We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“food glorious food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Five Corners Guest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Five Corners Guest Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Ballyclare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“food glorious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

have to say this is one beautiful place to stay - food excellent and accommodation 100%.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    20
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
19
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for work purposes.

For two night bed and breakfast with 2 or 3 drinks in the bar the bill came to £90 which in my opinion is excellent value for money.

The rooms were not the most modern in the world and were a bit of a throwback to the 80's, this however is not to say they weren't good rooms, the bed was comfy, the room was spacious, the bathroom en suite with modern shower. Decoration and bedding could just do with modernising.

The bar was good value for money.

We did not eat in the restaurant other than breakfast. Breakfast was included in the price and consisted of whatever I liked. I had the full Irish breakfast on both mornings and it was a massive portion of quality breakfast, kept ke going after lunch.

Overall excellent value for money, not to far from Belfast. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samhardinge3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

I use this hotel when in belfast it a little way outside the town but close to larne and the motorways.
The rooms are basic but have everything you need.
Food is served in either the bar or restaurant
One realy good thing that within reason you can get a full Irish breakfast nice and early.
The hotel is family run.
Although i dont play for those that do there is an indoor golf simulator.
The bar is warm and friendly with welcoming staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buzby177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2008

This accommodation with 16 rooms is attached to a pub/restaurant in a road near Ballyclare, around 10 miles (20 min) from Belfast. We could say its in the middle of nowhere, but its easy enough to find.

We got a double room (room 5) for 55 pounds per nite (65 with breakfast). The room itself was probably the biggest room Ive stayed in, clean and tidy. The decoration was nice, nothing too modern but not old either. The ceiling was a bit old fashioned though, taken from a typical hotel from the 90s, but that was just a little detail.
In fact, the place was more of a hotel than anything else. From the choice of not having breakfast and paying less for your room, to the services offered and the telephone in the room. This is something positive from my point of view.
The bathroom was big enough to make it comfortable and the showers were electric and silent.
The window in the room was big and the views nice.
Basically, the room included:
- 1 double bed
- 1 single bed
- 1 cradle
- 2 armchairs
- 2 tables (it was nice to have tea sit down by the table next to the window and see the landscape while having a chat)
- Kettle, cups, cutlery, tea and so on
- Trousers press
- Iron and ironing table
- 14" TV with 10 channels
- Telephone
- Wardrobe with hangers
- Shower gel, shampoo and handwash
- Enough Towels, toilet paper, pillows, sheets etc =)

There was no hair dryer so keep that in mind.
They do not have "Do not disturb" signs to hang on the knobs either, so the cleaner normally will knock after 12 (good to know for those who like to sleep until late).

The place was very very quiet. We could not hear music or the people from the pub at all.
The food they serve in the restaurant is lovely and Max the owner and his family are friendly without being annoying.
You also have in the pub a proper 18 golf course simulator, Nintendo WII (5 pounds for 30 min), pool table, dart board and a slot machine =)

Be aware! You will need to let them know if you go out and are coming back late, after the pub is closed, since they lock all the doors and key for the access door is not given unless you ask for it. We did not know that and have a little adventure at 3am trying to find our way in when there was nobody awake.

I do not think they have check out time, so you basically can decide what time you want to leave at. We did at 12 with no problem.

So, a great place to stay definitely.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lomedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyclare
5.8 mi away
Corrs Corner Hotel
Corrs Corner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtownabbey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
7.1 mi away
Rosspark Hotel
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
#1 of 6 in Carrickfergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
14.6 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Antrim M2, JCT.1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Corners Guest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Corners Guest Inn

Property: Five Corners Guest Inn
Address: 249 Rashee Road, Ballyclare, Newtownabbey BT39 9JN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Newtownabbey > Ballyclare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyclare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Five Corners Guest Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About THE 5 CORNERS Set in picturesque surroundings in Ballyclare, County Antrim, the Five Corners Guest Inn provides the perfect place to relax and unwind. The business is owned by Max & Heather Mcconnell, local entrepreneur's who bought the licensed premises in 1989 and developed the enterprise to comprise a bar, restaurant, function rooms and guest rooms to offer overnight bed & breakfast accomodation. The 5 Corners Guest Inn is set in beautiful countryside offering the perfect combination of easy access to the local golf course, a quick journey to the bustling city of belfast which is 15 miles away and a transfer of just under 60 minutes to the north coast World Heritage Centre at the Giants Causeway as well as Carrick-a-reed Rope Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Five Corners Guest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing