We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Warm Welcome, Comfort, and Splendid Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hickman Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hickman Hill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gainsborough
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“What a Warm Welcome, Comfort, and Splendid Hospitality”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Gainsborough takes a bit of getting to but the Hickman Hill Hotel belies the old saying that it is better to travel than arrive. We were really well cared for both before and after our business meeting at the local district council. The dinner menu was superbly balanced with some old favourites and new tastes with wine and service to match. Afterwards we enjoyed a cosy atmosphere in the bar for a night cap. The bedrooms are tastefully furnished but with all the essentials and really comfortable beds. Breakfast next morning offered a full range of English cuisine with kippers included and fresh orange juice. This is a little gem of a place.

Room Tip: I was worried seeing a train out of my window on arrival but didn't hear a thing all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyMagnificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We were very pleased to hear your comments and appreciate your very kind words. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again if you are visiting the council offices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    19
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
40
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We visited Hickman Hill Hotel last night for a meal with my parents. The four of us had starters and steaks for our mains which were all cooked to perfection. We also enjoyed a nice bottle of red wine in the hotels candle lit boutique style restaurant. We were delighted with the quality of the food and the excellent service. Our only disappointment is that we couldn't fit any desert in, however it's even more reason to head back for another visit. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnabysim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you very much for the excellent review. We source our meat from a Butchers in Gainsborough and the quality is always good. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Hickman Hill Hotel

This is a hotel which has grand illusions of being something it isn't. The hotel is shabby and rooms are overpriced.

Perhaps one the renovations have been completed it might be ok.

The bed was clean and comfortable, but it did not compensate for the well below standard room decor and aged bathroom or the lack of facilities.

What we found with our room:
Shabby dirty rug.
Worn out shag pile carpet.
Wallpaper peeling in the bathroom
Bathroom 70's style "Pink" or "Tan" coloured suit and very cramped.
Wall paper peeling from ceiling in bathroom.
Loud extractor fan in bathroom.
Poor quality and very old sealant around shower.
Wash basin sealant strip, shabby poor quality and very dirty!!!!!
Only 1 bedside table.
Only 1 bedside lamp.
Very old 80's style CRT television with built in video recorder/player.
Only 1 option regarding tea, would have expected a small selection of fruit teas and early grey as well as plain tea. costs little, but would have made one feel welcome.

The breakfast was ok, service was good but I certainly would NOT be comfortable in recommending this as a place to stay unless you want to pay even more to get an upgraded room approaching nearly £200 a night!!!

Can appreciate that they are undergoing continuous renovation works, but to charge £115 for a room not worth more than £60 is not good. Nothing was mentioned about there being an additional charge for WIFI when we booked and upon arrival we were told that if we wanted a WIFI connection there would be an additional £8 a day charge. The owner did offer to reduce this to an additional £5 a night. A superior room would cost £170 a night B&B.

The hotel rate was double its real value. I would expect to pay around £50 - £60 for a hotel of this standard. Some rooms have been refurbished to a very high standard, but the original rooms are lack lustre.

There were not even the normal small touches such as nice tissues and selection of teas that one would normally expect to find.

Old fashioned styling and a little shabby we can live with, but only when properly maintained and at least clean. See attached photos.

It seems that they are trying to be something of a bouquet hotel, Another hotel in the area that really does truly make the grade is the Hall Farm Hotel in near Ashby . The very best rooms are a fraction of the price of the Hickman Hill Hotel.

This feedback for the Hickman Hill Hotel is the first negative feedback that we have ever had to leave. The Hickman Hill Hotel was not to the standard that we had expected or were used too. We normally stay in very nice hotels. This was a disappointment.

The Hickman Hill Hotel, Gainsborough lost 4 days of our business, plus the extra 5 days that we were in Gainsborough and all of our future visits.

Our work in Gainsborough was extended from 5 day to 10 days and for the remainder of our visit we stayed in a lovely hotel old Georgian manor house/ stately home in West Retford.

One positive thing has come out of this is that we now stay with the same hotel group and since September have stayed approximately 22 nights and have booked another 7 nights before Christmas.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs the room overlooking the main road and small car park to the side of the hotel. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter&Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your vitriolic comments. You may remember that it was your wife/partner/colleague whom initially booked a superior room. It was she who proclaimed that as the owner of a growing & successful company a superior room would both reflect and enhance your stature and position.

Shortly before you arrived the booking was changed to a standard double room due to budget restrictions.

We neither claim to be nor are we a Boutique Hotel. There are obvious differences between a standard and a superior room.

Finally we are thrilled and delighted that you have found alternative accommodation that meets your needs in terms of price and value. We wish your business continued success in 2014 and beyond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is an old Georgian hotel which was once an old school. It retains the charm of old world but as you step inside you are assaulted with vibrant colours, modern art posters and some very interesting designs . Our room ( all called after ex Headmasters - ours was Dr Cox) was very modern inside. The bathroom had been done out to a very high standard with the most quirky tap combination on the basin I had ever seen. Huge white fluffy towels. Huge shower with lashings of hot water. Absolutely spotlessly clean. Lovely comfy bed, crisp clean sheets, a good sized TV. coffee and tea making facilities, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, Nice quiet location. A most excellent dinner menu beautifully cooked by the owner who doubles as chef as well. Breakfast was great too. Loved the choice of the china cups in our room and the big glass bowls for fresh fruit for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kootenaylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Julia,

Thank you for your lovely comments. Glad you enjoyed dinner and breakfast. We make a huge effort with our locally sourced award winning suppliers. This brings us much praise from Select Lincolnshire whom vet our credentials each year. Hope you are able to come again and try one of our other recently modernised rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as a weekend break. Despite preparing for a wedding the next day the hosts were very welcoming and didn't mind our late check-in, even allowing us to eat when we arrived. For a small hotel bar the wine list was very impressive and the white riojca superb. Food was delicious and freshly prepared, local cheese board perfect way to end the evening.

Our room was tastefully done and very clean - nice large walk in shower. The little touches like the robes and chocolate bars alongside the usual tea and coffee making facilities were a lovely touch.

Breakfast was something to look forward to and the kippers must. The hosts are extremely friendly and helpful and I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your return to Gainsborough and the Beer festival too. Lincolnshire has many great cheeses, many of which are not known that well and we are glad you both appreciated them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
80 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed at Hickman Hill Hotel for a recently and had a great stay . This is how a B&B should be run .The owners were great a nice combination of friendly front of house and great dinner from the kitchen .Big rooms and then followed by a lovely breakfast.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for the great comments. We are pleased you had a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Booked the hotel as we had a wedding in Gainsborough. Owners of hotel very friendly, there to refill glass when relaxing in the garden, answer any questions, but not intrusive. Food - gorgeous, duck with blackberry's from the garden! Scollops with bacon excellent, vegetables cooked with care. Breakfast excellent also. The bedroom was large "The Music Room" on the ground floor. Large wet room (huge towels). The room was very quiet/dark with the shutters and the curtains. Some rooms have been refurbished.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captnflack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Our blackberry bushes are producing very well this year. We have already made 2kg of Blackberry jelly; some of which goes into the duck dish with fresh blackberries. The smoked bacon comes from the Multi award winning Redhill Farm and they supply most of our Pork products. Thank you also for all your kind comments which are gratefully received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gainsborough
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel
10.3 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
15.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
807 reviews
5.2 mi away
Black Swan Guest House
Black Swan Guest House
#2 of 9 in Gainsborough
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eastbourne House
Eastbourne House
#4 of 9 in Gainsborough
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickman Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickman Hill Hotel

Property: Hickman Hill Hotel
Address: Coxs Hill, Gainsborough DN21 1HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Gainsborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gainsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hickman Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over the last 25 years the Grade II listed Hickman Hill Hotel has charmed guests with its unique character, hospitality and intimate surroundings. Previously Gainsborough's Grammar School and built in 1795 the Hotel has nine spacious rooms named after former Head Teachers. Each room is en-suite with TV, Freeview box, Telephone & Tea/Coffee making facilities. There is ample free parking and it is situated only 1km from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hickman Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hickman Hill Hotel Gainsborough, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing