We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Establishment”
Review of Eastbourne House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eastbourne House
Ranked #5 of 9 Gainsborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I booked an overnight stay for two over the phone speaking to Peter, an easy booking, I cannot praise Peter and Pauline enough, excellent accommodation and breakfast, easy to find (even if we did miss it first time!), my colleague and I were on a surprise visit to The Lincolnshire Otter for a Ruby wedding, Peter even took time out to deliver both of us to the 'Otter', how many others would do that? Thanks Peter & Pauline!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tivolipete, Owner at Eastbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay but can I point out that my wife's name is Jacqueline. For some reason that we don't understand you are the second reviewer to name her as Pauline. We must make sure that we introduce ourselves correctly.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 33 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

What a lovely place to stay. Rooms are not cramped, very clean and comfortable, and bathrooms are great. There's a good choice of tea, coffee or hot chocolate. They even have kit kats to munch on. There's a fridge in the hall with real milk for those who prefer the real stuff. The hosts Peter and his wife are just wonderful. They are very helpful and accommodating. Breakfasts are simply delicious. You can't ask more of them. It's a good value for your money and is very conveniently located.
High recommended for whatever reason you're in Gainsboro for.

Room Tip: Any one is great. They're roomy, clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tivolipete, Owner at Eastbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and look forward to seeing you again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Guesthouses provide that extra quirkiness that makes them more friendly than any hotel and this is no exception. Very clean, a fridge with fresh milk outside the room if you don't like uht. Large selection of teas, coffee, Horlicks and chocolate. Even kit kats in the room. Lovely breakfast with homemade jams. Wifi throughout the building free of charge. Private bathrooms for each room -not ensuite but robes provided. Walking distance to Marshalls yard with prezzo, costa coffee and same distance to the town centre. Great location, service and high standard.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gail1842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tivolipete, Owner at Eastbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

We appreciate your kind comments. Thank you.
However, I would like to point out that most of our rooms do have en suite facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Only stayed for 1 night but the highly recommended to all. Our room- Rose- was spotless with twin beds, tv and en-suite. Immaculately maintained and a great power shower. Tea, coffee and a kettle all provided , even a chocolate treat.
Pauline and Peter where perfect hosts and a warm welcome and lovely cooked breakfast.
Very reasonable price for a perfect nights sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayPeirson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tivolipete, Owner at Eastbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thanks for your for all your positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Only stayed for one night (unfortunately) but i can highly recommed this B&B. Easy booking with very prompt email replies from our host Peter and directions made is really easy to find.
Its perfectly located on the high street. There is no designated parking but there's a road round the back with no restrictions that's safe to leave cars and its a very short walk down a passage at the side of the house to the door. Peter helped us with bags and we checked into a fabulous, large, airy, room that was SPOTLESSLY clean and tidy. Lovely en-suite with shower again not a speck of dust or crack anywhere! Big comfy bed and plenty of room to put up a travel cot for our toddler.
Loads of tea, coffee hot chocolate and sweets to munch on plus a choccie biccie each!
In the house there are games and books to borrow and a wonderful history of the house and area with hundreds of suggestions of things to do.
Breakfast was super - huge portion of cooked breakfast, tea, coffee, cereals, yoghurts, fruit and more! and i was able to feed my son for no extra charges - they even supplied a high chair.
Very reasonable price and a very comfy stay - Can highly recommend!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in 'Marshall' - worth it for the bags of space and big windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chappers136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tivolipete, Owner at Eastbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Many thanks for your kind and detailed comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I cannot fault our experience with Eastbourne House, from the booking process to our stay (which was sadly for only one night!). The hosts are extremely helpful, and have paid a great deal of attention to detail. The house itself is gorgeous! Our room was lovely - very comfortable and immaculately clean. Breakfast was delicious, cooked to order using locally sourced products, and the homemade marmalade was a treat! Those little touches such as cotton wool and buds in the bathroom, the sweets and excellent hospitality tray, the fridge along the corridor from where we could get fresh milk (and could have refrigerated our own food if we had wished), and others too numerous to mention, were very much appreciated. There is a wealth of information within the welcome book. My young son was accommodated in our room, and was made very welcome. We would definitely return if we needed to stay in the area again, and would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely guesthouse.

Room Tip: The Marshall room was large enough to accommodate a temporary bed for a child. The road outside is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawny2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tivolipete, Owner at Eastbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write such kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels and b and b's from 5* to the most dire and I can honestly say that this has to be the best b and b I have ever stayed in.
The room was fabulous with lots of nice little touches. Plenty of tea and coffee, sweets and chocolate bars and with the hot weather bottled water. The bed was so comfy that even in the sweltering heat it was difficult to leave it.
And the owners were great. Very courteous and pleasent without being 'in your face' as a lot tend to be.
But the crowning glory was the breakfast, which was eaten 'al fresco' The food was of such good quality I would happily have paid for it separately. They served what must be the king of all sausages from a local supplier that were just so good that they deserve the separate mention here.

All in all, thoroughly excellent in every respect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tivolipete, Owner at Eastbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Wow, thanks for say such kind things about us. This is a lot to live up to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gainsborough
0.6 mi away
Hickman Hill Hotel
Hickman Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gainsborough
134 reviews
8.6 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
10.0 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Travelodge Blyth A1 M Hotel
4.7 mi away
Black Swan Guest House
Black Swan Guest House
#3 of 9 in Gainsborough
122 reviews
3.4 mi away
Brampton Dales Farm
Brampton Dales Farm
#4 of 9 in Gainsborough
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastbourne House

Address: 81 Trinity Street, Gainsborough DN21 1JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Gainsborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gainsborough
Price Range: $90 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastbourne House is an AA four star rated guesthouse located in the English market town of Gainsborough, Lincolnshire, just a few minutes walk from the town centre and Marshall's Yard retail and leisure facilities. We are very close to the Trinity Arts Centre. All rooms are en suite or with private bathrooms and come with plenty of storage, generous hospitality tray, TV and DVD, hairdryer, fan and comfortable beds. Free wireless Internet access is available in all rooms. Breakfast includes award winning products from Redhill Farm, a pioneer of high welfare outdoor pig farming producing nationally acclaimed free range pork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eastbourne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne House Gainsborough, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing