We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveler rating
323
29
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
29
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barla posadajamonlocal knowledgeswimming poolgreat hostsolive oilhamseville airportexcellent foodwalking holidaywarm welcomefew daysunspoilt villageguided walkbars and restaurantssan marcos
Filter
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 358 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here for a short walking break with friends. Angel and Lucy have created a wonderful place where you can relax in quality but unpretentious surroundings. The owners' commitment to the environment is demonstrated by the handy guide to the posada on every bedroom table, which tells the story of the acquisition and build of what has clearly become a labour of love. The breakfasts comprise home produce and are mostly organic and the artisan breads totally set you up for the day. The honesty bar in reception is a nice touch, as are the array of guides and travel books on display and available to all guests. If it's unpretentious quality in relaxing surroundings you're seeking then look no further than La Posada de San Marcos. You won't regret it.

Stayed: September 2012
Thank WalkersRamsbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We agree with all the other reviews on this site - The posada is beautiful. Angel and Lucy were very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. We particularly liked the fact that they take great pride in their village; location and local community. The location is great as a base for walking and visiting this "off the beaten track" part of Spain. We were pleasantly surprised that in late July/ August, although it was hot during the day, it was not over bearing at night. We did our walking in the morning and then relaxed by the pool in the afternoon. The location of the posada, on the edge of the village with only a wooded hillside as the backdrop to the garden, meant that afternoons were totally quiet and relaxing. If you stay here we would throughly recommend Lucy's meals. The Iberian pork with chocolate and black pepper was to die for! We shall be back.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms open straight onto garden and pool
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Just returned from a stay at San marco. We arrived only intending on staying one night but ended up staying two because we liked it so much. This is a lovely place in the middle of a lovely old village in a beautiful part of Spain. Angel and Lucy are fantastic friendly hosts and were very accommodating of our 2 young children. We were the only guests staying with children at the time but were made to feel very welcome by both the hosts and other guests. We had 2 adjoining rooms which worked well for us and our 3 year old loved the pool and trampoline in the garden. We were able to have dinner on the roof terrace whilst our children slept in the rooms (a baby monitor will stretch easily). The view from the terrace is just lovely and the dinner was great as was the breakfast. The hosts are helpful and knowledgeable about the local area and we were able to do two walks with our buggy from the village on their advice. Can't really think of any faults, we had a very relaxing stay, loved the posada and the area and will definitely go back

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We have just returned from a painting/walking holiday and our group were based at the two posadas in Alajar. We had a fabulous holiday and can't fault the Posada San Marcos or the Posada de Alajar. We all ate at San Marcos and the food was unbeatable. Lucy and Angel were brilliant hosts, helpful, friendly in an unobtrusive way and they worked very hard to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Good homely, healthy food cooked with local ingredients - organic wherever possible. Our picnic lunches were superb too. Alajar was a lovely spot to get a taste of the real Spain. We had the large attic in the Posada de Alajar - there were only two of us but it would be ideal for a family as there were two bedrooms, (one twin, one double with an extra single) and two shower rooms, with a lounge on the lower level (the stairs wouldn't suit anyone with walking difficulties). We walked over to the other Posada for our meals but it was less than five minutes away and a pleasant walk in the Spanish sunshine. The San Marcos had a large lawn and a swimming pool. We ate on the terrace in the evenings watching the sun go down - a beautiful peaceful spot.

Room Tip: Good idea to take a hairdryer with you as you have to borrow one from reception otherwise.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almalass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy-Angel-Posadas, Owner at La Posada de San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

What a week that was! We so enjoyed seeing both Posadas full of life and even more so with the great paintings that were displayed at the end of the week. I think the biggest compliment to us was when you all decided to stay for dinner on your free evening - can't say more:) Thanks for the photo too!
Thanks for your recommendation re the hiair dryers. We know have a hair dryer in each room at La Posada de San Marcos.
Everything ran so smoothly that week thanks to the organisation with Authentic Adventures, the painting tutor Roger, Peter the walking leader and MJ who was always on the ball and made sure that everyone was happy!
The lovely card Ann painted for us with all your kind words meant a lot to us. We hope to see you again.
Lucy and Ángel x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We recently stayed here for three nights as part of a seven night trip with pura aventura. Lucy and Angel were our local coordinators for the trip . It was our first self guided holiday so it was great to have someone just a phone call away.

The accomodation was excellent, we had a large airy room with a balcony...upon which many a cold beer or glass of wine was consumed. We didnt have time to use the large pool but the view from the garden back to the town was superb. The renovation that has been done is really quite special and the premises is also wheelchair friendly.

Our hoiday was billed as both a walking and a foodie holiday and Lucy did not let us down with her meals. We tried many new things all of which were locally sourced. We loved the breakfasts of pates jam honey bread and oils. You can also have the conventional breakfast but it didnt touch our plates. There were I think 10 different olive olis to try. We also had Lucys packed lunches which meant more meats cheese and homemade tortilla cooked that morning.

Lucy and Angel explained our walking routes and gave us alternatives to try to make sure we got the most out of the area.

Lucy and Angel are really great people. they make you feel really welcome and nothing is too much trouble.They are passionate about where they live, their food, their local produce and the environment. Mark and I really did have pangs of sadness to say good bye to such a great couple

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLPCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy-Angel-Posadas, Owner at La Posada de San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

It was great to have you with us. We enjoyed the discussions about the different systems of ground source energy and which one you opted for! I think everyone who has invested in this system agrees that it really is a good decision! So glad you enjoyed the food. I love cooking and love to hear that people enjoy what I make! We like to introduce people to a typical Andalusian breakfast and olive oil is certainly the mainstay. Angel is more than happy to help people select the oils to taste each one in order of flavours - glad you enjoyed them:)
We work closely with Pura Aventura to design our foodie walking holiday with the emphasis also on envirnomentally friendly accomodation in the Natural Park. We think it's a great package and are happy that you corroborate with us! Keeping the routes updated and passing on the information to our guests is really important - we can't have people getting lost can we?!
Look forward to seeing you again in our hidden gem of Andalucia.
Lucy and Angel x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews