We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to return to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Posada de Alajar
Ranked #3 of 3 Alajar B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Probably it was 2007 when we stayed at La Posada. The memory still lives with us and each year we discuss a return.

The welcome is wonderful, the facilities so individual to the family and comfortable, the village friendly and well located in territory which is a walkers paradise. But the main thing is the food - how do you make breakfast something to talk about? Experience that and you'll have no further questions. Not only that but a family friend has a Jamon Iberico restaurant just nearby whose food has to be tasted to be believed.

(The year selectable below is necessarily off.)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muymalestado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for La Posada de Alajar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 96 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2011

I've stayed twice at La Posada de Alajar and felt as though I was welcomed into the owners' home as a friend rather than just as a hotel guest in a long line of guests. This September I stayed in the lovely Posada San Marcos and the experience was even more pleasurable.

My room was spacious and had a wonderful bed and bedding, the shower was exceptionally good. It was lovely to finish a walk, go for a swim and then sit in the garden enjoying the birdsong, watching the trees, and listening to the eccentric chimes of the church clock. The patio is a great place to drink a glass of wine and watch the setting sun while eating Lucy's delicious food - favourite this time was the beetroot soup, but all the food was superb.

Lucy, Angel, Sofia, and their staff work hard to be sure that your memories of a stay in this area are all pleasurable.

I would love to stay there again & again.

Room Tip: All the rooms in San Marcos look out over the garden. The rooms on the entry level have a wider vie...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaretknight7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Myself and a group of friends stayed in La Posada at the end of October. The hotel is excellent, a little quaint, but spotlessly clean and comfortable. The owners are not only lovely people but also knowledgeable on the area and the walks. The walks could be better signposted, this is very frustrating and hopefully something that will get sorted out, and after about four days there will not be much new. Alajar however is a great base to tour the surrounding area. Recommended.

Room Tip: Why is it I have to fill in this field
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianjamesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Lucy and Angel have two inns. We stayed at the San Marcos property for 4 nights. San Marcos is a short walk from La Posada de Alajar. I see other reviews for San Marcos on this site and have not been able to locate or establish a site specifically for San Marcos. The San Marcos property is beautiful. The owners have worked on the renovation for some time, and the finished product shows incredible attention to every detail. The rooms are large, well designed, and immaculate. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The bathroom is large, with a bathtub and a shower that has great water pressure. The common areas, including the lounge, the pool, and the breakfast room are beautiful. Lucy and Angel serve a great breakfast, with yogurt, fresh fruit, bread (including fresh whole grain bread), cereal, and various jams, pate, and other spreads for the bread. They are also quite helpful with information on the area, including the hiking trails. Guests can arrange to have dinner there, also. We did not, but heard from other guests that dinners were very good. We were there in October, and dinner was served on an outdoor patio--very pretty setting. I would highly recommend this inn to other travelers!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaofva_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed for four nights in early October. We considered the accommodation comfortable and 'authentically' Spanish. Huge comfortable bed, powerful hot shower, pretty balcony overlooking village square and a reasonable price. What more could we want? Or experience of Angel and Lucy as owners and hosts is in COMPLETE contrast to 'Hugh O'- they were unfailing kind, trusting, attentive and unobtrusive, Angel even arranged for us to have breakfast hours before everyone else on our last morning so that we wouldn't travel to airport hungry. I recommend this destination wholeheartedly, and I'm fussy. Alajar is stunning, the scenery and walks around it breathtaking. Real Spain. We'll return, that's for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room onto the square
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary-Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in late Oct 2011after phoning from the tourist office in Aracena. Lucy and Angel were incredibly helpful accommodating us in the new hotel - they now have 2 properties about 5mins walk from each other. We did not have a car but managed to use public transport to and from this beautiful area and enjoyed 3 walks from the hotel - each one about 7 miles in length. Lucy was very informative about the walking in the area and they have maps and guide books available. The new hotel has a swimming pool which can be used by guests at either property . There are several bars and restaurants in the village and Lucy cooks dinner on some nights if you book in advance.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Was booked in to this place for 2 nights on a week long walking holiday with Inntravel (have used Inntravel before and all acc was excellent as was the other acc on this trip). Firstly no one at hotel when we arrived. Turns out the owners have opened a new upmarket place in town. We called, rang doorbell twice, owner Angel opened door and asked had we no patience. He was rude and unhelpful. We were brought back to our hotel. Rooms were grotty, plaster falling off walls painted over, very dated with worn stained bedspreads on the beds. When we complained to Angel's English partner Lucy she said we could upgrade to their new place for a fee. Needless to say we checked out the following day. These people are in the wrong business as they know nothing about service or customer satisfaction. Avoid!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laposadadealajar, Propietario at La Posada de Alajar, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2011

We can only apologise to the reviewer for having upset him so much he has felt it necessary to write such a negative review about our hotel and indeed our professionalism. We obviously did not live up to his expectations, somehow managing to get off on the wrong foot at the beginning of the visit and were unable to have the chance to put things right as the stay was curtailed. We feel that there has been a genuine misunderstanding and sincerely welcome the opportunity to rectify the reviewers perceptions should he ever wish to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajar
0.1 mi away
Casona del Duende
Casona del Duende
#1 of 1 in Alajar
83 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Convento Aracena & Spa
4.1 mi away
Finca La Media Legua
Finca La Media Legua
#2 of 8 in Aracena
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel La Era de Aracena
0.1 mi away
La Posada de San Marcos
1.2 mi away
Finca La Fronda
Finca La Fronda
#2 of 3 in Alajar
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada de Alajar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Alajar

Address: Calle Medico Emilio Gonzalez 2 | Alájar, 21340 Alajar, Sierra de Aracena and Picos de Aroche Natural Park, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Sierra de Aracena and Picos de Aroche Natural Park > Alajar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alajar
Price Range: $65 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Posada de Alajar 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a wonderful stay in a special part of the Natural Park Sierra de Aracena y Picos de Aroche at Las Posadas in Alájar providing low impact, environmentally friendly accommodation within a natural park along with invaluable help and advice from your hosts Lucy and Ángel. La Posada de Alajar is a small, historical Anglo-Spanish run posada (small rural hotel) in Alajar, Sierra de Aracena, Andalusia. The posada offers the perfect accommodation for walking touring and bird watching holidays in one of the few unspoilt areas remaining in Andalusia. Centrally located by the village square with its restaurants, bars and shops everything is close to hand. Cosy rooms, cheerfully decorated, ensure an enjoyable and comfortable holiday. The nearby historical city of Seville and the Portuguese border is little over an hour away so our posada is the perfect base to explore this beautiful corner of Spain. Alternatively you can stay at our sister hotel La Posada de San Marcos, where the only sound you will hear is the breeze in the cork oak trees, the babbling of the stream, birdsong and crickets. The view towards the oak clad hill behind us or towards the village and the Peña beyond provide the perfect backdrop from your room terrace or the gardens. The perfect opportunity to experience an environmentally friendly, energy efficient hotel with a superior level of accommodation and disabled access. Relax in our garden and if it gets too warm plunge into our 12 metre pool to cool off or take some exercise. The pool and gardens is available to guests staying at La Posada de Alájar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your La Posada de Alajar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Alajar Huelva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing