We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Posada de San Marcos
Ranked #1 of 3 Alajar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our three days walking in the beautiful Sierra de Aracena was made very special by our stay at La Posada de San Marcos in the village of Alajar- a perfect base to explore the area and to rest those aching feet and recharge those batteries with excellent food. Lucy and Angel are fantastic hosts, welcoming and enthusiastic about spanish cuisine and also we had a lovely room overlooking the pool and the countryside. We ended up having the equivalent of "full board". We enjoyed our evening meal so much the first night that we ate there next two nights and we had a daily packed lunch which was superb. Breakfasts are also very enjoyable, with the chance to sample different olive oils and other Spanish favourites for the more adventurous food explorers. What a treat!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for La Posada de San Marcos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 305 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent an early March week in this eco-friendly hotel. An attractive area with good walking in the surrounding Natural Park straight from the door, to work up an appetite for the typically late Spanish evening meals of local produce available at local restaurants. However owners Lucy (who is a qualified chef) and Angel may be persuaded to provide a most excellent dinner a little earlier! They are a mine of information about the local area and their hotel's super-efficient ground source heating system. A warm welcome in every way.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EileenSYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

What an amazing place.Angel and Lucy made us so welcome and the Posada is really comfortable. Breakfasts were delightful and Lucy cooked us a lovely meal on our first evening. Angel is rightfully proud of the Posada's green credentials. The "honesty bar" and fresh milk in the fridge was most appreciated. Alajar is a genuine Spanish village - no English signs and very little spoken. Good local food available and friendly inhabitants.
Lots of excellent walking in the surrounding hills (even for us mid seventy year olds!)
Robert and Lilian

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Sue and I spent a week at the Posada walking and sight seeing. Lucy, Angel and Sofia are splendid hosts and Lucy's cooking is fabulous. The hotel is very comfortable and, given the temperatures, we very much enjoyed the underfloor heating - supplied through the eco friendly ground heat pump. We did not try the pool. It looked splendid - but the weather did not not encourage us.

The walking is great and, If you like walking with friendly dogs, there is a plentiful supply which gathers at the bridge just above the Molino de Alajar on a daily basis. Do go to Minas to Rio Tinto - a memorable experience to remind us all of how man can mess with nature.

David and Sue

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_lewin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We spent a week here in March 2013 walking in and around Alajar. Lucy and Angel have made a wonderful, welcoming, environmently friendly hotel - an ideal base for exploring the Sierra de Aracena. Their local knowledge and willingness to make suggestions for walks is great. Lucy's cooking is very tasty, using local produce and recipes from Angel's family. We had a lovely week (despite the weather not being too good) and can thoroughly recommend the hotel and area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniseB44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My sister and I spent a week in the remote Andalusian mountains in March, 2013 including three nights at this hotel with Lucy, Angel and their darling daughter Sofia. We were very lucky to have perfect weather for our hikes. Each day we covered 8-12 miles and rarely saw another hiker. The trails were well marked, and using Lucy's notes we never got lost. The towns are pristine, all featuring whitewashed buildings with red slate roofs, ancient Roman roads and buildings and ancient Moorish mosques and architecture. It is truly an undiscovered paradise: no one spoke English and no other tourists could be seen, but everyone was very friendly and helpful. We learned a few important words like cerveza and rioja and jamon iberica pretty quickly, though.

I highly recommend this hotel and this region for a wonderful hiking holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancygeraldine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Lucy and Angel have set up a modern, beautiful, environmentally friendly hotel in an ancient hamlet. Lucy provided us with maps that took us on both circular and inn to inn paths. Every turn was perfectly described, which allowed us to enjoy the beauty of the area without worrying about getting lost. The meals were delicious. I highly recommend this hotel. This is an undiscovered but spectacular place to hike and La Posada de San Marcos is the perfect base for a hiking holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajar
6.7 mi away
Hotel La Era de Aracena
4.1 mi away
Finca La Media Legua
Finca La Media Legua
#2 of 8 in Aracena
199 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Convento Aracena & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casona del Duende
Casona del Duende
#1 of 1 in Alajar
83 reviews
5.9 mi away
Essentia Hotel Restaurante Galeria
6.3 mi away
Hotel Finca Valbono
Hotel Finca Valbono
#4 of 8 in Aracena
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada de San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de San Marcos

Address: Calle Colon 12, 21340 Alajar, Sierra de Aracena and Picos de Aroche Natural Park, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Sierra de Aracena and Picos de Aroche Natural Park > Alajar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alajar
Price Range: $116 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — La Posada de San Marcos 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a wonderful stay in a special part of the Natural Park Sierra de Aracena y Picos de Aroche at Las Posadas in Alájar providing low impact, environmentally friendly accommodation within a natural park along with invaluable help and advice from your hosts Lucy and Ángel. At La Posada de San Marcos the only sound you will hear is the breeze in the cork oak trees, the babbling of the stream, birdsong and crickets. The view towards the oak clad hill behind us or towards the village and the Peña beyond provide the perfect backdrop from your room terrace or the gardens. The perfect opportunity to experience an environmentally friendly, energy efficient hotel with a superior level of accommodation and disabled access. Relax in our garden and if it gets too warm plunge into our 12 metre pool to cool off or take some exercise.Or alternatively you can stay at our sister hotel La Posada de Alájar, a renovated inn dating from the 18th Century where you are surrounded by the history of its walls and chestnut beamed ceilings. Centrally located by the village square with its restaurants, bars and shops everything is close to hand. Cosy rooms, cheerfully decorated, ensure an enjoyable and comfortable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your La Posada de San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing