We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveler rating
325
29
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
29
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar la posada jamon local knowledge swimming pool great hosts olive oil ham seville airport excellent food walking holiday warm welcome few days unspoilt village guided walk bars and restaurants san marcos
Filter
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 360 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed at The Posada de Alajar last year and were so impressed with Lucy and Angel's hospitality that we wanted to return to their new venture, the eco friendly Posada San Marcos.
The building has been sensitively renovated with attention to detail and the environment of prime importance.
We stayed three nights and enjoyed Lucy's imaginative cooking with local products and vegetarian options which are a rarity in an area renowned for its excellent ham.
We walked through oak and cork forests and explored local sights including caves, a Roman site and a hill fort. If you would like to visit the real Spain this is the area for you.
The posada would make an excellent base for a walking group.
Lucy and Angel have customer service hardwired into their D.N.A.
We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We enjoyed an upper room looking out over the garden, pool and forest.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herradura1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy-Angel-Posadas, Owner at La Posada de San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

We love the fact you believe we have customer service hardwired into our DNA! It was great to see you both again. Thnaks for taking the time to write the review. You are right that the environment was of prime importance for the building of San Marcos and we strive hard to implement our environmental policy on a day to day basis. Thanks for the compliments about the evening meals, I really enjoy cooking and it's of great satisfaction to read comments like this - vegetarian food isn't a strong point in the restaurants in the area but we are always happy to advise on what to ask for in the local restaurants, as there are plenty of dishes that can be adapted to suit.
Take care y hasta pronto!
Lucyx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We arrived in Alajar intending to stay two nights and stayed three due to the beautiful surroundings and the lovely La Posada de San Marcos. We found Lucy and Angel to be wonderful hosts and it felt like staying in someone's home with a very relaxed atmosphere. They have renovated this beautiful old house to an excellent standard, each room with it's own terrace looking on to the garden and cork forest and swimming pool. They both have an extensive knowledge of the area and proved very helpful with suggestions for walks etc. we particulary enjoyed the fact that particular attention was paid to respecting the environment with Geo thermal heating use of local organic produce where possible. All in all this is a beautiful area for walkers and waking up to exquisite bird song and the smell of fresh herbs is an experience one doesn't forget easily. I would highly recommend a stay in La Posada de San Marcos.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy-Angel-Posadas, Owner at La Posada de San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thanks for extending your intended stay for a night - it's great to know that you felt so comfortable with us. We hope the experience still lingers with you! We really appreciated your comments about our efforts with respect to the environment too, it is obviously very close to our hearts! Thanks for recommending us so highly, we look forward to seeing you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I don't think anyone can find a better place to enjoy the beautiful area of sierra de Aracena. Thank you so much Lucy and Angel for great hospitality. The rooms are great (very comfortable beds), right on the pool with a balcony or patio with a beautiful setting of the oak and olive trees in front. The walks around Alajar are great and you can meet first hand the source of the tasty Jamon Iberico just to come back to the Posada and enjoy a great dinner. The whole experience is perfect for a true get away (literaly) from the hustle and bustle of our day to day routine.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AviLandau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy-Angel-Posadas, Owner at La Posada de San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thanks for the review, we are so happy you felt that you were at home, it's what we strive for! Spring is a lovely time to visit the SIerra of Aracena - an explosion of wild flowers - masses of them and yes autumn is also wonderful with the mix of colours and ever greens against a usually crisp, blue autumn day. We opened the pool mid April this year due to the mini heat wave we had and it really is lovely listening to the birds and frog chorus from the stream behind! Thanks for the comment about the bath - we too disputed this with the authorities when building for the same reasons but we had to put them in to aquire superior standard!
Look forward to seeing you again in this part of the world!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The Posada is set in the beautiful Sierra Aracena in the village of Alajar. On the edge of the village the six rooms all have their own terrace or balcony and overlook the garden, pool and the chestnut covered hillside beyond.

Lucy and Angel are great hosts and in such a small posada you really feel that you are their personal guests. Breakfasts and evening meals (if Lucy is cooking) are locally sourced with interesting olive oils, breads, conserves and great coffee. If you fancy an afternoon tea and cake you can nip up to the original posada near the main square. We were keen to improve our Spanish and Angel is a great teacher and helped out. (There’s talk of running language short breaks and I’m sure these would be great)

The rooms are simple and ecologically friendly, the bathrooms new and nicely appointed with good showers AND a bath. (not so ecological but great after a long walk) The pool looks very inviting for the summer months.

We visited in Spring, a great time for walks in the hills and between the small towns and villages of the Aracena. (there are old historic goat tracks and lanes linking many settlements which make easy to follow trails. I would recommend the walks around Alajar to Linares, and the circular route around the beautiful little town of Almonaster el Real. They must be great in the Autumn with all the chestnuts and cork oaks changing colour. Aracena itself is a larger town with interesting sights.

I would highly recommend this area of Spain, with the posada san marcos being a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kj48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews