We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hotel where SERVICE means something” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Bal
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Hotel where SERVICE means something”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I arrived after a 12-hour journey up through France (and every roadworks in existence) after the restaurant had closed. The receptionist and chef came to the rescue as we had eaten little on our journey.

The chef's question of Entrecote aves frites brought a smile to our faces. Not many minutes later this duly arrived in our room complete with salad etc - and a smile.

The room was absolutely fine - clean, comfy bed etc. Unfortunately we had to leave early before breakfast so cannot comment - based on the service and quality of food we experienced the night before I have little doubt that it would be just as good.

I hope my review causes many more people to stay with them, particularly as both ferry and tunnel are easy to get to from there. We'll certainly stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: The village seems so quiet that I am sure all rooms will be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Auldgirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    32
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
42
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel as an alternative to staying in Calais, following a trip through the Eurotunnel.

Our first impressions upon arrival were not that great. The entrance to the hotel looks out of date as did the surrounding area. We checked in and headed up to the room. Initially, we were put off by the dowdy, dark brown decor, however, after settling in, we noticed the room was spotlessly clean, it was very comfortable and very quiet overnight.

The staff here were superb, and made us feel really welcome. They were very family friendly and were particularly attentive to our two young children. The restaurant is in a lovely modern conservatory and the food was excellent value for money, and really good home cooked meals. Breakfast was equally as good and also excellent value for money at €7.50 per head.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely return again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Max_D-Fect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Not sure what I was going to expect here, but I was generally very pleased with our room, well decorated in a modern theme. Awesome shower definitely a highlight! The service was excellent, very friendly and accommodating. We ended up eating n the restaurant which was good value about 45 euros for 2 courses for 2 adults and 2 small kids. There was some noise on our road facing room, but that was because we had to have the window open. No coffee machine, but to be honest not needed as there was breakfast available downstairs for 7 euros pp. only 20mins to the checkin at the Chunnel as it is off the motorway but away from any noise. Quite a find

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Anderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parbold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Bal, on both our outward and return journey as a break on our way from the North West of England to Borgogne. The rooms are well equipped and quiet, and the restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila_atty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed the last night before we went home and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the room for the price. The bathroom was very modern and clean. My only moan was that there was no floor towel/mat so when you came out of the shower the water made the floor very slippery.
The beds were comfortable and clean and the room was a good size. It was very hot and I did find it very hard to sleep as there was no air conditioning but I daresay that it is quite rare for the temperature to be so high.
We didn't stay for breakfast as most of my family don't drink tea or coffee so a trip to the local bakery for fresh pain au chocolat every morning saved a small fortune over a fortnight.
It was quite noisy as there is a large campsite at the side and a bar/restaurant below the rooms but the noise did die down at around 11pm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1JNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Very surprised. Excellent hotel. We stayed one night and paid €112 for two triple rooms (6 of us) interconnected. The rooms were very high standard, decoration excellent, clean, modern shower/toilet. It is certainly as good as a UK premier inn and better then most travelodges.

It look us 23 minutes to get to the callis port in the morning.

Evening meal was €21 for a starter, steak main and cream caramel pudding. Drinks were average price.

Breakfast was €6 for a fairly basic continental breakfast. Noting special but fills a hole and a cup of coffee is €4 in Paris so, get used to it!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthewhaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Excellent small hotel superb value. Food fantastic value for money, their 16 euro 3 course meal was as good we had around there at 2-3 times the price. Really handy location for St. Omer, Tournehem and the rest of the Pas de Calais, and only 25 minutes from the Eurotunnel terminal. We were there 2 years ago as a stopping off point after being to Spain, and when we decided to go back to France, we decided to go to Hotel Bal again, and glad we did. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_Derek_Erskine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tournehem-sur-la-Hem
1.9 mi away
Le Chateau de Cocove
Le Chateau de Cocove
#1 of 1 in Recques-sur-Hem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
8.5 mi away
La Sapiniere
La Sapiniere
#3 of 12 in Saint-Omer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
#1 of 12 in Saint-Omer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#1 of 2 in Lumbres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
9.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Saint Omer Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bal

Property: Hotel Bal
Address: 500 Rue du Vieux Chateau | 62890, Tournehem-sur-la-Hem, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Tournehem-sur-la-Hem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tournehem-sur-la-Hem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bal 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the Valley of the Hem, discover the Hotel Restaurant Bal offering 22 fully renovated rooms. We also offer a Campsite of 82 pitches. We welcome motorhome and have Mobile-Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and PitchUp so you can book your Hotel Bal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing