We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveler rating
325
29
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
29
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar la posada jamon local knowledge swimming pool great hosts olive oil ham seville airport excellent food walking holiday warm welcome few days unspoilt village guided walk bars and restaurants san marcos
Filter
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 360 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I Have just returned from a wonderful seven night break at this delightful hotel which I used it as a base for a walking holiday. The owners Lucy and Ángel are very friendly and helpful and provided their own detailed walking guides, information about the area, the best restaurants and bars. They were always happy to chat and it feels more like staying in someone's house than a hotel. I stayed in one of the first floor rooms with a great view of the hills behind the delightful garden. The hotel has underfloor cooling and heating which makes the building a very welcome retreat from the heat; the beds are comfortable and the bathroom very nicely fitted. Lucy's dinners are excellent and use local produce and the terrace is a lovely place to enjoy them. This is the third time I have stayed here and I am already planning next year's holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Three days in autumn when the beach trees are turning -what a beautiful time to stay at the
Posada San Marcos. Walking or just exploring the beautiful villages around. The best food
cooked by Lucy. Her husband Angel a fountain of knowledge on the Aracena Sierra. and its food and customs. Not a place to miss if you into the countryside, the environment and grear cooking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hugh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here for a short walking break with friends. Angel and Lucy have created a wonderful place where you can relax in quality but unpretentious surroundings. The owners' commitment to the environment is demonstrated by the handy guide to the posada on every bedroom table, which tells the story of the acquisition and build of what has clearly become a labour of love. The breakfasts comprise home produce and are mostly organic and the artisan breads totally set you up for the day. The honesty bar in reception is a nice touch, as are the array of guides and travel books on display and available to all guests. If it's unpretentious quality in relaxing surroundings you're seeking then look no further than La Posada de San Marcos. You won't regret it.

Stayed: September 2012
Thank WalkersRamsbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We agree with all the other reviews on this site - The posada is beautiful. Angel and Lucy were very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. We particularly liked the fact that they take great pride in their village; location and local community. The location is great as a base for walking and visiting this "off the beaten track" part of Spain. We were pleasantly surprised that in late July/ August, although it was hot during the day, it was not over bearing at night. We did our walking in the morning and then relaxed by the pool in the afternoon. The location of the posada, on the edge of the village with only a wooded hillside as the backdrop to the garden, meant that afternoons were totally quiet and relaxing. If you stay here we would throughly recommend Lucy's meals. The Iberian pork with chocolate and black pepper was to die for! We shall be back.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms open straight onto garden and pool
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Just returned from a stay at San marco. We arrived only intending on staying one night but ended up staying two because we liked it so much. This is a lovely place in the middle of a lovely old village in a beautiful part of Spain. Angel and Lucy are fantastic friendly hosts and were very accommodating of our 2 young children. We were the only guests staying with children at the time but were made to feel very welcome by both the hosts and other guests. We had 2 adjoining rooms which worked well for us and our 3 year old loved the pool and trampoline in the garden. We were able to have dinner on the roof terrace whilst our children slept in the rooms (a baby monitor will stretch easily). The view from the terrace is just lovely and the dinner was great as was the breakfast. The hosts are helpful and knowledgeable about the local area and we were able to do two walks with our buggy from the village on their advice. Can't really think of any faults, we had a very relaxing stay, loved the posada and the area and will definitely go back

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews