We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Hotel Bal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very surprised. Excellent hotel. We stayed one night and paid €112 for two triple rooms (6 of us) interconnected. The rooms were very high standard, decoration excellent, clean, modern shower/toilet. It is certainly as good as a UK premier inn and better then most travelodges.

It look us 23 minutes to get to the callis port in the morning.

Evening meal was €21 for a starter, steak main and cream caramel pudding. Drinks were average price.

Breakfast was €6 for a fairly basic continental breakfast. Noting special but fills a hole and a cup of coffee is €4 in Paris so, get used to it!!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Matthewhaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 95 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

Excellent small hotel superb value. Food fantastic value for money, their 16 euro 3 course meal was as good we had around there at 2-3 times the price. Really handy location for St. Omer, Tournehem and the rest of the Pas de Calais, and only 25 minutes from the Eurotunnel terminal. We were there 2 years ago as a stopping off point after being to Spain, and when we decided to go back to France, we decided to go to Hotel Bal again, and glad we did. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris_Derek_Erskine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We used this hotel as a stepping stone on a longer journey. We only stayed one night but it was very welcoming, very clean and very comfortable. The hotel had a first class restaurant. We would have been very happy to have found this hotel at our eventual destination. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neilajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here before a long drive to the south of France. Although, thanks to euro tunnel delays, we arrived after 830pm (last orders) they were kind enough to still provide us with a lovely dinner. Steak (very nice) for my husband and turkey for me. Service was very friendly. The room was fine, beds perfectly comfortable and a nice hot shower in the morning. We left very early so can't comment on breakfast. Also dog friendly. All in all, a good place to stop over so close to motorway but with the impression of being in the countryside, very reasonably priced and decent food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarrotCakeMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was an easy stopover just a few miles away from Calais and the Tunnel. Simple, clean rooms, good parking and quiet location. We were there in very low season - in the Summer it may be busier as it's next to a campsite. The food was fairly basic but not expensive. Just what was needed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

After a long drive, it was a very convenient stop on the was to Paris, bedroom and bathroom was very clean and good values for money. The food in the restaurant was good ( we ate pizza ), the owners spok medioka English but we managed .... Well worth a stop over

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olwen101265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here for one evening on our way from Calais to Normandy as we wanted to visit the St Omer market next morning. Although there were only two of us, we stayed in a family room, which was very comfortable with a very modern shower room which was spotlessly clean. There was a modern in room TV which picked up BBC as well as the French channels. Service was polite and friendly. We didn't have an evening meal but took breakfast the next morning which was the normal bread / croissants / yogurt / juice / coffee that one would expect, and perfectly acceptable. All in all, we thought the hotel was excellent value and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bal

Address: 500 Rue du Vieux Chateau | 62890, Tournehem-sur-la-Hem, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Tournehem-sur-la-Hem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tournehem-sur-la-Hem
Price Range: $58 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bal 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the Valley of the Hem, discover the Hotel Restaurant Bal offering 22 fully renovated rooms. We also offer a Campsite of 82 pitches. We welcome motorhome and have Mobile-Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing