We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bal Parc Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tournehem-sur-la-Hem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bal Parc Hotel
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of our trip through France and liked it so much we booked it for our last night too. Its proximity to Calais and the motorway is extremely convenient. The situation is perfect, just outside a lovely village in very peaceful countryside. The staff are super friendly, the rooms extremely clean and the restaurant is both excellent in value and quality. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazzy747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northants UK
Level Contributor
210 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

What an absolute gem, what a find, what superb value, and what food!

We often go over to France (my favourite country) for an overnight shopping expedition and like to get out of Calais and into the country, and have stayed previously in Le Wast and Bolezeele, both of which were perfect and the reviews are on here if one wishes to have a look.

However my wife fancied a change and we found this at what we considered to be a very good price, it did not disappoint!

The rooms are recently re-furbished and although small offer great comfort and are very clean, as is the whole place.

The hotel is run by a couple who have customer care down to perfection, one feels instantly at home here and relax straightaway.

The restaurant area is in an enormous great conservatory with a terrace, although because of howling winds and driving sleet (in late May) so sitting out, was out!

For such a small hotel the menu is extensive, but we opted for formula's €16 & €21, the quality of the food is stunning, "Michelin Star" standard as far we were concerned, and the helpings are gigantic. Breakfast at €7.50 is also good, but lacks any warm food, just a good continental.

So very happy with this, and it also goes to prove that "Stars" do not matter, this is either 2 or 3 according to which sign you read, they had both. For us it could easily have been a 5!. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Earby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. The rooms were clean which was this hotels plus point.
The reception was efficient and parking easy.
We had an issue with the hot water, the shower was scalding and even the water filling the toilet was red hot! Eventually the
Owner on reception managed to fiddle with a box in the bathroom to adjust, but its not what you need when you just need to relax after a long drive.
TV not good for hard of hearing as the volume is set low and cannot be adjusted.
No tea/ coffee facilities or even cold water in tap so take water if you need to drink at night.
Would choose elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have to stop somewhere near Eurotunnel to have our dog seen to for the re-entry to the UK. In the past we have stopped at La Bien Assise, excellent showers etc but nothing else during the winter. We were recomended Hotel Bal by the Camping and Caravan Club as a stopover, the selling point an open restaraunt.
The restaraunt food was nothing out the ordinary but not expensive.
After paying the 18 euro pitch fee the standard supplied was poor. 1 shower and toilet in the same room (10 motorhome/caravan pitches to share) no toilet emptying facilities, no dish washing and no hot water. After 8 weeks in France and Spain this is the worst place we stopped at and the most expensive !!! La Bien Assise is far superior and close by the vets!! Bah Humbug
We will not be back. Are the people one site new to this ??

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Haydon58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Welcoming family run hotel restaurant. Rooms and shower rooms immaculate if a little tight on space. Shower thermo dodgy. Arrived after kitchen clause at an early 8.30 but a steak and chips were still produced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PUTNEYBIKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caithness and Sutherland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have just returned from France and again visited Bal Parc Hotel which is so convenient for the Tunnel. The usual friendly welcome and a well appointed and spotless room and free WI Fi . A good hearty meal and a good breakfast served on the dot of 8am,we were in a hurry for the train! Can really recommend it for a stop over. My only comment is that the TV, which has English channels is actually inaudible! not that we wanted to watch it really!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pennorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tournehem-sur-la-Hem
2.0 mi away
Le Chateau de Cocove
Le Chateau de Cocove
#1 of 1 in Recques-sur-Hem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Manoir Bonningues-les-Ardres
7.4 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
La Sapiniere
La Sapiniere
#4 of 12 in Saint-Omer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
4.1 mi away
L'Auberge du Moulin d'Audenfort
6.8 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#1 of 2 in Lumbres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bal Parc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bal Parc Hotel

Property: Bal Parc Hotel
Address: 207 rue du Vieux Chateau, 62890 Tournehem-sur-la-Hem, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Tournehem-sur-la-Hem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tournehem-sur-la-Hem
Number of rooms: 78

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing