We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crinan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crinan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Crinan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow , scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just had a great stay at the Crinan , made very welcome by the staff. We had a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the sea , our wee dog loved lying on it eyeballing the seagulls passing by !
The food was delicious , I had seafood stew and my husband had a steak , we shared a plate of scallops. Breakfast was lovely ,porridge and full breakfast. I loved the art work , some really stunning pieces. We had a drink in the public bar which was cosy and full of character. We also had a nightcap later in the lounge in front of the fire , nice touches like plenty of magazines to read.we were very happy with our stay and next time it will be longer than one night. Oh and the drive to the hotel is beautiful and loads of lovely walks for you and the dog !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saintdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write and we are so glad both of you and your dog enjoyed your Crinan experience and we would be very pleased to welcome you all back to Crinan.

Nick and Frances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    149
    53
    34
    35
See reviews for
65
312
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

A very warm welcome at reception and then being taken to our room set the standard for our visit to this quirky gem. We were given a bright room with a balcony and stunning views out over the bay On a sunny day the views must be priceless. We ate in the restaurant and were served by a charming young waiter who was attentive and kept his cool as the tables filled up. The food was superb, freshly prepared and reflected the produce available in the local area. Breakfast was super and the service again was first class. The surrounding area is well worth a visit, Kilmartin in particular. There cant be many hotels where the walls feature original art work from a well known Scottish artist for guests to enjoy. We will certainly make a return visit to the Crinan Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoopsfanScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed your Crinan experience and appreciated what we have to offer. We take great pride in our Highland hospitality and warm greeting.

Nick and Frances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Although we've eaten here before, this was my first stay in the hotel. What a wonderful place, a real "one off"! Great staff, a lovely welcome, a super room with probably the biggest shower-head I've ever seen in the bathroom and views to die for! Our room had a balcony overlooking the end of the Crinan Canal and I would never tire of the views from it. Very peaceful, a little bit of heaven, though judging from some of the other reviews, not for those who have little or no appreciation of such joys. Oh, and a fabulous bed!!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 9.....balcony for sunny mornings, overlooking the final lock on the Crinan canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quine19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write and we are glad you enjoyed your first stay at Crinan, we are pleased to here this will not be your last.

Nick and Frances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

On the West Coast of Scotland this hotel offers a really peaceful location with some stunning views and good local walks for a stroll or the more enthusiastic hiker.
Don't be put off by the peach, peach and more peach in the bedroom because the food is lovely and the staff friendly.
The hotel is in need of some TLC and reflects the hotel dog, a bit worn out and dated; in need of an injection of energy.
The hotel is full of art but of a particular kind, not everyone's taste.
Would I visit again, not sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a view, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write Should you return to Crinan we will do our utmost to make your stay a pleasurable one. Art Exhibitions change constantly.

Nick and Frances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

4 star hotel (supposedly) , 1 to 2 star restaurant.
Looking forward to a delightful lunch in 4 star surroundings, we were ushered into the Gallery Restaurant and into a world of dilapidated and run-down surroundings.
The walls were drab and in need of a good paint job, the flooring was well worn wood with the waiter clumping around in steel heeled shoes - very noisy.
One could almost see the 'sawdust and spittoons'.
We were told that Malcolm was our host but he didn't seem to be 'with it' and quickly disappeared outside.
Although the food was adequate (fish stew was good) it was limited if one wasn't into fish dishes.
Apart from the canal basin and a few yachts, there is nothing in Crinan, so worth missing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for putting across your point. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. We continue to try and provide the best service we are renowned for.

Nick and Frances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I had been wanting to stay at the Crinan Hotel for a number of years and this time managed to finish our tour of Scotland at this superb venue. I was not disappointed. Throughout our tour of Scotland we had been staying at highly recommended trip advisor bistro hotels and although these were to a high standard, in each it left us a little cold.
The end of our holiday at the Crinan Hotel was worth waiting for. You can't beat a Scottish Country Hotel owned by a family for over forty years and with local staff who have been there sometime and know how to treat guests - superb!
Lovely large room with outstanding 'bay window' view over the Crinan Canal entrance and looking down the coast to distant shores and islands - magnificent!
A fine dining restaurant where they know how to look after guests, superb formal yet friendly service, superb high class food, high quality table wear, tablecloths, glasses etc - beautifully presented!
And the same at breakfast.
Naturally you have to pay for this type of hotel but it is worth every penny.
We'll be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick and France... R, Manager at Crinan Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are so glad you enjoyed your Crinan experience and all that we have to offer.

Nick and Frances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I had a lovely night stay at the crinan hotel on Saturday 20th October. We were given a warm welcome from the receptionist who showed us to the room personally which we thought was a nice touch. Our room which looked over the loch and the view was beautiful, the bed was very comfortable the shower was also powerful.
We ate lunch and dinner in the seafood bar both meals were very tasty.
We are both looking forward to another visit to this warm personal hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Omalley70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick and France... R, Owner at Crinan Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Crinan and also appreciated what we try really hard to achieve with all our guests.

Nick and Frances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crinan
3.5 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
14.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
7.3 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,339 reviews
22.3 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kirnan House B&B
Kirnan House B&B
#1 of 10 in Lochgilphead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crinan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crinan Hotel

Property: Crinan Hotel
Address: Loch Crinan, Crinan PA31 8SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Crinan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Crinan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crinan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Crinan Hotel the langoustines are landed daily 20 metres from the hotel kitchen in time for lunch and dinner,watch your lobsters coming in and choose your special one .The Famous Seafood Bar is open for Lunches and dinners,al la carte menu booking not essential. Westward Restaurant with amazing views and set menu ,lots of good Scottish beef and lamb ,and exciting veggie options.This is family owned and run and the gallery on the rooftop has fine art by some of Scotlands best artists and the rooms are dedicated to different artists showing their work,boat trips to the Islands can be arranged.Original art by Frances macdonald can be purchased and Ross Ryan[the owner and son] Artistic,ambient and authentic ,a unique place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crinan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crinan Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing