girl, and she merely glared at me and said curtly "it fresh".

Returning to our table I tried the tea which was luke warm in it's pot.

So we had paid between £11 and £12 for two very sub standard filled rolls and a luke warm pot of tea. As we left I complained again, commenting that in the UK we prepared tea with water either on or just off the boil - required to make the tea brew properly. The female, merely responded "water is from that" (pointing to an urn). She then said "food not my fault - all food prepared in hotel kitchen" (inference that I would have to complain there). All of this was said very curtly in 'pigeon english'.

I commented that perhaps I should place a review of the Hotel's catering on Trip Advisor, whereupon she then - and only then - said "I give you refund for roll". She then produced £3.50 refund for my roll.

This location is one of stunning beauty, with all the boats providing a lovely atmosphere. The only remaining genuine 'Clyde Puffer' boat is moored only yards from, and opposite to, the coffe shop. Travellers should not be put off visiting the harbour, lock basin, area - but do be wary of the Hotel's harbour side coffee shop.

If the Hotel's kitchen produces such poor quality food for their coffee shop, perhaps it is a 'word of caution' for those contemplating the quality of the meals served in the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hotelboat_Willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for putting accross your point. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations, we do try really hard to ensure that all our guests enjoy their visit to Crinan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here with my husband and had always wanted to stay because of the reputation. Overnight with a voucher £89 for B and B and dinner with a bottle of average white £99 not in the least worth that amount of money. As you know I stay all over and this I would rate 3 star with food slightly above. The girls in the restaurant were lovely. Thank you for your good service. Breakfast very poor with small choice especially for vegitarians
Dinner starter mussels 10 or 12 in a small plate. Main I had to give my husband my potatoes as portions were so small and shame on the cheese board. Scottish cheese is amazing! I was served 2 triangles of cheddar and 2 of blue cheese with a small sliced apple and PARSLEY?????????????
At £35 a head it was not value or tasty. I was told Princess Anne stays here well all I can say is she must have poor standards. Room old..handles falling off carpets needing a good clean and the tap in the bathroom came off in my hand. Avoid at all cost.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scottiewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you very much for putting accross your point we are sorry we did not meet your expectations. We conintue to try and and provide the best service we are renowned for

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Restaurant staff could not answer questions about the menu ....more preparation needed before serving! Manager not very welcoming and suit needed a good clean ...... These points let down what could potentially be a lovely hotel set in ideal setting . Overall the serving staff let it down ..... needs better staff training !

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Godlessiop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for your comments, the points you have raised have been dealt with. Please accept our apologies as we did not realise there was a problem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We decided to cycle to Crinan on Sunday 29 September 2013 and planned to have a coffee and cake before continuing on our journey. What a horrible experience. The coffee shop itself is in dire need of a good clean and paint job, as the paint is flaking off the walls and rust showing through. We arrived just after it opened at 10 am. What few cakes they had on display did not look at all appetising and there were quite a few flies around. None of the cakes were covered - not very hygenic. The coffee was pretty disgusting (tasted like instant) and at £2.20 per cup was extremely overpriced for what it was. The milk was served in a chipped jug. The loos were pretty awful, in need of a good clean. There were two broken pieces of soap in the ladies which did not look at all hygenic (thankfully I had some anti bacterial hand cleaner with me). Very disappointed in my visit. This is an ideal location for a fantastic venue. Is it the case that it is the only place around and the owners feel that they will get the custom regardless, and they don't care? Will definitely not be back and will not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil and Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you very much for putting accross your point, we are sorry we did not meet your expectations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Good to see the owners are finally responding to comments - we wrote to them direct after staying with them and didn't get a reply. We stayed there three years ago on the first night of our honeymoon which they were told of on booking so some acknowledgement would have been nice, "congratulations" for instance. The decor of the room we were given was very tired, peeling lino in the bathroom, blankets - no duvet and although the view was stunning the windows were dirty. The food was ok, the chef was trying but not quite getting it. We would have laughed it all off as a Fawlty Towers experience if it hadn't been for the prices they charge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank allyballyb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

We are sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations, we did not appreciate the fact there was a problem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had booked a balcony room at the hotel. The hotel is in a stunning location. Looks a little tired from the outside and some tacky signs in the reception. We were shown to a room with a good view but no balcony. It was old fashioned and basic. Felt like a care home. The bed cover had brown stains on it and the valance on the bed had black scuff marks round the bottom. On going back to reception we queried the room and were told that all the balcony rooms were already booked. I think they were hoping to get away with charging us a higher price for a cheaper room. The receptionist showed us a balcony room and said that she could move the booked guests to another room. The so called better room looked just as tired and didn't have as good a view. She left us to decide what we wanted to do. We decided to try to find another hotel as we didn't feel comfortable staying there. It's a shame because it had good reviews in some guidebooks and we wanted to experience the food.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Maltesergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for your comments, the points you have raised have been dealt with, we are sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crinan
3.5 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
289 reviews
20.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,543 reviews
14.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
142 reviews
17.7 mi away
Portavadie Loch Fyne
Portavadie Loch Fyne
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
714 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crinan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crinan Hotel

Address: Loch Crinan, Crinan PA31 8SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Crinan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Crinan
Price Range: $177 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crinan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Crinan Hotel the langoustines are landed daily 20 metres from the hotel kitchen in time for lunch and dinner,watch your lobsters coming in and choose your special one .The Famous Seafood Bar is open for Lunches and dinners,al la carte menu booking not essential. Westward Restaurant with amazing views and set menu ,lots of good Scottish beef and lamb ,and exciting veggie options.This is family owned and run and the gallery on the rooftop has fine art by some of Scotlands best artists and the rooms are dedicated to different artists showing their work,boat trips to the Islands can be arranged.Original art by Frances macdonald can be purchased and Ross Ryan[the owner and son] Artistic,ambient and authentic ,a unique place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Crinan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crinan Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing