We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, but not a caribbean experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crews Inn Hotel & Yachting Centre

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chaguaramas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crews Inn Hotel & Yachting Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chaguaramas
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ok, but not a caribbean experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2008

Visited the island for a friends wedding and chose this hotel as close to where it was all happening and did not fancy any of the hotels in POS.

Room - musty smell which chambermaid said they all had it (left me a room spray!). Basic bathroom.
Food - breakfast was included but nothing very appealing, upgraded every day and it was ok. Ate in the restaurant once for dinner and husbands food was cold, he sent it back twice and then asked for something else as he didnt want it warmed up again. We got charged the full amount and the staffs attitude was dismissive. Never ate there again.
Pool - nice and quiet most of the time
Drinks - expensive but buy outside and drink on the tiny balcony of your room
Location - nice view of marina, not safe to walk anywhere

Wouldnt go back but if you need to be in that part of the island, it is probably the best option.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nlplondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    74
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
40
64
Solo
0
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2008

I'm a local and I wanted to go somewhere for my vacation, after reading the reviews on this site for Crews Inn I decided to choose that hotel. The location is very lovely, the staff were very friendly and helpful, however when I got there the pool was not open because the hotel had painted it, a titbit they did not tell me when i made my booking. The room had a musky smell to it with stains and rust everywhere. My overall stay was okay but if that room is a reflection of all their rooms then they are in need of some updating.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trinibaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2007

This is an excellent place to stay in Trinidad! I would recommend it to everyone! The food, service and accomodation was excellent. There is a gorgeous view from the room. The staff was courteous and helpful. And the hotel itself is very secure.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The pillows
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jus_trini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2007

What a lovely small hotel in an island where hotels tend to be mostly in business areas in Port of Spain. The hotel is well run and in a unique setting right in a yacht marina with shops and restaurants around. The rooms were nice and clean and opened onto the water.

  • Liked — surroundings and clean safe environment
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonyrjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn newyork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2007

My friend arrived on 8/19/07. emplyees were very friendly and
helpful. I felt like I knew them before. The hotel was clean and
beautiful. The grounds were well manicured and the flowers
were beautiful, I felt at home in our room. The food at the Lighthouse Restaurant was GREAT. I will definitely be back in
the winter. I already told some friends about Crews Inn Hotel.
Finally, when we left, I cried, because I had made friends with the housekeeping girls. They were all so warm and friendly.

SEE YOU IN WINTER !!!!!!!!!

Sent by AA& GG Brooklyn New York

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvlife11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2007

My wife and I have stayed at all the major hotels in Trinidad and undoubtedly rank Crews Inn the best. First and foremost, the setting is simply beautiful with the hotel nestled near the hills in Carenage with stunning views of the sea. This is the Chaguaramas area that hosted the Miss Universe back in the nineties.

The rooms are clean and commodious but the breakfast service requires improvement. As a case in point ,we waited thirty minutes for breakfast which had to be brought from the restaurant nearby. By the time victuals arrived ithey were luke warm. Some improvement was made later but it was by no means consistent. That said, the lunch and dinner service in the restaurant was first class. And you can see and hear the waters slapping the bobbing boats gently as they sail by. The cuisine was delicious and the variety spanned an array of caribbean delicacies.

There is a lovely pool that's well sheltered and one dip there becomes really infectious. There is a gym for those who want to work up a sweat after giving way to excessive indulgence. The locals are friendly and Trinidad being very Cosmopolitan, one can easily fit in with the peoples and their culture. Crime is on the increase but it's usually a minority that spoil the fun for the majority, so be vigilant. St. James is about a fifteen minutes drive away and there are many areas of interest and attraction. The way of life there is very laid back but all in all, it's a beautiful island in the sun that lends itsellf well to Crews Inn Hotel and is good value for money.

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank Louis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2006

A group of seventeen of us stayed at Crews Inn for ten days in October. After some slightly unsettling problems with making and confirming our reservations, we arrived to find everything ready for us, and our rooms generally exceeded our expectations. They were comfortable, clean and roomy. The air conditioning (essential!) worked fine and the views from the balcony were wonderful. There was always something to watch on the marina. The room was cleaned daily and was always in a good tidy condition when we returned to it.
The Lighthouse restaurant, while on the premises, seemed to be run as a separate organisation. We wanted to give a reception in the garden for our hosts, and while the hotel told us that although they would be happy to erect a marquee for us, they were not able to provide the canapees etc. so we provided our own. However, on talking with the Lighthouse, they told us that they would have been only too pleased to help! The food there was excellent and the service was friendly. The set breakfast included in the hotel rate was very basic, but additions could be made as required, for a fee!
The grounds are lovely and the pool is super. The happy hour at the pool bar in the late afternoon is highly recommended! There is a small but well stocked supermarket on site as well as banking facilities and other small retail outlets, and there is a small bistro type restaurant which is good for lunch.
When we were due to leave, we had to leave some luggage at the hotel to be picked up later. They could not have been more helpful or accommodating. We were most grateful to all the staff for looking after us so well and for being willing and able to be flexible and 'go the extra mile' . We would recommend the Crews inn as being a delightful and safe haven in a fascinating country.

  • Liked — clean and safe environment
  • Tips/Secrets — restaurant under different management from hotel
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JDIH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaguaramas
8.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,867 reviews
6.9 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coral Cove Marina Hotel
Coral Cove Marina Hotel
#4 of 4 in Chaguaramas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
8.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crews Inn Hotel & Yachting Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crews Inn Hotel & Yachting Centre

Property: Crews Inn Hotel & Yachting Centre
Address: Point Gourde, Chaguaramas, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Chaguaramas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chaguaramas
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Crews Inn Hotel And Yachting Centre
Crews Hotel Trinidad
Crews Hotel Yachting Centre
Crews Inn Hotel & Yachting Centre Trinidad/Chaguaramas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing